Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

France v Rep of Ireland ,WC Playoff 2nd leg,[Mod Warning Post #1/988/1169/1400]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

Poor you. I hope you survive the night
    Me too tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,008 ✭✭✭mad m

p_larkin99 wrote: »
    Well lads when all said an done you can be completely proud to be Irish. Yes Totally

Be proud of each player who played tonight.
    McShane NO WAY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Yes we were cheated out.

But we had several golden chances to put the game beyond France that we didn't take. We should have been 2 or 3 nil up before extra time easy.

• Registered Users Posts: 427 ✭✭illumin

gutted even more so as i should be there :(
    i dunno how fifa will broach this issue although i hope henry comes out and says hes sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,046 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Heads up lads..

We were the better team at the end of the day..

I'm absolutely gutted..

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Giles is spot on imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

It was instinctive by Henry in all fairness. We'd all do it. Dunphy's right :eek: The bench was rediculous tonight, two Reids and Carsley would have made more of a difference than Gibson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,681 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

"a stain on the game"

couldnt say it better myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Jaysus John Giles is pissed off at Miriam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

Onkle wrote: »
    Well I for one am mighty proud to be Irish tonight
    I feel proud and sick. Strange actually.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,670 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Doyle looks in bits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

If that ref ****ing makes it to the world cup, I will be beyond pissed off, I will know for sure that Platini is to blame.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭jaykay74

What did Giles / Dunphy say generally and about henry specifically ? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭kenon

Arise Shay Given, John O'Shea, Richard Dunne, Kevin Kilbane, Damien Duff, Glenn Whelan, Keith Andrews, Liam Lawrence, Kevin Doyle, Robbie Keane and Mr. Trappatoni.

Is St.Ledger deliberately excluded fron that list?

5/6 a side football

Coolmine Sports Centre - Wednesdays - 8pm

PM me for a game

Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,527 ✭✭✭glenjamin

Are we allowed to use the 'C' word?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭pokerface_me

Leave Henry alone. If Keane done the same he'd be a legend. Whats good for the goose is good for the gander.

Yeah point taken...............But i didn't see Keane or any other Ireland player for a matter of fact cheat to try win tonight??????? Bit of a silly comment i think.

Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    Well, Ireland may have finally brought video technology into the modern game. THIS CANNOT BE IGNORED.

Why now though, has been plenty of incidents before this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

mad m wrote: »
    McShane NO WAY

Really dont want to get into this now but he didnt do too much wrong tonight.

Everyone who played battled their hearts out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Arise Shay Given, John O'Shea, Richard Dunne, Kevin Kilbane, Damien Duff, Glenn Whelan, Keith Andrews, Liam Lawrence, Kevin Doyle, Robbie Keane and Mr. Trappatoni.

I'm immensely proud of every one of them.

In a just world we'd be getting ready for the World Cup.

Séan St. Ledger too of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,367 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

If an Irish player done that, I would be embarrassed as hell and I would not be happy. I do not see a high horse though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Why now though, has been plenty of incidents before this one
    World. Cup. Qualifier?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭The1337_Stephen

Marco Tardelli not hiding it, says that he really is pissed off..

Fair play to Doyle for giving an interview, took balls, big balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Bluetonic wrote: »
    There are extra refs in the UEFA cup on both post at the moment under trial.

That would have solved that.

Keane handled the ball five times tonight trying to gain advantage.

and was penalised 5 times :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Are you bovvered... Yes.

As tardelli said, "I'm very angry right now"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭Flamed Diving

This is a cancer!

LOL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Well played Ireland. Best team on the night. I'll leave it at that as if I'm any more honest I would be breaking the rules.
    :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

glenjamin wrote: »
    Are we allowed to use the 'C' word?
    which one?:D

Ireland played there heart out , it what I wanted , unfair result but what a match:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭dfbemt

Just googled 'Thierry Henry Handball'

T'internet is alive with his 'blatant handball'

Thierry has ruined his reputation and this will take years to recover, even L'Equipe have said it was blatant.

C'mon whoever else is in their WC Group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,367 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

15745105211716159934100.jpg

15853180540689570851319.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The miserable bastards on rte.ie just cut the feed! :eek:

edit - its back. Silly sausuages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭davehey79

sometimes ya dont get the rub of the green but what happened tonight was just plain and simple, out and out, 100% cheating. first bounce up to the hand i'll give as accidental but that 2nd hand to control it was just down right blatant. henry just lost the respect of a long time admirer of said footballer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

sickening overall :)

but im happy and proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭decies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

FCUK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Tardelli made a good point there - he asks why did the referee not go to Henry and ask him , - Q. Did you handle the ball with you hand - Yes or No ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Marco Tardelli not hiding it, says that he really is pissed off..

Fair play to Doyle for giving an interview, took balls, big balls.

Jaysus, the lads must be in absolute bits, considering how we feel about it.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭rocco

Henry handled it no doubt but it was a reaction most footballers would have. No player would turn around in the heat of the moment and own up to it. Cheating goes on in all sports look at rugby union were people try gouge each others eyes out... It all comes down to the need for a video referee . Fair enough Henry was wrong and I am sure he knows that . If he was asked about it and denied it well thats a different story. The sport is governed by fools at the moment . Ireland were unreal tonight great performance and its very hard to take that we wont be at the finals next year.

The World knows we lost thru that cheat!

But McShame is a liability. Wasn't happy seeing him come on. He's reckless and not very intelligent IMHO.

HOOF IT OUT MCSHAME!!!!!

I thought it would have gone to pens if the score stayed the same :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭am i bovvered

yea, I love Ireland and football, but everyone in the game accepts cheating, Doyle in the interview "you cannot blame the player" they all feel its ok.... its engrained deeply in the game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Tardelli made a good point there - he asks why did the referee not go to Henry and ask him , - Q. Did you handle the ball with you hand - Yes or No ?

Too right. And if he lied, banned for some matches for misleading the referee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Would have much preferred to see Kelly come on instead of McShane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭califano

Yeah point taken...............But i didn't see Keane or any other player for a matter of fact cheat to try win tonight??????? Bit of a silly comment i think.

Only because he didnt get the chance, you do what you can for your country. Emotions are running high but if it happened in favour of Ireland i dont think there would be that much discussion amongst us all about what should happen to the Irish cheat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Well said Eamon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Can we all calm down and have a singsong now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

its a disgrace, blame the player or the game i dont care.

one of the biggest screw jobs i've ever seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

i <3 kilbane

• Registered Users Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Mmcd

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    Are you bovvered... Yes.
    Are you real Irishman......I doubt it!