Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

France v Rep of Ireland ,WC Playoff 2nd leg,[Mod Warning Post #1/988/1169/1400]

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,879 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

My flatmate is French and i thought his reaction was noteworthy:

He said that he and french people in general were Ashamed/Embarasssed by how they qualified.

He was really annoyed that Domenech will keep his job now and downright pissed off at the fact that he will also get an 800k bonus for qualification.

He felt really bad for the Irish fans and Supporters and thought that because of the precident that it would set Ireland would not get a rematch they deserve.

He also said that he would be worried that Ireland would beat France if their was such a rematch and was very very impressed with Trap's side.

He didnt defend Henry but he did say that the blame was that of the officials even more so than Thiery.

Yes he is happy they qualified but wishes they could have done it in a proper fashion and thinks that Ireland deserve to be there just ass much as his nation.

He was actually almost afraid to talk to me for the past 2 days as he didnt know what he could say and imagined id be annoyed at him for just being french (tis not his fault and tbh i agree with most of his statements cept I dunno if Ireland could be that good twice in a row)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Can't see us winning any replay anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,634 ✭✭✭token56

Keane did have some good points in which he is correct, yes we probably should have dealt with the ball in better, we should have put the game away earlier, no this this does not excuse what happened but they are still valid points.

Beyond that I am disappointed with what Keane said. He can't seem to let a grudge go or keep it separate from his professional work which I imagine is very much the case in his managing. Its a pity, he has a great determination and a good knowledge of the game and could be a good manager if he could deal with his own grudges better. Just look at Martin O Neil as an example, he and Petrov (I think) had a bust up in the training ground once, he was dropped after the next match. But now it has been dealt with and they have a perfect professional relationship. As sad as it is I dont Keane would be capable of this. If he does not learn to deal with this he wont make it as a manager, simple as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

You must have missed that match on Wednesday night then. You should try and catch the highlights somewhere, it was a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

That's not the point. If we're beaten fairly and squarely, nobody will have any complaints.

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    You must have missed that match on Wednesday night then. You should try and catch the highlights somewhere, it was a good one.

I was at it. LOL.

We'd enough chances to win, but we didn't take them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Henry statement:
    "I have said at the time and I will say again that yes I handled the ball.

"I am not a cheat and never have been. It was an instinctive reaction to a ball that was coming extremely fast in a crowded penalty area.

"As a footballer you do not have the luxury of the television to slow the pace of the ball down 100 times to be able to make a conscious decision.

"People are viewing a slow motion version of what happened and not what I or any other footballer faces in the game.

"If people look at it in full speed you will see that it was an instinctive reaction. It is impossible to be anything other than that.

"I have never denied that the ball was controlled with my hand. I told the Irish players, the referee and the media this after the game.

"Naturally I feel embarrassed at the way that we won and feel extremely sorry for the Irish who definitely deserve to be in South Africa.

"Of course the fairest solution would be to replay the game, but it is not in my control.

"There is little more I can do apart from admit that the ball had contact with my hand leading up to our equalising goal and I feel very sorry for the Irish."

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Agricola wrote: »
    Its the reason I think he will never be a top manager. Hes too petty and bares grudges.

Uhhhmmm isn't Alex Ferguson considered the "top manager"?

Ask Beckham, Jaap Stam, Ruud, Jim Leighton, Heinze, Lee Sharpe, and countless others about him not being petty and holding grudges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

so its a instinctive reaction to stop the ball going out and they moving it in a bit for a better contact with your foot

my word what a _______

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Nice to see Arsene Wenger thinks the game should be replayed too. Wont count for much though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

I was at it. LOL.

We'd enough chances to win, but we didn't take them.

Well i was just shocked someone how saw that game doesnt think we can beat that French team.

What i want to know, following Ray Houghton's comments on Sky, is WHERE THE **** IS SEPP BLATTER? The man is actually such a coward.

Has anyone here seen the movie Taken? (Unreal film, but thats not the point) You know that Persian sheik who has his daughter? Thats how i imagine Sepp Blatter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭jprender

Henry reckons the game should be replayed too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

Dave! wrote: »
    Henry statement:
    There is little more I can do apart from admit that the ball had contact with my hand leading up to our equalising goal and I feel very sorry for the Irish."

Thanks Terry but we don't need your pity. Bit late anyway.

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    Well i was just shocked someone how saw that game doesnt think we can beat that French team.

Aye, well I just think we had our chances and we wasted them. I'm still gutted at the way in which we lost it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

why don;t they put both franc eand irleand through, then blattter and everyone else in the world would be happy?

mink_man wrote: »
    why don;t they put both franc eand irleand through, then blattter and everyone else in the world would be happy?

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭adamshred

because france don't deserve to be there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

adamshred wrote: »
    because france don't deserve to be there.

yes but theyre obviously not gonna put france out of it, so why not out ireland through and then everyone would be happy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

Put Ireland in a play-off with New Zealand. Winner takes all.

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭adamshred

yes but theyre obviously not gonna put france out of it, so why not out ireland through and then everyone would be happy!

In the interests of justice it's not the right thing to do. It's basically saying "ok FIFA got what they want but Ireland aren't happy about the result so put them through too to shut everyone up"

What happened is NOT RIGHT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Put Ireland in a play-off with New Zealand. Winner takes all.

Please tell me your being sarcastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭krankykitty

Henry admits replay would be fairest solution:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1120/france_ireland4.html

Edit - My bad, just saw this already posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,270 ✭✭✭✭briany

Will Trapattoni force Domenech to kick Bishop Brennan up the arse as a forfeit for being such a big cheating b*st*rd?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,670 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

yom 1 wrote: »
    Fair play Shay

Yep, As soon as the ball went by Shay from Henry his hands went up, I mean the images of his veins/muscles bulging to near explosion is unreal, he has the eyes of a madman when looking at the referee. Shay is an honest guy, he never criticises anyone. Him, Keane, Duff and i'll single out Kilbane have given their all for the Irish team. Honestly someone should arrange a parade.

The game should not be replayed, the minutes that were remaining when the "goal" was scored should be played. Then it should go to penalties.

If we had lost of penalties that would have been fine, nothing dishonourable about that, a case of pot luck. F**k Roy Keane, he's a bitter bitter man.

After the game I was heartbroken. That game should be held up to the next batch of Irish players and for the Euro qualifiers. We should not get drawn with England/France/Spain etc and think "oh we'll aim for 2nd place" With repeats of Wednesdays performance we should be aiming for first and we'd get it. Its time to draw a line under this but I do pray we get France in the Euros and that they get knocked out in the group stages. Either way I will be supporting any team that plays against France as I'm sure most Irish people will be.

Also.. I wonder if the Rugger boys will get a good welcome in the 6N.

Proud to be a member of the Green Army

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Just listened to the full Keane press conference there. A1 super troll to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Keane show's his bitterness once again. Telling Irish people to get over it, then in the same breath banging on about something that happened in 2002. He's become a shambling, embarrassing parody of himself and as soon as the League One outfit he's mismanaging get rid of him, the better for all concerned.

But I suppose anything that takes the attention of his record of one win in 16 games with Ipswich is good for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭ccosgrave

It's sad that after some controversial incident in the PL this weekend, people will have completely forgotten about this. Whether or not Ireland get to go to South Africa is one thing, what I want is to see world football stand up and say that it's no longer acceptable for the game to be unfair when we clearly have the means for it to be otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭rocco

Keane show's his bitterness once again. Telling Irish people to get over it, then in the same breath banging on about something that happened in 2002. He's become a shambling, embarrassing parody of himself and as soon as the League One outfit he's mismanaging get rid of him, the better for all concerned.

But I suppose anything that takes the attention of his record of one win in 16 games with Ipswich is good for him.

Couldnt have put it better myself he is letting himself down constantly these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Happy Monday

Why would he expect a phone call when he had manufactured the whole schism in the camp to begin with?

He had decided to go home a couple of days previously, attacked people left, right and centre and went to the press.

I'm sure he will want decent refeering when Ipswich are involved in a relegation play off with Accrington Stanley for a place in the Beazer Homes league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Henry admits replay would be fairest solution:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/1120/france_ireland4.html

Edit - My bad, just saw this already posted.

i want to believe he's said this in an honest fashion.

i don't want to believe he's said it purely because he knows that the replay won't happen anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Well, there you go. The French captain has called for a replay. Will the FFF or FIFA listen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

SlickRic wrote: »
    i want to believe he's said this in an honest fashion.

i don't want to believe he's said it purely because he knows that the replay won't happen anyway.
    That would be Henry trying to salvage his damaged reputation. As the saying goes, fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Indeed. It's much easier to come out with a statement like that after FIFA have made their decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Just after reading this piece on the French Football Fans' views on Henry. Didn't know he was unpopular with the fans. I thought he would've been considered a legend.
    Matt Spiro writes that for all his talent and success the French fans have failed to take Henry to their hearts

THIERRY HENRY’S left hand may have been hailed as la main de dieu in France, yet comparisons between the Barcelona forward and Argentina’s legendary playmaker Diego Maradona end there as far as the French are concerned.

Henry, for one, has never been hero-worshipped in his homeland. His popularity peaked during an impressive Euro 2000 campaign, but these days a good proportion of French fans would be happy to see the skipper dropped. Whatever happens in the next years, Henry will never be held in the same esteem as people’s favourite Zinedine Zidane.

Both were exceptional in their pomp, Zidane arguably the greatest player of his generation. Yet Henry, don’t forget, is France’s all-time leading scorer, has already contributed more goal assists than Zidane – including one that should never have counted – and next summer will become the first Frenchman to play in four consecutive World Cups.

So why have the French refused to take this phenomenal player to their hearts? Ask your average fan in a Parisian bar and the chances are the word “arrogant” will crop up. “He loves himself too much”, or “he doesn’t even smile when he scores” are common complaints. Who knows, after Wednesday the word “cheat” may be added to the list.

Adoring Arsenal fans probably find such comments laughable, but the perception of Henry in France contrasts vividly with his clean-cut English image. He fell in love with English culture and English football during his eight years in London and resents, in particular, the absence of loyalty among French fans.

Tellingly, the 32-year-old once revealed the reaction of Gunners supporters during the 2006 Champions League final dissuaded him from leaving that summer. After missing a golden chance, fans at the Stade de France chanted his name for five minutes. In that stadium, he is more used to being whistled by his own fans after such lapses.

When Henry speaks English, he comes across as charming and intelligent. In French, he can sound condescending and, yes, arrogant. If his outstanding talent is rarely questioned, some accuse him of possessing an egotistical personality which is damaging for Les Bleus. In the 2006 World Cup campaign, Zidane came out of retirement, seized considerable power within the set up, and inspired France to the final. Since then, Henry has tried but failed to assume that powerful, senior role.

Three years ago, Le Journal du Dimanche newspaper published an astonishing study in which Henry was blamed for the ongoing malaise in the French camp. “When Zidane left Henry wanted to take the power but he’s been clumsy. He’s intelligent and brilliant but can be short-fused and scornful. When we tell him that he says it’s the way he’s been educated,” an unnamed France player is reported to have said

On the eve of France’s qualifier against Romania in September, more anonymous quotes appeared in Le Parisien newspaper, this time claiming Henry had launched a scathing verbal attack on Raymond Domenech in front of the squad.

Followers of the national team are convinced Henry took charge of the team at that moment and that Domenech is once again little more than a puppet. Aspects of Saturday’s game support that theory. Henry, for the first time, took responsibility for set pieces, leaving dead-ball specialist Yoann Gourcuff perplexed. Both Henry and Nicolas Anelka played with total freedom in Dublin, roaming into midfield, taking up the space Gourcuff was supposed to exploit and leaving Andre-Pierre Gignac isolated.

In the build-up to this play-off, Irish reports claimed Henry had ranted at Domenech over the non-selection of Patrick Vieira. French journalists are convinced that never happened. “There’s no way Henry would want Vieira back because then his position as the main man would be in doubt,” said Marc Sagne of RMC radio.

Most nations would be thrilled to count a player of Henry’s calibre as one of their own. The striker top-scored for his country in the triumphs of 1998 and 2000, volleyed in the winner against Brazil at the last World Cup, was France’s solitary scorer at Euro 2008, and has saved Domenech’s skin on numerous occasions.

The French, however, still struggle to even like the most prolific player in their rich history; and nothing Henry did this week will have improved his tarnished reputation.

Link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

French football fans are strange.

They didn't like Zidane until France 98 too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Thierry Henry has conceded that replaying the controversial World Cup play-off against the Republic of Ireland would be "the fairest solution".

The France striker issued a statement admitting he had handled the ball and felt embarrassed at how his team had qualified for South Africa.

But he denied cheating and said the handball was an "instinctive reaction".

Henry said: "The fairest solution would be to replay the game but it is not in my control."

His comments came only hours after Fifa, the game's governing body, ruled out any such match.

"As is clearly mentioned in the Laws of the Game, during matches, decisions are taken by the referee and these decisions are final," Fifa said.

Two days after the game in Paris, the fall-out from Henry's handball continues to rumble on.

A petition on Facebook demanding a rematch has attracted more than 190,000 signatures and Twitter users have also been expressing their outrage in numbers.

Even Irish Taoiseach Brian Cowen has been drawn into the furore, saying he would bring the matter up with his counterpart Nicolas Sarkozy.

Beckham has defended Henry

Much of the anger is being directed at former Arsenal star Henry.

However, David Beckham has leapt to the defence of the French striker.

"I honestly didn't think Thierry meant it," the England midfielder told reporters in the US.

"I know him as a player and a person. He's a good person and a great player... these things happen in football."

The handball happened when Ireland were leading by a single goal and the match was looking likely to go to a penalty shoot-out.

Henry's blatant use of his hand to control the ball led directly to France's William Gallas heading an equaliser.

The goal put France ahead on aggregate and through to the World Cup finals in South Africa.

Both referee Martin Hansson and his officials missed an off-side in the same attack.

Henry could be seen clenching his fist and running off behind the goal after the ball ended up in the net.

William Gallas scores what would prove to be the winning goal

The Football Association of Ireland has asked the French FA to agree to a replay and urged other nations to pressurise Fifa as formal complaints and demands were sent.

French finance minister Christine Lagarde is the latest high-profile French personality to speak out against the handball incident.

She told radio station RTL: "Fifa should... replay the match."

Henry's former France team-mate Emmanuel Petit said: "Thierry's handball will not send out a good message."

And France football hero David Ginola said: "I do not feel very proud to be French. Something should be done."

Amid growing support, Ireland's philosophical manager Giovanni Trapattoni conceded that pleas may fall on deaf ears.

However, FAI chief executive John Delaney said the issue would remain a matter of integrity.

"This was a defining game that the whole world was watching. If Fifa believe in fair play and integrity, this is their opportunity to step forward," he said.

"It's not about money. This is about supporting integrity."

It is estimated that World Cup qualification would have been worth £26.7m to Irish football - the French team's success will give a similar boost to France

http://news.sky.com/skynews/Home/World-News/Thierry-Henry-Replaying-Ireland-France-World-Cup-Play-Off-Match-Would-Be-The-Fairest-Solution/Article/200911315459101?f=vg

Says it after Fifa rule it out!

No morals this man. Especially sitting with Dunne at the whistle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Here's what Wenger had to say about it
    “I support France [but] it’s embarrassing to qualify the way we qualified,” said Wenger. “It raises many issues, the biggest one is how can football sort out these kind of problems and make sure that doesn’t happen again. They have come out with a solution with one [referee] behind the goal, but the best one is technology.

“The biggest anger for me is that we are still in 2009, sitting here where millions of people see what happened but one guy doesn’t see it and we can’t help him. That is the most frustrating thing.

"With football being the most popular sport in the world we are still having to endure these kinds of mistakes."

The best thing that could come out of this whole situation would be for FIFA to wake up and introduce video technology or something similar. Unfortunately people seem to be more concerned about setting up facebook pages about Henry and marching to the french embassy(:rolleyes:) to try get a replay that was never going to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Anyone seen Roy today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

Well, my views on this may be opposite to those of 95% of the Irish population and 100% of Joe Duffy callers, but the fact that they are aligned with those of Roy Keane is enough for me. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

As a big fan of all that Roy Keane has done, I'm shocked and disgusted at his comments today. Has done himself no favours today. He is so so so wrong on this one.

Well, my views on this may be opposite to those of 95% of the Irish population and 100% of Joe Duffy callers, but the fact that they are aligned with those of Roy Keane is enough for me. :)

Speaking of Keano

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/8370710.stm

LoL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

Keane couldnt be more right.

He really couldnt. The only thing in that clip thats even remotely debatable is when he says "wheres your keeper" when asking about why the ball isnt cleared from the six yard box.

Everything else he has 100% and absolutely spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

As a big fan of all that Roy Keane has done, I'm shocked and disgusted at his comments today. Has done himself no favours today. He is so so so wrong on this one.

My feelings summed up by this from letsbet:
    Do you not think he should have kept his mouth shut considering:
    1. The irony of the biggest grudge bearer in football telling others to 'move on'
    2. The Irish player most at fault was Paul McShane, whom he signed at Sunderland, and tried to do so again at Ipswich
    3. He was supposedly a no bull**** player who now considers deliberate handball to be part of the game
    4. As manager of the 23rd place team in the Championship he isn't really in a position to comment on Irelands tactical failings.
    5. He supposedly doesn't watch Ireland games so how the **** does he know how well or otherwise we played.

I was never a fan of Keane's attitude, but I thought he was a top footballer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

I couldnt disagree with you more.

Keano was spot on imo. Truth can hurt sometimes.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Keane has shown himself to be a small minded and bitter man. Wtf does the FAI's actions during Saipan have to do with this?! He is such a hypocrite, telling people to get over this while he's still banging on about Saipan.

On his point about us not taking our chances and letting the ball bounce in the box:

That is not important. We did enough to be level on aggregate after 120 minutes. France's only goal was a foul one. Our forwards didn't convert more chances? Well here's some big news for you Keano - they aren't the best group of forwards in the world! But they were good enough and courageous enough to get to penalties against the French. Our defenders let the ball bounce in the box? Well here's more news for you - defenders make mistakes! McShane fooked up royally but the goal still should not have stood. And, finally, Given shouldn't have let the ball bounce? You're wrong Roy. And your uneducated and unfair blaming of Shay probably explains why you have been unable to organise a defence since you've become a manager. Given was right to stay on his line considering the direction of the ball and the location of the defenders.

You know what Keane, you can fùck right off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

Keane couldnt be more right.

He really couldnt. The only thing in that clip thats even remotely debatable is when he says "wheres your keeper" when asking about why the ball isnt cleared from the six yard box.

Everything else he has 100% and absolutely spot on.

Maybe there's a quote about stones and glass houses you should learn. But this should not descend into a Keano type debate, I just think that somebody who has an obvious problem with the Irish setup, should have FA comment on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

LOL

Check out Roy's reaction to someone's phone ringing at 2.30 in this video :D Quality !

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/8370497.stm

p_larkin99 wrote: »
    I couldnt disagree with you more.
    Keano was spot on imo. Truth can hurt sometimes.

Although when I said that these things happen in football yesterday you took exception to that type of comment.

Will you change your views again if Roy changes his?

MICK McCARTHY has blasted FIFA, saying it stands for 'Forget Irish Football Altogether'.

And the ex-Republic of Ireland boss also called for the introduction of video evidence.

Thierry Henry's handball helped earn France a place at next summer's World Cup at the expense of the Irish.

McCarthy rapped: "I said FIFA stands for Forget Irish Football Altogether when I was manager.

"They were trying to get us to fly to Macedonia and we refused to go.

"The next day they were shooting all over Skopje airport and the troops had taken what would have been our hotel.

"Nothing has changed."

Wolves boss McCarthy added: "If I was Richard Dunne and aged 29, I can tell you Thierry Henry wouldn't have sat by me. I'm 50 now, I'd shake Raymond Domenech's hand.

"But 20 years ago I don't know what I would have done. Hugs and kisses? No chance.

"There is not a snowball's chance in hell I would have sat there with him, knowing what he had just done.

"It would have taken three seconds to have seen it on a replay.

"I don't blame the referee - he didn't see it. But there was a linesman who could not have missed it. Imagine if France had gone out like that."

McCarthy refused to condemn Henry though.

He added: "There will be a few up on their soap box giving a moral lecture but if Robbie Keane had done it and we were going to the World Cup, we'd take it.

"It's something everyone accepts. It doesn't make it right but that's the way it is."

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/2738246/Forget-Irish-Football-Altogether.html