Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Public Sector Strike

• 17-11-2009 7:57pm
    Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭

Will this effect us students? I have been given an email from the maths department to say that if it goes ahead that the lab I demonstrate on Tuesdays will be cancelled.

Will lectures be cancelled?

This better not be like 2001 between the teachers strike and foot and mouth I was home more than I was in school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Effluo

tuborg wrote: »
    This better not be like 2001 between the teachers strike and foot and mouth I was home more than I was in school.

Oh what a world! Imagine that :)

I'm pretty sure it does effect us, No lectures me thinks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

Yup, all lectures, tutorials, labs etc are cancelled next Tuesday. That's what we were told in sociology earlier anyway :) A lot of the offices are going to be closed too I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

Strike my arse. From the same unions that wont recognise or accept membership from pisspoor contract staff carrying department teaching loads on dole wages? Was counting on a four hour nixer next week too....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Effluo

Yup, all lectures, tutorials, labs etc are cancelled next Tuesday.

Am I the only one who's thinking...

YaaaHoooooooooo!!!!!!!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

I see eflas point, but think its unfair on the union grassroots. I've heard plenty of people say the same about both Siptu and IFUT. 'the union' though, I think, always means two seperate things.

-1: the body that make UP the union.
    -2: the executives of the unions, the overpaid types who "....wont recognise or accept membership from pisspoor contract staff" and generally mess it up

In otherwords, David Beggs no mate of mine but I'm right behind the rank and file. I think if you said that to the membership of the unions on campus, they'd probably be very sympathetic. The aim should be to have them push for contract staff to be accepted into the unions. Sh/t unions can only be changed by the membership pushing for change.

Anyway thats all a bit off topic: there'll be some students out on the day on the pickets, if you're in Maynooth stall for a little while. A lot of Maynooth lecturers have always been good to student campaigns, return the favour and show some support.

Its a one day strike, or 'day of action'

People are talking about a potential second day of action, I highly doubt it. My parents (Siptu Health Worker, Siptu DFB) didn't hear a word of such a day, seems it was something Impact suggested that got blown out of proportion.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,802 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

All day drinking in the SU?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Blue_Light

It had to be on a Tuesday, the one day I don't have any bloody lectures. Would kill for a day off. Our lecturers were saying that they're hoping that the students would come out and support them and show solidarity with the lecturers, as essentially they're battling to ensure that our education is protected. Not sure I totally agree with that being the reason most of them are going out, but still...

Anybody planning on going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

I fully support lecturers taking industrial action once they don't mind being hit in the pocket as high earners when the government unveils its equitable budget in a few weeks. Sure isn't Bertie a socialist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Blue_Light

Will you be heading out to strike with them though? I'm sure there's a large section of students that would support them, but I just don't know if people will care enough to head into town on their day off to strike with them. The way our lecturer was putting it, he'd be extremely disgusted if we didn't use our day off to go in with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

I'm not sure what angle the lecturer's union are taking on this. If they argue that private sector workers in the same pay grade should be hit as hard as them then yes I'd be willing to support them. However, if they're just crying about being hard hit then I've no sympathy for them. They're extremely well paid.

I heard there'll be a few hundred leaflets floating around the big lecture halls on Monday calling on students to show support on Tuesday ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Pm me with details. Good craic.

“...The Students Union support the students right to education and to be educated. The University has said that the college will be staying open and we will be still expecting educators to educate”

Part of a response to a friends email. ****ing hell. Present it as supporting 'the right to education', when cutbacks are destroying education Fair play to the USI on supporting the day of action.

Anyone who knows me knows I think this years S.U are a bazillion miles improved on last years, in fact I've good time for them, but wow on this one. The ballots speak for themselves on campus, supporting the lecturers and staff is very important next week. What if we ever need them?

PrivateEye wrote: »
    “...The Students Union support the students right to education and to be educated. The University has said that the college will be staying open and we will be still expecting educators to educate”

Part of a response to a friends email. ****ing hell. Present it as supporting 'the right to education', when cutbacks are destroying education Fair play to the USI on supporting the day of action.

Anyone who knows me knows I think this years S.U are a bazillion miles improved on last years, in fact I've good time for them, but wow on this one. The ballots speak for themselves on campus, supporting the lecturers and staff is very important next week. What if we ever need them?

I fear this round of striking has little to do with quality of service and cutbacks...

I'll be working and teaching next tuesday (not in Maynooth), where a small few had the balls to speak out against protesting the pension levy last year. The level permanant salaries are set at, and the sheer amount of wage money absorbed by useless senior admin positions at NUIM is astounding. The unions have also worked very hard to keep contract staff - who dont see anything approaching a secure job until well into their thirties - from joining.

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭hypersquirrel

I have to say having experienced life on the lower rungs of NUIM employment that I agree 100% with Efla and couldn't put it better myself

I'd think that if there are useless senior admin positions (which there no doubt are) and the unions have a shit line on contract staff (which they seem to) those are two seperate issues to supporting the rank and file on the day and agreeing with most of the demands being put forward. The unions are banjaxed at the top and that has a direct effect on their recruitment policies etc., but I think the majority of IFUT and Siptu lecturers on campus dont fall into the useless senior admin positions, or have any influence on the unions policy towards contract staff etc.

If the unions are attemping to keep lower paid contract staff out, thats a bloody disgrace tbh.
    small few had the balls to speak out against against protesting the pension levy last year

Without turning a whole thread on its head, what was the logic behind not opposing that levy?

****and sure wasn't it apparently the Union bosses themselves who orginally proposed the idea :rolleyes:***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

It will be interesting to see what stance the Economics Dept take on this issue...
    Personally, I support the public sector workers and won't be using any of the college services that are on strike. *I will be attending lectures however as I've missed around half of them altogether so far. Begininng to show too!*

Just landed in the emails....
    All of the trade unions representing staff working on the Maynooth campus are taking part in a one-day strike on Tuesday November 24th. The strike is protesting against the threat of further government-imposed cuts in the pay of university employees. Action is being taken following ballots in which the majority of members of the unions that are taking part voted in favour of coming out on strike.

Pickets will be placed at the entrances to the North and South campuses throughout the day on Tuesday. Students are asked not to pass these pickets and not to enter the campus while the strike is in progress. (A distinction is, of course, recognised here between students residing on campus and those who would normally be coming in to attend lectures etc. There is no intention to interfere with anyone's access to their home. The aim is to bring the ordinary working parts of the university - its lecture theatres, labs, library etc. - to a halt for the period of the strike).
    Hopefully you will have been informed of the cancellation of your classes by your lecturers in advance of Tuesday. If you are in any doubt, please contact the lecturer concerned to confirm that cancellation. With official pickets in place, the only people who will be conducting or attending classes will be those who have deliberately chosen to break the strike. Given the wide range of Maynooth employees stopping work on the day, it is quite likely that the campus will close down completely. University management intend to try and keep it open but health and safety considerations may lead them to reconsider this position once the strike is in progress. If you do not wish to actively express support for the strike, your wisest course of action may be to stay away from Maynooth on November 24th. Public transport services are likely to be disrupted on that day because workers right across the public sector are going to be involved in the strike.

It must be emphasised that trade union members on the campus are seeking and will warmly welcome student support for their action. Pay cuts are part of a wider package of measures that will progressively reduce the resourcing and the quality of the education provided to students in our schools and universities. The return to charging students tuition fees forms part of the same political agenda. Students and staff have a common interest in the protection of our education system against the kind of destructive changes with which it is currently threatened.

I hope the USI Unions take note of the USI endorsment and put their Union banners on the pickets. The last thing the government want is to see any sort of solidarity from students (traditionally part time private sector workers) and their sort and public sector workers. Build for Nov.24th.

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭tuborg

One of my Finance Lecturers said that they will be still giving a lecture on Tuesday morning despite the strike.

I'd think that if there are useless senior admin positions (which there no doubt are) and the unions have a shit line on contract staff (which they seem to) those are two seperate issues to supporting the rank and file on the day and agreeing with most of the demands being put forward.

The unions are banjaxed at the top and that has a direct effect on their recruitment policies etc., but I think the majority of IFUT and Siptu lecturers on campus dont fall into the useless senior admin positions, or have any influence on the unions policy towards contract staff etc.

The rank and file have been vocal about such exclusions, keeping the bargaining process as insular as possible seems to have worked in their favour.
    If the unions are attemping to keep lower paid contract staff out, thats a bloody disgrace tbh.

The trend is turning toward adjunct/contingent faculty, and is now well institutionalized in places like Trinity (in some departments). Marc Bousquet is worth a look, the video is familiar to most who have been through the contract mill in Ireland I would imagine
    Without turning a whole thread on its head, what was the logic behind not opposing that levy?

****and sure wasn't it apparently the Union bosses themselves who orginally proposed the idea :rolleyes:***

The debate at the time (which didnt involve me as I had no say during my time there) involved accepting the cuts on the basis that those most vocal in their opposition were earning enough. The rank and file as you put it, at university level, are amongst the best paid in the country.

I support 100% any organized opposition to cutbacks in education that directly affect the quality of service provision - not a minor reduction in the disposable income of well compensated senior staff. Asking us to do more with less is long overdue, and although it could end the trend of buying off teaching hours to conduct research (therefore landing me in the shi**er somewhere down the line), I cant see these same people complaining when the departments inevitably 'rationalize' by cutting support teaching, tutorial work and contact hours.

I'm furious at that email, and to be made feel like a traitor for crossing the picket line to go to work is sickening.

Efla, do that thing! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭lsuzanne1987

K4t wrote: »
    It will be interesting to see what stance the Economics Dept take on this issue...
    Personally, I support the public sector workers and won't be using any of the college services that are on strike. *I will be attending lectures however as I've missed around half of them altogether so far. Begininng to show too!*
    My Economics lecturer said she will be giving her lecture on Tuesday afternoon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

Just checked the oul emails and seen this. It's on facebook too.
    Message from the Students’ Union

Strike Action 24th November
    On 24th November, various trade unions representing staff will be partaking in industrial action. Dr David Redmond - the Registrar - has confirmed that the University will not be closed, since this is not a dispute with University Authorities, but a response to a perceived threat to pay and conditions in the upcoming budget. There may, however, be disruption to various services.

The Students' Union believes strongly in education and in preserving quality third level education in Maynooth.

The Students' Union is not taking a stance on Tuesday's dispute between public sector workers and their employers - the Government - and will remain open in order to provide vital services to our members.

Tuesday is not a day off from education and we encourage students to use the day and university facilities to study, as we are fast approaching exams.

Whether individual students, or groups of students, wish to support or oppose the action is their own prerogative

Meh, it just seems like a cop out to me. And technically, aren't the people who work in the SU not public sector workers too? They get paid by the university, who in turn get their money from the government. Or are their wages etc covered by the registration fee/student services charge?

It's a iftu strike, of which they're not members. Good point though!

So now i've one email saying that services are closed, another saying they're open.

banquo wrote: »
    It's a iftu strike, of which they're not members. Good point though!

So now i've one email saying that services are closed, another saying they're open.

You have a cynical bullying email from staff representatives asking for student support when they showed no solidarity throughout the height of this years fees action, and one from your elected representatives encouraging you to make use of the publicly funded facilities you are rightly entitled to.

Our union's stance on the issue is of no specific support to either side. I am getting more sickened by the minute over this s**t. And for the staff to insert the issue of fees into their own self serving labour withdrawl next week is laughable.

You know what to do efla... It's right there...

banquo wrote: »
    You know what to do efla... It's right there...

I'm confused :confused:

Kill someone with my pen?

Good points/arguements efla,cheers for typing them up.
    You have a cynical bullying email from staff representatives asking for student support when they showed no solidarity throughout the height of this years fees action
    I can only speak for myself, and dont want to get secifiy who/name names (You're talking about a good few individuals across departments), but PLENTY of lecturers were more than generous towards the FEE campaign last year in terms of printing/messages of support/offering practicial help.

Also, there was an IFUT banner on the anti-fees demos, and we were allowed give class addresses/leaflet a lot of very varied lectures.
    The Students' Union is not taking a stance on Tuesday's dispute between public sector workers and their employers - the Government
    Merged.small.jpg

Poor Action Man, how does he manage without a pair of bollocks.

Some interesting responses, on both sides, to the latest SU facebook status update.

On%20The%20Fence.jpg

comes to mind.

Any lecturer I said it to today (From a few different departments, was strolling around on odd-jobs..) was not surprised to be honest. I'm more interested in seeing what comes from the USI statement. Will USI ask their affiliated SUs to join pickets on the day/encourage students not to attend the University etc?

Lets wait and see.