Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pub Crawl in Limerick City

• 18-11-2009 1:49pm
    Registered Users Posts: 26

Hi all, I've seen the threads on clubs in limerick but i was wonderin if i cud get a bit of advice which is more pub/bar related. We're a group of 6 - 8 girls comin down round xmas time (mid twenties). We're fans of the all day pub crawl sessions and so i was wondering if any1 cud suggest a few good pubs all within walkin distance. We're stayin just off oconnell street so anywer around that area is perfect.
    Cheers :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Smyths, flannerys, nancy blakes, bitter end, and clohessys just behind dunnes stores.

Five pretty awesome places for a good night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Clohessys, The Bailey, Old Quarter, Smyths, Flannerys, Nancy Blakes, Aubars & Mickey Martins. All within a few mins walk of O Connell St.
    South's, Willie Sexton's and The Bank are all nice pubs also, heading in the opposite direction to those I listed first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

Your end location should be somewhere up around Denmark St/Market Area. So maybe plot a route and work towards there.

What hotel are ye staying in as O'Connell St is quite long?

• Registered Users Posts: 26 dubgirl24

Cheers for the advice so far. Stayin in the best westeren. Also wer would ppl reccommend for new yrs eve?

Aidric wrote: »
    Clohessys, The Bailey, Old Quarter, Smyths, Flannerys, Nancy Blakes, Aubars & Mickey Martins. All within a few mins walk of O Connell St.
    South's, Willie Sexton's and The Bank are all nice pubs also, heading in the opposite direction to those I listed first.

Did the bailey used to be mojos?? or is it close enough to there...

yeah forgot about the old quarter, smashing pub, the bank is alright too, never been to aubars & mickey martins myself, must check them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    Did the bailey used to be mojos??

Correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Smyths, flannerys, nancy blakes, bitter end, and clohessys just behind dunnes stores.

Five pretty awesome places for a good night out

Yeah,if you're 18

jackncoke wrote: »
    Yeah,if you're 18

I am.

Most of the people i go drinking with are 20-21 and they all like it aswell...

Five pretty awesome places for a good night out

Yeah,if you're 17

jackncoke wrote: »
    Yeah,if you're 17

I Lol'd.

Good joke dude!

But yeah, She said she's going on a pub crawl, and bitter end is a good pub for one or two drinks then move on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭john_cappa

I Lol'd.

Good joke dude!

But yeah, She said she's going on a pub crawl, and bitter end is a good pub for one or two drinks then move on...

no no and no again, full of scum bags

To even mention it in the same sentence as the other pubs is bizarre

I Lol'd.

Good joke dude!

She also said she was mid twenties

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭jmccoy

Come up to the Imperial, I'll ask ye' all for ID, and once the auld age is confirmed I'll start chatting up those of you that are good looking. :p

Right here's what you do. Don't mind listening to the whingebags on here who will argue over whats good and whats not, this the definitive list of pubs for you to visit.

From Best Western follow this route:

Head down Catherine St

1. Jerry Fla's - stay for one or two drinks and move on
    2. Aubars - nice enough spot have another couple of drinks here
    3. Possibly head to Mickey Martins around the corner from here (I Like it but it's not everyones scene)
    4. Move across William Street to where the main pubs/nightclubs are, possibly stop for one in Charlies, not a big fav of mine but would probably suit mid 20's girls with cocktails etc
    5. You then have a choice of Nancy's, Flannery's or Smyths all within 30 yards of each other all are good for a once off night in the city.
    6. Nightclub - Icon (attached to Smyths) or Angel Lane (across the road) I'd go Angel lane myself.

Enjoy the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

Ok avoid most of the pubs that are stated above.

Smyths = no thanks = Dickhead bouncers and way to cheesy
    Aubars = Posh jaunt

Nancy Blakes = Good spot for later on
    J Fla's Catherine street= great spot . Might see the man himself

I would recommended also the following. Good Limerick pubs. I.e proper pubs and not teeny boppers places that have been suggested above

Rashers
    Wicked Chicken = great dj sets . chill out pub. Great vibe
    White House = poetry readings and live singer song writers. Real Limerick pub

Tom Collins
    Souths
    Michael Martins
    Willie Sextons

I am sure I am leaving out some great spots

• Registered Users Posts: 155 ✭✭mrmanire

NickDrake wrote: »

Aubars = Posh jaunt

I would recommended also the following. Good Limerick pubs. I.e proper pubs and not teeny boppers places that have been suggested above

Rashers

Tom Collins
    Souths
    Michael Martins
    Willie Sextons

Drake is pretty much spot on there. If you go out in Limerick, you may as well get in some of the city's character. The chicken mightn't be for everyone; good pub for end of night but most will prefer Nancy Blakes or Flannerys. A nice old school pub for the start of the evening would be Charlie St Georges, great chipper beside it aswell.

Aubars = Posh jaunt

Rashers

Tom Collins
    Souths
    Michael Martins
    Willie Sextons

Did you even read the OP?

They are all great pubs but I'm not sure they are what a group of 20 something women down for a night on the piss would be into.

I had another better look there.

They prob aren't on for the old school Limerick pub crawl.

Should have went to Galway.

mrmanire wrote: »
    A nice old school pub for the start of the evening would be Charlie St Georges, great chipper beside it aswell.

are you a regular there?

I had another better look there.

They prob aren't on for the old school Limerick pub crawl.

Should have went to Galway.

Thats the whole point. Send them there for an education. There wont be any Xfactor on there.

john_cappa wrote: »
    are you a regular there?

I don't see where you're getting at?

not getting at anything or insinuating anything,chill lol!

simply asking if you drink in there regularly is all?

not getting at anything or insinuating anything,chill lol!

simply asking if you drink in there regularly is all?

No bother so. Don't drink there as much as I used to as I don't live in Limerick anymore but I whenever I'm around I normally call in for a pint. Often use the train station so it's very handy too

Thats the whole point. Send them there for an education. There wont be any Xfactor on there.

Ya, they'll have a wild time in Tom Collins.
    They are just out for a bit of craic. If they had special interests like Poetry recitals or watching old men drink pints of Guinness then I'm sure they would have mentioned them.

oh right.

I work behind the bar there is all so was wondering if i knew you lol

oh right.

I work behind the bar there is all so was wondering if i knew you lol

Its a savage bar. Great pint there. Maybe the women might land into ye. You can lets us know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭slinky2000

For a bunch of girls looking a bit of craic and to let the hair down stick to the main spots as mentioned.

Smyths
    Nancys
    Flannerys
    Icon
    Trinity Rooms
    Angel Lane
    Bailey
    Charlies
    Claws

Itsdacraic wrote: »

Ya, they'll have a wild time in Tom Collins.
    They are just out for a bit of craic. If they had special interests like Poetry recitals or watching old men drink pints of Guinness then I'm sure they would have mentioned them.

I am guessing your idea of "craic" is a loud teeny pub with terrible chart music blarring and terrible pints.

All I am doing is directing them to the real pubs in the city. Thats where the character and culture of the city is. Not in a pub that blares Lady Gaga and people are off their eads on smirnof ice and shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

I can recall going to the White house one night
    I didn't stay long mind, the poetry was sh1te

I will add Magners to my list. Great spot