Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Games I'm almost afraid to play online!

• 18-11-2009 2:50pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭

I was looking through some of my games last night, and contemplated firing up The Orange Box to give Team Fortress 2 a go. Then I thought about it a bit more and realised that chances are I would end up running round not having a clue what to do, like I always do with TF2.

Likewise with Left4Dead; I remember reading all the reviews and really looking forward to playing online.. not sure why really but I never quite got into it, despite the praise its online experience gets.

And now I'm almost afraid to try them out, for fear of being that crappy noob that no one wants on their team.. (and that they complain about on forums)

Anyone else like this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

halo.

but I'm waiting to try out one of those contraptions that let me use kb/mouse :)

• Registered Users Posts: 615 ✭✭✭NunianVonFuch

Everyone's that crappy noob at first! Games are for having fun so I wouldn't let other people's opinions of your skill stop you from enjoying them. Besides the only way to get better is with practice! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Never played COD. Any of em and i'm not the best gamer on a good day and I know it's amazing online but the thoughts of running around lost getting my head blown off repeatedly doesn't really sound like fun.

Then again was like that with Gears 2 for a while and then I started to enjoy it, even though i'd still be around the bottom ranks in Horde.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭James Howlett

Everybody's gotta start somewhere.

Start a thread for whatever game you want to play online ask see if any boardies want to join you. I think there is a thread for upcoming games somewhere for people to plan stuff like this. If you feel like playing Gears of War 2 online add me, thats all I really play of late.

As for complaints on forums... dont' read them. Its not your fault you can't devote 18hours a day to gaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

RTS are really the only games I would be afraid to play online as its such a time investment to get beaten so much when you first start to play. FPS's however are grand, you'll be a noob for awhile, but its easy enough to pick up a basic grasp of what's going on quickly. And if you do lose you have the rest of your team to blame :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

I thought that is the point of TF2 :pac::pac::pac:
    It's only of the only games I like online due to there been very elites {arseholes} on it.
    mise wrote: »
    I was looking through some of my games last night, and contemplated firing up The Orange Box to give Team Fortress 2 a go. Then I thought about it a bit more and realised that chances are I would end up running round not having a clue what to do, like I always do with TF2.

I stopped playing muti-player for this same reason, I fecked up once due to it been my first time playing a Z and got Vote-Kicked FFS!!!!

Likewise with Left4Dead; I remember reading all the reviews and really looking forward to playing online.. not sure why really but I never quite got into it, despite the praise its online experience gets.

And now I'm almost afraid to try them out, for fear of being that crappy noob that no one wants on their team.. (and that they complain about on forums)

Anyone else like this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

SFIV... Playing after a 5 month+ break, and with a standard controller...
    Got stuck into it this afternoon and won 2 out of about 15 matches:o

TF2 would be a hard game to just pick up after a break (or to even start it at this stage), but I can't see what the problem with L4D is really, the maps follow a fairly linear route so you can't really get lost. Maybe have a couple of singleplayer games to warm yourself up before jumping into multiplayer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭RAIN

Unreal tournament scares me. I don't think its noob friendly environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

I out and out refrain from playing MW or Halo unless it's against friends. All I ever get is whiney future serial killer American kids giving out to me, not even that I'm particularly bad at these games but because I'm not at the ridiculous social life abolishing level of ability they're at. Not worth it IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

Guitar Hero 3 + Rock Band.
    I no longer even think about going online any more. Nothing is more depressing than being beaten by someone who does not miss a single note.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Smartly Dressed

If someone calls you a noob or in some other way implies that you're bad at the game, just tell him/her to go drown in his/her own urine.

Those people who are giving out to you for "sucking" at the game were at the exact same level as yourself when they started. If you're still worried, just play with some friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Porninferno

When I first bought my 360 it came bundled with some online Battlefield 19xx( sorry can't accurately remember the title). Hooked it up to the Interweb for the Live Account and Gamertag. Started this Battlefield game and all hell broke loose - suddenly I was a pariah!! You "swearword" this you "swearword" that!! The same thing happened when I tried to play Forza 2 and Forza 3 online - never again. Either that or they swore at me and then quit if I was beating them!

Perhaps I need some Xbox friends to forgive my shortcomings!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭RAIN

The worst is in any one on one game like Fight Night, when you take on someone who is in a room full of mates who are ALL screaming abuse at you. I don't get much abuse these days but if I do I try and give a little back and then defuse it. Usually end up getting a friend request afterwards. There are the exceptions though, big ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭Asmodean

I'm in the same boat as you OP. I play MW2 online a fair bit because I enjoy it. I'm not excellent at it in any shape or form so I just play for the laugh or with likeminded friends.
    It gets so frustrating though being sniped from about 2 miles away by people who obviously do nothing but play the game constantly, definitely ruins the fun in it. I'm a gamer all my life but this new breed of superability pricks is getting tiresome :D
    Add my GT sure because it'd be nice to play some games with people who are on a similar ability to myself. I also have gears/halo/L4D etc

GT : richiepunx