Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Public Sector Strikes in Limerick on Tuesday

• 18-11-2009 4:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭

Heard there will be pickets outside County Hall in Dooradoyle and Lissanalta House up the road from it. What kinda reception to ye think these lads will get? Bare in mind the vast majority of people we will see out on the streets will be earning 25-40K max and not the fat cat Civil Servants who we all read about in the papers all the time. Hope Limerick doesnt turn its back on decent normal low earning Limerick people on Tuesday. We are meant to be a working class people.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,149 ✭✭✭✭Berty

25K is still a good wage to earn so truly not to be sniffed at and not to be going on strike for.

Yeah, the guys at the top earn silly money, hell, the guy heading Siptu earns more than anybody FFS!

Take the public servants on a tour of a deli or supermarket and watch those souls work for minimum wage. Whats the difference? They do not have / employers were not stupid enough to have trade unions to bitch about everything.

Benchmarking is all you heard a few years ago and now it has come back full circle and will bite the public servants in the a*ss.

Good luck to any public servant. I toil away for much less money in the private sector with nobody but myself to fight my battles for me.

Get to work and get on with it!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

I bought a tray of tomatos earlier in the week, they should be nice and over-ripe for throwing next Tuesday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭Firefox10

I take it this will only be council staff outside the offices?? As for what reception they will get?? Ill shrug my shoulders and carry on with my own business. 25-40k is a good salary to be on.:confused: It's better than the 204 euro a week that some of my former work colleagues are on at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Paulegend

Firefox10 wrote: »
    I take it this will only be council staff outside the offices?? As for what reception they will get?? Ill shrug my shoulders and carry on with my own business. 25-40k is a good salary to be on.:confused: It's better than the 204 euro a week that some of my former work colleagues are on at the moment.

completly agree that id take 25k in a heartbeat and be happy with it.

but EVERYONE and i mean every single, married, worker, unemployed, student, OAP, public sector, private sector, emergency servant, caretaker, street sweeper, lollypop lady, wrestler, footballer, imigrant, irish person, woman, man, child, dog, giraffe. everyone should be protesting. the more the merrier. now is not the time to divide.

lets unite. united we conquer divided we fall.

the fat cat government is trying to divide us by telling us lower/middle class that the guys on 40k a year dont deserve it. of course alot of them do. they worked to get there. we need to stop fighting with eachother and focus on the real enemy. "our government leaders"

stand up and be counted. show the government its our country. we have the real power not them we pay them we elect them tell them what you want them to do

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

€500+ a week and they are complaining? Im just about surviving on €500 every 2 weeks in work. Tell them fúck off and get back to work.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Melion wrote: »
    €500+ a week and they are complaining? Im just about surviving on €500 every 2 weeks in work. Tell them fúck off and get back to work.

+1 on this, 25k a year is plenty to live on, fcuk em frankly, couldnt give a toss, most of them have cushy jobs with little to no responsibility, working in a corrupt system where they've had it too handy for too long, I know a few people working in public sector jobs and its the handiest line of work you can get

krudler wrote: »
    +1 on this, 25k a year is plenty to live on, fcuk em frankly, couldnt give a toss, most of them have cushy jobs with little to no responsibility, working in a corrupt system where they've had it too handy for too long, I know a few people working in public sector jobs and its the handiest line of work you can get

500 a week.

ok scenario.

one kid 10 years old
    wife who isnt working because she has just given birth to their second and wants to stay home with the child.

running a car.
    paying a morgage
    pay for esb
    pau for tv
    pay for nappies,food,school books, uniforms, clothing for the kids,

i assure you even with mommies social welfare this family are on a very very tight budget. forget holidays or vhi or pensions

Paulegend wrote: »
    500 a week.

ok scenario.

one kid 10 years old
    wife who isnt working because she has just given birth to their second and wants to stay home with the child.

running a car.
    paying a morgage
    pay for esb
    pau for tv

i assure you even with mommies social welfare this family are on a very very tight budget. forget holidays or vhi or pensions

All of the above = Life choices and choice NOT to return to work by your wife.

None of which are good enough excuses for you or anybody else to earn more money. In the private sector you cannot expect to walk into your boss and say "I NEED more money because I have kids and my wife has decided not to return to work".

It does not work in the private sector so be damned if it should work in the public sector.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

And I hope they will say the same to you. :D:D:D

Berty wrote: »
    All of the above = Life choices and choice NOT to return to work by your wife.

None of which are good enough excuses for you or anybody else to earn more money. In the private sector you cannot expect to walk into your boss and say "I NEED more money because I have kids and my wife has decided not to return to work".

It does not work in the private sector so be damned if it should work in the public sector.

course it works in the private sector. listen i am not going to slate someone for working anywhere and work their way up the ladder to making this amount of cash. if mr X is making 500 a week its because he worked for it. just because he is in a certain sector no matter which sector. he shouldnt be slated. why not slate the taosoich(however its spelt:D) who is one of the highest paid in europe.

everyone has the right to have kids and a family. its a choice sure but it shouldnt be a choice that makes you stop affording food. if you work you deserve to be paid. why target these guys. course there is other people who havent worked for it but again thats like the people claiming for stuff that isnt true from the social welfare(lone parents etc).

all im saying is the government want us to blame the guys on 25-40k a year. it takes the working class's focus off them.

wrong enemy dude dont let them trick you. when its time for election dont forget who is responsible for this country being fecked

And I hope they will say the same to you. :D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

If its that handy , why dont you join them ?

• Registered Users Posts: 569 ✭✭✭boodlesdoodles

Yet another public sector bashing thread is exactly what Boards needs. :rolleyes:

I for one will support them next Tues. I know people who work both in front line services and are civil servants and they work hard for their money. The government are experts in spin and would have you believe that every member of the public service is on huge money - its a complete fallacy.

We all made our choices of what jobs to do in life and if the public service are unionised fair play to them for refusing to take it lying down. There's too much emphasis paid on looking for a scapegoat for the country's woes, and the public sector are the natural easy target.

Yet another public sector bashing thread is exactly what Boards needs. :rolleyes:

You're correct but the OP started thread and would appear to support the public sector's actions.
    I for one will support them next Tues. I know people who work both in front line services and are civil servants and they work hard for their money. The government are experts in spin and would have you believe that every member of the public service is on huge money - its a complete fallacy.

I, for one, am not saying they do not work hard for their money. I think they should be happy with their lot because by international standards our public sector are paid very well.

Going back to the original comments of €25,000. That is a GOOD wage.
    We all made our choices of what jobs to do in life and if the public service are unionised fair play to them for refusing to take it lying down. There's too much emphasis paid on looking for a scapegoat for the country's woes, and the public sector are the natural easy target.

The problem with trade unions are that they fight for wage increases for everybody, the deserving and the not so deserving. Every industry/employer has good workers and bad workers but in the trade unions eyes they are all the same and should all be paid the same. This is the inherent problem in the public sector.

The trade union made your bed and now all of you are condemned to sleep in it.

The government did not do this nor did the employees. You have paid your money to SIPTU and the likes to have free reign over you.

• Registered Users Posts: 569 ✭✭✭boodlesdoodles

You're correct but the OP started thread and would appear to support the public sector's actions.

Boodles: I never accused the OP of bashing, was just merely pointing out that it had turned into another round of public sector bashing

The problem with trade unions are that they fight for wage increases for everybody, the deserving and the not so deserving. Every industry/employer has good workers and bad workers but in the trade unions eyes they are all the same and should all be paid the same. This is the inherent problem in the public sector. .

I can only agree with that but all the same those lower paid are entitled to their voice and unfortunately striking is the only option open at the moment. I must add I'm not public worker myself but I empathise with the many who feel hard done by and scapegoated. I just feel sad that the general public have accepted this perceived war between the private and public sectors.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

500 a week.

ok scenario.

one kid 10 years old

running a car.
    paying a morgage
    pay for esb
    pau for tv

So my situation which still affords me being able to go to Liverpool last weekend and NYC in 2 weeks time on half the wages these people are complaining about. My OH still hasnt gone back to work since giving birth, her maternity leave isn't finished until February.

Running a car(€70+ a week on petrol)
    Paying rent(probably more than a mortgage)
    ESB
    Nappies, food, doctors appointments, other necessities for a 4 month old child.

Stop talking shít.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭Liam79

isnt it funny, when the boom was in effect. People looked down on public sector workers on a measley 25k and laughed at them. Pencil Pushers just scraping by was the attitude of Private Sector workers towards librarians etc…a librarian..haha....sure who would want THAT job....but now that some of them have lost their jobs its "how dare they have a job and make ALL THAT MONEY.....(25k :rolleyes:)!!!" Its the classic Irish crap of "if i cant have it, neither can you"

Liam79 wrote: »
    isnt it funny, when the boom was in effect. People like Berty et al looked down on public sector workers on a measley 25k and laughed at them. Pencil Pushers just scraping by was the attitude of Private Sector workers towards librarians etc…a librarian..haha....sure who would want THAT job....but now that some of them have lost their jobs its "how dare they have a job and make ALL THAT MONEY.....(25k :rolleyes:)!!!" Its the classic Irish crap of "if i cant have it, neither can you"

More like, isn't funny how during the boom that the public sector unions were all in favour of national wage deals and partnership when the wages were going up, but now things have been flipped around they want nothing to do with it.

isnt it funny, when the boom was in effect. People like Berty et al looked down on public sector workers on a measley 25k and laughed at them. Pencil Pushers just scraping by was the attitude of Private Sector workers towards librarians etc…a librarian..haha....sure who would want THAT job....but now that some of them have lost their jobs its "how dare they have a job and make ALL THAT MONEY.....(25k :rolleyes:)!!!" Its the classic Irish crap of "if i cant have it, neither can you"

You cannot be serious.

I am of the opinion that Public sector workers on €25k need to realise that €25k is actually a good wage. That is all.

If you had private sector workers, like supermarket workers, running around with placards saying :

"€17,500 per annum is not enough for us we deserve more because we work hard" NOBODY WOULD CARE and the reason is because their voice is not as powerful as the trade union.

Why would I look down on a public sector worker earning €25k anyway? I earn a few thousand less than that myself so I would look up to that pay. :rolleyes:

Librarians for that matter cannot just be hired straight off the street. There are minimum requirments to be a librarian so nobody could turn their nose up at that job.

If you wish to assume I am one of those people who hate foreigners stealing our jobs and social welfare leaches moaning about not having enough money then so be it but you couldn't be further from the truth.
    "if i cant have it, neither can you""

Who exactly said that?

Berty,
    apologies for personalising it to you, that was out of order. Sorry mate.

the comparison between private sector shop assistants and public sector librarians making 25k is not legit as to be a shop assistant all u need it ure leaving, if that. To be a librarian you need a degree.
    So its NOT the same lads

Sorry again Berty, my bad. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭neil_purdy

Question to any public sector reading??

I have no idea about your pay situation.. But will you get paid for the day if you go on strike? Will it be taken as holiday or sick day? If its holiday or sick day then i presume its a normal days pay..

Anyone else think they should be docked pay for going on strike??

i have never been on strike and would frankly be afraid to.. There are plenty of people willing to work and my job would be filled within a day!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭TCP/IP_King

... you cannot expect to walk into your boss and say "I NEED more money because I have kids and my wife has decided not to return to work".....

That's what I did and he started negotiating. If you're a net earner for them they'll keep you.

neil_purdy wrote: »
    Question to any public sector reading??

I have no idea about your pay situation.. But will you get paid for the day if you go on strike? Will it be taken as holiday or sick day? If its holiday or sick day then i presume its a normal days pay..

Anyone else think they should be docked pay for going on strike??

i have never been on strike and would frankly be afraid to.. There are plenty of people willing to work and my job would be filled within a day!!!

They are docked a days pay while on strike.
    The only people who get paid while the strike is on are the union bosses on €100k + a year

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

500 a week.

ok scenario.

one kid 10 years old

running a car.
    paying a morgage
    pay for esb
    pau for tv

That around what I make,slightly more with OT, and I have rent, car loan, esb, insurance, tax, broadband, food, day to day expense, the rare holiday, and I have a long term illness with no medical card so have to pay for medication, doctors visits every 2 weeks and a specialist once a month at a cool 150 quid a pop, yet i manage, if you cant afford to have kids then dont,simple as

re will they be paid….wife is a PS Worker….no they wont, and get this. Neither will staff who had prebooked Annual Leave for months with no preknowledge of a strike and neither will NON UNION staff! So say ure not in the union, u cant very well pass a picket with ure friends/colleagues in it, so u do what everyone else the world over does, u take the day off...u still will not be paid. yet Peter McLoone/Andy Pyke and all union officials take their pay for that day......! and some council workers who have paid union fees for up to 40 years wont see a penny back from "their" union........

• Registered Users Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Delphi91

...Neither will staff who had prebooked Annual Leave for months with no preknowledge of a strike and neither will NON UNION staff! So say ure not in the union, u cant very well pass a picket with ure friends/colleagues in it, so u do what everyone else the world over does, u take the day off...u still will not be paid....

You 100% sure about this?

The following is from a FAQ from the INTO website:
    The only staff that will lose pay on 24 November are those staff who will be on strike. Non-teaching staff who are not on strike will get paid on that day if they report for work. Alternatively, if they are available for work but are informed that the work place is closed, they will also be entitled to payment on that day.

And:
    What about teachers who are out on maternity leave, sick leave on 24th
    November?
    A. Teachers absent on sick leave, maternity leave, etc. – who would have been absent from school in any event – will not be returned as being on strike on 24th November.

That seems to conflict with your assertion about people who have booked annual leave - they would not have been available for work anyway on November 24th, therefore should not be docked pay.

Delphi91 wrote: »
    You 100% sure about this?

The following is from a FAQ from the INTO website:

And:

That seems to conflict with your assertion about people who have booked annual leave - they would not have been available for work anyway on November 24th, therefore should not be docked pay.

I am 100% certain. thats the INTO. My wife is a LA Worker with IMPACT. The INTO are only picketing for 3 hours! LA workers are on a 24hr strike with a full working day picket and i am 100% certain that no one but no one except those who turn up for the work on the day and pass a picket or have a sick cert will be paid. That is 100% certain. Even those not in the Union! All Annual Leave has been cancelled.
    But this is more proof of the general consensus out there being wrong again!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Delphi91

I am 100% certain. thats the INTO. My wife is a LA Worker with IMPACT. The INTO are only picketing for 3 hours! LA workers are on a 24hr strike with a full working day picket and i am 100% certain that no one but no one except those who turn up for the work on the day and pass a picket or have a sick cert will be paid. That is 100% certain. Even those not in the Union! All Annual Leave has been cancelled.
    But this is more proof of the general consensus out there being wrong again!!!

Actually, I had a browse through the ASTI website, and they are saying the same as you. It's interesting that there are two/three public sector unions who have different approaches to whether someone can be on strike or not - so much for solidarity!

Delphi91 wrote: »
    Actually, I had a browse through the ASTI website, and they are saying the same as you. It's interesting that there are two/three public sector unions who have different approaches to whether someone can be on strike or not - so much for solidarity!

Can you see my point now Delphi, that public misperceptions are being fuelled by the media and swallowed whole by people who want to hate public sector workers :(

So my situation which still affords me being able to go to Liverpool last weekend and NYC in 2 weeks time on half the wages these people are complaining about. My OH still hasnt gone back to work since giving birth, her maternity leave isn't finished until February.

Running a car(€70+ a week on petrol)
    Paying rent(probably more than a mortgage)
    ESB
    Nappies, food, doctors appointments, other necessities for a 4 month old child.

Stop talking shít.

agresive much????????????

and dont swear at me

That around what I make,slightly more with OT, and I have rent, car loan, esb, insurance, tax, broadband, food, day to day expense, the rare holiday, and I have a long term illness with no medical card so have to pay for medication, doctors visits every 2 weeks and a specialist once a month at a cool 150 quid a pop, yet i manage, if you cant afford to have kids then dont,simple as

ok fine both of you. you should both be slated so for making the cash ye are making. im standing up for you people.

i can understand other people talking crap about my posts but if ye take yer heads outta each others arse ye can read that im DEFENDING YE

some people..............................:rolleyes: