Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Match **DO NOT START OTHER MATCH THREADS**

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 greensman

Just read fifas 'report' of the match. (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/newsid=1136804.html#gallas+breaks+irish+hearts) Apparently they missed the whole thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,974 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Thats disgusting.

Can we have that labeled NSFW?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

My hoover is gonna get a kicking tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

very pissed off after the match, but now we just have to accept it. these things happen week in, week out in some league somewhere. Thats the game and had Ireland got the goal instead, we'd probably admit its a crap way to get into the WC, but we'd be already planning on which pub to watch the group stage matches in.
    The performance did the nation proud and it should spur on the team for the Poland 2012 qualifiers.
    Come on Ireland!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

greensman wrote: »
    Just read fifas 'report' of the match. (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/newsid=1136804.html#gallas+breaks+irish+hearts) Apparently they missed the whole thing.

I cant believe they actually said the Irish will be kicking themselves!!!:mad::mad: Should be kicking Henry!

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭Happynappy

Fcuk off, cheating scumbag , hope he dies of the clap

• Registered Users Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Moomoo1

really feel for the officials here... no way they could have spotted it. I needed several replays to see it myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 greensman

jd007 wrote: »
    I cant believe they actually said the Irish will be kicking themselves!!!:mad::mad: Should be kicking Henry!

Ye and a blatant handball/cheating is now a stroke of luck. You could call anelkas goal lucky, but what happened tonight, i don't think so.
    Proud of the Irish lads though, couldn't have asked more of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 34 davey boy

Heard the the headline in tomorrows mirror will be "hand of frog crushes ireland"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Its ****ing galling to lose to such rubbish team as France, especially when the goal should have been disallowed under 3 counts.

The stupid jerks of supporters, hissing and whistling at their president, and all the team and then near the end waving flags.

France were rubbish for most all of the campaign and now they somehow have sneaked into the finals

• Registered Users Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Moomoo1

come on guys, you never expected a world cup without France or Portugal, did you? I am not sure FIFA would have wanted to contemplated such a possibility, if you know what I mean.

EDIT and I know I am contradicting my previous post. I am bitter though.

Moomoo1 wrote: »
    really feel for the officials here... no way they could have spotted it. I needed several replays to see it myself.

Feck sakes a 70 year old Italian man stand half way up the pitch seen it. Lines man should have seen it, no excuse.

Moomoo1 wrote: »

You got to be jokin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Senna wrote: »
    Feck sakes a 70 year old Italian man stand half way up the pitch seen it. Lines man should have seen it, no excuse.

they couldnt see it thru their rose tinted sepp blatter specs tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

davey boy wrote: »
    Heard the the headline in tomorrows mirror will be "hand of frog crushes ireland"

We'll have less of that thank you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Senna wrote: »
    very pissed off after the match, but now we just have to accept it.

Accept it wtf?

It'll be a few days yet before i stop letting any french i can find know how i feel.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

Suprised his official facebook isnt taking much of a hammering.

cheating bastards, i hope Ireland rugby team hammer these cnuts

vinylmesh wrote: »
    Accept it wtf?

True, most of us are still complaining about some 700yr thing-a-me-jig:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

TomCo wrote: »

Try the one that actually has fans:

Linky

Plenty of remarks there you might want to distance yourself from.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

laugh wrote: »
    Try the one that actually has fans:

Linky

Plenty of remarks there you might want to distance yourself from.

Thats very embarrassing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

TomCo wrote: »

When you become a fan you'll see it has over a page of abuse.

TheZohan wrote: »
    We'll have less of that thank you.

The French cheated their way into the world cup. I cannot understand why on an Irish website we cannot run them into the dirt with every insult imaginable.

Political correctness is just gone too far.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,974 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

The French cheated their way into the world cup. I cannot understand why on an Irish website we cannot run them into the dirt with ever insult imaginable.

Political correctness is just gone too far.
    Hmm. Pics are disabled....(!)

*Implied Facepalm*

Overheal wrote: »
    Hmm. Pics are disabled....(!)

*Implied Facepalm*

Please explain why we should not be insulting the cheats??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

Overheal wrote: »
    *Implied Facepalm*

............................................________
    ....................................,.-‘”...................``~.,
    .............................,.-”...................................“-.,
    .........................,/...............................................”:,
    .....................,?......................................................\,
    .................../...........................................................,}
    ................./......................................................,:`^`..}
    .............../...................................................,:”........./
    ..............?.....__.........................................:`.........../
    ............./__.(.....“~-,_..............................,:`........../
    .........../(_....”~,_........“~,_....................,:`........_/
    ..........{.._$;_......”=,_.......“-,_.......,.-~-,},.~”;/....}
    ...........((.....*~_.......”=-._......“;,,./`..../”............../
    ...,,,___.\`~,......“~.,....................`.....}............../
    ............(....`=-,,.......`........................(......;_,,-”
    ............/.`~,......`-...............................\....../\
    .............\`~.*-,.....................................|,./.....\,__
    ,,_..........}.>-._\...................................|..............`=~-,
    .....`=~-,_\_......`\,.................................\
    ...................`=~-,,.\,...............................\
    ................................`:,,...........................`\..............__
    .....................................`=-,...................,%`>--==``
    ........................................_\..........._,-%.......`\
    ...................................,<`.._|_,-&``................`\

For future reference.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

This should be in the soccer forum :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Please explain why we should not be insulting the cheats??

Because one man and/or one football team is not an entire nation and we will not tolerate any form of racism here. We can all make our point without stooping to that level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 pip-irl

j1smithy wrote: »
    YES! An online petition will get the result of the match changed. Why didn't I think of that?:rolleyes:

the point of the petition is to raise awareness of how soccer needs a video ref.

It is one of few major sports that doesn't have a video ref.Ice hockey tennis and rugby all have video refs why not soccer