Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Low budget clients

Options
  • 20-11-2009 5:04pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭

I work full time as a web designer/developer, I try do some freelance from time to time and take what i can get but i've been getting clients who really offer a really low price.
    Other day i got asked to do a static website , 4/5 page and they were offering 400 euros.
    Personally few years ago when i was in college this would have been a great deal but right now, it just sounds like a lot of hassle for just that amount .

Any opinions?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

It really depends how much work/time you would have to put into the project....

1-3days - spot on
    3-5 days - ish
    any more only if your broke and have no job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

There's lots of people offering web design these days. The market is saturated really with people offering static / brochure type sites. Everyone is under cutting each other and driving prices down. That's just the way it is at the moment. I clicked one boardsies sig there last week and he was offering €99 websites :(

I suppose people have to do what they have to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,602 ✭✭✭✭kippy

To be honest, 2-5 static pages for 400 euro is a very good earner.....surely you have a few templates?
    Its something you can throw together in a couple of hours if you know what you are at and the client has given you detailed specs......
    Static pages shouldnt cost that much to do. Unless you have to sort out domain name, hosting etc its a fair price I think.