Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HELP - Tv Licence

Options
  • 23-11-2009 8:57pm
    Registered Users Posts: 13

Hi all,

I just needed a little advise regarding Tv licencing;

About 4 weeks ago a TV licence inspector showed up at my door, he asked me if I had a TV and I said yes. He informed me that I would need to pay for a licence or face prosecution. I'm a student from Norway and I told him that I was unaware. I got rid of the TV the next day. About 4 Days ago I recieved a letter from An Post again saying that i'll need to pay for the licence or face prosecution. But I do not own a TV. Do I still have to pay for the licence?

Thanks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

If you have no "television or equipment capable of receiving a television signal (using an aerial, satellite dish, cable or other means)" you would be ok.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/consumer-affairs/media/tv_licences

• Registered Users Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

There's a form you need to send them that specificies you don't have a TV. I don't know exactly where you get one of them though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,609 ✭✭✭Flamed Diving

Yeah, they just assume you have a TV unless otherwise stated.

This is the number you need to ring:

01 7058800

• Registered Users Posts: 78,421 ✭✭✭✭Victor

However, at one point you had a TV and admitted it to them. You could still be prosecuted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭blackbetty69

those guys in the ads are actually real?!! lol :pac:

• Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 13 pourie89

Victor wrote: »