Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas Day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭FrankieMul

Ok the truth is i told some friends about xmas day! I advertised it and so i must have organised it me and campus services im sorry!

ur not criticising ur just saying things that people what to hear like they were involved!

Witsu dont book the enetertainment nor have they ever and the reason why the dome posters have a witsu stamp is so that they wontget ripped down on campus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 simon365

First of all the door charge was €2, not €3 which has been previously mentioned. This €2 was an optional donation which went to the Belarussian Orphanage project who from my understanding, approached the union and asked for their help. The Lyons Club hamper appeal has been the chosen charity for the past 3 years and i'm sure if they approach the organisation they will have no problem helping them out.

With regard to the DJ being a member of the union, if you read the constitution you will see that ALL WIT students are members of the Students Union, and that particular DJ was hired by the Dome Bar for the day.

"The WITSU President and co are no angels" I don't think anyone has that impression or I certainly don't feel that they would like to give off that impression. Remember that they were students aswell and they have a right to enjoy college life as much as everyone else.

I know for a fact that certain members of the union worked 18 hours last Weds, in which they were abused by both local residents and students. These union members are not being paid over time and have no reason to be out HELPING with the situation, bu they are doing it for the good of the WIT name. Ask the Gardai and any chairperson of local residents associations about the outstanding work WITSU have done over the past two years.

If you have a problem with the WITSU FB page, delete yourself from it and don't criticize everything that the union does. They do not endorse the Dome bar or any other bar for that matter, they simply work in conjunction to make sure that any student event runs smoothly.

Also Sparkling sea- if people are not interested in the SU or anything they say then why the hell are you wasting your time talking about.

WITSTUDENT? thats original, you are clearly a member of the SU cast but ok we'll play along. People are always going to criticise you ok. It's human nature to criticise the people that make decisions so if you cannot handle that you should probably step down.
    FrankieMul wrote: »
    U mean how they made the student body aware of a band in a pub that was playing in one venue! I suppose to forced everyone to drink so early and invite their friends from home down! And i suppose it was cathy who broke the statue to make the news and she was the one who provoked the 31 students into getting arrested with at least 28 of these of campus!And she also arranged for the dome to be closed early and ensured that bad bobs would open on a weds at 10:30 something it never does!

AND FINALLY THE UNION CREATED THIS TRADITION THAT GOES BACK OVER !% YEARS THAT ON THE FINAL WEDS OF FIRST TERM ALL STUDENTS WILL GET UP EARLY SKIP CLASSES AND GO DRINKING PLEASE!
    No blame rests on the college or the union

! And if u want to blame someone other than the students who caused the problems it is with campus services who are a 3rd party to the college for organising and paying for the music in the bar and arranging the security and wit card only system!!!!!!!

Those swine for trying to make money during a depression of students who want liquor! Oh the shame!!! please!

Yes Frank, the SU did create the tradition of drinking from 10:30am in the dome on that wendesday, not the current SU crop but previous presidents etc who may not have been as proactive in their role as Cathy, abused the SU, its budget, and sucked every little bit out of it. I recall one president purchasing a Land Rover for SU use with the SU budget.
    The college is 100% liable for the actions of its students, if you or I were at a staff Christmas party for our jobs lets say, and we vandalised the bar, urinated in the sinks, broke a holy statue, and after that got arrested, do you really think that we would escape without punishment from our employers? Im pretty sure we'd be dismissed. The students are predominantly adults, and should therefore act accordingly, if they do not there should be an effective disciplinary procedure in place that ensures these kind of actions will not happen in the future. If those 31 individuals were all WIT for example, im not saying they were now Frank before you try jump on that point!! But lets say they were, if they were to be expelled from the college, do you not think that would discourage people from similar behaviour in future??

i can criticize who ever i want, i can be on which ever FB page i like.

and you cant take away from the fact that you advertised the dome on yoru face book page, its reality you cant twist this fact around, no ammount of back pedaling will get you out of it, your digging your self into a deeper hole by deleting the status, this is the interwebs sir you dont know what kind of evil people your dealing with :P

i have no interest in what cowen talks about, because usually its some BS, but i still talk about him.:rolleyes: and lol my friend's comments about this thread on the facebook page got deleted too ahahaha

a sure sign they don't want people to see something!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭ec18

Yo yo yo I'm gonna let you finish, but CIT had the best Xmas day of all time, all time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭imported_guy

simon365 wrote: »
    a sure sign they don't want people to see something!!
    im sure they'll love to see this though, looks like shizzle just got real again.
    http://img215.imageshack.us/i/ownedgk.jpg/
    ownedgk.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭alpha2zulu

First of all the door charge was €2, not €3 which has been previously mentioned. This €2 was an optional donation which went to the Belarussian Orphanage project who from my understanding, approached the union and asked for their help. The Lyons Club hamper appeal has been the chosen charity for the past 3 years and i'm sure if they approach the organisation they will have no problem helping them out.

With regard to the DJ being a member of the union, if you read the constitution you will see that ALL WIT students are members of the Students Union, and that particular DJ was hired by the Dome Bar for the day.

"The WITSU President and co are no angels" I don't think anyone has that impression or I certainly don't feel that they would like to give off that impression. Remember that they were students aswell and they have a right to enjoy college life as much as everyone else.

I know for a fact that certain members of the union worked 18 hours last Weds, in which they were abused by both local residents and students. These union members are not being paid over time and have no reason to be out HELPING with the situation, bu they are doing it for the good of the WIT name. Ask the Gardai and any chairperson of local residents associations about the outstanding work WITSU have done over the past two years.

If you have a problem with the WITSU FB page, delete yourself from it and don't criticize everything that the union does. They do not endorse the Dome bar or any other bar for that matter, they simply work in conjunction to make sure that any student event runs smoothly.

Also Sparkling sea- if people are not interested in the SU or anything they say then why the hell are you wasting your time talking about.

All a bit of a cop out, once again rather than answering any of the fundamental questions posed here regarding 1. Advertising not equaling promoting the event,2. Why the message to local and national media went out that WITSU had no part in organizing /promoting the events, and 3.Now the allegations of these volunteers being "paid handsomely" for their time on Wednesday and whether its a case of jobs for the boys (and girls).

Trotting out irrelevant nonsense such as
    If you have a problem with the WITSU FB page, delete yourself from it and don't criticize everything that the union does.
    is just dodgeing the issue.
    Hey was just on the phone to Colm there in the Union we go back like used to work together! He kinda pissed off over the posts heard about them off one of the lads! He said if anyone has any quereies to ring him or call in! Ya can get his number off the website! At least then ya would have an oppurtunity to have your questions answered and have some of the inaccuracies put right!

If he was so concerned I'm sure he would have voiced his opinion and publically defended the union here already, I mean this thread has had over 4000 views so theres obviously an interest amongst the general student body (aka the union members he has been elected to represent) about whats going on.

Ya i know ya and they couldnt sell the jeep! It was a piece of crap! And that for the college authorities to decide amd the disiplinary committee!

alpha2zulu wrote: »
    All a bit of a cop out, once again rather than answering any of the fundamental questions posed here regarding 1. Advertising not equaling promoting the event,2. Why the message to local and national media went out that WITSU had no part in organizing /promoting the events, and 3.Now the allegations of these volunteers being "paid handsomely" for their time on Wednesday and whether its a case of jobs for the boys (and girls).

Trotting out irrelevant nonsense such as is just dodgeing the issue.

Summed up perfectly!! The SU tried to dodge all responsibility after the day but as ImportedGuy has just shown us, seems they did promote the Dome!

ec18 wrote: »
    Yo yo yo I'm gonna let you finish, but CIT had the best Xmas day of all time, all time!

Ha ha! I bet ye didn't cause havoc down there though unlike the WIT students.

Ya i know ya and they couldnt sell the jeep! It was a piece of crap! And that for the college authorities to decide amd the disiplinary committee!

It wasn't a piece of crap when it was purchased!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Neither side is painting themselves in any particular glory here. It's just descending into a mudslinging contest!

I personally have no issue with the stewards being paid. You would have had to pay me an awful lot of money for me to carry out that role that day! I'm satisfied that the Students Union involvement was limited purely to ensure the welfare of the students and I'm sure that without them, the numbers arrested would have been much higher. I don't believe for a second that this is a money-grabbing ploy by WITSU (which I may as well make clear, before people jump on me, that I'm not an active member of).

The Dome will have a hard time washing their hands of this though. Regardless of what way you look at it, they brought in bands to play in a college bar during the middle of the day. It doesn't particularly do much for their image. Maybe next year they shouldn't get in bands, therefore they can just say that as far as they were concerned, it was a normal college day for them. They should certainly try enforce a more responsible drinking policy to ensure that everyone isn't off their faces by midday.

Whether or not the event in future has the support of the college authorities, it'll still go ahead, as it does in IT's and Universities around the country. I think the WITSU's involvement in helping ensure the welfare of the less responsible students is needed and should be encouraged, rather than criticised.

ec18 wrote: »
    i live in cork, it was pretty embarrassing compared to how much "craic" i heard the lads were having in waterford :rolleyes:

AdMMM wrote: »
    Neither side is painting themselves in any particular glory here. It's just descending into a mudslinging contest!

I personally have no issue with the stewards being paid. You would have had to pay me an awful lot of money for me to carry out that role that day! I'm satisfied that the Students Union involvement was limited purely to ensure the welfare of the students and I'm sure that without them, the numbers arrested would have been much higher. I don't believe for a second that this is a money-grabbing ploy by WITSU (which I may as well make clear, before people jump on me, that I'm not an active member of).

The Dome will have a hard time washing their hands of this though. Regardless of what way you look at it, they brought in bands to play in a college bar during the middle of the day. It doesn't particularly do much for their image. Maybe next year they shouldn't get in bands, therefore they can just say that as far as they were concerned, it was a normal college day for them. They should certainly try enforce a more responsible drinking policy to ensure that everyone isn't off their faces by midday.

Whether or not the event in future has the support of the college authorities, it'll still go ahead, as it does in IT's and Universities around the country. I think the WITSU's involvement in helping ensure the welfare of the less responsible students is needed and should be encouraged, rather than criticised.

We're not criticising that, we're criticising them trying to separate themselves from the event once things went bad. And in relation to the stewards, if you read previous comments, nobody has any issue with them getting paid, its them coming onto this thread claiming they were volunteering for the position and doing it out of the goodness of their hearts is what we were criticising.

1- no one has an issue with stewards being paid, i actully support that they are being paid, but i dont support that they claim they werent paid.

2- involvment wasnt as limited as much as it should have been <- this is what im arguing they should have ZERO involvement, and they didnt have that.

3- i dont blame the dome at all, its a great place to have, but imo, student union should have nothing to do with it, if it was possible for me to blame the dome i would have done it, if their posters didnt have the student union stamp

4- i really support xmas day, but i dont support the colleges envolvement in the event, its like a double edged sword sure, but it gives college a bad name, when 31 arrests happen, it should be upto the city to have proper arrangements in place because it is a big festival, and there are alot of festivals like this EG. october fest in germany where the city councils etc have proper arrangements in place.

I agree its a pity but its only as a result of the main questions posed continually not been answered, instead the whole debate is being brought round in circles.
    I personally have no issue with the stewards being paid.

Thats neither here nor there in fairness, the point was people here were working on the day in the guise of being 'volounteers' and the question also who decides who gets paid and gets these jobs. In a country with 400k+ out of work there are plenty of burly types who wouldent mind picking up a few quid I'm sure.
    Without wishing to repeat myself the main crux of debate is:
    1. Advertising not equaling promoting the event,2. Why the message to local and national media went out that WITSU had no part in organizing /promoting the events, and 3.Now the allegations of these volunteers being "paid handsomely" for their time on Wednesday and whether its a case of jobs for the boys (and girls).

It wasn't a piece of crap when it was purchased!

Ya it was the insurance would have been too high for a young driver it was only a 2 seater and the fuel economy was awful so along with road tax it was totally uneconomical for the union to run! and it became an unwanted burden!

Frank I can't take a word you say serious! you're spouting lies on here! That was a Land Rover Freelander, which is not a 2-seater. But i'm not going to argue with you on the specs of the car because we're debating something here please stop derailing the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 wits2

Lets be realistic here, the SU hiring “their Click” to warden the estate during x-mas day & night.. they were dead right for doing so. That’s exactly what i would of done if i was organising it. Why would they put out an ad for the job? They would get an overflow of applications from people they don’t know, it would of used up a lot of valuable time & energy, getting and sorting through references for these people, how were they to know that the people they hire weren’t just going to take advantage of the money & situation and go dinking on their time. . If they want to give the jobs to people to have helped them out before, are willing to give up their free time and committee to the SU, good they deserved the job.
    As for the charity they picked a good one to support, its nice to see money being raised, Im not a local, but iv fundraised for a waterford children’s charity on xmas day in the dome & college, and all i got was abuse, was going to do it again this year, but wasnt up for the abuse this year.. the charity is only being brought up now because certain people are on a mission to criticise everything SU do.

As far as i know it was 2001 commercial version! green if im right!

wits2 wrote: »
    Lets be realistic here, the SU hiring “their Click” to warden the estate during x-mas day & night.. they were dead right for doing so. That’s exactly what i would of done if i was organising it. Why would they put out an ad for the job? They would get an overflow of applications from people they don’t know, it would of used up a lot of valuable time & energy, getting and sorting through references for these people, how were they to know that the people they hire weren’t just going to take advantage of the money & situation and go dinking on their time. . If they want to give the jobs to people to have helped them out before, are willing to give up their free time and committee to the SU, good they deserved the job.
    As for the charity they picked a good one to support, its nice to see money being raised, Im not a local, but iv fundraised for a waterford children’s charity on xmas day in the dome & college, and all i got was abuse, was going to do it again this year, but wasnt up for the abuse this year.. the charity is only being brought up now because certain people are on a mission to criticise everything SU do.

But look what happened when they did hire their click? 31 arrests, mostly in the areas these "stewards" were patrolling.

As far as i know it was 2001 commercial version! green if im right!

well you got the colour right but it was a passenger vehicle.

But look what happened when they did hire their click? 31 arrests, mostly in the areas these "stewards" were patrolling.

Thats very easy to say that, but their could of been a hell of a lot more if they werent out.
    Honestly i think they should hire an independent security firm to police everywhere, iv seen it in colleges abroad with twice as many students and no trouble. but of course if people are goin mad now about how much the stewrds are paid, all out war would break out at the amount they'd av to pay a security firm.

Thats very easy to say that, but their could of been a hell of a lot more if they werent out.
    Honestly i think they should hire an independent security firm to police everywhere, iv seen it in colleges abroad with twice as many students and no trouble. but of course if people are goin mad now about how much the stewrds are paid, all out war would break out at the amount they'd av to pay a security firm.

I'm going to say this once more, because its stupid at this point!! Nobody has an issue with the stewards being paid, we have however got an issue with them posting on this thread saying they are doing it as volunteers!! Read our post before commenting on them because you seem to be missing the whole point of this discussion.

I'm going to say this once more, because its stupid at this point!! Nobody has an issue with the stewards being paid, we have however got an issue with them posting on this thread saying they are doing it as volunteers!! Read our post before commenting on them because you seem to be missing the whole point of this discussion

Exactly, perhaps a quick collective boards e-mail to Kathy perhaps might get some answers because some people on here are just seemingly hellbent in distracting from the main issues.

alpha2zulu wrote: »
    Exactly, perhaps a quick collective boards collective e-mail to Kathy perhaps might get some answers because some people on here are just seemingly hellbent in distracting from the main issues.
    it would actully be good if someone high up inside the WITSU came out clean about why they advertised and stuff, really wana hear their arguments, i could probably get answers by ringing em up as someone suggested, but i mean here we are on page 10/11, and alot of people want the answers not just me

I'm going to say this once more, because its stupid at this point!! Nobody has an issue with the stewards being paid, we have however got an issue with them posting on this thread saying they are doing it as volunteers!! Read our post before commenting on them because you seem to be missing the whole point of this discussion.

Then why did you say,
    "But look what happened when they did hire their click? 31 arrests, mostly in the areas these "stewards" were patrolling."
    Sorry.... my mistake, i though thats what you were givin out about ???

Clearly this has just gone a**sways..
    so do, go talk to SU about all the problems they have caused...
    At least you will get all questions answered..

it would actully be good if someone high up inside the WITSU came out clean about why they advertised and stuff, really wana hear their arguments, i could probably get answers by ringing em up as someone suggested, but i mean here we are on page 10/11, and alot of people want the answers not just me

I'll second that. They are most definitely aware that this thread is active as Frank has already said he has contacted Colm Murphy (education officer). So perhaps it's time for them to answer some of our questions.

Then why did you say,
    "But look what happened when they did hire their click? 31 arrests, mostly in the areas these "stewards" were patrolling."
    Sorry.... my mistake, i though thats what you were givin out about ???

Clearly this has just gone a**sways..
    so do, go talk to SU about all the problems they have caused...
    At least you will get all questions answered..
    i dont want the answers, i couldnt really care less either way, but alot of boards.ie members do care, so a statement on the wit website or their facebook or even here should be posted which should if they are innocent take care of all the criticism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭ec18

Ha ha! I bet ye didn't cause havoc down there though unlike the WIT students.
    i live in cork, it was pretty embarrassing compared to how much "craic" i heard the lads were having in waterford :rolleyes:

Not actually in CIT just the only other place i'd heard of that had a christmas day thing :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭LETS BE AVN IT

At the end of the day people love this holiday that is known as X-MAS DAY , whether your a fresher or a 4th year! Its d-day to go out and get hammered before exams and have a laugh with all your mates and when you finish college is more then likely one of the days you look back on with fond memories for most students! Its sad that some people are idiots and act the maggot but you will always get that. I would go as far to say that X-MAS DAY is as close to st patricks day in comparision to early drinking that goes on all day and night and ends up with a couple of fights at the end of the night! Now you dont hear billy mc carthy banging on about that like he does about this! I think it would be sad it the dome were to suffer from this episode as they did there best and only a small amount of WIT population was in there also, there is also no way that X-MAS DAY could ever be cancelled unless some ones killed and even at that!