Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Should Liverpool go all out to win the Europa League?

• 25-11-2009 12:23am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭

Liverpool fans should Liverpool go all out for the Europa League? Does the prospect excite you as some have said? Or should Rafa play the kids and reserves and concentrate on the battle for fourth as others have said?

Liverpool Fans, How should Rafa approach the Europa League? 78 votes

Go all out to win it, its a trophy at the end of the day, the thought excites me
    0% 0 votes
    Play the kids and reserves, the battle for 4th is far more important, I'm not interested
    51% 40 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    48% 38 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

both.

no reason we can't play competitive teams in both.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭el rabitos

flahavaj wrote: »
    Liverpool fans should Liverpool go all out for the Europa League? Does the prospect excite you as some have said? Or should Rafa play the kids and reserves and concentrate on the battle for fourth as others have said?

should take every game as they come and try win them all, if we get to the end of the season and win the fa cup and europa league and finish 4th we can look back then and say "hey, probably should've played the reserves in that".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

Somewhere in between, don't treat the competition as a joke, but don't sacrifice Gerrard and Torres either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭blackbetty69

they should definitely go for it.. its a question of can they do it. judgin by recent performances, its not lookin too good for us, but with everyone back and fit, i think we could well do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Uefa Cup aint back until mid Feb. hopefully we'll be more secure & in the top 4 by then, so both is my answer too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

If Liverpool cant make the final of the Europa league then serious questions of Benitez must be asked come the end of the season. No excuse for a team of that calibre not challenging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Earlier I thought we should totally forget about it, but now...

Go out and try to win it!

If the team starts to play to their ablities no reason we can't win it and get at least 4th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,170 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Definitely. Winning the Europa League and coming 4th is a lot better than coming 2nd and winning nothing. There's no team out there that looks capable of putting together a solid season and breaking the top 4, they'll get 4th fairly easily imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Prefer to secure the bread and butter, rather than pursue a Ferrero Rocher of a cup.

redout wrote: »
    If Liverpool cant make the final of the Europa league then serious questions of Benitez must be asked come the end of the season. No excuse for a team of that calibre not challenging.

it's a knockout cup competition.

should questions be asked of ferguson or ancelotti if they don't win the FA Cup, seen as they have the best squads in England?

if questions are asked of Benitez, it won't be due to the lack of a Europa League run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

some pretty good sides likely to be in it tbh!
    Ajax
    Lille
    Hapoel Tel Aviv
    Sporting Lisbon
    Basel
    Galatasary
    REd Bull Salzburg
    Fenerbache
    Benfica
    Shakhtar
    PSV
    Werder Bremen

Europa Runners up

Anderlecht
    Valencia
    Hamburg
    Hertha Berlin
    Roma
    Panathinaikos
    Villareal
    Twente
    Everton
    CLub Brugge
    Sparta Praha
    Athletic Bilbao

CL Dropouts

Bayern Munich
    CSKA moscow
    Marseille
    Athletico Madrid
    Liverpool
    Rubin Kazan
    Stuttgard
    Standard Liege

SlickRic wrote: »
    it's a knockout cup competition.

Yes it is and your manager is a cup specialist. It is were he has a proven record of excelling. Say what you must be it wont change my thoughts that Liverpool really should make the final. Its Europes second tier cup competition for god sake and with players of your quality there shouldnt be any excuse. Just to add that if United or Chelsea were in it I would also expect both to reach the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

They should give as much attention to it as they would the CL imo

Mr Alan wrote: »
    some pretty good sides likely to be in it tbh!
    Ajax
    Lille
    Hapoel Tel Aviv
    Sporting Lisbon
    Basel
    Galatasary
    REd Bull Salzburg
    Fenerbache
    Benfica
    Shakhtar
    PSV
    Werder Bremen

Europa Runners up

Anderlecht
    Valencia
    Hamburg
    Hertha Berlin
    Roma
    Panathinaikos
    Villareal
    Twente
    Everton
    CLub Brugge
    Sparta Praha
    Athletic Bilbao

CL Dropouts

Bayern Munich
    CSKA moscow
    Marseille
    Athletico Madrid
    Liverpool
    Rubin Kazan
    Stuttgard
    Standard Liege

I reckon Valencia are the biggest threat then possibly Bayern. Nobody else there is even worth a mention to be frank.

Yes it is and your manager is a cup specialist. It is were he a proven record of excelling. Say what you must be it wont change my thoughts that Liverpool really should make the final. Its Europes second tier cup competition for god sake and with players of your quality there shouldnt be any excuse. Just to add that if United or Chelsea were in it I would also expect both to reach the final.

we should do well, yes.

just like the top 4 should do well every year in the FA Cup.

i won't be calling on his sacking purely because we get knocked out of the Europa League.

and i'd suggest that if utd or chelsea were in the competition, you wouldn't call for their respective managers' sacking if they didn't succeed in fulfilling that goal. sh*t happens in cup football.

I reckon Valencia are the biggest threat then possibly Bayern. Nobody else there is even worth a mention to be frank.

well for one, Benfica look f*cking handy to say the least.

a bigger all-round threat than Valencia anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

All the sides below are either very decent sides or sides that have been in the CL regularly over the past few years.
    Mr Alan wrote: »
    Ajax
    Sporting Lisbon
    Basel
    Galatasary
    Fenerbache
    Benfica
    Werder Bremen
    Anderlecht
    Valencia
    Roma
    Panathinaikos
    Villareal
    Bayern Munich
    CSKA moscow
    Marseille
    Athletico Madrid
    Liverpool
    Rubin Kazan
    Stuttgard

• Registered Users Posts: 5,209 ✭✭✭Redzer7

Both. Don't see why they shouldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Valencia have the likes of Villa and Silva as well as other top players. Definite big threat.

Looking at the list of teams, theres no one there Liverpool should fear given their European record. You'd expect a semi-final minimum and quite rightfully they'll be bookies favourites to win it.

we should do well, yes.

just like the top 4 should do well every year in the FA Cup.

i won't be calling on his sacking purely because we get knocked out of the Europa League.

and i'd suggest that if utd or chelsea were in the competition, you wouldn't call for their respective managers' sacking if they didn't succeed in fulfilling that goal. sh*t happens in cup football.

Probably not based solely on that but with Benitez there are other factors to consider like current league performance which would be the main one. After last season alot of people expected Liverpool to perhaps even better last seasons placing but looks like they have taken a step backward in all likeliness. If Liverpool dont win something this season it will have been 4 seasons without any silverware. If nobody then asks questions of the management then their is something wrong to behonest.

You take the risk against Atletico on their day, and you may well get burnt, you may also find them on their current form however.

I can honestly tell you I dont believe that to be true. Benfica thrashed Everton twice but Valencia are a quality side filled with members of the Spanish national side. Villa, Mata, Marchena, Silva, Jaoquin, Albelda..... The only problem with Valencia is their tendency to not take the Europa/Uefa seriously by regularly resting the likes of Villa and Silva to concentrate on la liga.

DSB wrote: »
    You take the risk against Atletico on their day, and you may well get burnt, you may also find them on their current form however.

Thats true as on their day they are a tough cookie but as you said about current form. They are in the relegation zone at the moment which is insane. There are serious rumours about Kun Aguero departure come January as Maradona has warned him about the world cup. Maybe Rafa could enquire ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,312 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Go for it just to make some history and been the 1st team to win it as the europa league and also been the only team to lift the trophy 4 times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

There's the same amount of games to be played in the league before the first game Liverpool will play in the Europa League as have already have been played so far this season in the league.

It all depends on how Liverpool do in these games. Ask the question again in the middle of February.

If nobody then asks questions of the management then their is something wrong to behonest.

would you ask the same of Wenger?

i'm willing to ask questions of the management, and if the team has gone backwards, and the blame rests with Rafa, then those questions will and should be asked.

but there's a lot more going on at the club that needs to also be taken into account, stuff that we don't need to go into in this thread.

would you ask the same of Wenger?

Yes I would and his board have done and shown patience.

i'm willing to ask questions of the management, and if the team has gone backwards, and the blame rests with Rafa, then those questions will and should be asked.

but there's a lot more going on at the club that needs to also be taken into account, stuff that we don't need to go into in this thread.

Point taken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

The whole problem with Liverpool has been that they focus too much on Europe. why should they make the same mistake on a lesser tournament?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

TBH, based on what I saw of the two demolitions of Everton, if Liverpool were to try and make an obvious effort and come up against a dangerous team like Benfica without the name value of Bayern and Valencia and get embarrassed again it's much worse for Rafa then if he makes it clear that it's not a priority. Failing in 2 A level competitions is bad but if they were to do it with a first team in a B competition it would only get worse

Thats true as on their day they are a tough cookie but as you said about current form. They are in the relegation zone at the moment which is insane. There are serious rumours about Kun Aguero departure come January as Maradona has warned him about the world cup. Maybe Rafa could enquire ?

Won't get him for any sort of price that Liverpool could afford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

jaysus your knowledge of the game astounds me :rolleyes:

there's about a dozen teams on Alan's listing who could challenge it.

Do pool fans think this is the johnsons paint trophy and that fielding a b team will suffice... I think you are in for a rude awakening.

The two I mentioned are the ones I believe could pose the biggest challenge to Liverpool. None of them other teams should beat Liverpool if playing to there normal level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

They should go for it - it's probably their only chance of silverware this season.

Ajax
    Lille
    Hapoel Tel Aviv
    Sporting Lisbon
    Basel
    Galatasary
    REd Bull Salzburg
    Fenerbache
    Benfica
    Shakhtar
    PSV
    Werder Bremen

Europa Runners up

Anderlecht
    Valencia
    Hamburg
    Hertha Berlin
    Roma
    Panathinaikos
    Villareal
    Twente
    Everton
    CLub Brugge
    Sparta Praha
    Athletic Bilbao

CL Dropouts

Bayern Munich
    CSKA moscow
    Marseille
    Athletico Madrid
    Liverpool
    Rubin Kazan
    Stuttgard
    Standard Liege

all of the above team could beat Liverpool. (probably some others also)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

benfica hammered everton home and away

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

The two I mentioned are the ones I believe could pose the biggest challenge to Liverpool. None of them other teams should beat Liverpool if playing to there normal level.

I think your both somewhat right,

Orginally redout saying the other teams don't matter or shouldn't be mentioned is more than a bit dismissive,
    but as a Valencia fan they have some outstanding players with a softish underbelly but on there day can match most anyone.
    Bayern too Robben, Ribery, Shweinsteiger are all players who I would kill to have at Liverpool - a few others too.

In saying that I reckon Liverpool will more or less be favourites and probably rightfully so - while I don't think anyone in there right mind would consider it a cake walk or a reserve run out we have the quality to go and win it, IF we have Torres, Gerrard. Aquilani, Johnson and Agger fit for the most part of the rest of the season then are a quality side who nobody will want to play against.

Oh and it was my listing that alan copied :pac:

rossie1977 wrote: »

and, your point is.....

An Everton B team effectively, like the B team that Livepool couldn't beat in the cup last season more or less but lets not go down that road now.

mayordenis wrote: »
    I think your both somewhat right,

Orginally redout saying the other teams don't matter or shouldn't be mentioned is more than a bit dismissive,
    but as a Valencia fan they have some outstanding players with a softish underbelly but on there day can match most anyone.
    Bayern too Robben, Ribery, Shweinsteiger are all players who I would kill to have at Liverpool - a few others too.

In saying that I reckon Liverpool will more or less be favourites and probably rightfully so - while I don't think anyone in there right mind would consider it a cake walk or a reserve run out we have the quality to go and win it, IF we have Torres, Gerrard. Aquilani, Johnson and Agger fit for the most part of the rest of the season then are a quality side who nobody will want to play against.

Oh and it was my listing that alan copied :pac:

my bad....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

They may as well look interested in winning one competition this yeart

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

If they made the CL KO stages they would try win it, why the hell shouldn't they try win this? Brings in money if they do and its a big trophy, what Liverpool crave. They have the class to go on a cup run and secure a top 4 finish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

dunno about that, there are some better teams than liverpool in it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

CHD wrote: »
    If they made the CL KO stages they would try win it, why the hell shouldn't they try win this? Brings in money if they do and its a big trophy, what Liverpool crave. They have the class to go on a cup run and secure a top 4 finish.

an absolute pittance though, iirc its just a couple of million for winning it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

On current form , Any talk of Liverpool winning it , is a bit arrogant IMO. There are many good teams still in that competition . Who on current form would /should be well able to cope with Liverpool.IMO

Yes on paper they should and probably will be made favours .But so far this season they have failed to kick on and put any sort of run together ,for me if they cannot sort their league form out very quickly they will not have a prayer of achieving anything in Europe.

Will they go all out to win the Europa league ?? Don't think they (Rafa ) have a choice , they have too , It could save his job come the end of the season

Stupid poll really considering we play about 12/13 league games before the knockout stages start. OP, have another poll then? I'd love if we were to go and win it tbh but not at the expense of top 4 which is our man aim now this season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

They need to forget about this joke europa league and concentrate on winning the league.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Hardly a scalp is it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭evil_seed

i hate this bollox of "going for fourth". we should be aiming higher than that, even tho its unlikely we'll get higher than 3rd. the phrasing of it is all wrong. my 2 cents

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

We have a squad for a reason, and that reason is that we can challenge on multiple fronts. I fully expect Rafa to play a near strength team for the most part. I could live with N'Gog starting a head of Torres and perhaps Babel a head of Gerrard, but other than that I expect to see our best team.

evil_seed wrote: »
    i hate this bollox of "going for fourth". we should be aiming higher than that, even tho its unlikely we'll get higher than 3rd. the phrasing of it is all wrong. my 2 cents

It's called being realistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    We have a squad for a reason, and that reason is that we can challenge on multiple fronts. I fully expect Rafa to play a near strength team for the most part. I could live with N'Gog starting a head of Torres and perhaps Babel a head of Gerrard, but other than that I expect to see our best team.

agree
    YE should wrap him it the finest wool and only bring him out in the league (where it really matters) and the final stages of Europe if ye get there ,
    Hell.... Rafa should be calling to his house everyday with eleven blessed virgins in tow offering personal massages and hand-feeding service

because IMO without a fit Torres ye will struggle on all fronts.