Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Incident at AIB College Road

• 25-11-2009 3:19am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭

Does anyone now what happened in the AIB Bank on College Road today?

Around half 3 a large number of Gardaí, including two units of the armed RSU, converged on the bank. They entered they bank and then sped off again in all directions.

They returned about twenty minutes later and there was no less that ten Garda vehicles outside the bank. Some of the Gardaí were armed, and the RSU also had riot shields out.

There was a large securicor van / truck outside the bank when the Gardaí arrived first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 672 ✭✭✭items

Around half 3 a large number of Gardaí, including two units of the armed RSU, converged on the bank. They entered they bank and then sped off again in all directions.

They returned about twenty minutes later and there was no less that ten Garda vehicles outside the bank. Some of the Gardaí were armed, and the RSU also had riot shields out.

There was a large securicor van / truck outside the bank when the Gardaí arrived first.

Same happened here in the north east. It was an attempt to stop people withdrawing cash and heading up north with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 831 ✭✭✭rotinaj

Proberly a test to see how fast they can respond

• Registered Users Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭spartacus93

rotinaj wrote: »

I knew i left out a bit...

The bank closed, and remained closed.

There's a sign on the window, i forget the wording, trading in the branch has been suspended, or something to that effect, and gives details of the nearest branches.

The way the Gardaí were driving to arrive on the scene quickly, I really don't think it was a test.

There's a sign on the window, i forget the wording, trading in the branch has been suspended, or something to that effect, and gives details of the nearest branches.

The way the Gardaí were driving to arrive on the scene quickly, I really don't think it was a test.

Well theres nothing on the news about it. Could be a problem with the alarm system that sent out a false alarm. They then would of had to close the bank until the system is back up running

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Did all the Gardai leave the scene afterwards the first time, or just most of them?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Well theres nothing on the news about it. Could be a problem with the alarm system that sent out a false alarm. They then would of had to close the bank until the system is back up running

Which is exactly why they would try to keep it quiet - if the alarm was tripping incorrectly, they wouldn't want anyone knowing about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I would be along this line of thnking TBH. Probably just a responce exercise.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭spartacus93

Did all the Gardai leave the scene afterwards the first time, or just most of them?

Most of them. A marked and unmarked car remained at the door of the bank

• Registered Users Posts: 6,487 ✭✭✭kingtut

The bank was robbed by someone with a silver gun and just under €2000 was taken yesterday afternoon, according to the radio this morning anyway. They said he grabbed a woman at some point...Can't find any other details yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭themonboys

kingtut wrote: »
    The bank was robbed by someone with a silver gun and just under €2000 was taken yesterday afternoon, according to the radio this morning anyway. They said he grabbed a woman at some point...Can't find any other details yet

I heard as much on the radio today but they said he had a silver item!!!!!!
    Big risk for 2 only grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

It's all drama in Cork these days!

I would be along this line of thnking TBH. Probably just a responce exercise.

To the best of my knowledge they don't normally do them in daylight - creates security issues if anyone is watching. I'll try and confirm it later
    themonboys wrote: »

Read the quote below

He obviously thought that he was gonna get more than that, he didn't get into the vault or anything, if he only got two grand. Though I wonder where was the army guard that normally escorts the securicor van?

themonboys wrote: »

I'm guessing he had planned on getting a lot more.
    Silver item = a gun, a silver gun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Paul91

I'm guessing he had planned on getting a lot more.
    Silver item = a gun, a silver gun

or knife or steel bar ?

Paul91 wrote: »
    or knife or steel bar ?

No a gun I bought it last week, oh wait...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

kingtut wrote:
    Silver item = a gun, a silver gunor knife or steel bar ?

Or a packet of silvermints with the outer wrapper removed.... :eek:

On a serious note though, a robbery was reported in the news this am from that address.

Trojan911 wrote: »

On a serious note though, a robbery was reported in the news this am from that address.

Oi! You combined my post and Paul's and make it look like it was all mine, cheeky fecker :pac:

and yes I also reported the robbery in this thread at 8.16am this morning -

• Registered Users Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭taram

He obviously thought that he was gonna get more than that, he didn't get into the vault or anything, if he only got two grand. Though I wonder where was the army guard that normally escorts the securicor van?
    I didn't think the army guard goes with the securicor vans to suburban branches? I used to work overlooking two bank branches and they never had army vans with them, neither would collections from say Mahon Point, or big stores like Pennys in town.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭DamienH

Army are usually only with big movements of cash from the cities main branches, pretty much all of which are on the South Mall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Paul91

Trojan911 wrote: »

or maybe
    upimg7%5CNeri-II-Pen-Stand_181397.jpg

the radio said silver item - so could have been anything

Paul91 wrote: »
    the radio said silver item - so could have been anything

The radio also said a silver gun so it could have been a gun that was silver....

rebel_silver_gun_full.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

The radio also said a silver gun so it could have been a gun that was silver....

rebel_silver_gun_full.jpg

TBH he probably had something resembling a gun!!

He must be Ragin though, he could get like 15 years in prison for €2000 now!! Haha!!!! Armed Robbery is no joke kids, if you are gonna do it, do it right!! :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

taram wrote: »
    I didn't think the army guard goes with the securicor vans to suburban branches? I used to work overlooking two bank branches and they never had army vans with them, neither would collections from say Mahon Point, or big stores like Pennys in town.

Someones done alot of research :)

TBH he probably had something resembling a gun!!

Banana wrapped in tinfoil FTW.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

DamienH wrote: »

A weapon and a snack!

We have a winner, congrats :D

"Quick, eat the evidence!".................. the perfect crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭themonboys

"Quick, eat the evidence!".................. the perfect crime.

Happened before:)

http://www.neatorama.com/2009/05/17/man-robs-store-with-banana-eats-evidence/

And something in the same vein
    http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/2742330/Hungry-robber-eats-evidence.html

• Registered Users Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭taram

castie wrote: »
    Someones done alot of research :)
    Worked in a lot of random places that I stared out the windows of :D Hard to miss giant securicor vans with their noise!

taram wrote: »

Its up to the bank if they want an armed escort. I think it cost in the region of 25grand so they usually dont do it if there is under 5 million in the truck.