Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Big Thank You to all Limerick People

• 25-11-2009 12:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭

Just want to say lads, my faith in Limerick people has never been stronger. With all the bitching and moaning on the radio, the public V Private war being fiendishly orchestrated by the government etc
    Yesterday i stood with my Wife at her picket outside Lissanalta House in Dooradolye beside the new Motor Tax office in the lashing rain for 3 hours straight. The amount of support/goodwill and general good wishes from the passing motorists and hardy souls out walking was fantastic.
    With reports of abuse and hatred country wide, Limerick people showed their humanity and working class values yesterday and I can tell you, it was very much appreciated.

Thanks Lads. Fair Play.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,149 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Im glad to hear you didn't just go shopping like the rest. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭Liam79

Berty wrote: »
    Im glad to hear you didn't just go shopping like the rest. :P

Those who did are a disgrace, and spade a spade, i bet most were ASTI. They certainly werent IMPACT/SIPTU.

And Berty, your am intelligent bloke, I am sure you realise that the likleyhood is just as many of those going north were likely to be parents who took the day off as they were PS workers.

But I am not defending anyone who did go north
    (altho i am a little uncomfortable with people thinking they can now tell people what they can/cant do when not in work)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Just cos we are not rude enough to shout abuse at picketers does not negate the fact that there is a new financial reality in the state Liam. If some feather cushions aren't soft enough ...

But yeah - Limerick people are alright!;)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

You are lucky i wasnt driving past - would have shouted Get back to work!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

Those people who were beeping were civil servants from other counties on their way into the Crescent for the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Dammit, i knew i bought that extra big crate of tomatoes for something, forgot what for though...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Liam79 wrote: »
    Those who did are a disgrace, and spade a spade, i bet most were ASTI. They certainly werent IMPACT/SIPTU.
    I know one man who I was talking to yesterday was ASTI and none of the 25 people in his office picketed, they took the day off, because not one of them voted to strike, and why bother going to work if you're not going to be paid eh!

I say fair play to all the public sector workers who were at work yesterday while the rest let down the people wanting their services.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Just want to say lads, my faith in Limerick people has never been stronger. With all the bitching and moaning on the radio, the public V Private war being fiendishly orchestrated by the government etc
    Yesterday i stood with my Wife at her picket outside Lissanalta House in Dooradolye beside the new Motor Tax office in the lashing rain for 3 hours straight. The amount of support/goodwill and general good wishes from the passing motorists and hardy souls out walking was fantastic.
    With reports of abuse and hatred country wide, Limerick people showed their humanity and working class values yesterday and I can tell you, it was very much appreciated.

Thanks Lads. Fair Play.

Can you quit spamming forums with this crap please. You have almost zero support from the non PS public, so dont try and play like you do.

• Registered Users Posts: 525 ✭✭✭betonit

Jumpy wrote: »
    Can you quit spamming forums with this crap please. You have almost zero support from the non PS public, so dont try and play like you do.

Brilliant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

At 9am as I was driving past St Munchins there was a picket line. Nothing outside Scoil Ide.

Driving back at 11ish nothing outside either school.

FFS what is this a pre Christmas Jollie for them? Outside the Regional Hospital they had a full picket line and lots of people on it - they (the emergency services, the front line staff) are the ones I would support, not some soft eejet who swans off to Belfast shopping when he's striking for better pay when record numbers are on teh dole and the economy is down the toilet. Teachers are already bloody well paid (proof) and work fewer hours than thier European counterparts. And one of them has teh brass neck on the news last night to say "I'm fed up with being abused for being a public sector worker!" Well then stop making ridiculous demands we can't afford and do your bloody job like the rest of us have had to.

To take up Amadeus point(if I read it right).

"I'm fed up with being abused for being a public sector worker!"[/B directed at ps workers

Well as a Private Sector worker with a private sector Fiancee who is supposed to have an operation next week you can all go to hell!

The waiting list for a Gastroentroligist is 11 months in the Regional and having surgery is..........well............ a miracle these days so telling us that because of the rain you are going to want ANOTHER day off is out of the question.

I will beep my horn next week when you are on strike but only to get you out of my way because I will not be stopping for your picket line. Move or get run over.

I have not shaken my fist at any public service worker(save for from my PC warriorship) because you have not impacted me directly but when you do..............

BTW, My own Aunt is a surgical nurse who is due to be working that day.(3rd December) Lets see if she can decide between whats right and wrong. Standing on a picket line and dealing with my Fiancee's operation in the theatre?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

the date for the next one is laughable, nice lead into an extremely long weekend, lets see how many people call in sick on friday 4th.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭gaf1983

Berty wrote: »
    The waiting list for a Gastroentroligist is 11 months in the Regional...

Make that 11 months and one day now. 18,000 medical appointments had to be rescheduled yesterday, according to the Six One News. The same bulletin also reported the 5 mile tailbacks into Newry.

Half an hour earlier someone on The Last Word mentioned that the tax take for this year is down 35%.

The figures speak for themselves. The public coffers can't afford the public pay bill at current rates, so the government, like any employer, will have to trim its wage bill.

check how many appointments were cancelled MONDAY due to the strike on tuesday. A lot of people called in sick to take the LONG weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

And one of them has teh brass neck on the news last night to say "I'm fed up with being abused for being a public sector worker!"
    I heard another one being interviewed and her line was "we can't take another hit or we'll become impoverished". My stomach churned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Paulegend

as a private sector worker i DO support the public sectors cause. why should the government take MORE money from them. why should the government take MORE money from any of us. why doesnt our government take a real pay cut. it would probably clear our debt. this government is corrupt and is taking a cop out with these bank bail outs.all the bank bail out does is keep the banks running long enough to take the baseball bats out to people who have lost their jobs and cant afford to pay back loans.

instead of nama why not clear everyones debt. that means the banks are paid back peoples debts are cleared(within reason obviously). it would prob cost the same as nama.

if this country doesnt get its act together we will bacome a third world country again.

biffo just get him out:D

There's a lot of "probably"s in that...

• Registered Users Posts: 219 ✭✭Buglim

OP, you make my stomach turn with that post.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Paulegend wrote: »
    as a private sector worker i DO support the public sectors cause. why should the government take MORE money from them. why should the government take MORE money from any of us. why doesnt our government take a real pay cut. it would probably clear our debt. this government is corrupt and is taking a cop out with these bank bail outs.all the bank bail out does is keep the banks running long enough to take the baseball bats out to people who have lost their jobs and cant afford to pay back loans.

instead of nama why not clear everyones debt. that means the banks are paid back peoples debts are cleared(within reason obviously). it would prob cost the same as nama.

if this country doesnt get its act together we will bacome a third world country again.

kill biffo or else just get him out:D

The Public Sector is paid for by the Private Sector.

Clearing everyones debts would leave those that had a major influence in the cause of said problem to suddenly own major assets paid for by the government. Rich get richer etc.

Ireland was never third world, at least not since the classification.

Making even joke threats about a countries leader is a bad idea on a public forum.

That said, the country is going broke and a bloated public sector is a constant drain.

• Registered Users Posts: 518 ✭✭✭knockon

Thanks Lads. Fair Play.

You make me sick. My buddy (an engineer) was crying today when I met him. He was let go last month and has major difficulties with his mortgage. He is dreading Christmas. He would gladly have accepted a pay cut.
    After reading the posts here not too many were supporting you and your wife yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

How many people on here know someone working in the public service? Jesus from the way ye go on here ye'd swear they do f all work.

What workers do their best to collect taxes everyday of the week to run our hospitals, pay the dole, public works etc? Where do you go if you get struck down with a serious illness? Who answers the phones in social welfare offices to deal with the ever increasing amounts of people joining the Live registar? I hate the way every member of the public service is tarred with the same brush.

Of course there are inefficiencies there but most of the clerical staff aren't paid the exorbitant sums of money people on this forum seem to believe. But many families in this country are now dependant on the one income to run families, pay bills and service mortgage repayments due to rising unemployment in the private sector. In some families where the public sector income was once the secondary source of income has now become the primary source. Imagine these families with young children or kids in college. can they really afford to take another hit after been hit badly enough already.

Anyway it wasn't as if they got paid for yesterday. They were striking for something that they believed in. They all took a day of unpaid leave so ironically they saved the country a nice bit of cash.

Browney7 wrote: »
    How many people on here know someone working in the public service? Jesus from the way ye go on here ye'd swear they do f all work.

For me I suggest the pull up their socks, hold their heads up high and get on with it. Im not personally suggesting they take a pay cut. Im suggesting they just get on with it. It was suggested on another thread about €25k which I will say again: Its a good wage!

Anyway it wasn't as if they got paid for yesterday. They were striking for something that they believed in. They all took a day of unpaid leave so ironically they saved the country a nice bit of cash.

The amount the country lost, not the government, is incalculable. Days booked off work, people calling into sick work because they have no holidays left(to mind children because the schools are closed, council workers in Kerry who refused to cancel their strike causing longer hours to be worked by their boss's who naturally would claim overtime. The lost revenue from the Gardai not performing their duties, the traffic wardens not performing their duties, social welfare investigators not out knocking on doors, people who need to sign on for the first time losing that one day of pay because you can only get money from the day you sign on.

Im sure other people will have suggestions.

Im sure the M1 Toll plaza made lots of money from Public Service workers in the North spending money THEY APPARENTLY DO NOT HAVE!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Its funny how they give out about the Private sector when the taxes we pay go towards your wages!

And if you cant bear to live on 25k then have pity on the farmers that have to live on 13k.

Maybe you shouldnt have spent more than you earn in the boom times.

I suggest you read Rich Dad Poor Dad

• Registered Users Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭john_cappa

I liked the young nurse who was interviewed as she picketed with her 18 euro an hour lol. Poor girl

When times were good public sectors wanted all the wage agreements etc.....now times are bad they want to know about them

should work both ways no?

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I don't think this thread is going much like the OP envisioned. I accept the Public Service right to strike. I don't agree that there is any point, it's just them trying to force the government into accepting impossible demands.
    • They need to get rid of the dead wood in the public service, and make sure that any future increase in wages is linked to productivity and current inflation / deflation
    • To offset the cuts they need to make in the public service, there should be a small increase in taxes on everyone. That would stop the Public Service feeling so hard done by
    • The phrase "Fat Cats" must be forever banned. I am sick to my back teeth of hearing it.
    • That is all.

• Registered Users Posts: 525 ✭✭✭betonit

MarkR wrote: »
    [*]The phrase "Fat Cats" must be forever banned. I am sick to my back teeth of hearing it.
    [*]
    [/LIST]

Its funny the union leaders keep using this phrase when they themselves should be classed as FAT CATS with their 6 figure salaries and directors fees. These are self confessed "socialists". So when their members hear them say "we're not going to take this" rememeber they're 150k plus a year.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,310 ✭✭✭✭phog

MarkR wrote: »
    I don't think this thread is going much like the OP envisioned.

I actually think it might be as I think he posted it to get this reaction and I'd guess that he wasnt on the picket line yesterday with his wife.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

When the public sector starts truly suffering like people in the private sector have over the past year, then I'll have sympathy for your cause. However, while you allow cretinous unions run by equally cretinous bastards run rough shod over the economy with threats of strikes, you will get zero sympathy from me. I've lost my job twice in the past year, have taken nearly a 25% drop in income and you expect me to feel sorry for you getting a 7% pay cut? Get lost. If you don't like your job or the pay cuts, then please leave it and let someone who is genuinely willing to work take your place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭Firefox10

Itsdacraic wrote: »
    Those people who were beeping were civil servants from other counties on their way into the Crescent for the day.

The crescent was packed and the traffic on the dooradoyle road was busy to say the least!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 katece1121

my husband is a public service worker. I am a private sector worker for 17 years. The slaggin I gave him all that time. I had bonuses, free night out every 2 months. free christmas party every yea. hotels paid for etc. he never had any of that......my life insurance, my vhi, my pensiona was all paid for. none of that applies to public service. I have taken a 5 per cent pay cut this year and we are also on a pay freeze. but I still have a lot of perks. I also earn way more then my husband. He has taken a full 7 percent pay cut already this year....working double hard cause people have retired and not being replaced. he takes abuse from the public regularly and no he isnt a nurse a fireman a guarad. he is a clerical officer. shame on you all for the way you are speaking about these people. ye had no problems during the good times when we were all doing well. people looked down their noses at my husband for doing the job he did. Now people are saying he is lucky. he is pompous in his secure job. he hasnt the right to strike to defend his pay. How dare you make assumptions that he was in newry yesterday. This isactually making me physically sick the way you are talking. I dont know too many colleagues in my industry who are taking huge paycuts.....most people are down on commission for sales. But their basic is still standing. and those basics are either the same or a little more then my husbands. please learn the facts in these situations. also please note he has also had 1 day sick leave all year...not 15 as the statistics publicise. I have had 7. people in private sector get paid for sick leave too. as for the person whose fiancee was waiting so long for treatmentg. that is a fact of life and why people like my husband once again pay health insurance.....as do my elderly parents...who live on their pensions but have always paid health insurance. cause they felt they didnt want to wait 12 months for treatment if the need arose. In summarry this business about whingin cause you lost your job, or you never paid insurance and have to wait for treatmen behind all the other peope who also dont pay it. thats life....you make your own choices. dont slag off otherws for making theirs.