Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you be a teacher? - NOT FOR ALL THE TEA IN CHINA

• Registered Users Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Elmo wrote: »
    No but when you do lash out expect consequences, if hopefully the social services are called and a full investigation is carried out.

Just because someone is condescending to you doesn't mean you break their jaw. It's 5 years of your life perhaps the teacher is condescending towards you is because they have seen it all before and are sick and tired of trying to bash their head against a wall.

Its time people got over their impression that teachers talk down to students.
    Perhaps if students acted a little more like adults.

But the vast majority of them are not adults, they're young kids.

if they're getting sick and tired of bashing their head on a wall as i said maybe they should look at themselves and how they go about teaching.

not every child is the same, not all respond the same not all learn the same, not all act the same.

you must be able to adjust your style.

teachers in my personal experience were one trick pony's it's not good enough.

(not excusing the violence either)

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭ulysses32

I know loads of students who act like adults. They drink, smoke, complain about every bit of work they have to do, complain about their teachers, blame the Poles for there being no jobs, tell teachers not to tell them what to do because their parents earn more money and know better.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Oh let me see, here's the details for a secondary teacher

The minimum starting salary for a teacher is E37,468. The maximum starting salary for a teacher is E41,383.

A full teaching load of 22 hours per week, 33 weeks per year

Teaching salaries rise by an average of E1.5K a year for the first ten years. That figure excludes inflation related pay rises. They rise by an average of E1K a year thereafter until the top point of the salary scale is reached at E63,361.

They have it very tough don't they, why on earth would anybody be a teacher???????

Note: thanks to Bandroi in this thread for the figures which i have unashamedly robbed http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055750520

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Oh let me see, here's the details for a secondary teacher

The minimum starting salary for a teacher is E37,468. The maximum starting salary for a teacher is E41,383.

A full teaching load of 22 hours per week, 33 weeks per year

Teaching load and workload don't seem to be the same thing, unless of course one does no planning, preparation, corrections, extra curric, parent meetings, tutoring/mentoring, administration, meetings, collaboration with outside agencies, etc.

Yes. i see where you're coming from. Note to self: stop all unpaid activity post haste!

ulysses32 wrote: »
    Teaching load and workload don't seem to be the same thing, unless of course one does no planning, preparation, corrections, extra curric, parent meetings, tutoring/mentoring, administration, meetings, collaboration with outside agencies, etc.

Yes. i see where you're coming from. Note to self: stop all unpaid activity post haste!

most teachers i speak to can plan and mark and do prep work while the class works during certain parts of the day on certain days.

IIRC a lot of secondary school teachers would have periods duirng the day where they might not have classes and can do it then also.

some people are very good at prioritising their time.

there's a lot of private sector workers who bring home work with them

do prep work out of hours

etc etc.

it's not like these things are hidden before you do it

and not all teachers contribute as much outside as others

a bit like the private sector, so blanketing across the education spectrum is not a fair assessment.

and give back the wages for summer holidays?

sounds fair.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

I didn't know schoolkids were adults. Better tell my 6 year old to pull her finger out and get a job...

If your 6 year old is able to break someones jaw then I suggest that they get a job. If your 6 year old is suggesting that "teacher, was talking condescendingly to me today during my times table, I already know my 6 times tables, uhh" then I suggest you bring your 6 year old to a specialist school that can take care of Kids with high intelligence and can develop your 6 years olds marshal arts skills. :D

I was talking about Secondary School kids who should know better than Breaking someones jaw no matter the excuse and it is only an excuse. (bar the teacher attacking the child which would be investigated).

ntlbell wrote: »
    most teachers i speak to can plan and mark and do prep work while the class works during certain parts of the day on certain days.

IIRC a lot of secondary school teachers would have periods duirng the day where they might not have classes and can do it then also.

some people are very good at prioritising their time.

quote]

Agree entirely, but correct me if I'm wrong but are those "periods during the day" included in the oft quoted 22 hours?

For the record, the majority of teachers never realise the quoted starting salary either as the vast majority spend years on part-time contracts.

Lots of people want to be teachers.

http://www.educationposts.ie/
    Primary vacancies advertised: 95
    Second level vacancies advertised: 15
    Third level vacancies advertised: 0
    Job seekers registered: 6,386

Just take a peek over here:
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1022
    or
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=621
    To see how hard it is to get into that sector....

Especially threads like this:
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055524290
    As to subbing ,as so many fully qualified primary teachers are unemployed ,you may find it very difficult to get work.
    There are many fully qualified primary teachers looking for work at the moment, as well as those who will be qualifying in the coming months
    thats actually my plan to ask to "volunteer"

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055491660
    There are plenty trained teachers looking for work so you may find it very hard.

With the amount of people willing to do this kind of job we should, in theory, have an extremely competitive jobs market in this sector. The reality of a heavily unionised sector prevents this and prevents children getting the best most motivated teachers that they could.

Ah hold on your only teaching 22 hours a week, that gives you a whole 18 hours to do the planning, correcting etc etc to give you a 40 hour week

Don't give me this bull about how many hours yer putting it, fact is its the cushiest number going

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭jenzz

& since when is it ok for anyone to lash out at another? Why should any front line work accept physical abuse let alone verbal.

Why should a teacher be abused by a parent just because Johnie was given out to in school today?

& not just because Johnie was given out to... because teacher gave him homework, because its PE day, because its raining.... Seen it all

Overheard again:

School finished 15 minutes early today due to essential emergency drainage work. Note & text sent to all parents, 1 of the many late collectors -" you would think you might bother your ar.. to send a letter out or a bloo.. phonecall"

Muinteoirs - is this normal everyday behaviour or are my kiddies in beruit?

& now add in Teaching principals.... Sweet lord - teach & manage...????

Don't give me this bull about how many hours yer putting it, fact is its the cushiest number going

Why don't you do it?

And ye have the guts of 5 months holidays per year

Agree entirely, but correct me if I'm wrong but are those "periods during the day" included in the oft quoted 22 hours?

For the record, the majority of teachers never realise the quoted starting salary either as the vast majority spend years on part-time contracts.

I had teachers in primary and secondary it went like this

"lads, pages 20-32 read and answer 1-10 "

now the teacher has time to prepare for tomorrow, mark exams and various other activities.

it happens all the time

and give back the wages for summer holidays?

sounds fair.

I'd love to give back those hard-earned sheckles but apparently salaried workers are not paid by the hour/ day anyway! I'm told my salary is aggregated out over the year; similar to every other salaried worker in the economy apparently. Oh, to be paid overtime!

And ye have the guts of 5 months holidays per year

And why don't you do it?

Because Elmo refer to my original post - I WOULDNT ! Hence why i take my hat of to all ye teachers. Everyones is naturally entitled to their own opinion but mine of muinteoirs is positive - the majority of ye do a sterling job, for very little thanks from both the parents & the system.

And why don't you do it?

I choose a different career path, is that not obvious

jenzz wrote: »
    Because Elmo refer to my original post - I WOULDNT ! Hence why i take my hat of to all ye teachers. Everyones is naturally entitled to their own opinion but mine of muinteoirs is positive - the majority of ye do a sterling job, for very little thanks from both the parents & the system.

They get plenty of thanks, the monetary kind. do you know how much they get paid??

I had teachers in primary and secondary it went like this

"lads, pages 20-32 read and answer 1-10 "

now the teacher has time to prepare for tomorrow, mark exams and various other activities.

it happens all the time

That's the luck of the draw, sounds like my carpenter who resorted to google to figure out how to fit out my B & Q kitchen!

Again, must revert to type and give inane instruction as detailed above. Don't think the oul cigire would be happy with your teacher!

In the immortal words of Roy Keane "Fail to prepare, prepare to fail!"

I'd love to give back those hard-earned sheckles but apparently salaried workers are not paid by the hour/ day anyway! I'm told my salary is aggregated out over the year; similar to every other salaried worker in the economy apparently. Oh, to be paid overtime!

How about actually working for 2 of those months instead of sitting on yer asses

I do ( ish) but i also know how much they have been hit in the last year & I certainly dont want my kids teachers being demotivated by the Governments handling of their own mess & the kiddies loosing out on the level of education they deserve.

Im peed off with the system too believe me I am but it is not the teachers fault is it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

http://www.into.ie/ROI/InformationforTeachers/Salaries/CommonBasicScale/

looking at the above + the etxtra points for having a degree (btw how much extra for masters)

where do i sign up?

i think ill make a great math teacher :D teach all the little buggers that money doesnt grow on trees :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭Isotonic

I think its only fair on threads such as this if people who are anti teachers pay/strikes put up their own profession also. Would be very interested in careers of the knockers..

How about actually working for 2 of those months instead of sitting on yer asses

I sold my donkeys last year so will have to find somewhere else to sit next summer! I hear there might be a few racehorses going cheap though...

Isotonic wrote: »
    I think its only fair on threads such as this if people who are anti teachers pay/strikes put up their own profession also. Would be very interested in careers of the knockers..

No problem

Accoutancy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭Isotonic

Excellent career. partner in a firm?? Cleaned up during the celtic tiger with all the building and new businesses?? How is business now sir. Huge downturn like most private sector occupations??

I choose a different career path, is that not obvious

Ah so it was your choice not to become a teacher, just like it was the choice of a teacher to become a teacher.

If you think it is so cushy surely you want a new job as a Teacher, why don't you apply to become one?

No problem

Accoutancy

Well you can always do your H. Dip. Good luck with the 3 months holidays.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭jack of all

I've met some teachers in recent months, through work and having my own child start school. These teachers were young and not so young, all were enthusiastic, passionate about teaching and sharing their love of knowledge. Of course not all teachers are like this, but I believe the current teaching staff are the best crop we've had yet. Teaching is an important job, they fulfill a valuable role in our society; just like nurses, guards etc. But I don't think any particular sector should be held up as being somehow "better" or more "important" than any other sector; this is divisive and socially irresponsible. We need skilled teachers just as we need skilled craftspeople, skilled engineers, skilled staff in the hospitality industry (to cater for the domestic market and our important tourist industry) etc etc. All are valuable, all contribute to the economy and the national well being. The key word here is "skilled"; Ireland needs to upskill, invest in training and its people. I admire the many good teachers who do their job so well. I've been unemployed since being made redundant in September, the second time this has happened in two years, all driven by the collapse of the construction sector. When I worked in the construction sector,I did earn a reasonably good salary; I don't feel "I" or my family personally contributed to the current economic meltdown but I know that as a society we all have to suffer some (considerable) pain in order to right the wrongs and get the country back to work. Me and my family will be taking the harsh medecine for sure, I don't think any sector can really say: "I didn't benefit from the boom, why should I pay". We saw a huge rise in consumer spending, increased affluence generally, changing lifestyles and a definite rise in consumerism culture. We've all seen the signs: more cars, bigger TVs, foreign travel, lavish weddings, fine dining etc etc. We can't bankrupt the country to keep (some) sectors of the public service at unsustainable wage levels. My wife is a public servant, we are realistic about what will have to happen.