Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

History of Garda Cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭pah

Traffic Corps here have 3.0 Mondeo

Nippy I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Saw what looked like a marked TC car the other day outside the O2 with an NYPD-style rack of revolving lights, all blue with additional LEDs in the rear window, look like a Fiat Ulysses or a ford MPV or even a vectra, only saw it at a distance. Anyone seen it?

I suppose it could have been a HSE/paramedic because I've never seen AGS use those lights, it was in a bloody hurry too and followed by an unmarked mondeo.

sdonn wrote: »
    Saw what looked like a marked TC car the other day outside the O2 with an NYPD-style rack of revolving lights, all blue with additional LEDs in the rear window, look like a Fiat Ulysses or a ford MPV or even a vectra, only saw it at a distance. Anyone seen it?

I suppose it could have been a HSE/paramedic because I've never seen AGS use those lights, it was in a bloody hurry too and followed by an unmarked mondeo.

There is a mondeo estate belonging to the HSE that has them. Also a Wicklow Nissan Vanette ambulance with them also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

sdonn wrote: »

Two HSE NAS Renault Laguna estate response cars in Cork have them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Cheers lads, must have been HSE so. I have to say I love LEDs but used in conjunction with them, those revolving lights look damn cool, especially at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭supersaint3

Has anyone seen the IPA magazine this month came with a 2010 calendar of old squads, inc the vauxhall victors and a savage looking marked vauxhall chevette saloon with red interior :p I've no scanner or I'd oblige

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

ivabiggon wrote: »
    has anyone got info on the first garda car or fleet of cars, maybe someone who has involvement with the historical society, thats if you have one.
    i'm talking when the state was formed, i know the original garda cars were probably inherited from the Brits on their departure, but there had to be a car some where that the first garda symbol was put on.
    i think Dublin fire brigade was the first fire service in Ireland to have the first motorized truck and ambulance, up to then it was horse n cart.

what do ya wanna know exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Limerick had a Mazda 323 saloon for a while in the late 80s/early 90s. Notoriously unstable at speed. Similarly, one wonders how many Gardai were involved in RTAs with the awful Fiat Tempra? I know of at least 2 who died on seperate occasions.(RIP Lads).
    Task Force in Cork in 95 had a 88 Toyota Corolla. It outran the Opel Vectras that had recently arrived, while "attending to a call" heading out the carrigrohane straight.
    2.2L Camry was the TC unmarked of choice, while most paddy wagons were Toyota Hiaces. Crime drove Escort in Hatchback and Saloon, Branch drove Mk 1 Mondeos(****), and even a Mitsubishi Charisma.

I still miss the Fiesta Vans though. They did EVERYTHING!
    Too wet for TC to take the motorbikes out? Fiesta Van
    Country Station needs a Car? Fiesta Van
    Scenes of crime? Fiesta Van
    District Car Grounded till PSV man starts duty? Fiesta Van!
    Collect member protecting SoC? Fiesta Van!

Fiesta Van: Your only man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭ivabiggon

miju wrote: »
    what do ya wanna know exactly?

i don't EXACTLY want to know anything, the closest i've got was the picture of the black vintage with the oversized bicycle horn on the roof that was post recently:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭pingu2008

8892797153a12047182131l.jpg
    8892797153a12047182142l.jpg
    8892797153a12047182149l.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭In my opinion

The auld Avenger that was the sub district patrol car of choice in the 70's with the escort being more of a district car. Jesus they were an awful yoke looking through the eyes of 2010.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭DanFindy

Anyone know had the Gardai ever a white mk5 Cortina in Garda livery at any stage? i have a plain white one and would get decals made for it for film use etc if they ever were used?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

As far as I can remember we had a pair of white mk5 Cortina's in Traffic in Dublin Castle. I started there in 81 and we had mostly cortinas and a couple of 2 litre Opel Records and a green 2.8 Granada, a Renault 4 van, a 1.6 SWB petrol Transit, an escort and a few land rovers.. and loads of motorcycles, Honda CX500, Honda 750s and some BMW R800 came later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭DanFindy

trad wrote: »
    As far as I can remember we had a pair of white mk5 Cortina's in Traffic in Dublin Castle. I started there in 81 and we had mostly cortinas and a couple of 2 litre Opel Records and a green 2.8 Granada, a Renault 4 van, a 1.6 SWB petrol Transit, an escort and a few land rovers.. and loads of motorcycles, Honda CX500, Honda 750s and some BMW R800 came later.

Ah i see, thats interesting, id be v gratefull if u could pull out a photo of one of the cortinas as i would like to do mine as a replica, i would use magnetic plaques for the sides and the stripes so i could remove all and leave er standard......if i got a good contract for a film i might just do it properly :D !!

And tell me is there any laws or anything governing doing this to a car, ive seen plenty done up in england as old police cars but few here

DanFindy wrote: »
    And tell me is there any laws or anything governing doing this to a car, ive seen plenty done up in england as old police cars but few here

The AGS logo is copyrighted.....if you marked the car up properly and left the logo out it would be ok. Then get a magnetic AGS logo done up (if the printers are brave enough to) and only put that up when on a closed set.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

The traffic white cortinas of that era had a sinlge 3m "reflective" stripe full length with the Garda crest and the word "Garda" on the frontdoors. Can't remember if the crest was on top or the bottom. A single light bar with two Bosch rotating beacons and a smith and wesson siren / speaker mid mounted. Some of the sirens were rear facing to "save petrol". I don't have any photo's left. Most of mine would be in an impressive montage in the Traffic Department at Dublin Castle. Covers everything from the early days, President Kennedy's visit and many other events. Haven't seen it in years so no doubt has been added to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

Jaysus, I watch The Bill (the show, not slang for An Garda Siochana) and see the gits have BMW's as their patrol cars..........lucky ducks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭highdef

Slightly off-topic but do you remember the sirens on the garda cars from the 80's and 90's? It was a very distinctive electronic two tone. Haven't heard it in years and actually miss it! Anyone have any youtube/video clips of one these cars in action?

I always thought the siren had a second benefit in that it was different to the regular two tones (and later on waw waws, or whatever you call them) on fire engines and ambulances. So if you were a Joe Soap sitting in heavy traffic and heard this electronic two tone, you knew to look out for a small garda car approaching, rather than an much larger ambulance or fire engine.

I know that today I can still tell the difference between the sirens of the different emergency response vehicles but I'm sure the majority of people would think they're all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

cjmcork wrote: »
    Jaysus, I watch The Bill (the show, not slang for An Garda Siochana) and see the gits have BMW's as their patrol cars..........lucky ducks!

And there not even the new 5 series that they use on set,the real Met use the newer ones ;).

Anyway seen one the old unmarked 2.2 Camerys (2000 i think) yesterday with its blues on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Blue Punto

Portlaoise Traffic have a silver BMW 5 Series

Also On the N7 Silver S60 D5 numerous colours

Skoda Octavias and a few new model Superbs

Also saw a black land cruiser chasing an english reg motorbike just b4 christmas

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭1922

highdef wrote: »
    Slightly off-topic but do you remember the sirens on the garda cars from the 80's and 90's? It was a very distinctive electronic two tone. Haven't heard it in years and actually miss it! Anyone have any youtube/video clips of one these cars in action?

but it frequently broke, so instead of having Ni Na

you just had Ni, i know they would have to use the cars horn to make the Na

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Blue Punto wrote: »
    Portlaoise Traffic have a silver BMW 5 Series

Also On the N7 Silver S60 D5 numerous colours

Skoda Octavias and a few new model Superbs

Also saw a black land cruiser chasing an english reg motorbike just b4 christmas

You sure about the Portlaoise 5 series ? Are you sure you're not confusing it with the silver 3-series they have ?

I am positive

Its a silver 5 series BMW

I know a chap that drives it regularly and pulled up beside him in it for a quick yap one evening

I am positive

Its a silver 5 series BMW

I know a chap that drives it regularly and pulled up beside him in it for a quick yap one evening

Then either your making it up or im afraid your not the best car spotter!!!

Portlaoise has a 3 series....not a 5 series.

As a mechanic for 20 years I would imagine that I know the difference between a 5 and 3 series

Unless the 3 series has since replaced the 5 series that I refer too, the 5 series was there up until christmas .

nice guy always

Why would I waste my time making something up like that.

If you dont wish to believe me thats fair enough but please dont mock me

(Did you ever stop to think you too could be wrong)

Thank you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Andrew33

According to wikipedia Currently the Garda are using the following vehicles
    • Fiat Ulysse,
    • Opel Vectra, astra
    • Toyota Avensis , corolla & landcruiser
    • Ford Fiesta, Focus, Mondeo , transit , galaxy
    • Saab 9-3,
    • Volvo XC70,
    • BMW 5 Series
    • Isuzu Trooper,
    • Subaru Forester
    • Fiat Ducato,
    • Mercedes Sprinter & 814D
    • Nissan Terrano
    I would like to know what vehicles they used in the past. like the Renault 4, Land rover Defender,

the above list only covers marked cars.

I've seen a silvery/blue mk2 Octavia operating out of Pearse st with the concealed lights etc, have also seen an A6, and 3 different Land Cruisers with lights mounted on bumper corners and tinted windows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

As a mechanic for 20 years I would imagine that I know the difference between a 5 and 3 series

Unless the 3 series has since replaced the 5 series that I refer too, the 5 series was there up until christmas .

nice guy always

Why would I waste my time making something up like that.

If you dont wish to believe me thats fair enough but please dont mock me

(Did you ever stop to think you too could be wrong)

Thank you

It is a 3 series by the way. Could do with a wash as well boys;)

i've seen a 5 series creeping around portlaoise to be honest....

1922 wrote: »
    i've seen a 5 series creeping around portlaoise to be honest....

Not Traffic.....

never said it was ;)