Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quick Beat; Slow Feet

• 26-11-2009 11:13am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭

Welcome to my training log. Quick Beat as my HR is a high one. Slow Feet - speaks for it self, but I'm working on it.

Stats:
    35 yrs old
    Male
    Ht 172cm (~ 5ft 7.5in)
    Weight ~12 stone
    Living in Raheny

Started running in Jan 09.
    Run approx 3 times per week

Events this year:
    08 Mar: Between the Bridges (Belfast) 10km 45mins
    29 Mar: John Davis Run (Malahide) 5km 19min45sec PB
    05 April: Great Ireland Run (Pheonix Park) 10km 42mins PB
    26 Oct: DCM 3hrs29min45sec PB (1st time running a marathon)

I hope to do a few beginner level triathlons next year. Need to work on the swimming.

Looking forward to your comments/advice as I go.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

I'm going to keep this post for my training pre DCM09. Which I will update when I get time.

Sat 31 Oct:
    Went out intending to do 3 or 4 km but got around about 200m and had to turn back as my knees were killing me.
    Got up on the mountain bike and did 30 mins.

Sat 07 Nov:
    4.3km (2.7mls) 20'56" Avg pace 7'45"/mile. HR 180avg 187max

Thurs 12 Nov:
    8.7km (5.4mls) 38'30" Avg pace 7' 08"/mile. HR 181avg 191max

Sun 15 Nov:
    Cycle: 18.7km (11.7ml) 45'56" Avg 15.3mph. HR 167avg 187max.
    Followed by Run: 4.3km (2.7ml) 18'02" Avg pace 6'41"/mile. HR 179avg 190max

Week Total: Run 9.7miles. Cycle 11.7miles.

Thurs 19 Nov:
    9.7km (6ml) 46'55" Avg pace 7'49"/mile. HR 184avg 189max.

Sat 21 Nov: 17:20 Drizzle
    8.7km (5.4ml) 36'11" Avg Pace 6'42"/mile. HR 185avg 190max.

Sun 22 Nov: 12:00 Sun Drizzle at end. Strong wind.
    31.3km (19.5ml) 1hr 16' Avg 15.4mph. HR 165/180

Week Total: Run: 11.4miles. Cycle: 19.5miles.

Wed 25 Nov:
    Raheny Shamrocks 3 Mile Race:
    3ml (4.8km) 18'59" PB (1st one) Avg pace 6'20"/mile. Splits 6'04", 6'20", 6'25". HR 195avg 203max.
    2ml Cool down.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭Izoard

Good luck with the log.

You weren't joking about your HR!

What is your Max HR?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

Macanri wrote: »
    08 Mar: Between the Bridges (Belfast) 10km 45mins
    29 Mar: John Davis Run (Malahide) 5km 19min45sec PB
    05 April: Great Ireland Run (Pheonix Park) 10km 42mins PB
    26 Oct: DCM 3hrs29min45sec PB (1st time running a marathon)

Wow, sweet first year. Well done. Get the base miles on the cycling over the next few months and a bit of decent swimming and you're away into the wonderful world of Tri's!

12.7km (7.9ml) 1h05'25" Avg pace 8'17"/mile. HR 176avg 184max.
    Purposely went fairly easy trying to use it as a recovery run and get the LA out of my legs after yesterday evenings race, and to try keep my HR down.

Out for a meal with the better half tomorrow night so no running til Sat morn, hopefully.

Izoard wrote: »
    Good luck with the log.

You weren't joking about your HR!

What is your Max HR?

Thanks Batman (always wanted to say that!):D.
    Don't really know what the max is though I'ld say I fairly pushed it last night at the Raheny 3 mile Race. 203max. I read somewhere about doing a warm up and then lashing it up a hill a number of times and reading your HR each time. Then recording your max. So must head up Howth head after the Aware 10km and see how high I can get it.

RedB wrote: »
    Wow, sweet first year. Well done. Get the base miles on the cycling over the next few months and a bit of decent swimming and you're away into the wonderful world of Tri's!

Cheers. I am total rawly. When you say get the base miles on the cycling, what do you mean? Have to get more swimming in. I'm not a bad swimmer, I have been surfing years. But my technique wouldn't be exactly text book. Need to work on my breathing. Really considering joining Pirahanatri to get some swim coaching. If only I had more time.

Sat 28 Nov: 15:30 (LSR)
    17km (10.6miles) 1hr 19' 05" Avg pace 7'28. HR 176avg 185max.

Probably a bit too quick for a LSR. The legs feel sore after it. Started taking a protein (casein) shake after my runs to aid recovery.

Had planned to cycle tomorrow midday, but having seen the weather forecast for tomorrow I will have to see if I can pick a less rainy slot!!

Sun 29 Nov: 15:30

Cycle: 31.3km (19.5miles) 1hr 29' Avg 13.1mph. HR 155avg 171max

Had a fry up for the breakfast this morning. mmm first one in months.

Week Total: Run: 23.5miles. Cycle: 19.5miles.

When you say get the base miles on the cycling, what do you mean?

Just get used to long cycles similar to long runs. Depends on the length of the tri's you'd plan on doing but probably work up to 2-3 hours of a cycle over the winter / early spring and also incorporate brick sessions where you run straight off the bike. They're tough so take 'em handy at the start! There is an amount of technical cycling training that you could get into similar to the running/swimming but decent time on a bike is fundamental.

Cheers RedB. 2 - 3 hrs on the bike... wait til the missus hears that.. I'll tell you what, you can tell her.

Yea did a brick session (didn't know the tech term til now) twice now. Did 11.7miles round howth head followed by 4.3km run in mid Nov, and did 25km cycle and 4.3km run way back in March to see what it was like... legs were like jelly for the first km.

Would aim to start on the short distance tris and work up from there.

Cheers RedB. 2 - 3 hrs on the bike... wait til the missus hears that.. I'll tell you what, you can tell her.

Yea did a brick session (didn't know the tech term til now) twice now. Did 11.7miles round howth head followed by 4.3km run in mid Nov, and did 25km cycle and 4.3km run way back in March to see what it was like... legs were like jelly for the first km.

Would aim to start on the short distance tris and work up from there.

:D No prob -you obviously haven't read posts in other logs where we were discussing going out for lunchbreak runs just so they wouldn't appear on the OH's running radar! Was out last night and the lads ended up in one corner discussing when we could sneak in a long cycle so 8am next Sunday morning is now on the cards! One guy was pushing for 7am just so he'd be back before she woke from her lie-in. What has the world come to?

The jelly legs are classic brick symptons and you gotta go from the bike to the run and not the other way round. Fair play on getting in the 1.5hr cycle today. That's excellent scheduling with the long run Sat and the long cycle Sun. A well deserved fry too.

Good call on starting on the shorter tri's. Its the way to go. Especially re the 6+ hour cycles :eek: that the IM guys will be working up to. Joining the tri club works for some whereas others prefer to go it on their own for a while. Whatever works for you but there is usually a lot of support from being in a club. Enjoying it is the key and having particular targets helps with the training so check out the calender on the Tri Ireland site and start angling herself to accept a few choice events strategically spread out throughout the year. Maybe even make a weekend away from home of them :cool:.

Mon 30 Nov. 20:15

9.7km (6miles) 47' 25" Avg pace 7'54. HR 171avg 177max.

HR a bit higher than I had intended but not too much so. Rest day tomorrow ahead of the 2 mile race in Raheny on Wed evening. Sub 12 would be great.. we'll see.

Wed 25 Nov: 20:00

Raheny Shamrocks 2 Mile Race:

1.5ml Warm up
    2ml 11'57" PB (1st one) Avg pace 5'58"/mile. Splits 5'54", 6'03". HR 193avg 200max.
    2.5ml Cool down. Total 6miles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭asimonov

Good going macanri, you held your pace well. 2 mile races are a whole lot of pain!

Cheers Asimonov. I tought running it that the second lap was quicker as it was more of an effort. Well happy with the time.

Thurs 03 Dec. 22:00

9.7km (6miles) 49'00 Avg pace 8'10. HR 161avg 166max.

Sub 6 min miles! That's super fast. Well done.

Sat 05 Dec. 11:00 Jingle Bells 5k

2km warm up
    5km 19'23" (PB) :-) Avg pace 3'53/km or 6'14/mile HR 188avg 198max.
    2km cool down Total 9km (5.6miles).

Heading to a 60th bday party tonight. Will be having a number of vitamin Gs.

Sun 06 Dec. 21:00

1km warm up
    8.7km (5.4 miles) 38'48" Avg pace 7'11/mile. HR 171avg 178max.

Felt tough - the stout last night didn't help. More days training than normal.

Week Total: 48.4km 30 miles (all running, no cycling)

Tues 08 Dec. 21:00

Swim (25m pool)
    75m warm up
    3 x 100m front crawl alternated with 2 x 100m breast stroke - 2-3 min rest between
    25m cool down

Total 600m

Don't really know how long it all took - about 25 mins.

Great difficulty getting my breaths without taking in water. Feckin' must have swallowed half the feckin' pool. MCOS better watch out, I'm gettin' tri fit!!!:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Hey - good progress, seems like you're going nice and steady. I was thinking of doing a session of intervals this evening in Raheny if you were interested?
    Nothing too strenuous, maybe 6/8 x 800 or a few miles with rest.

Drop me a PM if interested

Brian

Just sent you a PM there. Haven't done an interval session in ages, but willing to give it a go.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Nice running again! Info, links etc up on my log just now

Wed 09 Dec. 20:45

Sound Christeb, good session - I will cut and paste if I can.

Interval Session: http://connect.garmin.com/activity/20303788
    1.5 mile warm up
    5 x 1 mile intervals. Splits 6'21 6'26 6'21 6'27 5'49 (and the gold medal:D) HR 165avg 195max
    1.5 mile cool down

Tot 8miles

Thurs 10 Dec. 21:00

Swim (25m pool)
    50m warm up
    5 x 100m front crawl alternated with 2 x 100m breast stroke - 2-3 min rest between
    75m cool down

Tot 825m

Concentrated more on breathing rather than time. An improvment since Tues.
    At the very end of the last cooldown length my left calf started to crap - caught it in time, luckily.

Didn't do anything Fri 11th. Party Night Sat 12th. Meant to do something on Sun but too wrecked.

Mon 14 Dec. 18:30
    5 a side football. Felt sore after it today and headcold so nothing this evening. Either a run or a swim tomorrow. Then Christmas Party Thurs night.

I'm going to keep this post for my training pre DCM09. Which I will update when I get time.

Wk 1 Day 1 Core Training
    Wk 1 Day 2 4 mile walk

Week 2
    Day 1 Rest Date 12.01.09
    Day 2 Core Training
    Day 3 4 mile walk
    Day 4 Core Training
    Day 5 5 mile run/walk
    Day 6 Core Training
    Day 7 Rest Week Total Run 4miles

Week 3
    Day 1 5 mile run/walk Date 19.01.09
    Day 2 Core Training
    Day 3 5.5 mile run/walk
    Day 4 Core Training
    Day 5 6 mile run/walk
    Day 6 Core Training
    Day 7 Rest Week Tot Run 13 miles

Week 4
    Day 1 6.5 mile run/walk Date 26.01.09
    Day 2 Core Training
    Day 3 6.5 mile run/walk
    Day 4 Core Training
    Day 5 6.5 mile run/walk
    Day 6 Core Training
    Day 7 Rest Week Tot Run 18 miles
    Week 5
    Day 1 6.5 mile run Date 02.02.09
    Day 2 20 x 100m sprints 30sec recovery
    10 x 200m sprints 1min recovery
    Day 3 5 mile run/walk
    Day 4 Core Training
    Day 5 6.5 mile run/walk
    Day 6 Core Training
    Day 7 Rest Week Tot Run 18 miles

Week 6
    Day 1 6.5 mile run Date 09.02.09
    Day 2 Core Training
    Day 3 6.5 mile run
    Day 4 Core Training
    Day 5 6.5 mile run
    Day 6 Core Training
    Day 7 Rest Week Tot Run 19.5 miles

Week 7
    Day 1 6.5 mile run Date 16.02.09
    Day 2 Core Training
    Day 3 6.5 mile run
    Day 4 Core Training
    Day 5 6.5 mile run
    Day 6 Core Training
    Day 7 Rest Week Tot Run 19.5 miles

Week 8
    Day 1 6.5 mile run Date 23.02.09
    Day 2 Core Training
    Day 3 7 mile run
    Day 4 Core Training
    Day 5 6.5 mile run
    Day 6 Core Training
    Day 7 Rest Week Tot Run 20 miles
    Total 112 miles ran over the above 8 weeks

That is I introduced myself to running.

Run 2 or 3 Days per week
    02 - 08 Mar 13 miles
    09 - 15 Mar 13 miles
    16 - 22 Mar 19 miles
    23 - 29 Mar 13 miles
    30Mar - 05Apr 14 miles
    06 - 12 Apr 8 miles

Wed 16 Dec. 21:00

Swim (25m pool)
    100m warm up
    4 x 100m front crawl
    1 x 100m breast stroke
    2 x 100m FC 2 min rest between each 100m
    100m cool down

Tot 900m

Next Swim session hope to up it to 150m stints.

Sat 19 Dec. 14:00 Brick Session

Bike: 30 miles (48.3km) 01:59:30 Avg 15mph. HR 159avg 174max. (Meant to do a shorter route but seeing as it was my first time doing this milage and this route I got a bit lost and had to back track twice)

In to the house and change out of cycling top and shorts and put on running top and shorts and runners and out the door.

Run: 9.7km (6 miles) 42:58 Avg pace 7'10/mile. HR 170avg 180max. (Legs a bit jellyish but I found it difficult to determine how I was running - kind of like I had not much control on what my legs were doing - hard to explain.) My shin was fairly sore after it - never experienced pain there before.

Happy with the overall session.

Sun 20 Dec. 21:00

Run: LSR 12.9km (8 miles) 01:00:45 Avg pace 7'36/mile. HR 166avg 172max.
    Happy with the HR. Looking back the reason it was high there for a while was probably due to the fact that I donated blood in the middle of Nov. Could not do anything other that a slow run tonight - very frosty/icy out. Roll on Christmas, until I get me hat and gloves!

Week Total: Swim 900m, Cycle 30miles, Run 14 miles