Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quick Beat; Slow Feet

• Registered Users Posts: 4,167 ✭✭✭El Director

Fair play to you Mac, I am very jealous of you consistency :) Well done on the 2 miler dude, not to worry about the second split, it's a learning curve. During the summer in a track meet I led a 1500m race for 3/4 of it before 8 of the 14 took me. They all just sat in behind me, they must have spotted the silly/inexperienced triathlete. Lesson learned. Well done again buddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Cheers man, How are things going for you? Will you be down to one of these 2 milers?

They are running a winter league 1, 2 and 3 milers over a couple of weeks from Dec. Don't know the details yet but they will be posted on their website.

I do hope to for sure. When there is more detail would you mind PM/e mailing me if you don't mind. I will aim to make two of them. Things not going well for me really just some life stuff which has all been sorted this week and ended in a happy way :) This has really affect my training and my attempt to get a routine back in place. I'm thinking Waterford will have to be knocked on the head at this stage, I haven't been able to put in the miles and don't see the point in traveling to Waterford if I don't feel i'm in PB shape, especially when I could do a 13 miler for free at home as a training session. it means not meeting my final goal of the year but sometimes you have to be honest with your self. If I don't do it then Larne Half in March will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

nice going in the 2m. Are you going to join the club? Would be nice to see you out on a few of the training runs, espesh the LSRs given the other lads are on more sedate schedules whereas we're both on Barca plans.

Although you don't need to join to run with us of course!

I do hope to for sure. When there is more detail would you mind PM/e mailing me if you don't mind. I will aim to make two of them. Things not going well for me really just some life stuff which has all been sorted this week and ended in a happy way :) This has really affect my training and my attempt to get a routine back in place. I'm thinking Waterford will have to be knocked on the head at this stage, I haven't been able to put in the miles and don't see the point in traveling to Waterford if I don't feel i'm in PB shape, especially when I could do a 13 miler for free at home as a training session. it means not meeting my final goal of the year but sometimes you have to be honest with your self. If I don't do it then Larne Half in March will do.

I wll let you know when the winter league is on for sure. The last of the fit4life series is on this Wed 18th at 8pm.
    Sorry to hear you won't be making it to Waterford - yea, it would be alot of hassle for a training run!

christeb wrote: »
    nice going in the 2m. Are you going to join the club? Would be nice to see you out on a few of the training runs, espesh the LSRs given the other lads are on more sedate schedules whereas we're both on Barca plans.

Although you don't need to join to run with us of course!

Cheers man, yea I was thinking of join the club, but I don't know how suitable the training times will be. But it will be good to be a part of the Raheny running community!

Fri 12 Nov 19:25
    PHMP Run

The plan called for a 5ml paced run. I started a few weeks back with a paced run of 4mls an have added on a mile to the paced run each week. So that saw me do 7mls at pace. So I decided 11km would do me.
    Ran 15.4km in total:
    2km in 10:30, 5:15/km (8:27/ml)
    11km in 45:00, 4:05/km (6:35/ml)
    2.4km in 11:00, 4:35/km (7:23/ml).

HR was 176av84%, 189mx-93%.

I ran a slightly different route to normal so I was only sure of the first few km splits, then it was hang on through the wet grass along the coast and up the slight hill on the Malhide Rd. I was delighted to see the time of 45:00 when I reached the 11km spot, having hoped to hold 4:10/km which would have been 45:50. I was looking at the route again on mapmy ride when I got back and it didn't look 'right' - one or two of the kms looked longer than others so I decided to jump in the car and check the PHMP section. The car gave it as 11.5km! So 11.5km in 45:00 is 3:55/km or 6:18/ml! Either way I was well happy with that.

Sat was spent putting down the timber floor in the sitting room. Just have to finish the strips at the the two opposite walls. Delighted with how it has turned out - major brownie points :)

Sun 14 Nov 11:10
    LSR 24.7km

The plan asked for a 1:45 run. I decided to do this one slightly faster than the previous LSRs and the last 7 or 8 km the HR had actually come down but so did the pace.
    Total done in 1:53:56, 4:37/km (7:25/ml), HR 168av-79%, 177mx-85%.

Weekly Tots
    Swim 4500m - 2200, 2300
    Run 60.6km (37.7mls) - 5.1, 10.3, 5.1, 15.4, 24.7km

I had planned on doing the RNLI 10km in Marlay Pk on Sun 28th Nov, but our new neice is being Christened that day at 1pm. So I think it would be craziness to try squeez in the two. So will look around for a 10km next week end or the Sat 27th Nov.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Two great runs Mac, you are absolutely flying. Will be interesting to see what time you hit.Keep it going.

Cheers kb3,

I atually did todays run on one of the short bike routes - Raheny, Sutton Cross, Portmarnock, Malhide, Malahide Rd back to Raheny, so ran by your place. It was a great morning for it.

The legs feel tired though, all the same.

You're doing well yourself.

Mon 15 Nov 06:30
    LC Swim 2500m

Met up with 3 other lads from our Thurs swim group and we came up with a plan for the session. 1 of the lads is a strong swimmer and his times were quicker than the rest of us. 3Dtri club have been traning the last few Mon and Thurs mornings when I have been there. This morning one of them had to be helped out of the pool as he dislocated his shoulder - ouch, it looked like he was in a bit of pain - I was talking to him briefly when I went in to get my fins and board. It has happened him before - he said its worse waiting for it to happen as he dosen't know when i will go.

WU 100
    5 x 200 off 4:30 (all 3:55ish)
    4 x 100 kick with fins (all 2:03ish)
    5 x 100 (50 hard, 50 easy) (times for hard 0:50, 50, 48, 48, 50)
    CD 100, 200, 100

19:20 Rec Run
    5.1km

Wrapped up well and went for a nice wee run around my wee loop.
    26:33, 5:13/km (8:23/ml), HR 151av-68%, 160mx-74%.

Macanri wrote: »
    Cheers kb3,

I atually did todays run on one of the short bike routes - Raheny, Sutton Cross, Portmarnock, Malhide, Malahide Rd back to Raheny, so ran by your place. It was a great morning for it.

The legs feel tired though, all the same.

You're doing well yourself.
    How did you find sutton cross to portmarnock traffic wise? I ve often thought about that loop but have a fear of being squished with there being no paths.

It was Sun morn around 11:30 so it wasn't too bad. I always run on the road even when there is a concrete footpath - the taxi drivers don't be impressed! I just hop up on to the path and down again if there is a bus or cyclist approcahing - i feel it's better for the knees and legs. If there is a tarmac footpath then I use that. If there was an errant car along that stretch I'm sure I would be able to jump up on to the bit of verge in time. Maybe I'm a bit easy going on this front!

yeah i stay off concrete myself, its just black tarmac path mainly where i run or hit the park the weekend. Ah im sure the road is fine im prob been over cautious. As you say a sunday morning is prob fine.

Tues 16 Nov 19:30
    Intervals 5 x 800 @ 10k
    & New Runner Run

Mrs M picked up the new pair of Brooks Racers from the Post Depot so I decided to try them out after the interval session. Used the trusted Asics K15s for the intervals (~800km on them now), hence recent pair of Brooks Adrenalin.

1.9km WU to the dirt track in 9:50, 5:11/km (8:20/ml)
    5 x 800 @ 10km pace (as per the HM Plan) - 2:50, 56, 57, 52, 50
    4 x 400 recovery between the 5 intervals. HR for the intervals and rec laps was 171av-81%, 188mx-92%.
    1.9km home.

In the door and did a few stretches and put on the new racers. I noticed the difference in weight for the first km or so, but not so much after that. Going to use them again this evening for my rec run. I noticed at the end that there is less between the foot and the ground and could feel extra pressure on the ball of my right foot which I wouldn't notice in the trainers.
    So 4.1km in 20:08, 4:55/km, 7:54/ml, HR 158av-73%, 180mx-87%. High max HR as I had to give them a good sprint for a section of Watermill Rd hill - 0.56km in 2:00, 3:34/km (5:45/ml) .

Wed 17 Nov 20:00
    5.1km Rec Run

Shortly after getting in the door from work the electricity went - still gone (on the laptop). So after the bit of excitment with the kids getting a torch and candles, we got them to bed and I ate the dinner while it was still half warm. Then headed out for an easy run. The grub was sloshing around - enough said!

5.1km in 25:55, 5:05/km (8:11/ml), HR 159av-74%, 167mx-79%. HR probably high due to the blood being down in my stomach trying to digest the dinner.

The rain just started towards the end, but sure it missed me last night. Still windy though.

Thurs 18 Nov 06:30
    Swim LC 2600m

Bjorn is away in his home country of S Africa competing in a few tris so myself and another group member did a swim session from his swim workout book.

WU 100 FS, 200 FS with fins.
    400, 300, 200, 100 moderate pace with 20 RT
    300, 200, 100 NegSplit, 25 RT, Splits were (3:02-2:50; 2:00-1:48; 1:00-0:52)
    200 Fast 30 sec RT
    100 Fast 30 RT
    2 x 150 pull
    CD 50 Bk kick, 50 FS

A good swim session with a faster swimmer than me drove me on a bit.

Thurs 19:40
    Tempo Run 12.4km total

So having had a good response to the 'What is a Tempo Run?' thread I decided to follow HH description to the letter. So the plan was for a 50min tempo run. I decided to do ~15mins easy, then a tempo section of 25mins building to max pace @ around 15mins in (I was going to base the build off the HR so 165ish for 5mins, 170ish, 175ish, 180ish and then bring it higher for the recommended 2 or 3 mins of max effort (max being around the 10km pace). Then bring the tempo back down slowly and finish off with 10mins easy.

2.6km easy in 11:50, 4:33/km (7:19/ml), HR 153av-69%, 158mx-73%
    5.8km tempo in 25:00, avg 4:19/km (6:56/ml), HR 175av-84%, 187mx-91%
    4km easy in 19:40, 4:55/km (7:55/ml), HR 151av-68%, 158mx-73%.

A good session. The top of the tempo felt tough.

Friday was a planned rest day, Sat was an unplanned rest day. The hall floor took longer than the sitting room floor. Probably due to more angles and so more setting out and cutting.

Sun 21 Nov 12:45
    LSR 25.7km (~16mls)

Due to the 2 rest days I was feeling fairly fresh for this so decided to make it a 3/1 type run. Did the first 20.5km at an average pace of 4:38/km (7:27/ml) HR ~161av-75%. Then upped the pace for the last 5.2km in 21:21, 4:06/km (6:36/ml) HR ~174-83%.
    Overall the 25.7km took 1:56:21, 4:32/km (7:17/ml), HR 164av-77%, 177mx-85%.

The run overall went well but my bones felt sore during parts of it. During different parts of the run I had pains in my ankle, my shins, and my hip. If I was a horse I'ld be put down:rolleyes:.

Weekly Totals:
    Swim 4800m (2500, 2300)
    Bike ??
    Run 61.8km (38.4ml) (5.1, 13.5,5.1, 12.4, 25.7)

Mon 22 Nov 06:30
    Swim LC 2800m

Met up with one of the swim group lads and we decided to do a pyramid session. 100 to 500 and down again, trying to better the 400 to 100 on the way back down.

WU 2 x 100
    100, 200, 300, 400, 500, 400, 300, 200, 100
    CD 100

I failed in the attempt to -ve split the set but it was a good session all the same.

19:30
    Rec Run 6.2km

Done in 32:05, 5:10/km (8:19/ml), HR 152av-69%, 160mx74%

Tues 23 Nov 20:45
    Steady Run 8.4km

Done in 36:47, 4:23/km (7:03ml), HR 164av77%, 173mx82%

Wed 24 Nov 20:00
    Raheny 2mile Race

Jogged down to the club house and paid for the race. Met one of the members 'Dave', who had just come up from the interval session and was going to do the race also. We did the WU together and he told me his pb for the 2 miles was 10:53 (mine is 11:15) but he said he'ld be nowhere near that after the intervals.

At the start he led out and I stuck behind him. Then on the first straight I came up beside him, I was running quick but comfortably, he let me go past and fell in behind me. We came through the first mile in 5:45. I started to up the pace slightly. Then on the 2nd last straight he took the lead and I sat in behind determined not to lose him. I stuck to him onto the last straight and then half way up the straight had a go - this was it I had the 1st place within my reach if I could push hard. He pushed to and we were neck and neck although I never got in front. It was tough running that last few hundred metres all out. He kept up the pace and crossed just ahead of me. We crossed the line within a split second of each other but the times were called as 11:22 and 11:23. If it was a pb time I would have been looking for the 22.
    A good race 5:45 for the 1st mile and 5:38 for the second.

Avg pace 5:41.5/ml (3:32/km), HR 184av89%, 195mx97%.

Total for the evening: 10.3km

The alarm went off this morning for the swim and I turned over for just a few more minutes and then was too late, so I will hit the pool in th morning instead.

sweet time Mac, I'll be on the King-hunt on next week for the Winter League!

Good stuff there last night MAc, you're getting close to number 1! Decided today that I am going to do the winter league so going to be there next Weds to start off. Great idea having 4 divisions imo, I wonder how they will decide what division each runner goes in?

Based mostly on your performance in the first round IIRC. If you ran last year then that might factor in too

I have no idea how or what they do in relation to the divisions - I don't really understand them either - not a soccer head, which I'm sure if I was then I would know a little about divisions!
    Anyway, I'll be there next Wed hoping for sub 18. PB of 18:59 from last year.

Thurs 25 Nov 19:40
    Pace and Mid Long Run 15.4km

I haven't been following the plan to the letter this week but still getting slow runs and quick runs in. The P&D marathon plan which I am also keeping an eye on to mix with the HM plan asks for a midweek mideium long run of 10miles. SO I decided to mix it with a paced run.

It went like so:
    2km in 9:35, 4:48/km (7:43/ml), HR ~160av74%
    7.75k in 31:28, 4:04/km (6:32/ml), HR ~183av89%
    5.65k in 26:54, 4:46/km (7:40/ml), HR ~157av72%

O/A 15.4km (9.6mls) in 1:07:57, 4:25/km (7:06/km), HR 170av81%, 185mx90%

Well happy with the paced section. I have to decide what my strategy will be for the HM - do I do my own thing and run at as close to a constant pace as possible. Or do I stick with the 1:30 pacer for the first 3, 4 or 5km and then push on?
    Any suggestions would be more than appreciated.

Thurs 25 Nov 19:40
    Pace and Mid Long Run 15.4km

I haven't been following the plan to the letter this week but still getting slow runs and quick runs in. The P&D marathon plan which I am also keeping an eye on to mix with the HM plan asks for a midweek mideium long run of 10miles. SO I decided to mix it with a paced run.

It went like so:
    2km in 9:35, 4:48/km (7:43/ml), HR ~160av74%
    7.75k in 31:28, 4:04/km (6:32/ml), HR ~183av89%
    5.65k in 26:54, 4:46/km (7:40/ml), HR ~157av72%

O/A 15.4km (9.6mls) in 1:07:57, 4:25/km (7:06/km), HR 170av81%, 185mx90%

Well happy with the paced section. I have to decide what my strategy will be for the HM - do I do my own thing and run at as close to a constant pace as possible. Or do I stick with the 1:30 pacer for the first 3, 4 or 5km and then push on?

This training run suggests you're good for something close to 85, I would do your own thing from the start. Did a decent 8 tempo myself last night - if 1830 ever suits you for a run midweek give me a shout. I'm scheduled to do between 8 and 10m most nights

Thanks for the offer, if I am free around that time I will defo give you a shout. Likewise if you are around about 1930 or so give me a shout. Yea feeling I will be targeting somewhere around 86 or 87.
    If you are running 8 to 10 miles most nights + a LSR that must be near 80miles per week - wow, high mileage!

Fri 26 Nov 06:30
    Swim LC 2500m

100 wu
    500 in 9:57
    Pullbouy - 100normal, 100doggy, 100fists, 100doggy, 100norm
    100 kicking (pulling when needing to breath)
    400 FS with fins
    500 in 9:49
    2 x 200 CD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

Best of luck in Waterford Macanri, you've shown you're well able for the pace. It's a nice route, you can really give it welly coming back in the Tramore road over the final few miles. There's a fair old hill just at halfway so don't kill yourself going up that and you'll be fine. Finishing on the track is nice too.
    I have to decide what my strategy will be for the HM - do I do my own thing and run at as close to a constant pace as possible. Or do I stick with the 1:30 pacer for the first 3, 4 or 5km and then push on?

Go your own pace from the start, you're going to have to finish the race on your own anyway unless you and the other Boards folk form your own pace group? Running even splits is more efficient anyways, rather that puttin gyourself in a position where you have to negative split

The start was pure manic last year, people mounting footpaths and running up grass verges and frightening the bejaysus out of pedestrians as everyone was trying to get away from the rest of the crowd at the start.
    Is a lovely race with loads of grub and hot showers afterwards - enjoy I'm jealous not to be going

Every faith in you bagging an 83:xx ;)

Cheers for the advice Dusty.
    Food for thought.
    83:xx - I feckin wish man, I feckin wish!