Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quick Beat; Slow Feet

1262728293032»

• Registered Users Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Wed 03 Aug
    Bike 38.9km Howth Hills

Felt quite lazy on this one. I did 3 hills - via the church, the graveyard and then the church again. 26.9kph av, 62.2 mx, 89av Cad, HR ? playing up.

Thurs 04 Aug AM
    Group Swim 2500m

100omo,
    WU 100FS, 100BkSt, 100FS, 100BrSt,
    1000 w/ Fins (as 50 bigkick, 50 nokick),
    4[4x50 (as ea,md,hd,vh) 48,47,45,43PB],
    100Sprint (1:34),
    CD 100FS

A good session, 50m PB and the 100m sprint just 1 sec off my 1:33pb.

Thurs PM
    Tempo Run 12.4km(4km tempo)

5.2km in 24:00, 4:37/km, 7:26/ml, HR~160
    4.3km in 17:22, 4:02/km, 6:30/ml, HR~180
    2.9km in 14:38, 5:03/km, 8:07/ml, HR~158

Fri 05 Aug
    Bike 19.9km

I picked up the new steed on Fri evening, and eventually got the bits and pieces sorted, but forgot to put air in the tyres - I just put some in now and they were at about 80psi for this. The set up feels OK, but it will take a bit of getting used to.
    31.3kph av, 46.5mx, 99av Cad.

Sat 06 Aug PM
    Swim 25m pool 2400m

We were up in Drogheda for 2 birthday parties during the day, 1 in the morning, 1 in the evening, so I got an opportunity to visit Aura pool for the first time. A nice pool but a bit stong on the chlorine.

Did 2nd Set, 8th Session:
    WU 200,
    20x25 (as 25kick, 25FS),
    400 Pull,
    8x100 off 2:30 (as 25FS, Kick, Cup, FS, ~2:15),
    CD 200, 3 x 100 hd, md, ea.

Then went to my youngest bros 30th Birthday that night. A great night had, beers, BBQ, guitars&songs.

Sun 07 Aug AM
    LSR 22.8km

A nice run, not feeling too bad at all - only had about 5 or 6 bottles of Stella last night.
    The last 5 or 6 km were tough, but very happy with the pace for 4 beats off top of Z2.
    1:45:01, 4:36/km, 7:25/ml, HR 158/166.

Week Totals:
    Swim 4900m (2500, 2400)
    Bike 58.8km (38.9, 19.9)
    Run 44.4km (9.2, 12.4, 22.8)

Time: 2:00/2:00/3:45 = 7:45.

Fairly light on the bike and swim this week.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

That's some good swimming!
    I'd be over the moon to get 48 as my very hard set :)

That's some good swimming!
    I'd be over the moon to get 48 as my very hard set :)

Cheers c,

I think you may have misinterpreted what I meant from the way I wrote the above. The 48, 47, 45 and 43 above are the times for the vh 50m at the end of each of the 4 sets. So 48 was one of my very hard sets!:D But yea I'm happy to have hit those times.

Bjorn raced me on the 45 one, and even with giving me a good 15m or so head start he still bet me to the end of the pool by a few metres! - He's some swimmer.

Workwise, luckily I have been given a position on a new Dublin based contract, so whereas other people in the company with wife and kids have been asked to go to England and elsewhere, I have fortunately landed a contract in Dublin - sweet. The new project will see me very busy for sure, so no time for Boards reading. I will try and keep the log and try to read the other training logs that I currently do, to keep up to date in others endevaours.

And on to training and racing :):

Mon 08 Aug PM
    18km Bike / 2000m Swim / 18.8km Bike Brick

Joined the club for their Monday evening session.

Bike 18km - 28.9kph av. Was a bit miffed with this as I was pushing trying to get to the pool in time, although the headwind may have been more significant than I thought. But, I was starting to regret spending my hard earned on my new bike!

Swim 2000m as:
    WU 2 x (50FS, 50 BkSt, 25 Scull&kick, 25 sprint, 50 choice(FS)) all w/ fins,
    Then fins off for:
    400 FS (~7:20),
    20 x 50 (as 50 easy, 50 sprint) (46, 45, 48, 46, 44, - 47, 47, 47, 46, 42PB)
    4 x 25 Race start simulation
    100 CD (50BkSt, 50 BrSt)

Bike 18.8km - 34.5kph av, 47.5mx, av Cad 99. Now were talking! But it was more downhill and with the wind!

Tues 09 Aug PM
    Run - Race Series 2ml
    Total 10.4km

Feeling fairly good for this and I decided to race it - that I would have enough time to recover before the Carlingford Stnd Tri on Sat. Met the lads and had the craic during the WU. All were feeling good and ready to race. My plan was to be near 5:30 for mile 1 and hold on for dear life.
    I started ahead of foleyalan, but he soon caught up and passed me. I checked the pace with him - all good. I went through mile 1 just after alan in 5:31. On the first straight of the 2nd and last lap I passed alan and he informed me I was on for a good time, I was pushing hard and huffing and puffing, so couldn't even acknowledge his encouragement. There were 2 other lads in front 'Nathan' and 'ANOther' - Nathan usually finishes well up on me and the other lad finished behind me last week. I had them in my sights but they were about 50m ahead. On the final straight they were probably 100m ahead. I couldn't believe the increase in pace that the other lad gave on that final 250m straight - serious pace. He passed Nathan and finished in 10:56 - that's how its done. He was sufferin the pain when I crossed the line in 11:05, a new PB by some 6 secs - can't believe I took that much off in 1 week! This has left me gagging for the sub 11 before the series finishes - only 2 more 2 milers left and a 3 miler. It would be a dream!

Wed 10 Aug AM
    Swim 2000m LC

Just before I started I was joined in the lane by one of the girls from our Thurs morning group, so I had company for this one, which always makes it feel a bit easier. She's a quicker swimmer than me so I was giving her 5 secs before I took off, and therefore had no drafting effect.

2nd Set, 9th Session:
    WU 200,
    4x50 FS off 1:10 (~ 50secs each),
    4x50 Kick,
    4x50 Pull,
    4x50 Catch Up,
    4x50 off 1:00 (47, 52, 53, 50) shagged!
    4x100 off 1:55 (1:46, 48, 50, 47) even more shagged!
    CD 200, + 2 x 100 easy

Wed PM
    Bike 31.9km

On the Felt: 32.5kph av, 53.1mx, av Cad 99.
    I also did some mounting practice at the start of this. I am very happy with the new shoes on a number of levels:
    1. The arch is flat on the outside of the foot.
    2. The tongue 'opens' down the side, so its very easy to get the feet in.
    3. The strap has a little nick in it where it hold open on the 'buckle' of the shoe.
    and 4. The strap fold over to close on the inside part of the foot - which means that when in the open position the strap is pointing away from the bike, which is opposite to the way the old shoes opened and which meant that the strap when opened was pointing into the bike and hittin off the chain and crank!

Thurs Rest
    I switched the Ultremo R1s onto the tri bike and brought it for a quick 3km trial run.

Fri 12 Aug LTime
    Run 4km on tartan track!

A nice easy 4km on the tartan track beside the new contract! I spoke to the men in the club house and they were very amicable and let me use the track (any time) and place the key back into the letter box when leaving. Cool. I can see some lunchtime sessions being completed over the coming months!

10 x 400 easy, with laps 8 and 9 done as 100 easy, 100 strides. So 4 x 100m strides. HR OA 156/178. All done to loosen out the legs for the tri on Sat.

Report to follow - there's a few pints of Black in the local with my name on them!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

Jaysus, Macanri, you have a seriously impressive series of PB's going these days!