Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you miss from your childhood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

xcarriex wrote: »
    Fancy Paper...... i dunno why but you used to get that great smelling paper and swap sheets of it....

I still have some of mine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

No homework on Fridays! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

Summer holidays when I had no real concept of time. Two three months seemed more like six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

The excited expectation that every Christmas present you got from friends and relations might be absolutely mind glowingly amazing.As long as it was wrapped the possibilities of what it might be were endless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

Being handed a pound or finding one on the street and feeling like I was a millionaire :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Being able to get hyper on a couple of bags of Rainbowdrops and a can of coke*

20p for sweets after Mass on a Sunday

Conker- Picking

Being sent to the shop for a loaf of bread, and being allowed to keep the change

Bike Rides

Knight Rider, The A-Team, Grange Hill, Pat Sharpe's Fun House, Chucklevision,
    Byker Byker Byker Grove..... yeah!!! haha haha haha!!

The YAG House (our local Youth Club..... They had a trampoline we were allowed to go on, when NO-ONE had a trampoline at home)

Jesus, I'm getting misty eyed here :o

*Yes, my username is my favourite sweet as a child

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

I remember when pound coins came in. I was the first in my class to get one. I miss building forts from scrap wood, being excited to play any video game (MW2 = meh) and real snow.

Edit: The good news is there's a shop near me that still sells Frosties, wham bars etc.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Daragh86 wrote: »
    I remember playing IRA, not sure if I miss it though. It was like manhunt but everyone on one team got a letter each that made up a word and when someone from the other team caught you they'd beat you up until you gave them the letter and once they got everyone's letter and made up the word then they won.

Pssh that was "Bash the Letter" you mad yoke. "Break the chain" was sweet as well. Split up into 2 teams, all stand facing each other hold hands with the person beside you and someone from the other team runs and trys to break through, then it was our teams go etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

"Right lads, feet in...ibble obble chocolate bobble ibble obble out"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

funk-you wrote: »
    Not much about my childhood but it was much easier to get head off random girls when I was a teenager.

-Funk

We had very different teenage years my friend!
    shqipshume wrote: »
    Community spirit in Ireland :)

George Hook was just preaching about that. I call bollocks to that thou. Would this cimmunity spirited Ireland be the one that allowed priests abuse little boys or girls, or would it be the one that imprisoned unmarried mothers and shipped their kids off to Australia never to be heard of again?
    Biggins wrote: »
    The innocence that everything and everyone was good.

Yeah I was going to say innocence too. But then I realised innocence is just a delusion. But I woulnd't be nearly so hopeful as you - I'd be happy to think that anyone was good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    Pssh that was "Bash the Letter" you mad yoke. "Break the chain" was sweet as well. Split up into 2 teams, all stand facing each other hold hands with the person beside you and someone from the other team runs and trys to break through, then it was our teams go etc.

Your names are crazy, it was IRA and Red Rover is where you broke the chain "Red rover, Red rover, we call Reganio over". Your names are so simplistic, obviously us kids in Tallaght were way more imaginative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

My best childhood friend was knocked down and killed, I'd like to think if he was still alive we'd still be buddy's and I think of him often.

David Reynolds R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Elba101 wrote: »
    For me it was shows like Supermarket sweep. What a show. Or the Crystal maze, who didn't want to be in that glass cage collecting those golden tickets?

And games like Roy rover and kick the can....

What do you miss from your childhood?
    And don't say your innocence!

Crystal maze and Dale's supermarket sweep are still shown on Challenge tv
    Whats that baldy fellas name from the crystal maze, he was good on the aul harmonica

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Boosh

Crystal maze and Dale's supermarket sweep are still shown on Challenge tv
    Whats that baldy fellas name from the crystal maze, he was good on the aul harmonica

Richard O'Brien, wrote the Rocky Horror Show
    / useless trivia

In no particular order, Thundercats, Mask, Starcom, He-Man, Mysterious Cities of Gold, Transformers, squashed ham and cheese sandwiches in the school bag, la gear runners, being skinny, playing football on the street all day, Art Attack, Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

Being a little ****e when I went shopping with my mam!

Running across the road when you were'nt supposed to too..oh the thrill of it!

When 2l Coca Cola and 7up bottles had a flat base rather than the current shamozzle.

Also: "No Deposit, No Return" on Bulmers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

The thrill of slapping a new cartridge into yer Super Nintendo. (pretending to people that you were allowed Mortal Kombat II when really you're brother just snuck it into the house.)

Mocking those who had a Mega Drive.

Playing Tip the Can, we used to branch out on huge areas.

Playing the roughest games of Bulldog without anyone getting sued.

One on one fights

Being friends with a girl and not thinking what it would be like to shag her. :p

Wall fights, 2 people on a wall fighting Gladiator-style until someone falls off.

Having the dinner watching Gladiators before yer ma and sisters came in to watch Blind Date (Or Suprise, Suprise! *shudders*)

10p Sparkler Ice-lollies,

Arcade machines were only 10p, 50p for the new and giant game machines.

50p for a can of coke and 70p for a bottle.

Desperate Dan / Roy Of The Rovers chewy bars.

Taking random trips through some fields and getting lost, felt like an adventure.

The dread of knowing the weekend was over and school started tomorrow when "Where In The World" and then "Glenroe" came on.

When December 8th actually meant something towards Xmas and the joy you got from meeting Santa at the local shop after he gave you a shìte present.

Xmas day, obviously.

That first day of your summer holidays from school.

Packets of crisps were far more tasty before they changed the cooking methods and ingredients.

My innocence. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

My best childhood friend was knocked down and killed, I'd like to think if he was still alive we'd still be buddy's and I think of him often.

David Reynolds R.I.P.

Eh, sorry for your loss and everything but Jesus that just killed the mood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Mackleton

Absolutely and without a doubt, still believing in SANTA

Christmas more or less died the year I was bloody dumb enough to announce I knew santy wasn't real :rolleyes::(

Nothing like the crazy excitement of running down the hall to the Christmas tree at about 4 am to see what Santa brought. God I miss that.

Also, not even KNOWING what money worries were, when having a tenner made you a millionaire, the possibilities and the number of penny sweets you could buy were infinite.

Ah them were the days :P Life was just simpler full stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Eh, sorry for your loss and everything but Jesus that just killed the mood.

And you've just buried it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

I miss not being able to cycle no hands, no legs downhill, wind in my hair, screaming my head off and playing chicken with my brother at the bottom of the hill:(

He who brakes last goes head first over the bonnet of an oncoming carwins:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

NothingMan wrote: »
    BrummyTom is the only innocent thing left on AH, don't go shattering his illusions!

BWAHAHAHAHHAAAAA

...INNOCENT?!

/picks up Halo

I mean yes... yes I am.
    Amen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

Top Trumps.

Specifically the Super Hero / Super Villains. Villains were the best of course. But if you didn't get Galactus you were pretty much screwed.

Galactus:
    Height: 28'9" (That's just silly)
    Weight: 18.2 tons (He's made of steel)
    Strength: 95 (Again, steel)
    Super Powers: 100 (Destroyer of planets)
    Weapons: 90 (Lots of pockets)

But Hobgoblin could trump him with height and weight (both unknown).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭CliffHuxtabel

foxyboxer wrote: »
    Playing "World Cup"

Group of lads with a designated keeper.
    If you score, you go to the next round.
    Last man in each round not to score is knocked out (not literally:pac:)

The first round was always great. A big massive free for all. Arms and legs flying everywhwere.
    The weaker players would always grab a poxy goal but in the end the best player would win.

Happy days.

we called it "knockout"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Fizzlesticks.

I miss those lovely sticks of candy. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭CliffHuxtabel

woppa bars

the irish pound (that could buy 20 woppa bars)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Storms, Santey, The Fresh Prince of Bel Air (I still watch it if it's on Virgin), Home Improvement, a few of my childhood friends/neighbours who have since moved away or we've drifted apart, a couple of friends, playing games outside until 2 in the morning, climbing trees, waking up at 7 in the morning and going out to play with my friends, staying over at friends (still do it now, but it can only be male friends (obviously, hohoho, and not in a gay way either) and all we end up doing nowadays is watching a DVD/playing Playstation until 2/3 in the morning and sleeping in late).

Ah...adolescence is overrated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Wow, i read this and the first thing that came to mind was "Eenie-meenie-acka-racka-or-ay-dominacka-chicka-poppa-lollipoppa-ump-dump-scoot"

Cant believe I remember that and can recite it perfectly aloud. Housemates must think im dreaming of my childhood here, or just mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Stee wrote: »
    Heads and Volleys.. NOT IN!!!!
    A Stable diet of 8p Mr. freezes.

My friend ate 273 in one summer. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭gypsygirl

My mam always having hot soup and warm buttered bread waiting for us when we came in from school in winter and long walks and icepops every sunday in summer, the smell of fresh mowed grass still reminds me of my childhood, ah happy happy days. My folks, mam soft(ish) dad tough, were the best. I grew up in a family of 14 including Mam n Dad, shortage of money, no shortage of friends, wouldn't swap the memories for the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

Sexual molistation by trusted religious officials

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭dustyrip

Mass and getting a special lollypop off my local priest when I was good.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,596 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I miss real videogame arcades. When All you needed was a 10p coin, some skill and you could go all day.

If I had of known they'd all vanish I would have appreciated them a lot more while they were here. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

Watching the Late Late with all my family. And passing out half way through it. :D

My Dad carrying me up to bed.

Naturally waking up early on a Saturday morning and watching Duck Tales etc. Later on watching Baywatch followed by Gladiators.

Messing with my siblings at Mass and my Mam giving us the evil eye.

Watching the Big Breakfast before school.

Having a proper dinner 7 days a week.

Having no real worries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭dustyrip

I used to watch the yes/no game show on the Den, that was great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,575 ✭✭✭✭PFJSplitter

The simplicity of life.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Whoppa bars and Johnson & Friends.

Watching Sally Jessy Raphael when I came home from school and thinking "woah, my life is normal".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Duggy747 wrote: »
    slapping a new cartridge into yer Super Nintendo. Mocking those who had a Mega Drive.

Same as above Duggy, but in my case swap Super Nintendo for 'Commodore 64' and Sega Megadrive for ZX Spectrum :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I miss the regular sound of loud Diesel GM & Metrovic locos that I use to hear at the back of my parents house before the Dart was introduced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

The excitement when a good film was being shown on Saturday night.
    Like T2, Die Hard or Raiders.
    You'd look forward to it all week, and it would be an event when it finally came around. Popcorn, Coke.
    It's just too convenient nowadays with so many channels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

The adventure of sleeping in a tent in the back garden for no apparent reason.

Going out on my bike and cycling around aimlessly, exploring places.

My rose-tinted glasses (oh wait, here they are). :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Is that a quote from a Beamish Ad or something??...

Harp.
    I certainly don't miss that drink from my childhood!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Messing with my siblings at Mass and my Mam giving us the evil eye.
    Being in mass and doing your absolute utmost not to laugh for about 20 minutes, coughing, spluttering and having everyone look at you. Then you went outside and it wasn't funny anymore.

Ah, them days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Used to try and pocket the money my Mum would give me to put into the church collection. You would sit as far away as possible (on the other side of your sisters) and hope she was looking at something else when the collection bag/basket went by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

w&nkin to my hearts content

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 sabatier

Watching Glenroe on a Sunday night before the news, then bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Not having to have self-discipline.

Tip the can. People tend to get alarmed if they see anybody older than 14 in their garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

No hatching!!

Haven't heard that in about 15 yrs.

I used to hate hatchers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

foxyboxer wrote: »
    Playing "World Cup"

Group of lads with a designated keeper.
    If you score, you go to the next round.
    Last man in each round not to score is knocked out (not literally:pac:)

The first round was always great. A big massive free for all. Arms and legs flying everywhwere.
    The weaker players would always grab a poxy goal but in the end the best player would win.

Happy days.

World cup.
    Brings back memories LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Stee wrote: »
    "Eenie-meenie-acka-racka-or-ay-dominacka-chicka-poppa-lollipoppa-ump-dump-scoot"

Icky-Ocky-Horse's-Cocky-Icky-Ocky-Out! :pac:

seamus wrote: »
    Being in mass and doing your absolute utmost not to laugh for about 20 minutes, coughing, spluttering and having everyone look at you. Then you went outside and it wasn't funny anymore.

Ah, them days.

Two friends of mine and I still talk about 'Fart-Gate'.

We were at mass years ago and during that quiet bit after communion; an 'aul wan let rip really loudly.

We started skittin' and soon had the pew shaking, sneaked a look behind and about six pews were all suffocating with laughter, red faces, streaming eyes, all because of Granny Fart-pants.

I'm even laughing typing this :)