Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EAR TO THE GROUND

• 27-11-2009 12:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭

How many watched ear to the ground tonight
    Cant believe they had so little knowledge of the breeds
    The Angus was an Angus Cross most likely Limousin
    The Charolais was a Limousin/Angus Charolais X see the colour and the black snout and the sleeky hair(if there is such a word)!
    The Hereford was a Hereford x Simmental, when did you last see a hereford without a belly and a pointed end all gone into butty cattle

Anyone agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Milton09

I agree. I only caught the last few mins of the report but I definatley thought the Hereford was a Simmental when I saw her first.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,714 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

yeah I agree with you massey woman, the 'hereford' even had simmental shades on, I reckon the AA x Lim will be the winner though.

A hereford from aibp in nenagh won the best beef in the world a few weeks back in Germany. I think it was in the cork examiner, no mention of the farmer who reared it though.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Anyone agree

I didn't see it and wouldn't be too good on cattle breeds myself. But, let me tell ye all something about RTE, believe nothing ye see on that channel. I do a lot of shooting, and Prime Time done a bit on it last year I think it was. It was the most ill informed bit of drivel I've ever viewed. Something reported on TV isn't always that far removed from the local eejit rabbiting on down the pub ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Casinoking

Reminds me of a piece I saw by accident a couple of months ago on the afternoon show or whatever it's called. There was a chef on waxing lyrical about certified Irish Angus Beef, how it was the best quality meat on the market and supported local farmers and all the usual stuff. He was painting himself to be a real expert on all things agricultural, then one of the women presenters hit him with a question he wasn't expecting. "And what colour are Angus cows?" she asked innocently, a fair inquiry you might say, and surely no problem to our hero. "They're, eh, well, some of them are black and, eh, some of them are black and white, and eh, some of them are brown" came the response. "So they're all different colours" says she, oblivious to the nonsense she had just been assaulted with. "Exactly, all different colours......." says Mr. Expert, happy in the knowledge that nobody had twigged he was waffling to beat the band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭faigs

I don't think it was claimed that it was certified Angus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭massey woman

To real farmers Angus is Angus and not Limousin
    Simmental is Simmental and not Hereford
    Was there a disproportionate D4 influence yet again

faigs wrote: »
    I don't think it was claimed that it was certified Angus.

Whether it was certified or not, I've never seen a brown Angus.......

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭Horace

Red Angus
    From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

A Red Angus heifer
    Mixed herd of black and red Angus cattleRed Angus is a red coloured breed of beef cattle selected from the population of Aberdeen Angus cattle

[edit] Origin
    Although the black was more fashionable the recessive red gene still produced some red animals[1]. From the founding of the Aberdeen Angus herd book in 1862 red and black animals have been registered without distinction, and this is the case in most of the world. The American Aberdeen Angus Herdbook stopped registering red calves from 1917, leading to reds becoming very uncommon in the American population. Since 1945 some cattlemen[who?] have selected out the few red calves, believing them to have advantages of heat tolerance and the ability to cross with other red breeds without introducing the dominant black color. In 1954 the Red Angus Association of America was founded, based in Sheridan, Wyoming. Registration was conditional on meeting performance targets to create a superior breed. This breed is now popular in countries like Australia, and is famous for its beef.

[edit] Characteristics
    Red Angus have all of the characteristics of Black Angus. The cows are hardy, and all grow quickly. They produce marbled meat like that of the Black Angus, and their meat is also highly desired in butchers, supermarkets, restaurants, and in the home.

Brown I said, not red. I do know the difference thanks very much, have you checked it out on Wikipedia yourself? Besides, the red Angus are so rare here I'm pretty confident your average TV presenter has never heard of them, considering they don't know what colour the traditional Angus is, which was the point of my original post. Now maybe I'm wrong, and the guy knew what he was talking about all along. Maybe he's simply colour-blind, and too proud to admit to his condition on live TV. In which case I would humbly apologise to all those involved, but I won't bother drafting my grovelling u-turn until the case is proven with definitive evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

I was talking to a Cork farmer a while ago, he was breeding Angus cross's and was allowed to certify it as Angus beef. Maybe that was throwing the presenter regarding the colour of the animals. Now, I'm no farmer, I'm a city boy, but I wouldn't go slagging off the D4 influence, or any city influence. Some people from the cities, like myself, are fussy about the meat they eat and will only buy good Irish produce. I know where all my meat, game and veg comes from, I eat seasonally and try and avoid the crushing supermarkets. So don't write us all off, we can be quiet supportive.

Edit (loving the pictures of your stock in the thread below, healthy looking bunch)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

1/2 bred commercial can be certified Angus.
    I've read that in more than one place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭wiggy123

yep..from what i gather!
    u sign up to the angus group==so much for membership a year!
    get a preimun for said animal, went killed out! unsure what its at this weather--use to be from my knowledge an extra 10-12c a lb no?am i way of the mark there.....

so once the calf is out of a PB angus bull, its acceptable for this scheme..may its mother be a dairy cow or suckler cow!

wiggy123 wrote: »
    use to be from my knowledge an extra 10-12c a lb no

While the consumer pays an extra few Euro!!! Who is making all the money?

meat factories make the money--then supermarkets,then the feed merchants, then the farmer,if lucky!

I presume it's all wrapped up? Farmers can't sell direct without huge investment, licensing, red tape, bureaucracy, vets, overseers, paperwork, stealth and safety, jobs for the boys, etc....

thats it--always has been like that+future will b same--mayb even worst!

why so many are killing there own cattle/sheep/pigs, etc..
    is far cheaper + better for ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭faigs

To real farmers Angus is Angus and not Limousin
    Simmental is Simmental and not Hereford
    Was there a disproportionate D4 influence yet again

I thought the Angus was black on the show? And why would it be a D4 incfluence, none of the shows researchers are from Dublin, Darragh the presenter is from Meath and is a farmer, and its not even produced in D4.

The Hereford did look like Simmental though. I think the story was for fun and to be taken with a pinch of salt!