Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever realised you know someone from Boards IRL?

• 27-11-2009 10:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭

Recently I read a post from someone that made me realise I know them in real life. I don't know them that well but I've always got the impression that they're very quiet and slightly withdrawn but from reading their posts on boards, this person is actually extremely funny and very popular. I wouldn't let them know that I know who they are though!

Another boardsie got in touch with me because they saw my pic on the KYN thread and realised they knew me. I've also recognised a couple of people from that thread, including some guy I kissed a couple of years ago!

This is why I sometimes worry about giving away too much on here in case people DO know me. I imagine it happens to a lot of people though, Ireland is feckin tiny!

(BTW it doesn't count if you met the person through boards!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Recently I read a post from someone that made me realise I know them in real life. I don't know them that well but I've always got the impression that they're very quiet and slightly withdrawn but from reading their posts on boards, this person is actually extremely funny and very popular. I wouldn't let them know that I know who they are though!

oh you. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Recently I read a post from someone that made me realise I know them in real life.

I thought you just went downstairs to make me breakfast! Hurry up, you know I hate watching Jeremy Kyle when I'm hungry :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

No but people have read some of my posts and known it was me.

I guess I rant the same ways in real life.

I know who Quazzie is.. :cool: But I havn't met him IRL for a couple of years.

I've never read a post though where it clicked that I knew the person..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Nope. Though I've seen kickoutthejams wandering around Mullingar once in the middle of the night. And I met one of my better friends through boards. But I've never recognized anyone I knew previously.. must not be that many Mullingar folk on boards.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I know lots and lots of them in real life. Real life mates got me into boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Was 'recognized' once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,054 ✭✭✭✭Basq

I have an odd little fascination where everytime I hand over my credit card / Laser card, I'm wondering if I'm handing it to someone who might recognise my surname from Boards.

Not likely they're even comment in they did though.

.. my username is my surname btw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

A cousin of mine was a mod and it took me about 6 months to realise who it was.

basquille wrote: »
    .. my username is my surname btw!

Is your first name Rasquille as in Rasquille Basquille?

If not I don't know you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I think anybody who knows me would instantly cop on.

I haven't recognised anybody though. Even if I bothered my arse to find out what people look like, I wouldn't be able to distinguish them from the everyday NPCs people I see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

OutlawPete wrote: »
    I thought you just went downstairs to make me breakfast! Hurry up, you know I hate watching Jeremy Kyle when I'm hungry :mad:

What is it with you and the Jeremy Kyle. U've got a problem with that mate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Nope,

And I don't think anyone here would recognise me either.

<_<

>_>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

stovelid wrote: »
    Was 'recognized' once.

It's scary, isn't it?

The stares and the whispering. Then you get paranoid. It's only later on you do your little "internet fame" victory dance!

:pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

i've been recognised a couple of times from kyn type threads, but i don't feel famous or get excited or anything...... :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

no one ever recognises me, and if they do they are either

a) too scared to say something.
    b) don't want to be seen talking to me
    c) don't want to catch anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I have an odd little fascination where everytime I hand over my credit card / Laser card, I'm wondering if I'm handing it to someone who might recognise my surname from Boards.
    I'm pretty sure I was in primary school with you or a member of your family. It's not a common name :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

no one ever recognises me, and if they do they are either

a) too scared to say something.

Agent Smith! :P

He text me telling me he could see you, so I text you informing you ... I could have set up a beautiful friendship right there, except he fleed the joint, in fear ...

seamus wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure I was in primary school with you or a member of your family. It's not a common name :D
    Probably a cousin alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,311 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Wazdakka wrote: »
    Nope,

And I don't think anyone here would recognise me either.

<_<

>_>
    Were you wearing jeans and a blue tshirt there a few days back, at work?

i miss civilisation (dublin)... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It's scary, isn't it?
    The stares and the whispering. Then you get paranoid. It's only later on you do your little "internet fame" victory dance!

It was somebody I know in real life (and had read/liked their posts but never guessed) saw a post and put two-and-two together.

I'm sure there are dozens of people who would recognize you under the right circumstances but they need to chance upon the right post.

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭pearliefan

Just before I started college I had been on a thread about the course I was to do and there was a poster who answered a few of my questions.
    Then, about a month into college I went onto the thread again and read the posters most recent post and realised it was the guy I had befriended! As in we'd been hanging out all the time since the course started! and he sounded just like his posts! That was a funny revelation!
    Obviously, I would have met the poster eventually seeing as he that thread :P But it's just odd that we ended up getting on so well!

Yep
    Helimachoptor freaked me out one day by claiming he knew me - but I didn't know who he was. All was forgiven when he revealed himself :pac:

We may or may not have kissed about 12 years ago - swit swoo! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

Adam wrote: »
    i've been recognised a couple of times from kyn type threads, but i don't feel famous or get excited or anything...... :/

From reading this and one other post of yours, I recognise you.

*creepy stalker music* :)

jokettle wrote: »
    From reading this and one other post of yours, I recognise you.

*creepy stalker music* :)
    oh hey you! the name didn't help at all, no? :P

.......shut up.

jokettle wrote: »
    .......shut up.
    i'm going to stalk all your posts now. brb. good luck with mine!

I *just* joined, so prepare to get very very bored :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I'm beginning to suspect that there's somebody out there compiling as much information about every user so they can determine who they are. There's a sickening amount of potential in that. And worst of all it could be any one of us*.

I would suggest not bothering to tell outrageous lies about yourself. The algorithm can detect them and they in fact give more clues as to your real life person.

*it could be you, it could be me, it could even be..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

If anyone ever recognised me in the real world, I'd likely get a puck in the eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

May have mentioned this before but you learn more about people on Boards than you do on bebo or facebook!! It's scary!

I had a Mod give me slap on the wrist and delete some of my comments and turns out he is in me class in college :D:D

Plus another Boards dude got me onton this site in the first place.
    Another boards member commented on my antics on a night out which freaked me out a bit until I realised I knew him :D

*trots off to delete bebo and facebook accounts!*

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭Meemars

Sleipnir wrote: »
    If anyone ever recognised me in the real world, I'd likely get a puck in the eye.

HA! So it's you! I knew it! grrrrrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Yeah, someone recognized me in a pic I posted of myself in a school play

It's weird when it happens, I went quiet for a few days after that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Met three of my friends on here, when we were going a bit mad and looking for mock papers so we could cheat our way through the mocks... That was a while ago though.

Don't think anyone would recognize me - I don't post enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I have a very peculiar look so do get recognised from time to time.
    I'm extremely handsome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

The only reason I joined boards and chose That_Guy as a username, is so that someone IRL would come up to me and say "OMG, you're That_Guy on boards right?"

Hasn't happened yet. When it does I'll never post here again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

lizt wrote: »
    Met three of my friends on here, when we were going a bit mad and looking for mock papers so we could cheat our way through the mocks... That was a while ago though.

Don't think anyone would recognize me - I don't post enough.

Well you're from Offaly so that narrows it down....... Brian?

You cheating son of a bitch. :)

the_syco wrote: »
    Were you wearing jeans and a blue tshirt there a few days back, at work?

Nope

this is exciting. i think i'll get a boardsie tshirt, must be at least 72.3% of the country on here by now.

Can't find the link right now..
    But there was an online shop set up where you could buy them floating around somewhere a while ago..

EDIT: I think it was here
    Looks like it's gone now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

That_Guy wrote: »
    Well you're from Offaly so that narrows it down....... Brian?

You cheating son of a bitch. :)

Nope... but I do know him!

Imagine if he was on boards...lol

Probably a cousin alright.

You have a relative who spent time in Korea though, don't you? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

No, and that's the way I like it

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    You have a relative who spent time in Korea though, don't you? :cool:
    No clue..

You'd be suprised at how common the surname is though - especially around Mayo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Banter Joe

Realised I knew a few people. Some of them posted stuff very differently to my impression of them IRL, while others seemed exactly the same.

Kind of makes you think a lot of people are holding back what they really think most of the time IRL. Probably a good thing, otherwise it could turn into a bit of a Liar Liar situation!

No clue..

You'd be suprised at how common the surname is though - especially around Mayo.

Damn I took a punt on that one and was hoping I'd freak you out.

I failed.

Guess I should just go back to my old way of freaking people out.

Hey Basquille - wanna check out this cool trick I can do with my balls? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

No one knows me from boards IRL, but then, no one knows me fullstop.
    I'm so tewibly tewibly lonely!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Damn I took a punt on that one and was hoping I'd freak you out.

I failed.

Guess I should just go back to my old way of freaking people out.

Hey Basquille - wanna check out this cool trick I can do with my balls? :)

That's not a trick it's a malignant growth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭LD 50

That's not a trick it's a malignant growth.
    You should really see someone about that. there's probably an ointment you can get to rub onto your balls.