Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Openstreetmap/Openlayers??

Options
  • 27-11-2009 1:47pm
    Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭

Hi guys. I hope I can articulate this question intelligently enough to get the answer I am looking for, so here goes.

Basically I am a noob to GIS, but am undertaking a project to add data to the OpenStreetMap project. I basically want to pick a route and instead of keeping the basic detail of just the location of a street I want to add information about what is on that street, for example shops, entertainment etc.

I am lost to understand how exactly to go about doing this though. I don't really understand what technology I need to use. Like obviously I know I will need a database to hold the information I gather about places. I will need a GPS to actually collect data, and as fart as I know I will need a web server also. But I am not really sure exactly why.

I am also not sure how to go about even connecting to the OpenStreetMap map. People keep telling me about OpenLayers also, but I don't really understand OpenLayers. Am I correct in understanding it to be some sort of tool for working with map data?

Any helpful responses would be very much appreciated.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 354 ✭✭AndrewMc

It sounds like you've heard too much!