Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gaming Pc

Options

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

ussjtrunks wrote: »
    I have no knowledge of building a pc

We all had no knowledge at some point. It's fairly easy and can save you lots when it comes to high end builds. I'd do a bit of research on it if i were you before ruling it out entirely. This series of video's on youtube isn't a bad place to start.
    what would ye recommend, I was looking at this http://ireland.dell.com/ie/en/home/Desktops/alienware-aurora/pd.aspx?refid=alienware-aurora&s=dhs&cs=iedhs1 but I have no idea how good the grapics card / processer are.

Dell are great for cheap and cheerful, but their high end stuff is very over priced. That graphics card isn't weak, but it isn't particularly strong either. I see overclockers.co.uk will spec a similar machine for about €1100 (and they are known for being dear enough themselves).

• Registered Users Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Farcear

I'm looking around at the mo for a gaming pc
    I have no knowledge of building a pc so Id rather have one bought from like dell etc, I have a budget of €1500 and I'd like the pc to have hdmi and be easily upgradeable with a new grapics card maybe in a years time

If you go the build-it-yourself route, for €1,500 you can get yourself an awesome machine including a 22/24" HD monitor.

As the previous poster said, the problem with Dell is that they are not great for high-end machines. They add about a €300 price premium above what you would pay if you just built it yourself.