Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Pompey vs United Match Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

eh, how was that ever a penalty :confused:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

What a funny game. Two penos and its level!

JUSTICE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

goal 1-1

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

thoroughly undeserved mk 2.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Yay, Woop. Justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

seriosuly can anyone shed light on wtf that peno was for?! cooly taken though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

It'll just finish 5-1 now instead of 5-0 is all. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

rarnes1 wrote: »
    JUSTICE

Are we watching the same game here?

If so, could you let us know why it was a penno for Pompey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

i have no idea what that penalty was for?

ntlbell wrote: »
    wtf?

so there was contact, just not enough?

the ref must have forgot his contact barometer :rolleyes:

It's a contact sport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The Today FM commentary team canny make head or tail of that.

scholes giving a lot of lip to the ref he could be in for a card or two today

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Maybe it'll liven the game up!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭manutd

What was the peno for, I taught it was a free-out to United

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,326 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

The first was a penalty, you can't think otherwise,

the 2nd one, i'm not sure the ref even knew what it was given for.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Trizo

no one can tell why that was a peno the comentators , the ref , the players even the pompy supporters cant tell only the linesman gave it complete phantom foul...

scholes giving a lot of lip to the ref he could be in for a card or two today

English players can say whatever they want really :/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭CR 7

JUSTICE

Another stunning contribution to this thread. Is it possible to subscribe to a poster?

Linesman saw something and said it was a peno, wonder what he saw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭kenon

I think it was given against Vidic for shirt pullin'.

5/6 a side football

Coolmine Sports Centre - Wednesdays - 8pm

PM me for a game

Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Vidic holding the shirt was the only sign of a foul in there, def not a penalty!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

Another reason why we need more officials behind the goal!

That should have been another peno.

looks like vidic was holding picquone jersey when they tried to jump

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

please dont score!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

It's a contact sport

You know stuff.

post of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Carrick is so feckin' useless, nearly cost United there losing the ball.

p_larkin99 wrote: »
    Are we watching the same game here?

If so, could you let us know why it was a penno for Pompey?

Evra tugging a guy's shirt ?? Strange one though.

From the latest angle there was a lot of shirt tugging from Vidic, but the Pompey player had a hold of his arm too, strange that the Pompey player didn't really look for it.

Actually I reckon the pompey one was a pen lads, thought it was a bad call at first but you can't have such a hold of a jersey.

Vidic pulling has been given as the official reason, Fergie will give his thoughts later...

From the latest angle there was a lot of shirt tugging from Vidic, but the Pompey player had a hold of his arm too, strange that the Pompey player didn't really look for it.

Well tbh that's a good thing we do want to see fouls given without players acting and going to ground, he was fouled but still made the effort, fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

e had a hold of Vidic's arm to try pull him off his ****. Fair game imo. Players should be able to defend without havign to hang out of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

mike65 wrote: »
    Vidic pulling has been given as the official reason, Fergie will give his thoughts later...
    You know what he's going to say about it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

mike65 wrote: »

and the fa will give him another suspension shortly after :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭titan18

If penalties are going to be given for shirt pulling from a free kick/corner,there'd be a ridiculous amount of penalties in each game.Defenders do it and forwards do it.It was a terrible decision

mayordenis wrote: »
    Well tbh that's a good thing we do want to see fouls given without players acting and going to ground, he was fouled but still made the effort, fair play to him.

I agree, and fair play to him for making the effort to score and not make the most of the tugging. It boils down to consistency though, you give that you have to give them all for that offence, and there are hundreds of such challeneges across england every saturday that don't result in a penalty.
    Stekelly wrote: »
    e had a hold of Vidic's arm to try pull him off his ****. Fair game imo. Players should be able to defend without havign to hang out of people.

Yeah he was trying to release himself from Vidic you are right.

titan18 wrote: »
    If penalties are going to be given for shirt pulling from a free kick/corner,there'd be a ridiculous amount of penalties in each game.Defenders do it and forwards do it.It was a terrible decision
    What? He was pulling his shirt. You can't do that, its a good decision.

haha, brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

Mike dean though the man united penalty was the wrong call after he called it so he started handing portsmouth freekicks for nothing, and a penalty, what a twat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    You know what he's going to say about it! :D

Yes he'll deny that it was a penalty, just like most managers would if it happened against their team.:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Jesus, this is the worst ive seen United play in a long time. They are very poor today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Vidic is really struggling today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭ghouldaddy07

Anderson and Berbatov for the second half please.

peep peep! HT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭titan18

CHD wrote: »
    What? He was pulling his shirt. You can't do that, its a good decision.

Good luck then if it starts being given all the time.Terry does it more than anyone.

Football is a contact sport ffs,it's going to be like basketball soon if that is going to be given every week.

I can see Park & Berba coming on actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

mayordenis wrote: »
    Actually I reckon the pompey one was a pen lads, thought it was a bad call at first but you can't have such a hold of a jersey.

that's a fair point, if the ref gives a peno for every single time there's a tug in the box

this almost never happens

especially at corners/free kicks

games would end 10-10 with 18 peno's