Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Pompey vs United Match Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Second to Keane's at Croke Park, that's the worst peno decision i've seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

to have such a firm & strong hold of the lads jersey was a gamble by Vidic, its different than the usual bustling slight tugs, he nearly tore the jersey off him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,466 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Terrible performance from United. Terrible performance from the Ref.

Both given penalties were soft.

Then the CLEAR handball by the Pompey player isn't given as a penalty - shocking how that was not given.

United don't deserve to be level though. done nothing in the game. Terrible performance so far, they should all be ashamed of themselves. Second best to everything and no creativity up front.

Bitterly disappointing. Can't afford to not to win this game.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Trizo

Not one Pompey player appealed for a spot-kick , joke of a decision. great reffing once again ....

Mr Alan wrote: »
    to have such a firm & strong hold of the lads jersey was a gamble by Vidic, its different than the usual bustling slight tugs, he nearly tore the jersey off him.

And the Pompey player had a clear hold of vidic's arm pulling him downward. They were both fouling each other.

RasTa wrote: »
    Second to Keane's at Croke Park, that's the worst peno decision i've seen.

I think you should watch the replay. It's on now.

so who fouled first?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,348 ✭✭✭Quandary

whatever about our crappy defense today, Giggs and even moreso Carrick have been V poor in midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

I think the pompey player was trying to get free trying to get his hand off him shame tho your keeper had the clearence no prob

ntlbell wrote: »
    wtf?

so there was contact, just not enough?

the ref must have forgot his contact barometer :rolleyes:

I think the pompey player was trying to get free trying to get his hand off him shame tho your keeper had the clearence no prob

I doubt that - he wasn't moving his arm in a manner to remove Vidic's hand, he'd have pushed away if that was the case. He was holding on to him.

Funny how the CLEAR penalty that United should have had merits little discussion. Ref bottled it, and is another case of the refs screwing United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

now you go...

and is another case of the refs screwing United.

smallestviolinwz4.jpg

good one!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 647 ✭✭✭simonw

I thought it was a very sketchy decision but after watching the replay, fair enough. And if they were given every week, players would stop doing it surely? It's a foul. Fair play to the ref for giving it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Blackhorse Slim

Ferguson's abuse of referees has gone too far, they are starting to give legitimate decisions against United. If he has another rant after this game (which he will) it will only work against him, both with the FA and the refs.

Even if they turn this one around, can't see them keeping up with Chelsea this season.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

This is hilarious, Vidic was pulling his jersey off. It was harsh but still a penalty.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,326 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

I doubt that - he wasn't moving his arm in a manner to remove Vidic's hand, he'd have pushed away if that was the case. He was holding on to him.

Funny how the CLEAR penalty that United should have had merits little discussion. Ref bottled it, and is another case of the refs screwing United.

I Think he was trying to free himself too,

but on your other point i agree he bottled it, and i think it's purely a case of him having given 2 penalties already that he didn't give the most obvious. Which is obviously stupid.

smallestviolinwz4.jpg

good one!:rolleyes:

Like Carragher only getting a yellow. the entirity of the Cheslea game. The penalty today. The refs are screwing United since the fitness comments. It is plain as day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

Berbagoal please.

Like Carragher only getting a yellow. the entirity of the Cheslea game. The penalty today. The refs are screwing United since the fitness comments. It is plain as day.
    Yeah... thats it, all the refs are plotting to screw over United.

What a silly thing to say

lol, yeah it's a witch hunt. as the setanta host just said "What goes around comes around " Pat Dolan also chipped in and reckons the ref and linesmen will be drinking champagne to celebrate the correct decisions!

Thats embarassing :D

Rooney's dive against Arsenal?

Brilliant goal.

Get in Rooney :D:D

2-1 justice

Well done Rooney, made up for the one seconds before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

thats more like it

lovely passing

Offside?

Trizo wrote: »
    2-1 justice

What? Pompey have just outclassed united for 45 minutes, and peno aside should have been at least 2-1 up.

Melion wrote: »
    Offside?

Linesman didnt seem to think so :)

Melion wrote: »
    Offside?
    No

simonw wrote: »
    What? Pompey have just outclassed united for 45 minutes, and peno aside should have been at least 2-1 up.
    Should would coulda.

That's what happens when you don't take your chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

45 minutes?

incorrect, anyway games are 90 minutes not 45

No

Ok, i wasnt sure.

Should would coulda.

That's what happens when you don't take your chances.

Yeah but calling this scoreline "justice" is a bit far fetched surely?

ntlbell wrote: »
    45 minutes?

incorrect, anyway games are 90 minutes not 45

44 minutes then.

lol, one free kick decision in the chelsea game & allowing evans to stay on the pitch made up for that one. the carragher one was a yellow card, not a red card offense, could have been a red, but the correct decision was the yellow.

you sound silly talking about refs conspiring AGAINST Utd.

LOL!!!!

never a peno :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Good god.

Where's Boggles? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭CR 7

JUSTICE!!! Rooney hat trick please.

Boggles wrote: »
    Rooney Hatrick, you heard here first. ;)

hope you had money on that lad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

Boggles wrote: »
    Rooney Hatrick, you heard here first. ;)

Props Boggles!!! :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

how stupid was that, needless peno! should have put his foot through the ball and cleared it...very very well taken peno!

"i saw my mate the other day....

what nothing the performace has nothing to do with it im refering to the pompy peno. pompy were better in the first half no argument

Boggles is off collecting his winnings

"i saw my mate the other day....

he was wearing a blue jumper...