Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Pompey vs United Match Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Good guess Boggles. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Ah boy the Boggles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Boggles wrote: »
    Rooney Hatrick, you heard here first. ;)

whats the betting you didnt put money on it again ;)

im listening to today fm and it seems valenica is have a very good game. Is that true ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Headshot wrote: »

im listening to today fm and it seems valenica is have a very good game. Is that true ?

yes he is, i have to say i have been very impressed with him today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Melion wrote: »
    44 minutes then.

and didnt take their chances

united did

and "that's why we're champions, that's why we're champions, THATS why we're champions"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Yeah, he's made some really nice runs.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,348 ✭✭✭Quandary

Yes and no :) - he's being very direct, bags of energy, is bursting past players but missed a very good opportunity and has no left foot it seems.

lol @ Neville, can anyone lip read? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

ntlbell wrote: »

united did

and "that's why we're champions, that's why we're champions, THATS why we're champions"

Why? Cause you are beating a struggling Pompey who are bottom of the league?

Johner wrote: »
    Why? Cause you are beating a stuggling Pompey who are bottom of the league?

See thats the thing, you have to beat the poorer teams too to win the league...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

Would love Ryan to have scored there - his 100th PL goal. 36 tomorrow.

sorry, i thought they were some super club on top of the league the way people were going on.

so your saying it's just some team bottom of the table who had a new manager played with an extra bit of ump in the first half, and now the reality of only playing well for 45 minutes is not enough?

make up your bloody mind.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

sorry, i thought they were some super club on top of the league the way people were going on.

so your saying it's just some team bottom of the table who had a new manager played with an extra bit of ump in the first half, and now the reality of only playing well for 45 minutes is not enough?

Why are you so excited, your only beating Pompey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

I didnt make a comment about the first half.

CHD wrote: »

Getting worried about the Arsenal then :P ?

not excited at all.

just making a point, in a discussion, on a discussion forum, you know, why we're here..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Quandary wrote: »
    Getting worried about the Arsenal then :P ?
    Nope, we will hockey them handily. Essien plays for us.

well, would you mind putting a few setences together and make a comment about something?

or did you just want to increase your post count and say _nothing_ at all of any real value?

• Registered Users Posts: 647 ✭✭✭simonw

united did

Why on earth do United fans have such a bad rep I wonder? :P

Nope, we will hockey them handily. Essien plays for us.

Ye could well do, but then again ye might not - just glad we're not playin em :)

Back on topic - Utd still looking dodge at the back, awesome save by pig though

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Jimmyboss

Looks like Rooney drew a load of inspiration from the Leeds shirt Kelly from the Stereophonics gave him on Football Focus..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

simonw wrote: »
    Why on earth do United fans have such a bad rep I wonder? :P

Because we are champions!

Jamie O'Hara is really impressing me today, quality little player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Jimmyboss wrote: »
    Looks like Rooney drew a load of inspiration from the Leeds shirt Kelly from the Stereophonics gave him on Football Focus..............

I think he may have burned the shirt to keep himself warm before the match, its cold down in portsmouth today i here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,109 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Would love Ryan to have scored there - his 100th PL goal. 36 tomorrow.

was very surprised they didn't let Giggs take the second pen, since he won it and would have been the 100th...

Ah now, down with that sort of talk, Ted.......

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    was very surprised they didn't let Giggs take the second pen, since he won it and would have been the 100th...

shows what Giggsy is about imo

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

scummy "tackle" from scholes

Jimmyboss wrote: »
    Ah now, down with that sort of talk, Ted.......

I have quite a dislike for Leeds. Just banter with my mates mainly though.

Still want a fourth here, dont want a sneaky pompey goal and us hanging on last few mins then.

Some superb play there by Utd.

mayordenis wrote: »

I feel zero sympathy for Michael Brown.

p_larkin99 wrote: »
    I feel zero sympathy for Michael Brown.

Can't argue with that.

I'd really like Scholes if he could tackle. But for all his skill, determination, being down to earth and apparently being an all round nice bloke, he lets himself down by doing stuff like that

Giggsy!! 100!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

well done giggs

I have quite a dislike for Leeds. Just banter with my mates mainly though.

Still want a fourth here, dont want a sneaky pompey goal and us hanging on last few mins then.
    Go on, kick us when we're down.........:p

Good call Eclectic.

Get in Giggsy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,109 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Well done Giggsy. Delighted for him.

congratz Ryan - great 2nd half + deserved goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Congrats Ryan.

Well taken Giggsy, great goal to mark a fantastic landmark.

sublime giggs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Delighted for Giggsy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

What is wrong with you?

united did

This was ntlbell's response to someone saying Portsmouth should have scored more in the first half. In case you dont understand what its says, he's saying: (I'm paraphrasing BTW) "Portsmouth didnt take their chances. United did take their chances. That is why we are Champions"
    Then you came in with your smart comment asking if the reason why United are champions is because they are beating Pompey, but of course, I've already explained the real reason he gave. (In case you missed it, I've explained just above. Its in blue writing too)

Here ntlbell seems to be pointing out that Pompey need to play well for more than just 45 mins, alluding to point he made earlier(albiet to a different poster)
    Here's you pointing out that you never mentioned the first half. That is very true. All you did was make a pointless comment about Pompey being bottom of the league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,170 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Typical United. Largely unimpressive for the majority of the game... and still win 4-1.

shows what Giggsy is about imo
    ~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Well done Giggsy. Delighted for him.
    Quandary wrote: »
    congratz Ryan - great 2nd half + deserved goal
    Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    Congrats Ryan.
    Well taken Giggsy, great goal to mark a fantastic landmark.

Just shows that even opposition fans like giggsy.

Impossible not to i guess. True professional.

United Legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

fair play to giggs.

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭Miap

Well done giggs getting number 100!

Typical United. Largely unimpressive for the majority of the game... and still win 4-1.
    Is 45 minutes a majority now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Top performance from the PIG.