Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Some clown just ran me down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

bealbocht wrote: »
    I mostly agree with you here, but was just thinking, if it is a "road traffic accident", should'nt the police be called (or at what point should they be called)
    Even if you dont sue, there might be a few points on the licence for the driver, (which would help get the clown off the road)
    Doesn't happen in my experience. Criminal prosecutions for dangerous driving are very rare, I think the police really have to witness it themselves before it will happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Good to hear you're ok dude!! Alot of stupid people on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Some related thoughts from Steve Worland here.
    Superficially, driving appears to be quite easy. If there's a hazard there'll probably be a warning sign telling you about it. It seems to me that actually looking for the hazards would be a far better idea.

Whilst I understand the "stupid drivers/cyclists shouldn't be stupid" perspective, you can't just wave a magic wand and make it happen,and I don't think PSAs are the answer either, given the way modern media is fragmented.

There's a reason urban drivers have concentration lapses - it's because for the most part driving along in a 10kph traffic jam is a very undemanding activity. You need to pay attention for the 1% of the time it actually matters, but the human mind doesn't respond very well to that.

There have been some pilots in various places of street furniture "de-cluttering", and also removal of traffic lights. Both these (as I recall) are designed to make urban driving more of an active task.

On the occasions when I have to negotiate an out-of-action traffic light (usually in a car) I am always pleased at how courteous and careful people can be.

Engineering solutions FTW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Signal_ rabbit

Similar thing happened to me a while back and they said they didn't see me, i lost the rag and told him what I thought of him and his driving.

However later I pulled out of the same junction in my car in the same position as he was and realised that where I would have been [on the bike] would have been blocked/obscured by the windscreen pillar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Bunnyhopper

Surveyor11 wrote: »
    Irish people just don't drive with their eyes open.

Driving in Ireland has thought me to expect the unexpected.

An Australian friend moved here recently and has started driving here having driven in Oz for years. She's been pretty shocked by how bad the standard of driving in Ireland is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

An Australian friend moved here recently and has started driving here having driven in Oz for years. She's been pretty shocked by how bad the standard of driving in Ireland is.

+1 Laws are rigidly enforced on the roads back home. It tends to kill bad habits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

clown-driving.jpgp_2487422.jpgclown_car%255B1%255D.jpg

WHICH ONE WAS IT???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

That happened to me last July - a car drove in a roundabout straight into me. 2 good things came out of this: 1st/ one Cab now pays attention to cyclists at roundabouts and 2/ I got brand new wheels ...

I have 4 roundabouts on my 2.5km commute into work that I almost get killed on by cars who don't look ( and i too I am a xmas tree ) or just think they can enter the roundabout before hitting me.

So I am the one who pays extra attention and have to watch out for morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭the_barfly1

clown-driving.jpgp_2487422.jpgclown_car%255B1%255D.jpg

WHICH ONE WAS IT???

Damn it. I was reading through the thread patiently hoping nobody else picked up on the thread title so i could make a funny but you beat me to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

making someone else suffer won't make me feel any better

I've been in two minor accidents both of which were not my fault. Ive also been in a few near misses due to bad driving. The thing i could never accept nor understand was the fact i suffered due to someone elses neglect,me! Why should i suffer? if anything it should be you lying on the ground covered in brusies withering in pain not me. Its your mistake, you should suffer not me.

I wouldnt sue or make a claim if it was just minor but maybe a compromise. Hit her with your u-lock in the knees? that was a joke. Or kick her mirror off? that was a joke too. Or maybe just throw your bike at her windshield whilst jumping up and down on her bonnet shouting, "Bitch can you see me now! CAN YOU SEE ME NOW!". Again that was a joke

Get Angry then get over it

c0rk3r wrote: »
    I wouldnt sue or make a claim if it was just minor but maybe a compromise. Hit her with your u-lock in the knees? that was a joke. Or kick her mirror off? that was a joke too. Or maybe just throw your bike at her windshield whilst jumping up and down on her bonnet shouting, "Bitch can you see me now! CAN YOU SEE ME NOW!". Again that was a joke

Lol I love the way everyone has to point out that they're joking everytime they mention violence against motorists in case himself (you know who I mean) comes along and takes it seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

c0rk3r wrote: »
    I've been in two minor accidents both of which were not my fault. Ive also been in a few near misses due to bad driving. The thing i could never accept nor understand was the fact i suffered due to someone elses neglect,me! Why should i suffer? if anything it should be you lying on the ground covered in brusies withering in pain not me. Its your mistake, you should suffer not me.

Class post...

And I for one would like to say Mr Keane that your presence here will remain a forum secret:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Lol I love the way everyone has to point out that they're joking everytime they mention violence against motorists in case himself (you know who I mean) comes along and takes it seriously.

And then he'd come on and beat the shtie out of us with his debating skills :D.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

coolbeans wrote: »
    And then he'd come on and beat the shtie out of us with his debating skills :D.:pac:
    It's between that and the mighty righteousness of his position I guess. Not one you can win, that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Roundabout design really doesn't help much either. A number of roundabouts have an island at the entrance, and they stick a whole pile of signs on the island. As you approach the entrance to the roundabout, you've got a good view, and you can see under most of the signs, so only the top of the cars is obscured.

The problem being that unlike a car, most of a cyclist's mass is at exactly this height, so unless a driver is watching out for moving legs and thin wheels, they'll assume the roundabout is clear and go straight through. I'm inherently cautious on roundabouts. I make sure I've looked everyone in the eye and if a driver takes their eye off me for a second, it means they're about to pull out in front of me.
    I don't indicate on roundabouts at all because:

1. It means I lose reaction time in braking
    2. Drivers can't guess what I'm doing and get it wrong. They're more likely to stop and wait if you're not indicating.

Road position does a lot for telling following drivers what you're doing on roundabouts:

1. Left-hand lane, secondary riding position = I'm turning left
    2. Left-hand lane, primary riding position = I'm going straight on
    3. Right-hand lane, primary riding position = I'm turning right

Good to hear the incident hasn't put you off the road for long!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

I forgot the classic Cadel Evans approach. Smacking the window then menacingly pointing at the driver whilst shouting, "You step out of the car, i cut your head off." No joke

Glad your ok OP. I hear riding aggressively in spinning classes can be therapeutic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

I remember a pretty funny reaction to an incident I came upon a couple of years ago at the Upper Stephen Street/Ship Street junction near the Cyclone Couriers office. If anyone knows it there's a yield sign for traffic coming from the Patrick Street side so traffic coming from Aungier Street direction wanting to go around to the right towards Dublin Castle have right of way, however alot of plebs don't seem to realise this which is what I'm guessing happened here.

Someone in a people carrier had arrived upon this junction and gone through it I guess and clipped a cycle courier. He wasn't too hurt judging by his reaction, he started raving like a mad man at the driver, nothing wrong there, but he kept picking up his bike and throwing it at the front of the car and bouncing his wheel off the windscreen. The driver, a man, looked terrified and was doing his best Father Ted impression of then the naked guy was hanging onto the bonnet of his car, pretending nothing was happening. It went on for a good bit too holding up Dublin rush hour traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Bunnyhopper

seamus wrote: »
    Roundabout design really doesn't help much either. A number of roundabouts have an island at the entrance, and they stick a whole pile of signs on the island. As you approach the entrance to the roundabout, you've got a good view, and you can see under most of the signs, so only the top of the cars is obscured.

The problem being that unlike a car, most of a cyclist's mass is at exactly this height, so unless a driver is watching out for moving legs and thin wheels, they'll assume the roundabout is clear and go straight through. I'm inherently cautious on roundabouts. I make sure I've looked everyone in the eye and if a driver takes their eye off me for a second, it means they're about to pull out in front of me.
    I don't indicate on roundabouts at all because:

1. It means I lose reaction time in braking
    2. Drivers can't guess what I'm doing and get it wrong. They're more likely to stop and wait if you're not indicating.

Road position does a lot for telling following drivers what you're doing on roundabouts:

1. Left-hand lane, secondary riding position = I'm turning left
    2. Left-hand lane, primary riding position = I'm going straight on
    3. Right-hand lane, primary riding position = I'm turning right

That assumes that the drivers know the significance of lane selection, which (judging by the way people drive at roundabouts) many don't.

I do signal at roundabouts, and I find that drivers respond to it. I find that they're more likely to stop and wait when I give a clear indication of my intentions.

I don't quite get how not signalling helps with the problem of drivers guessing incorrectly. How does giving them less information help? I don't think an approach that omits indication and relies on ambiguity and faith in drivers' patience or their ability to guess correctly is one I want to try :)

The point about the value of eye contact is true. It makes you into two people, not just two vehicles. Likewise the problem with signage is an issue. Roundabouts, particularly multilane ones. are often just not a very good solution for cyclists. Somewhere like the Walkinstown roundabout in Dublin is hellish however brightly lit you are, however garish your clothes, however careful your signalling and lane discipline. Much anger little room etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Deisetrek

Although it seems the OP was very visible , I find as well as "eyeballing" the driver at each exit of the roundabout , my helmet light on the front of my helmet grabs their attention when I deliberately direct it into their faces . Because your bike is relatively "straight pointing "at any one time , the handlebar mounted lights may not be directed at the vehicle approaching from the side , whereas a quick flash of the helmet light grabs attention .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

The EXACT same thing happened me a few weeks ago OP - I was aiming for the third exit and a driver slowly rolled forward from the second. I had constant eye contact so I thought he was just pulling forward in order to move out the instant I passed. Quite late I realised he wasn't going to stop and I jammed on the brakes and nearly lost it in the wet (if I hadn't attained eye contact I would have stopped a lot earlier, that's for sure). Luckily he stopped too and started laughing at me so I contented myself by slapping his window and taking his reg. The Gardaí rang him and he got an earful so there's some sort of result there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭bealbocht

blorg wrote: »
    Doesn't happen in my experience. Criminal prosecutions for dangerous driving are very rare, I think the police really have to witness it themselves before it will happen.

Criminal prosecutions??.. is speeding a criminal prosecution ?? , the police dont witness many accidents, but I'm sure "action" is taken.

If you are on a roundabout, and someone joins the roundabout and hits you, this is a "road traffic accident" and regardless of injuries of damage the police "should" be called.

If a near contact warrants a "bollixing" phone call from the Guards, then a contact has got at least to be worth 2 points on a licence for driving without due care and attention.

Granted, blocking a roundabout, waiting for the cops, and giving a statement, just cos you got hit by a car.. well, I suppose that is a decision you will have to make on the day..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

The standard of driving in this country is something to be very concerned about. You know when you hear people claiming that they were failed on the driving test "for no reason"? Bollox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭TimAllen

What? You guys are not serious when you boast about kicking off car mirrors (at least 10 posters on the forum have gloated of such behaviour) Or engaging in threatening behaviour with a U-lock (Countless references)
    Amazingly, everyone was joking????
    A few weeks ago I alluded to what I would do with someones (blorg I think?) flashlight if they shone it in my eyes (stick it where the sun dont shine) and put a smiley at the end of the sentence - to indicate that I wasnt being serious (smileys usually indicate this) yet mod Daymobrew imposed a 1 week ban for threatening behaviour. Yeah, I'm being completely unreasonable taking gloating posts of criminal behaviour seriously:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

TimAllen wrote: »
    What? You guys are not serious when you boast about kicking off car mirrors (at least 10 posters on the forum have gloated of such behaviour) Or engaging in threatening behaviour with a U-lock (Countless references)
    Amazingly, everyone was joking????
    A few weeks ago I alluded to what I would do with someones (blorg I think?) flashlight if they shone it in my eyes (stick it where the sun dont shine) and put a smiley at the end of the sentence - to indicate that I wasnt being serious (smileys usually indicate this) yet mod Daymobrew imposed a 1 week ban for threatening behaviour. Yeah, I'm being completely unreasonable taking gloating posts of criminal behaviour seriously:rolleyes:

I'm slow to do this. I really am. But this is the second time you've discussed mod action in this thread.

2 weeks.

There is a world of difference between a post which can be interpreted as directly threatening another forum member and one which acknowledges a knee jerk reaction to being assaulted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭poochiem

everything getting a bit HOT in here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭ckeego

Tis indeed a bit hot! Hats off to the Captain for handling the situation in such a calm way..That's what is called shock!

The "get even" mentality, however tempting can be so damn dangerous..I remember being side swiped up by Fort Lucan one day and I sped off after the guy in a van and caught up with him in Lucan village..Verbally threatened and when a friendly Guard looked him up on the Pulse system, the guy had a rap sheet as long as a month of wet Sundays including aggravated assault! Be careful out there!

But there really is a "don't see don't care" attitude out there from some motorists..Try going up by Calgary out of Kilmac any day of the week and they just act as if you weren't there..overtaking on blind bends and solid white lines, pulling in on top of you when they get it wrong and all the while still maintaining 60 mph on a country winding road going up a hill!!

Another post apologises about being sexist and then slams the females..I'm not going to be as broad as that BUT if the lady who overtook me when I was signalling and turning left in Delgany is reading this...I didn't appreciate your recklessness..I really feel that a lot of 4 x 4 and SUV drivers really have NIL spatial relations with what they are driving..

As I said, be careful out there..at this time of the year you have both the Road AND the Road users to look out for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Deisetrek wrote: »
    Although it seems the OP was very visible , I find as well as "eyeballing" the driver at each exit of the roundabout , my helmet light on the front of my helmet grabs their attention when I deliberately direct it into their faces . Because your bike is relatively "straight pointing "at any one time , the handlebar mounted lights may not be directed at the vehicle approaching from the side , whereas a quick flash of the helmet light grabs attention .
    I wear flashing amber LEDs on my wrists for similar reasons. During the day, I use hiviz cuffs instead (the only hiviz I wear during the day). Being able to wave (non-aggressively) a light or brightly coloured shape at people breaks motion camouflage very well, both for people behind you, or people waiting to join the road.

All the same, multilane roundabouts are stressful and often dangerous. None of my current routes features one, thankfully. The one time I ended up at the Walkinstown roundabout, years ago, I just walked around it.