Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Dublin walkabout - Monday Dec. 7th

• 03-12-2009 9:00pm
    Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭

Hi Folks

Saw most had a good time on last walkabout. I will be in Dublin next Monday & Tuesday for a few business meetings and thinking i would enjoy a walkabout with my camera and tripod in our capital.
    Any Board members willing to brave the elements and show a culchie the photogenic sights of our capital..................?

Denis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Oh I might be persuaded! :p

Won't know til sunday how I'm fixed tho.

EDIT: Culchie here too! So it would be like the blind leading the blind lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭AnCatDubh

I won't be around but here's the last route which was followed. Allow at least 6:30 to 10:00pm to take a leisurely approach if you decide to head on this route.

Good luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,250 ✭✭✭pixbyjohn

Just a tip for car parking: The College of Surgeon's car park have a 5.50euro rate from just after 5 p.m. til 9 a.m the next day. A good deal and if you look at map of last walkabout it is a handy place to park.
    I would love to join in but will have to wait til weekend before I can be definite.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

I doubt if I'll be around this time but will know over to the weekend. If I was though, I don't think I'd be up for the same route again. We'll see.

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭kenwood

Thanks lads for all the replies and suggestions duly noted.

Will keep checking in over weekend and see how many brave souls we have

Denis

I'd be up for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭duffarama

I'm a maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭DK32

I'm a maybe at the moment will know for sure by Sunday :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭eightcell

Same as Dan, I am interested but will confirm on Sunday!

ok lads thats a few interested > anymore..................

Right so then lads, what route will we take? Suggestions ............
    Around Christchurch, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Quays, Heuston ???

Would imagine this is weather permitting or do we have an alternative plan if the weather is inclement?

Denis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭DutchGuy

I'd be up for it too. As to the route to take, Christchurch/St Patricks et al sounds like a plan haven't really been out that way to much. The best place to meet up probably depends on whether people are driving.

Re the weather; I certainly can't think of an indoors alternative...

Walter

I can be around to meet up at around 6PM. Christchurch, St Patricks, Wood Quay and the Four Courts I would be interested in. Unfortunately I think I can only make it for around 2 hours!

Its looking good that I will make it subject to weather. How about a meeting time and place so as we are all together at the start.
    Camera, tripod and warm clothes.
    John

6.00 p.m. sounds ok. I have a meeting in Johnstown (Kildare) at 4.00 p.m. so should be in by then.
    May I suggest parking around St. Patrick's Cathedral, walking down towards Christchurch from there?

Denis

OK Denis,
    I will pm you my number so we can make contact around 6.
    Meeting place and time in Post #16
    6 pm at St. Patrick's Cathedral

Looks like I'm available (subject to weather of course)
    I will be driving in from Greystones if anyone would like a lift along the way to town drop me a PM so I can give you mobile number.

Camera, Lenses, Tripod, Warm clothes - Check

Any suggestions on lenses from those that have done this before?

Welcome along DK32 & Pixbyjohn.

That was going to be my next "innocent" question - gear and the like...

I have a 17-40L, 70-200 2.8 & 300mm F4. Also tripod and 40D.
    I would think that the 300mm would be unsuitable re light, distance we will be shooting, etc= any advice there from the pro's?

Plenty warm clothes, must get a pair of light gloves somewhere.

This will be my first night time walkabout and looking forward to both that and meeting fellow photographers.

Denis

My thoughts are to go with something half decent in low light.
    So I think I will bring the 24-70 f/2.8 and the 50mm f/1.8.

I haven't done any night time photography yet apart from the moon so i'm expecting it will be a learning curve :)

Last 2 times I went on a night time photowalk I took a 24-70 f2.8 and I think it was adequate. The 50 prime would be good also. I wouldn't advise changing lens really and maybe the least amount of gear the better. The tripod and camera can get quite heavy as you walk along.
    Dan, I will pm my number and would love to avail of a lift from Greystones. Thanks for offer.
    John

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

Keep it simple. Bring camera, tripod and one lens. Shutter cable or remote or use your 2 sceond self timer. Turn of your image stabiliser if you have it. Shoot in full manual or aperture priority and experiment. Most important, take lots of shots and enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Won't make it guys, but enjoy. Post up some of the results from the walkabout tho.

Roll call for walkabout Monday.

Kenwood
    Swingking
    Duffarama ?
    DK32
    Eightcell
    DutchGuy
    Pixbyjohn

Great, see you all tomorrow :) My only gear advice, based on going out shooting this morning is gloves!

Yeah I'll be there!

ok folks,

See ye all later.

Denis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

yeah I'm up for this at 6pm today.

Meeting at St. Patricks Cathedral yeah?

Okay, I'll look out for a load of 'togs with tripods then.

Talk to you then

Turns out I can't make it, sorry.

Have a great night though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭duffarama

pixbyjohn wrote: »
    Roll call for walkabout Monday.

Kenwood
    Swingking
    Duffarama ?
    DK32
    Eightcell
    DutchGuy
    Pixbyjohn

I'm out, have fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭smelltheglove

I may be in, was thinking I need to get out for pics opnly I hate the cold and wont go anywhere in the dark on my own:o so is it a 6 meet up? whats the meeting spot? Ill know in an hour or so if I can make it.

In front of St. Patrick's Cathedral along the main road.... See you there!
    I may be in, was thinking I need to get out for pics opnly I hate the cold and wont go anywhere in the dark on my own:o so is it a 6 meet up? whats the meeting spot? Ill know in an hour or so if I can make it.

Looks like PixbyJohn & myself are still on for tonight. Any idea where is the best place to park near to the meeting the point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭smelltheglove

Theres a car park just around the corner, at the side of the hotel.

I cant make it, I have just agreed to deliver a canvas this evening as its the only time which suits my client. May be next time.

First one from tonights photowalk in Dublin
    4167631424_61fcaff702.jpg

Nice to meet you all (despite being told I sound like a Dub which I always find disconcerting...). Here's a few quick ones:

4167661936_9db06f5744.jpg

4167658386_1c5b02a8c2.jpg

4167659940_cd320216b8.jpg

Temple Bar
    4167654196_cd999530a0.jpg
    Dame Street
    4166900725_c18fa0f1c1.jpg

Hi DutchGuy, great to meet you and the rest of the guys. At least I could understand you but it was Denis who I found difficult with his Cork accent:D
    Nice photos from you .

It was great to meet you all. Will upload some photos in the morning

Nice meeting ye last night, will upload a few when I get back from work!

Morning all. Thanks to John, Dan, Walter, Paul & Stephen for the walkabout last night. Will upload some of mine when I get home on Wednesday.
    Some nice ones up already.

Well done to all

Denis

Had a great time last night lads, good to put faces to names. Thanks Denis for organising the walkabout.
    Will post some pics later on tonight.

Cheers, Dan

Winetavern Street Light Trails
    4169028324_f3cf1bc29b.jpg

The "Ten A Penny"
    4169028330_bfe87d0383.jpg

eightcell, nice light trails and the bridge looks great.

few from last night:

4169068596_12627d9608.jpg

4169063758_62b8243773.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭1968

Great stuff. Lovely shots.

Stuck up a little piece on my blog:

http://comeheretome.wordpress.com/2009/12/08/dublin-by-night/

Another few shots

4169180810_f05f15ecd1.jpg

4169184564_c2d98daf6e.jpg