Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are we in for an Election in January?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭frman

What a selfish fcuker.

So let me see, Grealish will withdraw his support from the Government if he doesnt get something for his constituents. If he gets what he wants, he will support them.

What about doing what is best for the country ?

The man needs to reassess his position IMO.

He either supports the Govt and the current decisions or he doesn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

There will be no election until NAMA is up and running. FG and Labour are too fcukin cowardly to call an election before this as it would mean that they would have to deal with the issue and, to be honest, they haven't a friggin' bog.

They will let FF set it up and should it turn out to be a success, they will claim credit for how they managed it, if it turns out to be a disaster, they will blame FF saying "we told you so". I am dismayed that, in this time of desperately needed change and leadership, all we are faced with is differing degrees of cowardice, headlessness and centerist populism - think I'll ove to China, at least they have drive there.

The short answer to the OP's question is, No. NAMA will be running by Feb-March, the election will be called then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Gurgle

frman wrote: »
    What a selfish fcuker.

So let me see, Grealish will withdraw his support from the Government if he doesnt get something for his constituents. If he gets what he wants, he will support them.
    Thats how our democratic system is meant to work.

The man was voted in by his constituents, to represent them and their interests at a national level.

Fair play to him. It says something about the rest of that shower that this stand is the exception rather than the rule.

Theres too many independents in there who support the FF led government and have made no effort to get anything for their voters - people who did not vote for FF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Taxipete29

Long Onion wrote: »
    There will be no election until NAMA is up and running. FG and Labour are too fcukin cowardly to call an election before this as it would mean that they would have to deal with the issue and, to be honest, they haven't a friggin' bog.

They will let FF set it up and should it turn out to be a success, they will claim credit for how they managed it, if it turns out to be a disaster, they will blame FF saying "we told you so". I am dismayed that, in this time of desperately needed change and leadership, all we are faced with is differing degrees of cowardice, headlessness and centerist populism - think I'll ove to China, at least they have drive there.

The short answer to the OP's question is, No. NAMA will be running by Feb-March, the election will be called then.

The opposition dont call elections, they call for motions of no confidence. The Taoiseach upon failure to maintain the confidence of the majority of TDs must either resign or persude the President to dissolve the Dail.

Do you honestly think that if the Govt cant get a Budget passed,the opposition will wait until halfway through the first quarter of next year to call for a motion of no confidence??

• Registered Users Posts: 13,761 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Gurgle wrote: »

No this is not how our democracy is meant to work, this is one cute selfish huer, being an opportunist and using the nations woes to try and cement his seat in his constituency by holding the Government to ransom over his vote to obtain undue priviledges for his constituency..

• Registered Users Posts: 13,761 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Also the only thing more scary than the current Government running Ireland is that shower in opposition running things. Sad, sad state of affairs for this country, when FF, FG and Labour are the best we can come up with........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭ei.sdraob

Who would you vote for @OP

FGs and LABs proposals also include large cuts to PS

• Registered Users Posts: 4,196 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

ei.sdraob wrote: »
    Who would you vote for @OP

FGs and LABs proposals also include large cuts to PS
    Will be voting for FG if this does happen but I'm not convinced it'll make a huge difference, the financial situation is the same for whoever is in power. Big problem with this gov is they caused alot of the crisis so it's difficult for them to implement the changes needed to get us out of it, as their is so much public anger toward them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Taxipete29 wrote: »
    The opposition dont call elections, they call for motions of no confidence. The Taoiseach upon failure to maintain the confidence of the majority of TDs must either resign or persude the President to dissolve the Dail.

Do you honestly think that if the Govt cant get a Budget passed,the opposition will wait until halfway through the first quarter of next year to call for a motion of no confidence??

Furthermore, hasn't the opposition already called for a motion of no confidence in the past year or so? Further disproving the point about them being 'cowardly'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Inquitus wrote: »
    Also the only thing more scary than the current Government running Ireland is that shower in opposition running things.

More scary ???? You're joking, right ?

They mightn't be much better, but at least they'd be an improvement!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

mickeyk wrote: »
    Big problem with this gov is they caused alot of the crisis so it's difficult for them to implement the changes needed to get us out of it, as their is so much public anger toward them

No, it's just difficult for them to come up with something that's fair and equitable and in the long-term interests of the country.

And that has nothing to do with the fact that they caused the crisis; they've been of the same mindset/mentality for the last 3 decades - looking after their own arses instead of planning ahead, saving, and creating a fair society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭SkepticOne

Furthermore, hasn't the opposition already called for a motion of no confidence in the past year or so? Further disproving the point about them being 'cowardly'.
    Of course they would have known at that time that it would not pass. If it were serious it would have been a packed Dáil rather than the usual pairing arrangments.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

and its sickening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭bangersandmash

Fair play to him. It says something about the rest of that shower that this stand is the exception rather than the rule.

Theres too many independents in there who support the FF led government and have made no effort to get anything for their voters - people who did not vote for FF.
    Yes. God bless Jackie Healy-Rae and his ilk. The country may be going down the drain, but at least he's secured that bypass for Castleisland :rolleyes:

Usually have only disdain for the Daily Mail, but their demolition of the Kerry gombeen yesterday was quite enjoyable.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,645 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Grealish would be a fool not to do this. It's how our system works and it's not pretty but not playing the game would only cost him his seat come the next election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭seclachi

Guess its more parish pump politics then. What I would like to know is, if we reduced the number of TDs in the dail would it reduce this sort of crap ? Or am I just going to have to move to south Kerry or Galway in order to prevent myself from loosing my fecking car in a pothole (we`ve been in a recession for a year and already the roads around my gaff are like Baghdad, not that they were that great to begin with).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

Cowen is now apparently leading a minority government...

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/budget/news/td-quits-coalition-as-pay-talks-collapse-1965205.html

Mr. Grealish is now apparently asking for a "personal deal" to provide continuing support for the government!!! I think he's 2 years too late with that request!!!

This shows all this is defective with politics in Ireland, if we put a dual carraigeway through Claregalway, the most useless Taoiseach in history might just live for another day...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

Threads merged.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

So the government stands up to the unions (never mind whether that's a good thing or not - no PS-bashing/defending please), and back-benchers pull their support or hold out for a personal pork barrel.

It's really quite pathetic that the same people who supported the government through a decade of wrecking and recklessness pull their support when the going gets tough. It's a reminder of why the government didn't take tough decisions over the last decade, rather than something to be applauded.

jadedly,
    Scofflaw

nesf wrote: »
    GrealSELish would be a fool not to do this. It's how our system works and it's not pretty but not playing the game would only cost him his seat come the next election.

It's a bit late in the day for this parasite to be trying to act like an "ordinary man"... Here he is now trying to be a dealmaker, the little ego kicking in now and telling him that he is the centre of the decision making process, a USELESS public representative who had his politcal party disappear beneath him...

All of a sudden now, he finds empathy with the common man... The only thing this waster can be credited with is the gift of foresight.... He see's the whole show coming down, and what does he do, not for the first time he finds himself without a tent and tries to climb in underneath another man's canvas, maybe shoving his host out under the elements a little bit in the process...

Darragh29 wrote: »
    It's a bit late in the day for this parasite to be trying to act like an "ordinary man"... Here he is now trying to be a dealmaker, the little ego kicking in now and telling him that he is the centre of the decision making process, a USELESS public representative who had his politcal party disappear beneath him...

All of a sudden now, he finds empathy with the common man... The only thing this waster can be credited with is the gift of foresight.... He see's the whole show coming down, and what does he do, not for the first time he finds himself without a tent and tries to climb in underneath another man's canvas, maybe shoving his host out under the elements a little bit in the process...

One could argue that the PDs only dissolved formally very recently and that only now is he an independent entity. If you can accept him feeling obliged to obey the party whip (which many, including you wouldn't) then it's reasonable that only now would he be able to argue for a separate deal.

Has this man anything to contribute in terms of a strategy for job creation??? I'd argue that he has not. And now the man arises, a man who does not know what is he or who he is politically, he is a political Oliver Twist but without the identity of self, vision and purpose. Another bald headed clown, talking in the language of entitlement and expectation, who will sing to the tune of any man, once the salary lands in his bank account at the end of the month, with the green snot of entitlement rolling down his arm, never mind his nose...

Where was this man 24 and 12 months ago when we started losing jobs by the tens of thousands??? Now all of a sudden he tries to step up like some kind of white knight???

When are we going to get our heads around the likes of Grealish, Healy Rae, Lowry and Cooper Flynn, people who would ride their own granny to stay beside power, who would see the whole nation suffer ill, rather than forego any of their entitlements???

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

The man was voted in by his constituents, to represent them and their interests at a national level.

The Claregalway bypass okay, it's a national issue, but Galway County Councillors should be the ones demanding flood defences.

ninty9er wrote: »
    The Claregalway bypass okay, it's a national issue, but Galway County Councillors should be the ones demanding flood defences.

County Councillors will be dependent on national funding to build said flood defences though.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

nesf wrote: »
    County Councillors will be dependent on national funding to build said flood defences though.
    But we do not elect TDs to lobby for County Councillors, that's what we pay County Managers for.

You or I might not, but a lot of people do.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

but "we" as a population do. Thats why this sort of thing will continue, we have our Irish solution to things and parish pump politics is a huge part of that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Misty Chaos

If there is going to be a election next year, I don't see it happening until March - April then the new Dail will only need to sit a few times before going off on their 3 month summer holidays!

Sickening but its the truth.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,853 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

if an election were to be called now, wed be screwed, unless one party, ideally FG didnt have to go into coalition with FF and Labour. If FG replaced Kenny, i think they could enjoy a landslide victory! by putting reform of the PS and sorting out the economic mess top of the priority list. The should align themselves to be come the party of the unemployed and Private Sector!