Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TAILGATERS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭The-Game

Well after reading this thread people shouldnt be worried if the Garda traffic core decide to hold any days of protest, seems to be plenty of volunteers out policing the roads to make ensure drivers stay below the limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭leddpipe

SV wrote: »
    So basically the thread has 2 kinds of people.. Both agree that tailgaters are idiots.
    One thinks they should be let on and let as far away from them as possible so they're no longer a danger to them.
    The other group.. Thinks they're the traffic corps and want to keep the tailgaters behind them where an accident is most likely to happen.

About right eh?

I dont think im Traffic Corp!

But if you gave me a choice between this person rear ending me at the speed limit, and hitting somone else full on, as they overtook, id take the former, everytime!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

leddpipe wrote: »
    are you trying to tell me theres always a safe place to pull in?
    or that even if there was, the d1ckhead behind you would see my indicator?
    think about it...

I never said there was always a safe place to pull in. Are you saying you would rather run the risk of him slamming into the back of you?

Honestly you remind me of myself in my first year or two of driving, since then I have driven an awful lot, over the 5 years up to 2009 I was doing 50k Kilometres per annum and feel I've learned a lot and you get a 6th sense for danger and having an idiot on your bumper sets that sense off.

I don't condone tailgating but I am not going to risk my life or car trying to teach these guys a lesson

The-Game wrote: »
    Well after reading this thread people shouldnt be worried if the Garda traffic core decide to hold any days of protest, seems to be plenty of volunteers out policing the roads to make ensure drivers stay below the limit.

OOOOHH smart arse, from someone who no doubt is a superb driver!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

Onkle wrote: »
    I never said there was always a safe place to pull in.

Then what else can we do ???????????????????????????????????

i've said this 2/3 times now, there's no where to pull in !!!!!!!!!!!!

we're already keeping left on the road we have and no speeding up or slowing down,

if they were are to catch me up at the speed i'm doing then surely they can overtake me too !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭high horse

So basically the thread has 2 kinds of people.. Both agree that tailgaters are idiots.
    One thinks they should be let on and let as far away from them as possible so they're no longer a danger to them.
    The other group.. Thinks they're the traffic corps and want to keep the tailgaters behind them where an accident is most likely to happen.

About right eh?

Sounds about right to me, and the "traffic corps" group seem determined not to learn anything from this discussion...

robbie_998 wrote: »
    Then what else can we do ???????????????????????????????????

i've said this 2/3 times now, there's no where to pull in !!!!!!!!!!!!

There is also not always nowhere to pull in. I also said you could slow down and make it easier for the person to pass, there is more than one way to skin a cat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭The-Game

leddpipe wrote: »
    OOOOHH smart arse, from someone who no doubt is a superb driver!!

Ah you have seen me on the roads then :cool:.

I do agree when your on a single lane road or in a situation where its unsafe to to move in then you should stick in your lane at an appropriate speed, my problem is with the countless drivers who on motorways or dual carriageways still sit in the wrong lane in a state of entitlement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

I'm not going to pull into the hard shoulder to let a tail gater by.

It isn't what the hard shoulder is for, it could end or I could run into any one of a number of scenarios that would leave me in an accident because I'm driving at 40MPH in the hard shoulder.

I'll pull over to the edge of the road to facilitate over taking if possible and if the numpty does a dangerous overtaking manoevur I will break or pull in to hard shoulder to save them but I'm not going to go in there for no reason when there could be a broken down car up ahead that I don't know about that hasn't bothered to put on his hazards.

There is also not always nowhere to pull in. I also said you could slow down and make it easier for the person to pass, there is more than one way to skin a cat

so there's a tailgater about 2 or 3 inches behind me (according to your maths) and you want us to brake ?

ARE YOU MAD !!!

BRAKE ???

BRAKE with someone sitting 2-3 inchs behind me and hope they have the ability to compute whats going on and hope for them to not crash into the back of me !

so there's a tailgater about 2 or 3 inches behind me (according to your maths) and you want us to brake ?

ARE YOU MAD !!!

BRAKE ???

BRAKE with someone sitting 2-3 inchs behind me and hope they have the ability to compute whats going on and hope for them to not crash into the back of me !
    Where did I say Brake?

And you're kind of proving my point, what if you need to brake suddenly?

the banter is fast and furious!

lets hope the driving isnt!

im off to bed!

Where did I say Brake?

And you're kind of proving my point, what if you need to brake suddenly?

oh so now you want us to slow down without some kind of signal ?

thats even worse !!!

thats just asking for a crash,

im sorry but your talking out of your ass tonight !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,312 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

It's the taligaters with fog lights on in the wrong lane of a roundabout that get my goat. Otherwise - meh.

Not your ornery onager

thats even worse !!!

I'm sorry lad but you clearly shouldn't be behind the wheel of a car if you don't know how to handle a tailgater properly. I'm not here to teach you how to drive just like you are not on the road to stop people tailgating and dangerously overtaking.

Would I be right in saying you aren't driving that long?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

thats even worse !!!

Its called letting your foot off the accelerator....

I'm sorry lad but you clearly shouldn't be behind the wheel of a car if you don't know how to handle a tailgater properly. I'm not here to teach you how to drive just like you are not on the road to stop people tailgating and dangerously overtaking.

Would I be right in saying you aren't driving that long?

irrelevant,

there is no official way of handling a tailgater !

theres nothing that can be done

you slow down its just gonna annoy them also !
    jackncoke wrote: »

without any warning with somebody less than 3 inches behind you ?

you are most likely gonna get hit.

No,no you are not.****ing hell

irrelevant,

Very relevant
    there is no official way of handling a tailgater !

theres nothing that can be done

you slow down its just gonna annoy them also !

Because this is your inexperience coming through

Not Your Ornery Onager

See, this is where you lose all credibility.....

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

esel wrote: »

That's where he lost all credibility?

I would have thought his first post in this thread was enough..

No,no you are not.****ing hell

ok then, please tell me how you would slow down without pressing the brake pedal with a tailgater behind you so close to hitting you.
    Very relevant

Because this is your inexperience coming through

no because there is (and i'm saying it yet again) NO WHERE TO PULL OVER

and ok lets say i did slow down for some bizarre reason so the tailgater could over take, what happens if traffic coming towards me is heavy ?

Its just gonna piss off the tailgater because you slowed down and now they cant over take !

seriously, think it through !
    esel wrote: »

nope that was Onkle's math skills there.

I'm going to bed. This thread better not be full of personal abuse tomorrow

ok then, please tell me how you would slow down without pressing the brake pedal with a tailgater behind you so close to hitting you.

Come on,its common sense

and what just hope they actually notice you've slowed down without them hitting you with no indication of what your doing ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,572 ✭✭✭jaffa20

iMHO, on country roads, there will always a place to pull over to let a tailgaiter pass by. Be it, a driveway etc. I often do it on a sunday drive just to avoid the annoyance of them behind me so i can enjoy my drive an know i am safe. Otherwise, i don't normally come across them. If i am on a dual carriage way, i'll always move out of the overtaking lane to let the bmw or suv (you know it's true) pass me by. I guess i don't get that worked up over it. Some people on this thread need to take a chill pill.

and what just hope they actually notice you've slowed down without them hitting you with no indication of what your doing ???

Yes. Yes that's exactly it.

ffs.

Yes. Yes that's exactly it.

ffs.

oh ok fair enough, enjoy your hospital stay from the crash so because you slowed down and the tailgater has hit you !

Get into your car tomorrow,gradually accelerate up to 100kmph and then let your foot off the pedal.
    Report back.

Get into your car tomorrow,gradually accelerate up to 100kmph and then let your foot off the pedal.
    Report back.

eh no, simply because if im going to be doing 100KM/H i'm going to be on a dual carraigeway / motorway and if thats the case and theres a tailgater behind me i'll pull into the left lane,

but thats different to the scenario Onkel is describing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

eh no, simply because if im going to be doing 100KM/H i'm going to be on a dual carraigeway / motorway

Wait, what? Why wouldn't you do 100km/h on a national road once conditions were good?

oh ok fair enough, enjoy your hospital stay from the crash so because you slowed down and the tailgater has hit you !

Do you know how slowly a car decellerates when you take your foot off the accelerator?

In the unlikely event of the tailgater hitting me.. It wouldn't be a big deal tbh.

Not Your Ornery Onager

That's where he lost all credibility?

I would have thought his first post in this thread was enough..
    `Fair enough. I admit I only read the first and (then) last page. I'm off to click Unsubscribe now.....

Not your ornery onager

Do you know how slowly a car decellerates when you take your foot off the accelerator?

yes and do you know how slowly it takes for a tailgater to respond when your that close ???

Please tell me you're a learner driver

Well every single one is different so.. No.
    I would assume most can react within 3 or 4 seconds though.

Man.. I'm not trying to sound offensive here or anything but.. You really don't have a clue what you're on about. How long are you driving?

Please tell me you're a learner driver

No i'm not.

I passed my test like most people did by sitting in a car for 35 - 40 mins with a guy looking at everything i do,

and i passed with only 2 grade 2's.

anyway thats irrelevant !
    Well every single one is different so.. No.
    I would assume most can react within 3 or 4 seconds though.

and you really think thats going to be enough ? bah !

I'm leaving it at this if i get a tailgater behind me.

I'm not speeding up nor am i slowing down,

I am staying in my lane to the left where i am ment to be.

If your going to overtake me then go ahead, im not preventing any of that.

I'm not changing my driving style just for you idiots who tailgate (who also deserve to crash if your going to be that stupid)

Yes you can slow down but there is a very high chance your gonna get a bump !

good luck and goodnight cos you guys who support tailgating clearly know everything in Ireland about tailgating and everything to do with it.

No i'm not.

I passed my test like most people did by sitting in a car for 35 - 40 mins with a guy looking at everything i do,

and i passed with only 2 grade 2's.

anyway thats irrelevant !

I'm not changing my driving style just for you idiots who tailgate (who also deserve to crash if your going to be that stupid)

good luck and goodnight cos you guys who support tailgating clearly know everything in Ireland about tailgating and everything to do with it.

Oh.. My..

Please, no moderator lock this thread.

I need to reply to this in parts but I can't on mobile.

Needless to say.. That post is just..wow.

I'd say you have a full license about a month if you do.

Oh.. My..

Please, no moderator lock this thread.

I need to reply to this in parts but I can't on mobile.

Needless to say.. That post is just..wow.

I'd say you have a full license about a month if you do.

please, just dont bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

but if driving at the limit then a driver shud be under no obligation to pull over.
    If the car behind you wants to overtake you, why not let them?
    If you resolutely stick to the limit and stay in lane with someone behind wanting to pass at a higher speed, you know yourself you are being a pr1ck.

Finally, a real computer!

Yes, I expect 4 seconds to far more than the required amount of time for someone to realise the car in front is slowing down.
    I think anyone reasonable would.

Ok, so basically what you're saying is..
    "I have chosen to disregard every piece of advice from more experienced drivers here as to what to do and I'm still going to do what I like"
    Well, enjoy your inevitable crash.

Not if it's done correctly.
    Which you apparently don't know how to do..even though you were told.

No one here is supporting tailgating, would you ever cop on to yourself and grow up.

Finally, a real computer!

Yes, I expect 4 seconds to far more than the required amount of time for someone to realise the car in front is slowing down.
    I think anyone reasonable would.

Without any indication ? it would take longer

Ok, so basically what you're saying is..
    "I have chosen to disregard every piece of advice from more experienced drivers here as to what to do and I'm still going to do what I like"
    Well, enjoy your inevitable crash.

ok you want me to slow down ? your not gonna have any room to over take because of oncoming traffic so i'd only be annoying the tailgater by slowing down and that only asking for trouble.

you might say well pull over but there is no where to pull over
    Not if it's done correctly.
    Which you apparently don't know how to do..even though you were told.

all you said was take you foot off the pedal. if you do that your not giving any indication and could cos a crash, so please tell me the art of it.
    No one here is supporting tailgating, would you ever cop on to yourself and grow up.

you are supporting tailgating by giving them what they want.

Without any indication ? it would take longer

Longer being 4 seconds.
    With indication it should take less than a second, for your average person.

ok you want me to slow down ? your not gonna have any room to over take because of oncoming traffic so i'd only be annoying the tailgater by slowing down and that only asking for trouble.

you might say well pull over but there is no where to pull over
    Well that's just a precautionary measure, it does two things.
    One, lessens the impact if there is a crash and two, makes it easier for this tailgater to overtake when the opportunity arises.
    all you said was take you foot off the pedal. if you do that your not giving any indication and could cos a crash, so please tell me the art of it.

If you had any idea whatsoever of how long it takes a car to slow down then you wouldn't be asking such a stupid question.

you are supporting tailgating by giving them what they want.
    No, that's not supporting tailgating.
    It's supporting ourselves getting home without being involved in an accident.

Would you view yourself as supporting speeders if you didn't block them everytime they tried to overtake you if you were doing the speed limit?

Longer being 4 seconds.
    With indication it should take less than a second, for your average person.

i'll believe when i see it, which is never !

I have witnessed a crash because the driver slowed down without any warning (most likely using your method of just not pressing the pedal) and the person tailgating behind went straight into the person in front and the car in front spun. and this was on a motorway !
    Well that's just a precautionary measure, it does two things.
    One, lessens the impact if there is a crash and two, makes it easier for this tailgater to overtake when the opportunity arises.

It could also cause the crash at the same time. and it may very well but it doesn't make sense to do that when the speed limit is 60KM/H and your slowing down again ? crawling man !
    If you had any idea whatsoever of how long it takes a car to slow down then you wouldn't be asking such a stupid question.

again i'm doing under 60KM/H cos its the speed limit and cars tend to slow down quite a bit.

No, that's not supporting tailgating.
    It's supporting ourselves getting home without being involved in an accident.

Would you view yourself as supporting speeders if you didn't block them everytime they tried to overtake you if you were doing the speed limit?

Who the hell said i was blocking ?

I'm not slowing down nor speeding up and i'm keeping well left in my lane in accordance to the rules of the road.

ffs i'm not swaying in and out of my lane so they cant pass me,

the opportunity to pass is there when it arises regardless of speed.

i'll believe when i see it, which is never !

Jesus fúcking christ man..how can I debate with an answer like that?
    like..you've NEVER seen anyone react to something in under a second?
    or within 4 seconds?

It could also cause the crash at the same time. and it may very well but it doesn't make sense to do that when the speed limit is 60KM/H and your slowing down again ? crawling man !

You've already said on this thread you do slightly under the speed limit, so what are you on about with your "crawling man!"
    It could cause the crash alright but it's more than likely going to prevent it.
    again i'm doing under 60KM/H cos its the speed limit and cars tend to slow down quite a bit.
    Quite a bit? lol..In my car from 60km/h to 50km/h with just taking my foot off the accelerator would taker about 10-15 seconds.

Who the hell said i was blocking ?

I'm not slowing down nor speeding up and i'm keeping well left in my lane in accordance to the rules of the road.

ffs i'm not swaying in and out of my lane so they cant pass me,

the opportunity to pass is there when it arises regardless of speed.

No one said you were blocking, it's called an analogy.

Jesus fúcking christ man..how can I debate with an answer like that?
    like..you've NEVER seen anyone react to something in under a second?
    or within 4 seconds?

by reading my post again.
    You've already said on this thread you do slightly under the speed limit, so what are you on about with your "crawling man!"
    It could cause the crash alright but it's more than likely going to prevent it.

well with your logic your telling me to slow down and let them pass, so im doing just under 60 on a road and theres a tailgater behind me and you want me to slow down again to about 40 - 45 KM/H ... sorry but that would just piss anybody off
    Quite a bit? lol..In my car from 60km/h to 50km/h with just taking my foot off the accelerator would taker about 10-15 seconds.

all cars are different and depends on the gear your using too.

by reading my post again.

well with your logic your telling me to slow down and let them pass, so im doing just under 60 on a road and theres a tailgater behind me and you want me to slow down again to about 40 - 45 KM/H ... sorry but that would just piss anybody off

all cars are different and depends on the gear your using too.

By taking your foot off the accelerator and slowing down that way the impact from behind will ALWAYS be minimal, if they ever hit.
    Not nearly enough to 'spin' the car that you seem to have witnessed..lol, calling major bullshít on that one.

At 60km/h you're probably going slow enough as it is.
    tbh, I'm referring to decent speeds, where bad accidents happen.
    Not little fender benders.

Yes but not many cars will differ from that.
    and unless you're in a stupidly low gear it won't change either.

By taking your foot off the accelerator and slowing down that way the impact from behind will ALWAYS be minimal, if they ever hit.
    Not nearly enough to 'spin' the car that you seem to have witnessed..lol, calling major bullshít on that one.

as i said, motorway speeds and yes it did happen, so that just f*cks up everything you've being telling us to do.
    At 60km/h you're probably going slow enough as it is.
    tbh, I'm referring to decent speeds, where bad accidents happen.
    Not little fender benders.

oh great i'm going slow enough as it is so there's no need for me to slow down, like i've being saying the entire time !!! ffs, waste of time.
    Yes but not many cars will differ from that.
    and unless you're in a stupidly low gear it won't change either.

anything over 60KM/H is fifth. I drive very eco friendly for our environment and fuel saving. (big engine and it never struggles so i dont care what you say about that)

as i said, motorway speeds and yes it did happen, so that just f*cks up everything you've being telling us to do.

oh great i'm going slow enough as it is so there's no need for me to slow down, like i've being saying the entire time !!! ffs, waste of time.

anything over 60KM/H is fifth. I drive very eco friendly for our environment and fuel saving.

My god..
    No it doesn't?! It's one case and you have no idea how the accident even occured apart from yer man going into the back of the other person?!
    How do you know the person in the front slowed down and that the person behind didn't just speed up into them?
    I'm still calling bullshít on it as you would have mentioned it earlier, you're only saying it now to justify the shíte you're coming out with.

We haven't always been talking about doing 60km/h :rolleyes:

and lmao at the last part..yeah good man, Gay Byrne would be proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Hear, hear OP. Totally agree. Take this example:
    Friday a few weeks ago (the 20th of Nov) I was travelling up the M1 to Drogheda. It was about 5:30pm, it was dark, and it was raining. (Remember the flooding) Traffic was heavy enough, so I was continually overtaking in the overtaking lane. Now, I was being bold, and travelling at 130kph. I know, it wasn't big or smart, but I was in a rush.
    Next thing this clown, like a bullet arrives up my arse. Ordinarily, I'd have pulled over and let him past, but the left lane didn't offer a gap to pull in, and I was still overtaking traffic. Considering it was raining, and we were travelling in excess of 120kph I was well pissed off. (S)He was so close I couldn't see their lights (ie: the top of their bonnet from my live of view by my boot).

I pressed my hazards - nothing. This continued for about 5 miles, until I came upon slower moving traffic, and I needed to touch my brakes. At which point they backed off a bit.

Why? Why do this? Fucking clown. Grinds my gears it does.