Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bands You Like Who Were Crap Live

• 07-12-2009 7:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,971 ✭✭✭

Most gigs you hear about were "brilliant" but have you ever seen a band (who you liked) in concert and thought......"Jaysus, this is crap!"

I saw AC/DC and Neil Young in the O2 this year and they were "brilliant"

l also saw Whitesnake (along with Def Leppard, Journey etc) and they were $hite!
    Now l like Whitesnake, l saw them in the old SFX over 20 yrs ago but they're a spent force now.

Coverdale's voice is shot, 2 long and boring widdly widdly guitar solos and a drum solo in a 45 min set!! :mad:

Anway, to recap....have you ever seen a band (who you liked) in concert and thought......"Jaysus, this is crap!"

CPL 593H

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

ISIS when they played the Temple Button Music Factory. :D

Rest (a similar doom/drone band from Cork) were supporting and I thought they were the best band on the night.

I think it was the fact that the drummer kept slipping up in Isis. I mean I'm not a perfect drummer meself and yeah there's been the odd stick drop, but this guy was obviously suffering! It was through numerous songs and trying fills and beats that just didn't go or were too sloppy. And as a result it put me off.

Don't get me wrong they're amazing on disk, but just didn't do it for me live. Left before the encore. Too p*ssed off!

Slayer in The Point in 2006 for the Unholy Alliance tour. Again this was where the support act rocked! (Lamb of God).

And, yeah I know I'm gonna get a lot of hate for this one. But when Metallica played Marlay Park just this summer. Thought it was one of their worse shows. I mean we don't pay to watch Kirk w*nk out some guitar crap while the other guys go for their rehab break. The whole thing just didn't click. They belted out their greats but it was a mish mash set list. And the tempo was completely ruined by (god me memory is shot) that old guy that got up on stage with them......He was dire. Just looked in complete awe at the unfolding comedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 carey

Ive been to see AC/DC, metallica, oasis and kasabian in the last few months.

AC/DC were unbelieveble but at both them and oasis the blizzards were supporting and i thought they were the worst live band ive ever seen
    Oasis were boring but kasabian and the prodigy kind of made that day for me.

The metallica concert was a bit of a let down compared to their previous show i saw last time they were here.

Yeah so i reckon the blizzards are a disaster but a band called the answer played at AC/DC and they were really good, you should check them out!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Bob Dylan at The Point this year, though I expected him to be bad he outdid himself, didn't say one f**king word to us.

Clapton at Malahide last year, no interaction, a bunch of solicitors near us trying to act cool and hip so they could scrounge some dope off me (grow your own you lazy tits) and to boot the sound buggered off during Layla too.

Sex Pistols at the EP last year. FFS.

I was at a gig in Roisin Dubhs in Galway as couple of years ago, went to see The Pale, great band. But the support act were so bad it was bordering on hilarious. Utter ****e, can't remember the name for the life of me.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Tool in the Point a couple of years ago. Hollow, dull, lifeless. They highlight of the show were these lame green lasers. It had lashed rain and everyone was soaked. There was this pretentious water and wind sound playing that just reminded everyone of how uncomfortable they were. also they only played one track off Lateralus iirc and mostly played new material that god awful album 10,000 Days.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

chin_grin wrote: »
    Slayer in The Point in 2006 for the Unholy Alliance tour. Again this was where the support act rocked! (Lamb of God).

And, yeah I know I'm gonna get a lot of hate for this one. But when Metallica played Marlay Park just this summer. Thought it was one of their worse shows. I mean we don't pay to watch Kirk w*nk out some guitar crap while the other guys go for their rehab break. The whole thing just didn't click. They belted out their greats but it was a mish mash set list. And the tempo was completely ruined by (god me memory is shot) that old guy that got up on stage with them......He was dire. Just looked in complete awe at the unfolding comedy.

I think slayer are bored to death of their own predictable setlist outside new album tunes.. very rigid. also was araya's voice shot? happens more n more since the turn of the millenium. most intense shouter in the business is gettn on i guess.. should narrow down their schedule some more. already cut us out of the itinerary

-n metallikur! lol. theyre just good time boys anyhow, long as someone goes home happy as opposed to bloody. albeit it laughing.. for the wrong reasons. denied down to the ground of course by the metallicurchins

• Registered Users Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

bijapos wrote: »
    Bob Dylan at The Point this year...

I thought that was an excellent gig, one of the best I've been to!

Off the top of my head, Ween weren't the best live. I expected something completely different.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Kings of Leon, O2 last Christmas.. Bored. Just like listening to a CD.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Numina

Saw Slayer at Hellfest 2008, and we stayed for the first 2 songs but left because it was just so bad. It sounded really weak. Funny thing is that I actually fell asleep at the start of Raining Blood, you could hear it from the campsite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭Goat Mouth

Numina wrote: »
    Saw Slayer at Hellfest 2008, and we stayed for the first 2 songs but left because it was just so bad. It sounded really weak. Funny thing is that I actually fell asleep at the start of Raining Blood, you could hear it from the campsite.

I remember that, man they were ****e!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Somnus

Lil Kitten wrote: »
    Tool in the RDS a couple of years ago. Hollow, dull, lifeless. They highlight of the show were these lame green lasers. It had lashed rain and everyone was soaked. There was this pretentious water and wind sound playing that just reminded everyone of how uncomfortable they were. also they only played one track off Lateralus iirc and mostly played new material that god awful album 10,000 Days.

Man I thought that was a great gig :P

They played a few off Lateralus as far as I can remember: definitely played Lateralus and I think they played Schism too.

They also played 46 & 2 which was incredible and opened with Stinkfist, which was great. Can't think of any others at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭Zwillinge

I was at Oxegen (schwa) a few years ago and The Counting Crows played. Not their biggest fan, but enjoy what I hear...they were awful! Dull and lifeless stuff.

Same thing happened at an Oxegen previous to that, Red Hot Chilli Peppers played and for a festival gig they were very slow and without much ooomph so to speak!

My own fault for going to Oxegen :P

• Registered Users Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭smelltheglove

Seen Tool a few years ago feckin pants promised so much but the show was absolute bollox,whitesnake this year were not the may west seen them in the olympia a few years ago and they were amazing you can see all the smokin has taken its toll on his voice..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭MelissaLahive

Moby at Feile in the mid 90s. He started out by playing some classics like Feeling So Real and Go then half way through the set he picked up an electric guitar and started playing a thrash metal song. Talk about killing the buzz. 30 thousands fans stood there, stunned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

Lil Kitten wrote: »
    Tool in the RDS a couple of years ago. Hollow, dull, lifeless. They highlight of the show were these lame green lasers. It had lashed rain and everyone was soaked. There was this pretentious water and wind sound playing that just reminded everyone of how uncomfortable they were. also they only played one track off Lateralus iirc and mostly played new material that god awful album 10,000 Days.

+1.. i was so disappointed with that gig especially after how unbelievably awesome they were at ozzfest(toolfest) 2002, the sound sucked big time, and the set sucked even more, i hate it when bands just release a new album and then put 8 or more songs in the set, especially when its a band like Tool who's albums take a few months to digest, the only good thing about that gig was it was the first time i got to see Mastadon live..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Gotta say I've always been pretty lucky in all that the gigs I've gone to have been killer (at least in my own mind!!:D) I'm easily starstruck...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

Bob Dylan in Galway, a few years back was atrocious.

RHCP in Phoenix Park was crap (half hour of John Fruscantie's solo album!:rolleyes:).

Smashing Pumpkins in RDS a year or two back. (I think hot press gave it one star), i was gutted with how poor this was. :(

White Stripes was just ****, a guitar/piano/xylo and two drums, a snare, hats and a crash just don't cut it live.

The U2 360' Tour was sh1te compared to the ELEVATION & VERTIGO tours. Thought the hometown show would be special (like it was for a 3hr show in 2005), but it was the same crowd banter and setlist as all the other shows that tour. V.disappointed.

Although not sh1t, Muse in 2006 was fine but, no banter, interaction and only an hour and 10 mins long, no encore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭zenmonk

RHCP in Phoenix Park was lame as was their gig in Daly mount a few years back (92?).
    Slayer in Marquee in Cork was rubbish, going through the motions bigtime. Sound was bad too.
    House of Pain in Limerick, arrived without Everlast and had some new guy. Played for 30 minutes and walked off to the boos of the crowd.
    Took the biscuit.
    Iron Maiden point depot "No prayer" tour, utter bollix.#

Every Soundgarden gig.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Tool.
    Snooooooore

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Thought Testament were quite poor when I saw them in the o2 this year. It was more down to the sound being really really poor though. It was poor for the start of Megadeth's set too but picked up after two or three songs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

to those of you saying that slayer are bad live, Ive seen them 3 times (twice back to back in hammersmith with slipknot for the unholy alliance and the other in the ambassador in 2005.) They were unbeleivably good all 3 times. Must have been something wrong the times ye seen them!

Metallica weren't great when i seen them in the rds 2003.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,386 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Smashing Pumpkins in RDS a year or two back. (I think hot press gave it one star), i was gutted with how poor this was. :(

White Stripes was just ****, a guitar/piano/xylo and two drums, a snare, hats and a crash just don't cut it live.

Although not sh1t, Muse in 2006 was fine but, no banter, interaction and only an hour and 10 mins long, no encore.

Re: Pumpkins: Lot of that prob had something to do with sound. Was horrendous, but when in a shed on tarmac, cant blame them. Other than that, it was kind of expected for me, so still enjoyed it.

Agreed on White Stripes.

Muse did have an encore that night. Was 3 songs, ending wit Knights of Cydonia. They rarely interact with crowd, it wasn't an exception that nnight. Things do appear to be changing though.

• Registered Users Posts: 978 ✭✭✭JohnnyCrash

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    Thought Testament were quite poor when I saw them in the o2 this year. It was more down to the sound being really really poor though. It was poor for the start of Megadeth's set too but picked up after two or three songs.
    Thought that too! Thought Priest put on a great show also.Begs the question,Are the support acts purpously made sound bad to make the headliners look(sound) good:confused:.Wouldnt be the first time?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,386 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Thought that too! Thought Priest put on a great show also.Begs the question,Are the support acts purpously made sound bad to make the headliners look(sound) good:confused:.Wouldnt be the first time?

One may wonder that alright, its quite legite. Think the support bands don't have full PA though like the main band. Metallica learned their lesson when they gave Kyuss full PA in Australia and proceded to nearly blow the venue away into the next state. For rest of tour was only half PA, so guess its something along those lines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭damonjewel

I've seen the Fall live a few times

And they are very hit and miss (more miss)

I would love to go to a Dylan gig but again its a lucky dip as to what Dylan shows up, Rambling disinterested stoner a la Live aid finale, or a blistering Dylan with Band and a bit of acoustic. For the cash for gigs thats being demanded these days I'm unwilling to take a punt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 gunslinger1987

MGMT at Electric Picnic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭Nea

Biggest disappointment to me was Soundgarden at Sunstroke, White Zombie kicked them off the stage.

Also wasnt impressed with AC/DC at Punchestown, not a big fan tho and the weather and organisation of the gig probably didnt help either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 dopes

bob dylan in galway.

so disappointed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭damonjewel

John Cale in Vicar St- Total dissappointment, a thirty minute version of heartbreak hotel with him warbling whilst playing the Grand Piano was enough for me to say fyck this and walked out. Also annoying is the crowd reverence for these guys, to my shame I should have walked to the front of the stage and told him he was shee-ite

• Registered Users Posts: 14,322 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

The Killers at Oxegen 06 or 07, whichever was the 1st oxegen they played,

the sound was **** and there attitude was awful,

Seen Tool at Ozzfest(2002) and in the rds, 2 years back, both shows were amazing!

They played more than one song from Laterlus by the way,

Main Set

1. Stinkfist
    2. Forty Six & 2
    3. Jambi
    4. Schism
    5. Lost Keys
    6. Rosetta Stoned
    7. The Pot
    8. Wings For Marie
    9. 10,000 Days
    10. Lateralus
    11. Vicarious
    12. Aenema

• Registered Users Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Horgan wrote: »
    Seen Tool at Ozzfest(2002) and in the rds, 2 years back, both shows were amazing!

I saw that gig at Ozzfest, thought it was awful, like watching a bunch of robots play (one who looked like a smurf), and the choice of songs was very suspect, the played (-) Ions FFS, who wants to listen to 4 minutes of static noises???