Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Allocating bandwidth on eircom router

Options
  • 07-12-2009 11:29pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭

Hi,

im in my final year of an honours degree course. Soft dev and comp networking.

For my FYP I am developing a bandwidth management system for a home network.

It will have a web based ui and im wondering how I can allocate bandwidth to different network devices from the website. As in how can i connect to the eircom router from the site and allocate bandwidth?

Any ideas. Im using snmp to get data about the network usage but having trouble figuring out how to allocate bandwidth.

The eircom router is a netopia 2247 nwg

Just found out that i can telnet to the router, so i can write some sort of script to do that. But what i want to know is how exactly can i allocate bandwidth when i have accessed the router?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

mossy464 wrote: »
    Hi,

im in my final year of an honours degree course. Soft dev and comp networking.

For my FYP I am developing a bandwidth management system for a home network.

It will have a web based ui and im wondering how I can allocate bandwidth to different network devices from the website. As in how can i connect to the eircom router from the site and allocate bandwidth?

Any ideas. Im using snmp to get data about the network usage but having trouble figuring out how to allocate bandwidth.

The eircom router is a netopia 2247 nwg