Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

iPoker - 2 Billionth Hand promo - will be dealt today.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭dvdfan

Yeah but i presume they announce this is the 2 billionth hand before you start, but maybe they dont or maybe he didnt know about the promotion, still since it was heads up he still gets $40k so i guess hes the one whos laughing

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭cokedrinker

edit; was posted earlier

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 1.

Betfred poker support are under the impression that after 12 pm tomorrow full details off the winners will be on their website.

So their support just told moi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭lee_arama

AdMMM wrote: »
    Well if you are multi-tabling, you'd probably just be playing your normal game!

^^^^ re: the folding player.

This happened for the billionth hand too if memory serves.... I watched it on PPP that time and I *think* two players folded out and one of those would have won with 2 baby pair? Feel free to correct if I'm mis-remembering.

But on that note one would suspect iPoker should have slowed the hand down in order to run the hand, allow participants to drag Mummy and Daddy down to the bedroom to finally justify the poker hours being put in etc etc etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭Degag

lee_arama wrote: »
    ^^^^ re: the folding player.

This happened for the billionth hand too if memory serves.... I watched it on PPP that time and I *think* two players folded out and one of those would have won with 2 baby pair? Feel free to correct if I'm mis-remembering.

But on that note one would suspect iPoker should have slowed the hand down in order to run the hand, allow participants to drag Mummy and Daddy down to the bedroom to finally justify the poker hours being put in etc etc etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

The freeroll's on Jan 3rd (6pm I think) people!

Yeah free roll is now on January 3rd 18:00 its called Bubble Hands Freeroll and is available to register now, Ipoker seriously need to hire a new PR talent, they make a big promotion for the 2 billionth hand, stick the winner and dont pay him, they dont pay the other person at the table as he folded and to my knowledge they havent paid anyone anything yet or dont intend to.

Then the freeroll which was to include a $2k bounty on the 2 billionth hand winner is now withdrawn because there was no 2 billionth winner and so not only do they pocket the $100k prize money they're that greedy they don't give the $2k bounty or don't even add it as extra seats for the bubble freeroll. Surely if some skins weren't competing in this they had a backup plan in place if the 2 billionth hand wasn't valid someone either side of the hand should be and you don't just pocket the prize money.

Thats not to mention how their forcing other skins (albeit their own fault in the majority of cases) to put them in a situation where if they don't stop their players from playing they'll get a big fine because theres too many winning players. Fair enough they need to find a solution to the rakeback situation but in the end their punishing the players.

Its clear to see that not only are they clearly greedy but they have very little respect for the poker players who are paying their wages and these last 2 fiasco's just look embarrassing on their part. However i might be wrong in some of my assumptions but since there isn't a bounty now it seems obvious there is no winner and since they obviously wouldn't embarrass themselves by announcing there was no winner or prize money giving i cant verify it 100% but feel free to correct me. id gladly boycott the freeroll to show my disgust but i know everyone wouldn't and so it wouldn't do any good and they probably wouldn't pay any attention anyway.

I presume this is just bs and photoshop, i hope so although it wouldnt be that surprising really although i find it hard to believe even if someone had this info they'd be stupid enough to post it in a hand history review.

http://www.pocketfives.com/poker-forums/7/scandal-ipokers-collusion-3819

• Registered Users Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Treehouse72

dvdfan wrote: »
    I presume this is just bs and photoshop, i hope so although it wouldnt be that surprising really although i find it hard to believe even if someone had this info they'd be stupid enough to post it in a hand history review.

http://www.pocketfives.com/poker-forums/7/scandal-ipokers-collusion-3819

I know precisely nothing about computer programming. But instincitvely it wouldn't make sense to me that one skin can unilaterally just turn on a "show mucked cards" button, nor that they could fiddle with the code so that it is revealed to them. Nor can I believe that it is possible and the dozy skin has just accidentally left the setting on - that news would take abut 2 seconds to be all over the forums. Strikes me you'd either not be able to do such a thing at all or could only retrieve the info by digging in the central iP computer (which is presumably not controlled from this skin). Hence, it's a misunderstanding/hoax on some level IMO.

On a positive note, I must remember the limp spp preflop OOP/pot donk flop with 3rd pair/double-barrel 70bb overbet shove line. Good for making guys fold, I'd imagine. Or call, occasionally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭max_power

Did this happen?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

The freeroll was on Sunday night, were you one of the sitouts?

ipoker get to keep their 100k to boot plus the 2k that was promised as a bounty. No winner no bounty. That worked out well for them,fkin cowboys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭max_power

Yup completely forgot about it, heavy xmas sessioning.

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭cokedrinker

The freeroll was on Sunday night, were you one of the sitouts?

ipoker get to keep their 100k to boot plus the 2k that was promised as a bounty. No winner no bounty. That worked out well for them,fkin cowboys.

lol, ridiculous - plus they made ****loads more from rake generated in the buildup to the whole thing :/

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 9 canis lupos

I have not posted on Poker Forum until now but being an old ex ppp player and then VC, I would just like to mention that I would never play on ppp or any skin on Ipoker network. The reasons have already been mentioned like the above(absolute disgrace regarding billionth hand)
    Then penalising winning players LOL, just because they want to increase profit margins.
    I am sure more and more players with some sense and pride will give Ipoker the V salute during 2010and move to the the likes of stars/fulltilt etc.
    I honestly believe Ipoker is going downhill rapidly and won't last if they continue to treat their players in such ways.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Seriously have ipoker still not resolved this billionth hand thing ? I mean WFT! How are they being allowed to get away with this ?

Opr

• Registered Users Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭Monkeybonkers

opr wrote: »
    Seriously have ipoker still not resolved this billionth hand thing ? I mean WFT! How are they being allowed to get away with this ?

Opr

Apathy?

Its pretty obvious ipoker are not in any way worried about their customers, as long as they keep the big names on side then they'll do pretty well, we've seen lately how they've looked after the big name sites by attacking the small sites with fines/expulsion but that just means the players join one of the other sites on ipokers network, they wont lose any revenue because of it they'll just make it harder for smaller sites who's most effective method to attract players is via rakeback to survive.

They didn't build their network up because they've the best software, or the biggest tournaments or the best tournament structures, so that leaves 2 things, rakeback deals which were far more than any other network and getting the bigger sites on board which brought a lot of fish via the sportsbook routes and their ability to advertise.

I'm not going to leave ipoker unless they cut the rakeback drastically or the bigger sites pull out and the fish ratio drops and they know that but most of the serious volume players will be playing with the small/medium sites that offer better rakeback so theres no point in complaining to them as they have no power as we can see from my reply from my ipoker skin to the 2billionth hand scandal and the bigger sites don't have a problem as the serious players aren't playing there.

They wont reduce rakeback drastically though either since that would lose too many players if there rakeback hit low 40's for example then other sites would be much more attractive to the high volume players and reduce their liquidity so the bigger sites are most likely happy to allow them to exist to boost numbers even though their unlikely to get any direct revenue from these type of players it adds to the value of the overall network, so you'll most likely continue to see more sites being cracked down on but not much else will change as ipoker done a good job in getting the network to where it was and they can now abuse that and theres not much you can do about it unless you want to take a pay cut to prove your point but it wont make a difference unfortunately.

Maybe i'm being harsh saying they are protecting the bigger sites as they haven't really done anything wrong but i don't think they would force sanctions on the bigger sites if they were in that situation for risk of losing them where as they dont care about the smaller or medium sites because the players are just recycled to another site

Heres a reply from a well known ipoker skin that i contacted about the 2 billionth hand, sounds as if a reply from ipoker would be a susprise nevermind a solution
    I share your frustration concerning this and have made my thoughts on the matter known to iPoker. I am aware of the forum thread on 2 + 2 and like you, feel that an official explanation is at least required. I have passed your email on to the powers that be at iPoker in the hope that it will prompt a reaction either publicly or personally, or at the very least, make iPoker aware of a growing consensus amongst the poker playing population.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

I just find the whole thing incredible. So they created a fictitious promotion which I am sure hugely increased rake-revenue and new player sign ups. It turns out ipoker duped everyone and gave a big **** you to the winner and said we aren't paying. Pocketed everything and said nothing.

Ipoker quietly snigger at the stupidity of its players and don't even bother to release a statement as they think if they just keep stum it will all just blow over. The players agree its terrible but to hell with it and keep playing.

Sounds very like the relationships the leadership of this country has with its people.

Opr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Grafter

BCB for Taoiseach :D (Brindley will dispute how many chips they had in Florida)

Yeah i agree and i did send an email to my skin to complain but thats my point really, what can you do, take a pay cut and move to another skin to prove your point, will ipoker care? Doubt it, you can see from the reply that even though my skin have contacted ipoker they're not too confident of a resolution or even a reply and basically have no power to enforce anything. You'd expect a reply saying this is totally unacceptable and well get an immediate reply from Ipoker on how they plan to make amends for this cockup not we've forwarded your email and hope they at least are aware of what people think and you might get a reply.

Ipoker dont seem to communicate with anyone and they don't seem to care what they think, even if there was a huge thread on 2+2 or a poker tv channel about what looks extremely corrupt, the majority of people reading it might be disgusted too but wont take a paycut in rakeback.

If another site emerged which offered similar deals and gave a **** about their customers then a few jobs might become available for PR positions in ipoker as they clearly have no PR personnel at the moment but until then i cant see anything happening. To think a team of developers at ipoker still haven't managed to create re-sizeable tables probably a year after a programmer (minimaxmod) with a bit of free time managed to achieve this without access to the source code is pretty laughable, its not as if they have introduced anything notable within that time so you have to wonder if they even have a full time developer working on improvements.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

cuntz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

No comment from BCB or Ciaran on this? Considering BCB started this thread to whore Ipoker and PP it's pretty poor form of him to ignore it now. The least he could do is thank the players for the extra monies PP managed to scam out of people.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

dvdfan there are tons of better sites than ipoker. pretty much no-one should be playing on ipoker. its almost as bad as ongame

• Registered Users Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

lol, until Chuckys post I wasnt asked to comment :) will do so in a while. v busy atm.

• Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭pgodkin

lol, until Chuckys post I wasnt asked to comment :) will do so in a while. v busy atm.

Noel, you really shouldn't have to be asked to reply to this! 1. you started the thread! 2. It makes Paddy power out to be complete tools!

also if i or one of the lads here did hit the hand through your skin and this happened what action would paddypower be taking? would you have still not replyed until asked????

• Registered Users Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

ok - so here is what happened.

iPoker contacted the skins with the intention of running a 2 Billionth hand promo and as with all network wide promotions the skins cop the cost of this so they have the choice to participate or not.

As it turns out the 2 Billionth hand was a heads up hand at 25c/50c I think (may have been mentioned earlier in this thread). The winning player of the hand won with a standard button raise with 52o afair and the other guy folded 104o. The winning player played with a skin who didnt participate in the promo - consequently he got zilch other than a high quality bad beat story. The runner up in the hand won the runners up prizes.

As no contingency was made for the event of the winning player originating from a non participating skin the winning prize just goes nowhere. I dont get the whole 'ipoker have robbed us' vibe as the only person to lose out was the person who won the hand as he played with a non participating skin (though I guess they did with the blinds). All other participants were paid accordingly.

Funny and true story - when the 2 billionth hand occured the losing player, from the participating skin, was sent a pop up notifying him of what was as stake - he obviously didnt read it properly and and clicked on it to remove it from his screen.

there is a moral to this story people - though I bet nobody gets it right.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭strewelpeter

I dont get the whole 'ipoker have robbed us' vibe as the only person to lose out was the person who won the hand as he played with a non participating skin (though I guess they did with the blinds).
    LOL at this, well phrased.
    I'll leave it for someone who cares to pick the low hanging fruit and fling it back at you :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 798 ✭✭✭lucky-colm

yeah stay clear of ipoker

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

LOL, the moral of the story is don't play on iPoker, but I presume that's not the one you're thinking of. Could it be related to this part:
    iPoker contacted the skins with the intention of running a 2 Billionth hand promo and as with all network wide promotions the skins cop the cost of this so they have the choice to participate or not.
    If you're a skin to iPoker, you must bend over and take whatever iPoker offers you, no matter the cost. And since it's not actually a network wide promotion, iPoker really should completely do away with using the term "network wide promotion" as clearly there is no such thing on iPoker.

The whole network really is a complete joke.

So in the end who keeps the 62k?? iPoker? Is it redistributed to the various participating skins? Was it put into the Freeroll? Do you agree with whatever the final decision was? (I presume it was iPoker pocketing it)

• Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭pgodkin

lo friggin L, Noel so are u telling us we all the people work for these skins looking at the best way to min costs and max profits that no one taught of what if a skin that doesn't part take in the promo wins!

I mean i know im not smart enough to work for ipoker but obv its the hand that is closest to that hand from the skin that did part take should win?????? no!