Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UPC offering 30Mbps broadband and problems with upgrade

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭Ranicand

bryaner wrote: »
    Pray tell how every time i log on to thr router page its looking for

a poxy password

I am not being smart but you have a powerful tool GOOGLE.

Your pc has a firewall and the router has a firewall the two mess with the other and that is was causes your packet loss.

You have 3 options look at the model number of your router look up the password for it online give the model number and ask does anybody here know the password or lastly ring 1908 and ask for the password.

Pray tell how every time i log on to thr router page its looking for

a poxy password

Or how about looking at there site.:rolleyes::D

http://www.upc.ie/pdf/4755_UPC_WiFi_Brochure.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Just worked it out cheers

7202371.png

Now to e-mail upc about getting upgraded to 15 meg

Just worked it out cheers

7202371.png

Now to e-mail upc about getting upgraded to 15 meg

See people on boards like this do help people.

Now admit it that was your fault not UPCs.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 668 ✭✭✭belmulletman

Holy Monkey Balls!
    Turning off that firewall in that silly Cisco has seem to fixed everything! Amazing!

Holy Monkey Balls!
    Turning off that firewall in that silly Cisco has seem to fixed everything! Amazing!

What is even more Amazing is people don't bother with the instructions.:D;)

It was the password thing that catching me out thought i had to register

didn't know it could be by passed

It was the password thing that catching me out thought i had to register

didn't know it could be by passed

I just read the manual there is no password unless you set it up.

Save this page in your bookmarks.http://www.upc.ie/customersupport/manuals/

Whats even more amazing is that peoples wives put the instructions by

"SAFE" if you get my drift, fancy word for fooked in the bin

Whats even more amazing is that peoples wives put the instructions by

"SAFE" if you get my drift, fancy word for fooked in the bin

LOL.:D

Ranicand wrote: »
    I just read the manual there is no password unless you set it up.

Save this page in your bookmarks.http://www.upc.ie/customersupport/manuals/

Will do thanks for the help

No problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 668 ✭✭✭belmulletman

Ranicand wrote: »
    What is even more Amazing is people don't bother with the instructions.:D;)

Huh? That makes no sense!
    I've been able to access my modem since I got it, but never though the Firewall would cause all the problems i've been having (plus, there's no metion of the firewall in that!)

Would turning off the firewall on the router make x-box live faster or is it just the

firewalls between the comp and the router that cause packet loss

Huh? That makes no sense!
    I've been able to access my modem since I got it, but never though the Firewall would cause all the problems i've been having (plus, there's no metion of the firewall in that!)

If you have your firewall turned off on your computer and you hook up to an open Internet connection you will soon know about problems.

The other poster was stuck on the password screen the manual solved his problem.

A firewall blocks ports to stop you PC being hacked.
    Two firewalls working together one in the PC and one in the router is a disaster.

Let you know one other thing installing two anti-virus programs on the one PC causes the PC to shut down.

Anyway I am glad your connection is better now.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Dr.Millah

Yea!!
    Finally sorted it

7204620.png

Thanks to the people for solving above.

Would turning off the firewall on the router make x-box live faster or is it just the

firewalls between the comp and the router that cause packet loss

The firewall is complex you can configure it to open some ports and close others.

An XBOX is not going to be hacked and once the PC has it's own firewall it's safe enough.

A firewall has many different settings.

I find the most simple setting is off.

Setting up router firewalls for beginners have fun.

http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleid=1618&page=6

Ahh jaysus me fookin head

Just leave the firewall off.:D

Lol i think so

One last thing make sure you keep your PC firewall on or your PC will be gang raped on the net.:D:D

Lmfao @ gang raped cheers i will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭patrickmooney

Great tip about the firewall! 0% now for me too from 58%.

Glad this has helped a number of people.:)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,090 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Helped me as well. Never knew the firewall was causing that. Cheers guys.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,450 Mod ✭✭✭✭dub45

Interesting site for testing your connection

https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,169 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Quick question lads, I'm in D14 and the UPC site says we're good for all services, grand. Thing is, our phone line was routed to Rathmines when we moved here, something to do with keeping our number I think. Rathmines only get Digital Tv and Digital+. Does this mean we cant get the 30Mb

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,357 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

F1ngers wrote: »
    Filled in the form on yesterday afternoon, got email this evening.

[URL="[URL=http://www.speedtest.net][IMG]http://www.speedtest.net/result/674087605.png[/IMG][/URL]"][/url]674087605.png

Upload is good, but d/l is supposed to be 30Mb/s. :(...will give it til friday before calling them.

[URL="[URL=http://www.speedtest.net][IMG]http://www.speedtest.net/result/674424361.png[/IMG][/URL]"][/url]674424361.png

Getting there, still a bit to go.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Thing is, our phone line was routed to Rathmines when we moved here,

Is your phone line forwarded ( by eircom) from say a Ballyfermot number to a Rathmines number ...do you still pay eircom €10 a month plus for this service ??