Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Wolfsburg v Manchester United - 8/12/09 - 7.45pm (Match Thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭niallk

Must be the smallest combined captainage in Champion's League (adult football?) history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

United lining up 3-5-2according to kevin moran.
    4-4-2 it is then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

United back three of Fletch, Carrick, Paddy.

This could be a painful night.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,466 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

so, eh, what formation are we playing? the one on the pitch is looking different...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

looks like evra has the job on grafite.

fletcher on dzeko.

carrick spare man.

this is fun.

is it fun for utd fans? y'know, in a perverse kind of way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I put a tenner on United.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

United defense look comfortable according to Kev... a grand total of 2 minutes into the game.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

When was the last time Nani & Anderson played together?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

theres a Nani we know and love

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Mad_Max wrote: »
    United defense look comfortable according to Kev... a grand total of 2 minutes into the game.

he said united are looking comfortable

SlickRic wrote: »

fletcher on dzeko.

carrick spare man.

this is fun.

Great craic. It has a Sunday morning kickabout in the park kinda feel about it, where about 6 regular lads don't turn up and you end up with a loada lads in the team you don't even know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭niallk

PIG

Fletch Carrick Evra
    Park Scholes Gibson Ando Nani
    Welbeck Owen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

SlickRic wrote: »

fletcher on dzeko.

carrick spare man.

this is fun.

interesting more than fun

ntlbell wrote: »
    he said united are looking comfortable

He was talking aboutthe defence, I LOL'ed as well. Hes appallingly bad at this TV stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Mad_Max wrote: »

Yes and as long as Wolfsburg don't attack the United defence will continue to be comfortable

The crowd are ever so Christmassy.

niallk wrote: »

PIG

Fletch Carrick Evra
    Park Scholes Gibson Ando Nani
    Welbeck Owen
    Wasn't it you who did this in another match thread? Post the lineup after the match had started, and after other's had already posted?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Gibbo spraying a couple of good passes around

Nani's clergyman touch lets him down
    Wasn't it you who did this in another match thread? Post the lineup after the match had started, and after other's had already posted?

It was probably mink_man..... he likes to do things like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Gibson has made a few nice passes.

Dave! wrote: »
    Gibbo spraying a couple of good passes around

Nani's clergyman touch lets him down

first game in a month. Not going to be match sharp.

flahavaj wrote: »
    He was talking aboutthe defence, I LOL'ed as well. Hes appallingly bad at this TV stuff.

and they had been awsome up to that 2 minutes, did you not see how they passed it around the back with such fenes?? ;)

in fairness - that is an update on the formation. pre-kickoff were 451.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

9 minutes gone and Nani is already annoying me.

What was his excuse when he was getting games regularly then?:pac:

thought Wolfsburg would be all over us

but we look so far in control, very surprising

We should play this formation every week :D

Gibbo still passing well...

good auld mitch

defend him to the end :D

when has he been getting them regularly? He has always been in and out of t he game, and I didn't realise the earlier comment was talking about Nani's touch over his career. i thought it was just this game.

gibson's started great.

utd have actually looked a little more dangerous so far.

wolfsburg, granted it's early on, look a little one dimensional in attack.

and they had been awsome up to that 2 minutes, did you not see how they passed it around the back with such fenes?? ;)

Carrick for England centre-back?

Majestic thus far.

he was too tired ;)

Headshot wrote: »
    good auld mitch

defend him to the end :D

well i ain't wrong. Having not played in a month he is going to have problems.

should ahve been a peno there. lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

Jeeez that was a close call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Julez

pace of yer man

stone wall peno lol how did he get away with that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭kenon

Carrick is a lucky man.

5/6 a side football

Coolmine Sports Centre - Wednesdays - 8pm

PM me for a game

Thread

Majestic thus far.

jinx!

wow, awfully unnecessary sliding tackle from Carrick.

he touched him rather than actually tripped him, if that makes sense.

probably a penalty though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Majestic thus far.

And with that kind of luck he should go far :D

jinx!

Bobby Moore like tackle there.

I'd sooner Carrick to Lescott or Upson CB anyway.

It normally takes Gibson a few stinker shots to get his eye in...

5/6 a side football

PM me for a game

Thread

park and welbeck no excuse being offside open your bleedin eyes lads.

kenon wrote: »
    He's just finding his range

corners will be epic

kenon wrote: »

like a thirsty dart player?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭nicklauski

Terrible miss there. Utd should be 1 down. Bad tackle from carrick aswell. Stonewall peno.

corners will be epic

Zonal marking FTW, fahct.:pac:

kevin moran really does talk the biggest crock of sh*te.

like a thirsty dart player?

Exactly ;)

5/6 a side football

PM me for a game

Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

should have scored with that header, bad miss