Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rock Werchter 2010

• Registered Users Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Roomic Cube

deffo tame good, had great craic last year without the fear of death! bringin an inflatable mattress this year me thinks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

More added:

STEREOPHONICS, CHANNEL ZERO, THE SPECIALS, PARAMORE, CORINNE BAILEY RAE, PORCUPINE TREE, MIDLAKE and THE BLACK KEYS.

http://www.rockwerchter.be/en/news/article.aspx?aid=b9a712f7-b460-4920-9e7c-0387b7aeea39

The Stereophonics makes me happy as I haven't seen them before and like their music.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,385 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Guys, I strongly suggest ye all se Porcupine Tree. You will not/cannot be disappointed by them live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Sounds Familyre

Mushy wrote: »
    Guys, I strongly suggest ye all se Porcupine Tree. You will not/cannot be disappointed by them live.

What kind of stuff do they play?
    I just booked this and am going with 5 mates

We are flying out on the Thursday morning with Ryanair and back on the Tuesday evening with Aer Lingus

I sent a mail out telling my friends about the bands I will attach it below, please reply with your comments and reccommendations for the bands as as you can see I do not know a lot of them

If anyone is stuck for people to go with and those dates suit them send me a pm

Thursday
    MAIN STAGE

FAITHLESS
    I'd say everyone knows this band
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tBrUjvONIrA
    will be ****ing savage way to end to the first night dancing away hammered

MUSE
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pgum6OT_VH8
    Its Muse

STEREOPHONICS
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iUHjDJxkcSE

PHOENIX
    I love these guys, they are french indie pop
    Their best album is Liztomania
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q4MXFOMpVIw
    very easy to get into kind of like vampire weekend with a different sound

SKUNK ANANSIE
    anyone?

PYRAMID MARQUEE

CROOKERS
    ?

BLOODY BEETROOTS DEATHCREW 77
    Met someone from Aiken Promotions thursday night who said they are one of the bigegst acts right now
    know very little about them other than they are two italian guys, hip-hop-ish I think

LA ROUX
    ? know they are popular but no more

THE XX
    Kev thinks they are great, kev why?

MIDLAKE
    Critically acclaimed indie folk, I haven't managed to get into them yet, would say they are a band that takes a while to get into but worth it in the end

KYTEMAN'S HIPHOP ORCHESTRA
    ??

FRIDAY
    MAIN STAGE

GREEN DAY
    Used to love them, not so into their later ****, but will be good to hear the classics again like warning, minority, basket case - technically the biggest band in the world btw
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hitMpM-P-Bs

EDITORS
    Really liked their first album sound very like Interpol
    Their second album is more dancy
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y6QMz0Um_kM worth a look
    Definitely have enough songs to be worth a good 30 mins

THIRTY SECONDS TO MARS Did you know that the lead singer of this band is Jared Leto (main actor in requiem for a dream and loads of other films like fight club)
    They are kind of Stadium emo Rock - very big among younger kids at the moment but have a gid sound and will be good live
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GjJmYnTxT3w

PARAMORE
    ??

RISE AGAINST

??

PYRAMID MARQUEE

LCD SOUNDSYSTEM
    xxxx loves these guys,
    mix of electro dance punk
    Sound of Silver is their big album ye will all have heard of their songs
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dL79-7oo9Xc

THE SPECIALS
    ??

JACK JOHNSON
    Guitarist Acoustic guy, I don't like him most people kind of do

CORINNE BAILEY RAE

??
    THE GASLIGHT ANTHEM

??

SATURDAY
    MAIN STAGE

RAMMSTEIN
    If you don't know this band you must check them out
    they are pure crazy german industrial heavy metal rockers
    yet they kind of have a sense of humour about them like this song
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yl7Pe-yW11w
    about the story of snow white, you will love these guys, just give them a chance
    will be great to go wild and just join in the mosh pit

P!NK
    I think I want to see her live as she will be something different
    although the only song I know is the one she did on last years video music awards its really catchy whats it called?

THE TING TINGS
    Don't know a heck of a lot about these guys except for their annoyingly catchy thats not my name song
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IN4YMli-Esw

GOSSIP
    Standing in the way of control rocks
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4i_c7VU-IgE
    was one of the two big bands launched by skins season 1 (with MGMT)
    anyone know if she/they have any other decent songs though?

CHANNEL ZERO
    ?

PYRAMID MARQUEE

BOOKA SHADE
    ?
    EMPIRE OF THE SUN
    ?

FLORENCE + THE MACHINE
    Possibly the most likely band to be on the radio at any given time,
    no explanation required I'd say
    I think she sounds a bit banshee-ish though

PORCUPINE TREE
    ?

THE TEMPER TRAP
    Don't really now their stuff but its very well considered

DELPHIC
    English Alternative dance
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YHhmyyahh4s
    have decided I really like that after only listening for 10 seconds
    Delphic were placed Third on BBC Sound of 2010.

SUNDAY
    MAIN STAGE

PEARL JAM
    One of the biggest bands in the world yet I know very little about them
    love this song http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1JLztfosqik
    but it is not representative of most of their work afaik

ARCADE FIRE

Words can not describe these guys
    We are lucky to be living during a time when they exist
    Arcade+Fire.jpg

They have too many great songs to reccommend one and they will be playing their as of yet unreleased album also
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DEKC5pyOKFU
    is brilliant
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GEZockGkEyY
    is very easy to get into for those of you who don't know them yet
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AMrZxLwQB4Y
    if you want a softer (less guitar) song

perfection and will be the highlight of the festival for me anyway
    cs-arcadefire20-atlanta12605.jpg

THEM CROOKED VULTURES
    ??

ALICE IN CHAINS
    I know these are huge and old but I know nothing, are they like zeppelin or are they like kiss?

WOLFMOTHER
    Really good craic ozzie band, one of the higlights of our last time
    you may know them from this song which was the soundtrack to the Jackass film
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YKjV_bWnFCM

PYRAMID MARQUEE

VITALIC
    ?? Dance played Trinity ball anyone go?

THE BLACK BOX REVELATION
    ??

THE BLACK KEYS

??

• Registered Users Posts: 3,855 ✭✭✭budgemook

you should learn difference between no know and now

• Registered Users Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

Are there many more bands due to be announced?

There are still a few yeah

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    There are still a few yeah

Cool hopefully there is a big name left, would love julian casablancas or Vampire weekend

how many acts would you gues and do you think they willbe major acts or daytime fillers?

The headline slots are sorted so I wouldn't be surprised to see some early evening slots to be filled.

Saying that some of the daytime acts last year were brilliant. Amy McDonald, Rodrigo y Gabriella and even Limp Bizkit (a time warp back to the late 90's)

Right yeah a petty I thought their could be a headliner left in the pyramid on Sunday night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Sounds Familyre

• Registered Users Posts: 21,385 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

What kind of stuff do they play?
    I just booked this and am going with 5 mates

What sort of stuff do Porcupine Tree play? Well in the most general sense of the term, they are a prog rock band. In songs, they can range from Meshuggah(Scandinavian Heavy Metal Band) down to the lightest acoustic melodies. Literally no point listening to one song to find out anything. But they are phenomonal live, they have a very atmospheric sound too that puts ya in a trance. Will have a video thats from their up-coming dvd now. Flawlss band, and if looking for something different...this is it!

Do check out other songs though. If you want heavier, do Deadwing(album), if more electronic/psychodelic, do Voyage 34, or something in-between, Lightbulb Sun.

The grooving by that crowd is exactly how it always is, not tame at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 346 ✭✭LeoGilly

Cant' wait for this! Leaving Dublin on the Monday. Hitting Amsterdam till Thursday. Then getting the train to the festival. Getting the early morning flight home. Should be amazing!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Belgian music festival running from July 1st- 4th.

So who here has been before? This will be my first Werchter festival and I cant wait for it. Anyone have any advice for someone attending for the first time? Travel tips, what to bring to the festival, what the campsites and crowd are like etc?

The crowd seemed decent - but that was in 1986. Great line up, though. :)

LeoGilly wrote: »
    Cant' wait for this! Leaving Dublin on the Monday. Hitting Amsterdam till Thursday. Then getting the train to the festival. Getting the early morning flight home. Should be amazing!

Nice plan,

want to bring me a present accross the border? ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 346 ✭✭LeoGilly

Mr.S wrote: »
    Make sure yah have enough time on the Monday to get to the airport! If your flying Ryanair, its a good hour+ to the airport! (Aerlingus airport is 15min away)

First train outa the place is around 5:30AM Monday morning, last train on the Sunday night is around 11:30pm.

I'm sure we'll make it. We were goin to stay in Belgium till Tuesday. But we rekon after Amsterdam and four days of camping home time as soon as possible is the best idea!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Censorsh!t

Debating whether to go or not. My friend has a spare ticket and all.

But....I'm not reaaaaly liking the line up.

I've been twice before and its great craic...but, dont wanna spend a load on only about 3/4 bands i wanna see.

Censorsh!t wrote: »
    Debating whether to go or not. My friend has a spare ticket and all.

But....I'm not reaaaaly liking the line up.

I've been twice before and its great craic...but, dont wanna spend a load on only about 3/4 bands i wanna see.
    out of curiosity which band do you want to see?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Censorsh!t

budgemook wrote: »
    out of curiosity which band do you want to see?

The only one really kinda slightly swaying me is Rise Against. And I wouldnt mind some of Green Day's old stuff. But that's about it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

BLOODY BEETROOTS DEATHCREW 77
    Met someone from Aiken Promotions thursday night who said they are one of the bigegst acts right now
    know very little about them other than they are two italian guys, hip-hop-ish I think

Nah they're not hip-hop at all really, more electro/dancey stuff. These days though they've a heavy rock sound to them as well because they're playing as a live band (used to play DJ sets, now playing with keyboards, samplers, guitars, drummer etc..).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EjkhnuCdBd8

Saw them in the Academy last week and they were amazing. Kinda disappointed they're playing Rock Werchter because it rules them out of Pukkelpop which I'm planning to go to...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

Mr.S wrote: »
    Bands can play both Werchter and Pukkelpop:)

Bloodybeetroots are playing Electric Picnic 2 weeks after Pukkelpop, so they should be at Pukkelpop aswell:)
    Cool, good to know, I thought it was like Oxegen/Electric Picnic where if acts play one festival they generally don't play the other.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Brimmy

Frieds all finally got their acts together after I stepped up and said I'll get all the tickets. Went to book them this morning as I had to wait on money to go o my credit card and its sold out now :(

Brimmy wrote: »
    Frieds all finally got their acts together after I stepped up and said I'll get all the tickets. Went to book them this morning as I had to wait on money to go o my credit card and its sold out now :(
    Sold out is it? Guess I'm not going this year so. Wasn't looking like happening anyways. Oh well.

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭laoise09

TG i booked my ticket fri nite. one of my mates tried today but sold out.

some of my mates are thinking of staying in brussels & commuting to and from the gig every day (they have 4 combi tickets). anyone know if its possible to do this? are there buses/trains after the gig each night back to brussels?

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭markcellardoor

whoa. did not expect this to sell out. Didn't sell out in 2008 when i went last. The capacity to this thing is huge.

Have 2 tickets myself but need 2 for some friends.

laoise09 wrote: »

some of my mates are thinking of staying in brussels & commuting to and from the gig every day (they have 4 combi tickets). anyone know if its possible to do this? are there buses/trains after the gig each night back to brussels?
    There's a train alright but would you tell them to cop on and stay in a f**king tent. It's a festival for God's sake, that's where half the fun is - The campsite. Brussells is a kip.

That is a hell of a long way to go for a sleep. If tents are not their thing why not stay in Leuven.

Agree with the previous poster. Brussels is a kip.

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭laoise09

ya i know brussels isn't great. best thing about it is the celtica bar and thats irish.

leuven is booked up nowhere to stay there

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭fincollins

4 day tickets are now sold out guys! only friday tickets available....:eek::(:mad:

they've set up a waiting list for next available ones...

http://www.proximusgoformusic.be/en/fest/rockwerchter

i dont know how probable it is for more to become available

its months away, so hopefully they'll release another few hundred :o

glad i got mine :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

We got our tickets .. can't wait now !!

Tis no hassle for us as we live in the Netherlands just over the border, about an hour and a half drive :D

FYI you could fly from Dublin to Eindhoven that weekend (About 90 euros return) , stay overnight and get a train from Eindhoven to Roosendaal, then your Wercher ticket will cover you from there to Leuven. Bus from Eindhoven airport to the center is about 2 euros, so all in all your transport from Dublin to Wercher would come to 120 euros return excluding an overnight stay in Eindhoven.

You could try couchsurfing, big community here and you'd get to meet a bunch of nice dutchies.

AFAIK Since the big train accident in Brussels theres alot of work going on so may have reduced service on some lines.

Come on July !!! :D wooooooooooo !
    ya i know brussels isn't great. best thing about it is the celtica bar and thats irish.

leuven is booked up nowhere to stay there

Jaysus .. second the other guy, stay in a tent. Your travelling to Belgium to go to an Irish bar ... ! :D ? ??