Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "live as it happens" Budget comment thread....

• Registered Users Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

There goes 5% of my wages!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Rujib1

20% pay cut for the Taoiseach - nice!

Bet Mrs Biffo. will have to do her shopping in Newry after this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

amacachi wrote: »
    By that logic there's no point in trying anythin, is there anything we wouldn't trust them to not **** up? :P

That would be my thinking generally with regards to FF.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Thank you Carbon Tax...this is before any price-per-litre increase

Petrol +3.5%
    Diesel +4.4%
    Natural Gas +6%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I'm so happy to see them take the public sector by the balls and not fold to the unions. Fair play to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

thought the PS cut would be more.. especially for higher paid...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭Liam79

am i right in saying someone on 34k will now be down 5%?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,282 ✭✭✭westtip

The beards are geting their placards out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

thought the PS cut would be more.. especially for higher paid...

Thought it was on the button

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭CityCentreMan

Pay cuts for the Dail - esp ministers not deep enough!

What's the new "Social Levy" in 2011 as reported on RTÉ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 547 ✭✭✭iseethelight

7.5% more than I expected but thats life. I'll survive (just).

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

He mentioned cuts for the first 30k, 40, and 55k.... what happens after that 125k???

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,255 ✭✭✭ongarite

WOW some foresight.
    The hidden time-bomb of future pensions is being addressed. Fair play.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Liam79 wrote: »

I think 30k @ 5% and the next 4k @7.5%

I completely agree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

PS reaction to the pensions shall be interesting.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

That first 5% is very steep. 2-3% would have been more palatable and I'm not a public service worker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

They need to cut the number of TD's by about 50%. 166 TD's for a population of 4.5 million is ludicrous. Plus the Seanad needs to be aboilished.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Liam79 wrote: »

I work it out 5% of 30k and 7.5% of €4k but I will stand corrected on that ..

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

DeVore wrote: »
    He mentioned cuts for the first 30k, 40, and 55k.... what happens after that 125k???
    No cut, looks like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭BluntGuy

So far, so predictable quite honestly.

€0-€30,000 - 5%
    €30,000 - €70,000 - 7.5%
    €70,000 - €125,000 - 10%

I'm fairly sure that's what he announced.

What about money over that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Thank you Carbon Tax...this is before any price-per-litre increase

Petrol +3.5%
    Diesel +4.4%
    Natural Gas +6%

Don't think they'll touch the actual duty on them. Remember to add VAT as well. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

DeVore wrote: »

DeV.
    He mentioned 8% - 12% for those earning between 125k and 200k, didn't he?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,282 ✭✭✭westtip

ongarite wrote: »
    WOW some foresight.
    The hidden time-bomb of future pensions is being addressed. Fair play.

Agreed wasn't expecting that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Mayoegian

Rb wrote: »
    I'm so happy to see them take the public sector by the balls and not fold to the unions. Fair play to them.

Oh youre happy to see people struggle to pay, to live?? The trade unions were damn well right to do what they did and what theyre gonna do. Cop on and stop with this vendetta against the Public sector.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭hellboy99

Is the cost of living going to come down to meet all these cuts and new taxes :rolleyes: :mad:

This is a disaster of a budget :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,583 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Mayoegian wrote: »
    Oh youre happy to see people struggle to pay, to live?? The trade unions were damn well right to do what they did and what theyre gonna do. Cop on and stop with this vendetta against the Public sector.

Lol - will the PS accept fairy money for their wages?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

100€ Job seekers !! New apps

• Registered Users Posts: 40,867 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Well there goes the scratcher for young people.

My sister's fecked