Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Route 66 Maxi 4.3" GPS (UK and Eire Maps w/ memory card) - €53 delivered [Amazon]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭death1234567

10% discount for me (better than kick in the face) and a very fast response. Good to see an internet site with great customer service, so many horror stories about internet sites (ebay, pixmania etc.). Probably could have pushed for a higher % discount but I'm happy with it. :D.

degsie wrote: »
    Contacted Route 66 support to inquire about free map updates and got the following reply:
    :(
    Anybody else have any luck with free upgrades?
    You must have worded your email wrong. I emailed them and they said this:
    In order to receive a voucher code you need to send us the copy of the invoice and a picture with the device screen displaying the menu "Extras - Maps".

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 1,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭Slaanesh

20% woohoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,036 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Nice one Slaanesh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,065 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Normally, in this situation, I would create a replacement order for the incorrect item right away, to be dispatched to you as soon as possible at no additional charge.

However, in this case, because the replacement will not arrive in time, I am uncertain of the best solution.

I can still arrange for a replacement to be sent to the same address. If this solution will not work for you, we can simply issue a refund for the item, along with the associated delivery costs.

Please let us know whether you would like a replacement or a refund.

Ive just replied, flat out asking for a partial refund. I even suggested 20%! Hope that doesnt go against me!

What way did you word it Slaanesh, out of curiosity ?

I just stated that I did not want to return the product, just that I was disappointed that I had received a refurbished product when it was described as being 'new'. Bingo :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Have to hand it to the people @ amazon
    ordered a mirror there on saturday came to £31.69 (with free shipping)
    went to check my order today because ti still hasn't left and the price has went down to £19.99, wanted to try cancel it an reorder at the new price, but it has been dispatched today
    but the kind customer service refunded me £11.70
    So i got the UK vat rate, and also free shipping on it. happy days :)
    great service

Lenny wrote: »
    Have to hand it to the people @ amazon

great service
    I've said it numerous times before - all the other online retailers could learn a lot from Amazon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Rooy

basquille wrote: »
    I've said it numerous times before - all the other online retailers could learn a lot from Amazon!

i totally agree ,great customer service for such a large corp.

I order this Route66 @53 when it was out of stock. Got an email a few days later that they could no longer get stock and the order was cancelled. I then saw it again at the original price , emailed them this and no problem they will now honour the original purchase , with free faster postage , and all emails within an hour or two , will definitely be recommeding them.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

yea they're great, didn't think I'd get such a quick response at all because ya usually don't with a large company and then get fobbed off, and being christmas an all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,750 ✭✭✭degsie

You must have worded your email wrong. I emailed them and they said this:

How did you word your email and to which email address did you send it?

Please accept our sincere apologies for causing this inconvenience.

As per your interest ,I have requested a refund of 9.50 GBP to your payment card equivalent to 20 % of the original cost

:cool:

How did you word your email and to which email address did you send it?

Address : support@66.com

Hello,

I recently purchased a *Route 66 Maxi 4.3" GPS (UK and Eire Maps w/ memory
    card) *as a Xmas present. I have heard that I need to send an email to you
    with my receipt in order to get a code for updated maps. Is this correct?

Regards
    XXXXX

REPLY:

Dear Madam/Sir,

In order to receive a voucher code you need to send us the copy of the invoice and a picture with the device screen displaying the menu "Extras - Maps".

Kind regards,
    Iren Balint

ROUTE 66 Customer Support

Cheers for that. Sent the invoice & pic to support. Lets see what happens next :)

But to take a picture of the device screen would you not have to open it and turn it on ? Mines a Christmas present so dont fancy doing that.

Are ye all not going to put tomtom maps or other ones on it anyway ?

Tusky wrote: »
    Are ye all not going to put tomtom maps or other ones on it anyway ?
    I installed TomTom without a problem.. but couldn't get it to detect maps.

Ive never used a sat nav before so Im not really sure how they work.

But are you saying that you use the same maps, regardless of what software is on the machine ? I thought each software came with its own maps.

No, that's not the case at all.

Each sat nav provider has their own set of maps.

But to take a picture of the device screen would you not have to open it and turn it on ? Mines a Christmas present so dont fancy doing that.
    Mine's a gift for my dad so I am just going to wait to give it to him and then get the picture of the device screen when it turned on. If your giving it to someone who you won't see to often, I just give them a printout of the amazon reciept with the price blacked out and then let them email route 66 with a pic of it and the device screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭webels

Are you getting any error, i got them to work fine. I have a feeling you need to be very precise about where you put the maps ie the root of the card

I could send you a copy of mine. I'm sure the Amazon one are all the same version.

That would be much appreciated! I'll pm you my email address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Bazzy

First, please allow me to express my sincere apologies for any frustration that has been caused. It is certainly not our intention for our customers to have anything but a pleasant experience at our store.

We do take full responsibility for any errors made during delivery. In an effort to compensate you for this inconvenience, I would like to offer you a refund of 30% of the purchase price of this item, equivalent to a discounted price of 14.00 GBP.

NICE!

Bazzy wrote: »
    NICE!
    Fecker! :D

Bah, the eejits refunded me the whole item price and then the 20% aswell. So I've made €10 on buying the GPS. Damn conscience, going to write them an email now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

God damn it,why did I sit on the fence on this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Bazzy

The trick is not to go in with all guns blazing I started off the first email with how upset i was is a christmas present etc and when they wrote back with the speel I fired back a small compensation would see the issue resolved all nicey nicey

I also thanked them in the 2nd mail for writing back so fast then I cleaned the brown off my nose :)

Nice people in amazon!

I recieved a pm off someone asking how to put the tomtom software on this device,
    I may aswell post the info up here to help everyone
    For the links you will have to pm me

OK, I've just spent the guts of an two hours seraching around for the files that should do you and downloaded them, I don't have the exzact versions that I have on my r66 but these should work, if not refare back to www.gpsunderground.com
    its bit of a nightmare because there is so many different versions of everything. patience is the key to it and reading up
    yep to be honest I had tried about 2 years ago and gave up, I thought my tomtom satnav got robbed and couldnt stand using the r66 an its brutal for searching..
    Your goig to need a 256/512 mb sd card first.
    so on the SD card rename the folder route66 to any youre choosed name(so its kinda backed up)
    then make a new folder route66 copy the tomtom windows ce 5.0 software in there

rename navigator.exe to r66n8.exe and copy it with new name r66navigate8.exe so the two files are the same only the name differs. if you forget one of them it might not accept i experience.

create a folder in route of the sd card calls "MAPS" so it should be along side of the route66 folder, extract your map data here.
    then open the automatic keygen, I think its best that you have the sd card directly connected to your laptop for this part. and run the key gen

insert the sd card in R66 mini it then automaticly start tomtom, follow install procedures and then select the preferences, the go to GPS status,
    click on configure, and select "other NMEA GPS reciever", and use the settings
    gps is com2 baud rate 38400.
    go for a spin with the satnav, it may take about 10-15 mins to find the sats for the first time

then it should all work fine !

Goodbye R66, hello tomtom !

Cheers for that Lenny...

Works great on the Route66 I got for my brother. The problem I was having with it failing to detect maps was I put the individual map files in a folder inside the 'MAPS' folder whereas all the files should have been copied there.

I am having one problem with it though - the volume on the TomTom is really low (even though it's set to be 100%).. wonder is it a problem with the pre-loaded voices or the software?

Anyone else have this problem, or can suggest a fix? Much appreciated.

EDIT: This might be worth a shot!

Yea no probs on that mate, did you use the versions I gave you?
    yea I forgot the mention that the sounds on mine is really really low, its actualy not hearable. managed to do without it so far i have!
    Just checked your link there, did you do that process? can you hear them a lot more, or just a tiny bit?

Yea no probs on that mate, did you use the versions I gave you?
    Did indeed.. cheers!
    yea I forgot the mention that the sounds on mine is really really low, its actualy not hearable. managed to do without it so far i have!
    When I was using it last night before I dropped it down to him, I thought it sounded low as I set it up to 100%, and wasn't very audible (especially when driving I'd say).

Will give the method above a shot this week, and let you know if it improves matters!

Yea I'm sorry I forgot to say about the low sound.. if you do your method the sounds might becomes muffed cause they're being increased..
    did you happen to know if the version I gave you had lane assist on it?(on the bottom of it it shows howmany lanes are up ahead and highlights the one you should be in..

Yea I'm sorry I forgot to say about the low sound.. if you do your method the sounds might becomes muffed cause they're being increased..
    No worries man.

I've increased MP3 volume before using Audacity (due to the EU restriction on iPod volume) and they can sound fine. Just increase them a fair bit (6DB or so), but don't have them up the full way.
    did you happen to know if the version I gave you had lane assist on it?(on the bottom of it it shows howmany lanes are up ahead and highlights the one you should be in..
    Not sure.. haven't seen it in action yet. It's my brother's sat nav but I'll get it before the weekend to try the volume trick trick, and I'll bring it out for a spin to see if lane assist is on it.

Found this site if you wanna give the increased volume a shot: http://www.ozpoi.com/TomTom_Voices_+3db.html (these are voices already increased by 3DB) - just unzip them into the voices folder.

Let me know if you try it and it works well.

Lenny..

Give this a shot - http://www.basquille.net/data161.zip

What I did was I took the "Sean - English (Irish)" voice, then seperated out the commands to all the OGG source files, increased them all by 9dB and re-compiled them.

Put the 2 files (data161.chk, data161.vif) in the ZIP file above into the voices folder - best to back up your existing data161.chk & data161.vif first (rename them with '_backup' at the end or something) so you can get them back.

It's definitely louder.. don't think it's sounds too muffled, but let me know what you think. Might try and lower increase of 6dB if it's not quite right.

EDIT: Here's the "Sean - English (Irish)" voice with an increase of 6dB: http://www.basquille.net/data161_6db.zip Sounds better than the 9dB one I think. Let me know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭orchidsrpretty

I am having trouble getting the code for the map update I sent them the email I got from amazon but they are telling me that even if I purchased it off the internet I should of got a reciept with the device:confused: Can anyone help:o

They're talking crap.. I e-mailed them and forwarded them the Amazon invoice, and kindly asked for a map update and they never even got back to me! :mad:

They might mean the order confirmation you got with the parcel containing the Sat Nav but that's pretty much identical to the e-mail Amazon sent you.

Print it out.. and fax it to them! ;) Odds are they'll accept it then.