Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway 12 pubs 2009

• 09-12-2009 4:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13

Anyone got a handy list for Christmas 2009 all within reasonable walking distance of course!

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

An old list I stole here
    http://12pubs.com/venues/galway.html

@ 1530 McSwiggans
    @ 1600 Garavans
    @ 1630 Freaneys
    @ 1700 Murphys
    @ 1730 O Riadas/Front Door
    @ 1800 Neachtains
    @ 1830 An Tobar
    @ 1900 The Living Room
    @ 1930 The Galway Arms
    @ 2000 Monroes
    @ 2030 Roisin Dubh
    @ 2100 Massimo

Could do with some adjustment but probably still doable

• Registered Users Posts: 8,173 ✭✭✭Wompa1

@ 1530 Bar 903
    @ 1600 Richardsons
    @ 1630 Skeff
    @ 1700 Cellar
    @ 1730 Kings Head
    @ 1800 Freaneys
    @ 1830 The Dail Bar
    @ 1900 The Quays
    @ 1930 Spanish Arch
    @ 2000 Buskers
    @ 2030 The Front Door
    @ 2100 Kellys

Just a random list of pubs that would be in some sort of order...if it was me I think I'd spread them out and stomach the walk to go to pubs I'd prefer but tis up to yourself

• Registered Users Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Just start on Quay Street and make yer own way. Planning these things is hardly any fun.

• Registered Users Posts: 825 ✭✭✭3fullback

Its going to be €1.44 cheaper Due to the Budget :D

• Registered Users Posts: 45,491 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

Magnus wrote: »
    An old list I stole here
    http://12pubs.com/venues/galway.html

@ 1530 McSwiggans
    @ 1600 Garavans
    @ 1630 Freaneys
    @ 1700 Murphys
    @ 1730 O Riadas/Front Door
    @ 1800 Neachtains
    @ 1830 An Tobar
    @ 1900 The Living Room
    @ 1930 The Galway Arms
    @ 2000 Monroes
    @ 2030 Roisin Dubh
    @ 2100 Massimo

Could do with some adjustment but probably still doable

@2130 Supermacs :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

rarnes1 wrote: »
    @2130 Supermacs :D

Vinnies surely:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭McTigs

Murphys
    Freeneys
    neacthans
    Dew Drop
    Kellys
    Salthouse
    Monroes (with a pizza)
    Roisins
    Bierhaushe
    fuchin blue note
    Mashimos
    Ish zhat the fuchin crane over zhere lads *belch* who's left?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

Eating is cheating :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 698 ✭✭✭hoody

McTigs wrote: »
    neacthans

when we did it last year, we arrived in neachtans only to be told they "don't allow groups of 7 or more" (why 7?) but then they recognised one of us and it was grand, just a heads up for ye though. doing 12 pubs on saturday week, don't have a list though, anyone know where to find a christmas jumper?

• Registered Users Posts: 546 ✭✭✭gaillimhabu

Ours this Sat. In it's 4th year. We vary it a bit most years.
    Neachtains don't like crowds for some reason. Maybe they thinks it's a stag.

12 Pubs 2009!!!
    4.00pm - 5:00pm : Monroes - Food
    5:00pm - 5:35pm : Townhouse
    5:35pm - 6:10pm : Neachtains
    6.10pm - 6:45pm : Freeneys
    6.45pm - 7:20pm : Murphys
    7.20pm - 7:55pm : Kings Head
    7:55pm - 8:30pm : Taaffes
    8.30pm - 9:15pm : Garavans
    9.15pm - 10:00pm : O'Connells
    10:00pm - 10.45pm : The Front door - Sonnys Bar
    10.45pm - 11:30pm : The Dew Drop
    11.30pm - close : The Slate House - Busker Brownes

• Registered Users Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭Col200sx

Last year we managed to do 12 pubs, 1 pint in each, starting from Crowes on Prospect Hill, stopping in every bar we passed.

Ended up doing 15 pubs, and finishing in the Living Room drinking pitchers of cocktails (or so I've been informed):D

Absolute must-visit pubs on the 12 pubs of Christmas are: Miles Lee/Dew Drop In, Tigh Coili, Taaffes and Freeneys.

Can't beat the good old man pubs;)

Col200sx wrote: »

Absolute must-visit pubs on the 12 pubs of Christmas are: Miles Lee/Dew Drop In, Tigh Coili, Taaffes and Freeneys.

Id add Garavans to the must visit list also. The atmosphere is great in there on Christmas eve aswell well woth dropping in there for a few after the last minute shopping.

• Registered Users Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Starie1975

We're having ours on the 23rd.

Tigh Taffee
    Ti Colí
    Kings Head
    Murphys
    Freaneys
    Sonnys
    Bunch of Grapes
    Tigh Neachtain
    The Dail Bar
    The Quays
    Buskers
    ...and finishing off in the local - The Dew Drop

• Registered Users Posts: 356 ✭✭Shanley

Why not try something different (plenty of exercise too!)

Start Bierhaus
    - Blue Note
    - Massimo
    - Crane Bar
    - Wards Hotel
    - The Cottage Salthill
    - PJs Bar
    - O'Connor's
    - Krcma
    - The Office
    - Killorans
    - Lonergans

Much more fun! :P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Blasphemy not to mention Murphys when naming such places :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 318 ✭✭useurename

be careful when entering as a group in to some pubs during the day with 20 people.blu note massimo and crane would be fairly stict on not letting 20 people into a pub after 9 pubs and its only 7.00 pm.same as cuba/ellar kings head.did it last year.great craic but very messy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Mr.Mago

Can be very messy alright. Were starting in Crowes in Bohermore and then making the way to Forster Street and from Eyre Sqaure to Quay Street.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,099 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

doing it on saturday 20 strong should be good espically after the prodigy concert on friday.roll on friday!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Stumbled across some acquaintences doing it last year, all very official, had the barman in each bar sign for the pub they went to! Guess its good to have proof the next morning :D oh and teh ability to retrace your steps if you have memory loss! :D:D

I was out on Friday night in Taffee's. I was there for a good skip of drink. A large number of groups were in and out during the night. I've never seen the doorman so busy. I plan to do the 12 pubs on Wednesday but after what I saw and after speaking to a few barmen (Dáil Bar, Dew Drop and Taffee's) We'll be lucky to get into any bars. One group of about 15 came in and dropped there pints glasses on the ground after finishing there drinks. A group of 35 came in to the Dáil bar and caused havoc.

Behave dudes, please don't feck it up for the rest of us.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Starie1975 wrote: »
    One group of about 15 came in and dropped their pints glasses on the ground after finishing their drinks.
    I hope these **** had to clean it up or pay.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭Col200sx

Was in Murphy's for a pre-Xmas-work-do pint Friday night round 8, and in walked about 15 lads (obviously on the 12 pubs...), bar man said "no chance lads, not tonight" or something to that effect and they realised they weren't getting served there, left and off they went.

Off topic but an interesting sign hanging below the TV behind the bar: "No stag parties & no hen parties"

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭rivalius13

I used google wave to organise the 12 pubs this year. Finally found a use for the thing!

Magnus wrote: »
    I hope these **** had to clean it up or pay.

Nope, too many off them, the doorman (hardy buck) got two of them and a few of the barmen came out to support, but the bar was weged.

I didn't want to use the term but yes a bunch of ****.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,966 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Was in Murphy's for a pre-Xmas-work-do pint Friday night round 8, and in walked about 15 lads (obviously on the 12 pubs...), bar man said "no chance lads, not tonight" or something to that effect and they realised they weren't getting served there, left and off they went.

Off topic but an interesting sign hanging below the TV behind the bar: "No stag parties & no hen parties"

I've seen a few signs like that, less lately as the economy's got tighter. "No hens or stags" policies are pretty common, just not everyone makes 'em official. And some are only applied to particularly troublesome looking groups.

IMHO it should only be allowed to count as a "12-pubs" if you don't get chucked out of anywhere, and still get served in #12.

• Registered Users Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dec25532

Went on a 12 pubs on Saturday night in Galway. Stomached after 10 and had to bail out. Fcuk this getting old crack!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,815 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Neachtains don't like crowds for some reason. Maybe they thinks it's a stag.

It's not a superpub.
    Stand outside, send in a pointman to bring out the tray.

Anyone on for "12 offies"?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

Must be the worst pub for that sort of thing, its like a shoe box.