Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sunderland

• 09-12-2009 4:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭

Alright lads, I'm new to the Soccer Forum, keen Sunderland supporter, born and bred, and I'm just wondering what your opinions are of Sunderland AFC?

Personally, we've been dogged by false dawn after false dawn and obviously you all know that Quinn saved us from turning into a much less successful Leeds. However, it now seems that we have actually have something to look forward to under Bruce for the first time in many years, since the Peter Reid days 10 years ago really.

I'd be interested to hear your thoughts and opinions on us as a club and I'll be happy to answer any questions or queries you have regarding us if you so wish :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Qwerty27

Question for you.....what did you think of all the Irish that jumped on the bandwagon when Keane took over? Know some of them might have moved on by now but for a stage there were plenty of Irish goin over for matches and such, even though you were in Championship. Only Irish link now really is Quinn, not sure where Darryl Murphy is these days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭therokerroar

Qwerty27 wrote: »
    Question for you.....what did you think of all the Irish that jumped on the bandwagon when Keane took over? Know some of them might have moved on by now but for a stage there were plenty of Irish goin over for matches and such, even though you were in Championship. Only Irish link now really is Quinn, not sure where Darryl Murphy is these days!

To be fair, it was arguably the most high profile Irish Sportsman ever's first journey in the managerial world, to work under another huge Irish sporting hero, in which many Irish players were purchased to play for SAFC, it was always going to attract many Irish to start following the club as it was the first time in many a year that there was a chance to change from the norm of supporting Manchester United or Liverpool.

As you have said many have moved on, but the fact crowds were dropping to around 20,000 for the first time in years meant that the extra 'bums on seats' and income wasn't to be scoffed at, I certainly didn't complain about it, and lets be honest, it gave SAFC a bit more high profile the just being what most people thought of and I quote 'a small team from Newcastle' (Grrrr).

As for Daryl Murphy, don't get me started on that man. He's often seen driving around Sunderland in his nice shiney new car, he loves sitting on his arse picking up his cash for doing nowt, he's had chances to leave, but he won't go anywhere else as no other club can match his current wage at Sunderland, I suppose that's not his fault, it's Keane's for offering him that sort of deal, but any footballer with an ounce of ambition would seek regular football, especially when it's clubs like Hull City offering him deals, it's not as if it's lower league clubs.

O'Donovan is still here too, but he's playing reserve team football now and has stated he knows his time here is done and is seeking a move away, fair play to the lad for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

Well I reckon yous have gone from relegation battlers to top half team in a very short space of time, so you must be happy. You've got a proven manager who has been backed by funds which always helps.

Jones and Bent is a pretty deadly strikeforce and they both offer different options. I reckon yous should take 8th this season which has to be seen as a massive improvement.

Whether you can take the next step up and grab a European spot is a different matter. Spurs, Villa and City are all improving consistently and even if you continue to spend decent chunks of money it'll be hard to compete with these teams financially (Villa you might be on a level playing field with).

I backed Sunderland for a good season at the start of the season and It looks like you will finish high up the table. A decent FA Cup run and it would have to be seen as a very good season.

Can I ask what were your expectations as a Sunderland fan for this season, and what are your (realistic) expectations for the near future?

Morzadec wrote: »
    Well I reckon yous have gone from relegation battlers to top half team in a very short space of time, so you must be happy. You've got a proven manager who has been backed by funds which always helps.

Jones and Bent is a pretty deadly strikeforce and they both offer different options. I reckon yous should take 8th this season which has to be seen as a massive improvement.

Whether you can take the next step up and grab a European spot is a different matter. Spurs, Villa and City are all improving consistently and even if you continue to spend decent chunks of money it'll be hard to compete with these teams financially (Villa you might be on a level playing field with).

I backed Sunderland for a good season at the start of the season and It looks like you will finish high up the table. A decent FA Cup run and it would have to be seen as a very good season.

Can I ask what were your expectations as a Sunderland fan for this season, and what are your (realistic) expectations for the near future?

Good post mate, thanks for sharing your opinions.

As for my own expectations this season, I have to say I'd be very happy with anywhere from 12th.

One can't forget how far we've come in a short space of time, just remember four seasons ago we finished bottom of the Premier League with 15 points. It's quite astonishing, IMO, how we've gone from that to taking points off the likes of Manchester United, Arsenal, and Liverpool this season.

The thing we need to sort out is our away form, it's what's holding us back from progressing to that 'next level' of challenging for 8th onwards. Although we've beaten the likes of Liverpool and Arsenal, we've gone out the next week and lost, away from home, to Burnley, Stoke, Wigan etc.

It will take time and Bruce will get it right, he needs another two or three transfer windows to sort out the rest of the team though, full backs mainly as he focused on fixing the spine of the team when he took over in the summer, but the key thing for us to have is patietence. Looks at The Mags for example, finishing in the Champions League places, Sir Bobby has a poor run of games at the start of a season, they sack him and look where they are now. A finish of 12th would be a very solid progression for me.

As for the future, as I've said, I think Bruce needs another couple of transfer windows to sort out the wide areas in defence and midfield and we could be looking at pushing on to the 'next level' then, but for the immediate future, mid-table will do just fine for us.

With a net spend of about £15m this season we've done remarkably well IMO. Getting rid of players such as Whitehead for the same price as we paid for Lorik Cana and getting Cattermole and Turner in for £6m each has been superb business IMO and it's amazing to think what Bruce can do as regards bringing top class players to the club if we can become a decent top half side.

The future's bright, that's for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭IRISHSPORTSGUY

Alright mate? I'm Sunderland supporter, my Dad was born and bred in Pennywell and he gave me no choice. Used to get loads of stick in class in a land where Liverpool and Man Utd reign supreme. :D Do you post on RTG?

Delighted with Bruce so far, we're making good progress. Frustrating beating the bigger teams one week, and then slipping up to the likes os Burnley and Stoke but c'est la vie! Cana is a class buy and an absolute steal at £5m - can't believe Bruce managed to convince him to come! Think we'll finish comfortably finish mid-table, maybe even challenge for Europe if Bruce makes some astute signings in January.

In January I hope to see two attacking minded full-backs (Bardsley is woeful going forward, and McCartney is just woeful period), a winger (badly lack pace down the flanks) and a physical striker to challenge Jones to keep him on his toes.

Oh, and a quick note on our Andy Reid - think he's been outstanding this season but take him off set pieces ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Boo ;)

Having said that, Bruce has done a fantastic job with your lot thus far this season.
    He's even gotten the best out of Darren Bent who I honestly never rated as a player until lately.

Look forward to playing you next season. :D

Alright mate? I'm Sunderland supporter, my Dad was born and bred in Pennywell and he gave me no choice. Used to get loads of stick in class in a land where Liverpool and Man Utd reign supreme. :D Do you post on RTG?

Delighted with Bruce so far, we're making good progress. Frustrating beating the bigger teams one week, and then slipping up to the likes os Burnley and Stoke but c'est la vie! Cana is a class buy and an absolute steal at £5m - can't believe Bruce managed to convince him to come! Think we'll finish comfortably finish mid-table, maybe even challenge for Europe if Bruce makes some astute signings in January.

In January I hope to see two attacking minded full-backs (Bardsley is woeful going forward, and McCartney is just woeful period), a winger (badly lack pace down the flanks) and a physical striker to challenge Jones to keep him on his toes.

Oh, and a quick note on our Andy Reid - think he's been outstanding this season but take him off set pieces ffs!

Alright mate, nice one, I'm originally from Redhouse, born and bred a Mackem, like you my Dad was also a Mackem, same as you I used to get too much stick lol, especially during the 19 and 15 point seasons. I do post on RTG, I'm usually never off it but the Mods over there seen fit to give me a months ban for posting an inappropriate link, do you post on there?

Like yourself, I'm also delighted with Bruce, when I was asked in the summer who I wanted to take over as soon as Bruce's name was mentioned he was the one I wanted, a manager who takes teams down the wrong end of the table and establishes them as a Premier League side, but with the ability to progress even further if he's given funds, he was the ideal choice IMO. I still can't believe we got Cana for a little more than we offloaded Deano for like, what a class piece of business that was.

I think Bardsley has improved immensely under Bruce to be honest mate, although he isn't 'next level', as I can't remember the last time he crossed the halfway line, he's certainly decent enough on the defensive side of his game, and would be a good player to have as back up considering there will always be injuries and suspensions, as we're finding out the hard way now. I agree about McCartney to a certain extent too, he hasn't looked the same player we sold to West Ham and his injury record is unreal anarl.

Basically on signings, from what I hear, the Figureoa deal is all but done, Wigan couldn't find a replacement for him in the summer and only for that we'd have got him there and then, he will be ours though. Hutton in a swap deal for Ferdinand has also been proposed and those two signings would see both full back positions improved, and also remember that Egyptian full back Al-Muhammadi we had on trial during the summer, I reckon he could be another heading our way if we can agree a price this time. Adam Johnson would certainly give us more options on the wing and as he's a Sunderland fan and from the area, he's definitely on our radar, as for a striker I'm not so sure Bruce will try for one considering we have Campbell in reserve.

Aye, I agree about Reid and the set pieces, I think Henderson mentally needs a rest so I'd get Zenden on in place of him and also on the set pieces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

What's the story with S'lands yank owner? where is he getting the cash?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Why is it so damn cold in Sunderland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

dreamers75 wrote: »

Cos they've no soul there. ;)

What's the story with S'lands yank owner? where is he getting the cash?

Ellis Short.

He made his fortune in private equity and hedge-fund management and then teamed up with a business partner in a company called Loan Star Funds, eventually becoming president, the company is now worth over £8 billion.

That's basically how he made his money mate, I'll post a link to a more detailed account of it for you:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2009/may/28/ellis-short-sunderland-owner-profile

Generally the further north you go the colder it gets mate ;)

We people of the North East are well used to it by now :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Generally the further north you go the colder it gets mate ;)

We people of the North East are well used to it by now :cool:

Coldest place i was ever in and i was in the alps :p

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I was at the United game in the Stadium of Light on St. Stephen's Day 2008, you're not wrong! Was freezing my bollix off... Took shelter in the club shop with my United scarf on, was getting a fair few looks! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I've had some good trips up to Sunderland, but it is bloody cold up there.

I like Sunderaland as a club, but I did get a bit put off when all the johnnie come latelys turned up.

I still hope you lose Saturday though ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I've been impressed by Steve Bruce, of the various ex Utd stars turned managers he's the pick for me. Has a good eye for a "middle ranking" talent and has managed to build a squad thats pretty decent (better than the parts) and allows him to push on to the next level, Europe - in the next season or two.

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    I was at the United game in the Stadium of Light on St. Stephen's Day 2008, you're not wrong! Was freezing my bollix off... Took shelter in the club shop with my United scarf on, was getting a fair few looks! :pac:

I remember that game actually, you won 4-0 didn't you? Ronaldo scored an absolute screamer of a free kick IIRC?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I remember that game actually, you won 4-0 didn't you? Ronaldo scored an absolute screamer of a free kick IIRC?
    That's the one! I actually missed that goal, sick I know! United were on fire that day, and Sunderland were very poor. It's amazing how Sunderland have gone from that to where they are today in such a short space of time. They really are a club on the up.