Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Soccer Forum Awards Nominations Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

i am.

its gonna be like the oscars in '98 with Titantic cleaning up :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Mr Alan wrote: »
    i am.

or the Razzies with Catwoman cleaning up.

depending on how you look at it. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

i am.

One we all look back at and wonder, "How the **** did that ****e win?" :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

4 out of 9! :D

Get the Speech ready AL . you'll be a most deserving winner.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Lads can you please link to the Awards/Threads/Rants of the year, some of them are easy to find if you give the title but for posts of the year it's hard to find with just a description.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭manutd

Best Poster: Headshot (Sorry Mitch Connor, it was close)

Most likely to be banned in 2010: Mr Alan

Most Successful Sh*t Stirrer: minkman

Services to Irish Football: Des

Best Newcomer: EireDearg

Poster Who Always Defends The Indefensible: Mr Alan

Poster Who Left too Early: Eirebhoy

Thread of the Year: Are Liverpool ( and Rafa ) done

Rant of the Year: French hand ball

RTE coverage moment of the year: Dunphy with his 63 and a half years line.

Funniest Moment: Hull manger (Phil Brown) singing, after staying up last season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Dont get what all the fuss is about liverpool and rafa thread. Clearly neither are done yet. Will this thread be up until Rafa eventually goes. Starting to get a bit embarrasing at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭GO'S

Best Newcomer: GO'S :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,680 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Best Poster: Mitch Connor

Best Newcomer: mink_man (sorry slickric)

Thread of the Year: Are Liverpool ( and Rafa ) done? (first thread I open after every liverpool game ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭manutd

GO'S wrote: »
    Best Newcomer: GO'S :)
    No, you here since 2006

manutd wrote: »
    No, you here since 2006

That's nothing, I'm here since 03 and still a noob .

The Muppet wrote: »
    That's nothing, I'm here since 03 and still a noob .

I read that wrong for second :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

wats with the nominations to be banned?! i've never been banned from this place!

famous last words

• Registered Users Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Most Biased Poster: Mr Alan

Most Successful Sh*t Stirrer: Mr Alan

Services to Irish Football:John Delaney

Thread of the Year: Should Rafa go, or whatever its called

Post of the Year: The Liverpool circle jerk parody

RTE coverage moment of the year: Ive managed to stay alive for 63 yers baby

Fuhrer wrote: »
    Most Biased Poster: Mr Alan

Services to Irish Football:John Delaney

Thread of the Year: Should Rafa go, or whatever its called

Post of the Year: The Liverpool circle jerk parody

RTE coverage moment of the year: Ive managed to stay alive for 63 yers baby
    Thats Should Wenger go. Other thread is Are Liverpool (or rafa) done (yet). Added the last word myself there giving the longevity of the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

It's a grand shame that some of the submissions in this thread have been solely motivated by a desire to score points and further tit for tat battles running elsewhere on the forum.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭CR 7

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    It's a grand shame that some of the submissions in this thread have been solely motivated by a desire to score points and further tit for tat battles running elsewhere on the forum.

Maybe most people haven't seen the 'nominations' bit in the title. It seems everyone is using this to cast votes, with the amount of repeated nominations. Is it safe to say at this point that everyone who will be nominated already is?

Virtual hooliganism. Its turning into a pandemic. It must be wiped out

Maybe most people haven't seen the 'nominations' bit in the title. It seems everyone is using this to cast votes, with the amount of repeated nominations. Is it safe to say at this point that everyone who will be nominated already is?

Your correct in saying that this is nothing but a nominations thread.

The vote threads will come in the next few weeks. At the moment I'm just logging how many times a certain person is voted so I can pick the most popular in that categrory for the final vote.

And once again can you please link to any post/rant/thread of the year. It's very hard for me to find a post by someone saying "So and So's parody on X." Please link to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Isn't the idea of an SF awards thread becoming obsolete?

It looks like virtually the same handful of threads\users are a shoo-in again.

And the lion's share of the voting seems to be along the same tedious LFC/MUFC fault-lines that make parts of this forum unreadable.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭CR 7

Frisbee wrote: »
    Your correct in saying that this is nothing but a nominations thread.

The vote threads will come in the next few weeks. At the moment I'm just logging how many times a certain person is voted so I can pick the most popular in that categrory for the final vote.

Should it not just be that anyone who was mentioned, even once, should be included in the vote options? It could easily be the case of a person having being mentioned once, then others who think the same mightn't deem it necessary to nominate them again.

stovelid wrote: »
    Isn't the idea of an SF awards thread becoming obsolete?

It looks like virtually the same handful of threads\users are a shoo-in again.

And the lion's share of the voting seems to be along the same tedious LFC/MUFC fault-lines that make parts of this forum unreadable.

I would agree 100% with this, but if people want it and are willing to manage it themselves (which seems to be the case) then go ahead it shall. I do feel it is worth registering dissatisfaction with the whole concept though.

Should it not just be that anyone who was mentioned, even once, should be included in the vote options? It could easily be the case of a person having being mentioned once, then others who think the same mightn't deem it necessary to nominate them again.

You can have 10 poll options, so the top 10 in each category could be included in a final poll I guess.

The way it was done last year was the 5 most voted go into the final round of voting, I'm just sticking with that template.
    I do feel it is worth registering dissatisfaction with the whole concept though.

You weren't saying that when you won Best Poster last year... :pac:

I kinda feel that they weren't as tribal last year though? I could of course be mistaken on that point, but it is my perception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,432 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

imo the only way of doing it right is to have an individual nominations thread for each category. Makes it easier for people if they don't have to think of 7 or 8 nominations at once. Would be very messy though.

I kinda feel that they weren't as tribal last year though? I could of course be mistaken on that point, but it is my perception.
    Jesus its only a bit of fun. Whats with all this tribal nonsense

Liam O wrote: »
    imo the only way of doing it right is to have an individual nominations thread for each category. Makes it easier for people if they don't have to think of 7 or 8 nominations at once. Would be very messy though.

It seems to be working fine so far, I've just got all the nominations saved in an excel file.

And there will be different threads for each vote when it comes to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,732 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

It seems to be working fine so far, I've just got all the nominations saved in an excel file.

And there will be different threads for each vote when it comes to that.

When do the nominations close Frisbee?

Boggles wrote: »
    When do the nominations close Frisbee?

I've actually been thinking about that.

Probably leave them open until Sunday, get the thread locked and then put up the voting threads on Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,732 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Best Poster:

alanmurphy83
    Mitch
    MementoMori

Best Newcomer:

SlickRic
    Nicklauski
    Kess73
    The Muppet

Thought it was one vote per category

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

to be fair, there's no mention of one vote per category.

at the end of the day this isn't the vote anyway, it just gives us the nominees.

i'm sure if there's other candidates that you want to put forward you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,109 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

SlickRic wrote: »
    i'm sure if there's other candidates that you want to put forward you can.

/puts on fake mustache

Hello, I'm Mr...Snrub...I say we all nominate that Rebel guy, he's so super awesome!

snrub0bc.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭GO'S

manutd wrote: »
    No, you here since 2006

ive only had access for like 2 months though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

h-h-h-h-how ye lads...first time readin this thread and to be frank im quite surprised by the nominations by some people...best newcomer...most successful s**tstirrer and most likely to be banned in 2010...
    fair play

• Registered Users Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Best Poster: Whatawaster

Most Biased Poster: Mr Alan / Boggles

Most Successful Sh*t Stirrer: Ntlbell

Best Newcomer: Has to be Fink Goldie. (can't believe he hasn't had more nominations - in some of the other categories even!)

Poster Who Always Defends The Indefensible:
    Boggles. Defense of Rooney's diving - then he turns round & does it again

Thread of the Year: The Rafa goes Crazy thread. Alot of humble pie had to be eat by the majority who posted in that back in Jan / Feb time (hopefully the same can be said for the Rafa is done thread!)

Sorry I haven't linked to specific threads but Frankly I don't have the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Liam O wrote: »
    Tbh I think mink_man has most likely to be banned sewn up ;)

maybe best thread too for the 130 reasons to hate Liverpool (not sure on the number) which I thought was hilarious :D

Yeah, hilarious. 130 reasons (most of them repeated) where liverpool fans are called scum, pr!cks and murderers!!!

Thread of the year??!!! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭Y2J_MUFC

Best Poster: flahavaj (p_larkin, a close second).

Best Newcomer: mink_man

Thread of the Year: 131 reasons to hate Liverpool. Just the cheek of it alone deserves recognition.

RTE coverage moment of the year: Dunphy, baby.

Rant of the year: (and also for Funniest moment): Archimedes with: "Jesus christ. I know Liverpool are going through a tough time, but drugs are not the answer.

Benayoun £20 million
    Kuyt £20 million
    Mascherano £30 million
    Reina £30 million

Please, do go on, because im sure you've broken the collective hole of this forum from laughter, and f*ck it, its miserable weather outside so we could do with some more. Just go back and read that again to completely grasp how utterly f*cking ludicrous it is"

no capitals scan and you left out the "_" :pac:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

mink_man wrote: »
    no capitals scan and you left out the "_" :pac:

you tell him mink_man...

i will lordy!

Bump

Gonna leave this open until Tuesday, so get voting if you already haven't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Best Poster: Redout

Most Biased Poster: Mr Alan/LuckyLloyd

Poster Who Always Defends The Indefensible: see biased poster

Thread of the Year: Are Liverpool and Rafa done

RTE coverage moment of the year: Souness/Dunphy squaring up

When do we get to vote?

i think its closed tuesday so tomorrow presumably..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Best Poster: Des

Most Biased Poster: Mr Alan / Boggles

Best Newcomer: ?

Poster Who Always Defends The Indefensible: Most liverpool fans

Thread of the Year: The rafa is done thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Best Poster:
    eirebhoy
    Most Biased Poster: