Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Things to do In Chicago (merge)

• 09-10-2007 12:23am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭

Heading to Chicago for a week with the missus at the end of the month and looking for some good places to eat, a bit of everything some cheat eats and a couple of nights in somewhere decent any ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

Giordano's. It's just off Michigan Ave (look for the Taj hotel, and this place is just on the next corner). They do amazing deep dish pizzas. Portions are huge and very reasonably priced. Don't bother with starters or you'll have no room left for your pizza!

Down on Navy Pier there are all sorts of eateries and most of them are pretty bad. At the front of it there's a Bubba Gumps, which specialises in shrimp (duh) and it's okay. Again, big portions.

Smith and Wollensky's which is on the river, just up from Michigan Avenue bridge is very good for lunch and worth the money.

• Registered Users Posts: 247 ✭✭Wobs

Check out www.metromix.com they give lots of reviews of restaurants, bars etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭useless

Personally I prefer the Chicago Chop House to Smith & Wollenskys for steak, but both have a good reputation.

Tempo on E Chestnut St 1 block west of Michigan Avenue for breakfast.

Would second the recommendation of Giordanos for pizza, or try Pizzeria Uno on Ohio/Wabash. HUGE pizzas!

Have a great trip!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 bellton

Just back from Chicago...a mate lives over there for last 7 years so hes good for info:

There's a place called La Scarola, an Italian beside an Irish bar called Emmets.
    If you get to Grand and Milwaukee El station, you cannot miss it. Really good food, gets packed though...and you would possibly need reservations on weekends.

Wildfire is a great steakhouse and same deal...reservations possibly on the weekend. Rib eye is particularly good

Potbellies is great for sandwiches during the day. I think they are all over

Portillos was another one recommended to me, but I never got to it

You might need to do a quick net search to find the places, where I cant remember location. Worth it for Wildfire.

Enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭damienom

Ditka's is a good spot for steak as well, just over the road from the Hancock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭Wisesmurf

damienom wrote: »
    Ditka's is a good spot for steak as well, just over the road from the Hancock
    MMMMMMM

+1 for potbellies as a snack. Pisses all over scumway.

Man I love Chicago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Taters

I'm heading over to Chicago in about 3 weeks time, and I'm just wondering what I should do there. I'm mainly looking for good shopping spots right now. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

first thing make sure you pack your thermals :D i was there at the end of January last year and it was about -17C during the day, windchill made it feel about -23C, not saying it will be like that again this year but Chicago is one cold city during the winter

As for shopping there is a huge mall about 10 miles northwest of O'hare airport in the townland of schaumburg called Woodfield Mall http://www.shopwoodfield.com/

there is a fairly big shopping centre in the middle of town called Chicago Place http://www.chicago-place.com/directory.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭limerick_man

Cant believe it wasnt mentioned, one of the worlds main shopping streets the Magnificent Mile is right in the heart of the city, there is almost a thousand shops between the on the street ones and the ones in like 5 shopping centres that are along the street. Pricy though! The likes of NikeTown, The Disney shop, Apple shop (with lecture theatre), whats fun about Micighan Ave is that the shops all have something about them. Be aware, the A&F megashop has a half nude man and woman standing outside, very intimidating if your a guy!!!!! haha...

The museum of science and industry is great, head down to the Millenium Park in downtown Chicago too. Sears Tower is just by the loop, a bit expensive though, go to an ice hockey game (Chicago Wolves are the B league side, so those tickets are cheaper), Navy Pier is fun for a while, the worlds largest Aquarium is there too, there is plenty to do... theres over 50 museums and stuff.

I strongly recommend going to the Chicago Cultural Centre, thats an open building for tourists and locals alike... they have loads of brouchures and lots of information about what to do around the city and how to do it!

Enjoy it, and wrap up warm!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭wandering_star

I'm heading there for a week next week, and I've been so up to my eyes in work for both uni and work work that I haven't been able to consider what I'll do over there.

So far, I just want to see the bean, but other than that I've no ideas. Help. I'd also like to find a nice pub where I can let the hair down.

Alas I won't be there for Paddy's Day.

Any ideas would be appreciated, thank you!

x

wandering*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 939 ✭✭✭chicken_food

Hit rush division-its the one of the best places to go out in and have a great time. Its over by wrigley field. If you can-go to sixflags amusement park,well worth a visit.
    Just at the bean is a outdoor stage where theres always free concerts and activitys going on. People bring BBQ's etc and people swap food for drink etc and its a great atmosphere.
    The hancock tower is another must-expensive drinks but worth it for the views.
    Along the artificial beach is a 'ship' sunken into the water/sand which is a club. Crazy doesnt do it justice-anything goes really. Can't remember the name.
    For nice food-try out the cheesecake factory at the hancock tower.
    Check and see if there are any Baseball games on, its only training season but there could be one on while your over there. Its a nice day out and really cheap.

Chicago is one of my favourite cities in the world-its unbelievable! Im so jealous!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Jackz

Get on a boat a Navy Pier its a great way to see the skyline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭louisecm

There is an architecture river cruise you can take ( http://www.architecture.org/tours.aspx ) which is really really amazing even if you're not into architecture because the buildings in Chicago are really amazing. Go to Tavern on Rush, amazing restaurant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

an nba game at the united center, ok they are not the chicago bulls of the 1990s with jordan, pippen and rodman leading the line but a live nba game especially in chicago is still an experience

the bulls have two home games next week against the high flying Utah Jazz and the 76ers http://www.ticketmaster.com/artist/805914

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Popsicle

I would definitely recommend an architecture river cruise. Also, if you are in to art in any little way, the Chicago Arts Institute has some great collections.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Beelzebub

Chicago celebrates St. Patrick's day 2008 on Saturday 15th March downtown and 9th March on the Southside.

The John Hancock Centre/building - great views and fantastic buffet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Chicago is the home of the blues and the best blues bar in chicago is Buddy Guys, http://www.worldsbestbars.com/public/venue_listing.jsp?categoryId=13&currentVenueId=84 this bar is a real find, like something from a movie, i also love howl at the moon, a piano bar that is unlike anything you'll find in Ireland, http://www.howlatthemoon.com/

If you can ,make sure you get to a cubs game at wrigley field, the atmosphere is amazing and wrigley field would be considered one of the best places in the US to watch baseball.

Finally if its a hardcore pi**up you're looking for then look no further than Kincades bar, its located at the armitage stop on the brown line (that will make sense when you get to chicago) its a great bar that always has specials (dollar bottles, 3 dollar pitchers, 2 shots for 2 dollars and so on and so on!!!!!!!!!)

There are som many things to see and do you definately wont be disappointed, i wish i was going with you!!!!!!!!!!:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭wandering_star

Thanks for the suggestions lads, I'm back now, and I'd a great time, I LOVED the chicago arts institute, I was completely bowled over by all the stuff that they had, stuff that I'd been reading about for years and years-Rodin's dock workers, "American Gothic", Duhrer (*sp) prints, etc, etc, it was amazing. Alas Wrigley park was off the cards as it wasn't the season for it (*insert grumble here). I went to loads of really cool places (I loved the area around Belmont, so chillaxed, but equally I loved downtown), and met some really cool people, I'd go into the details but ye'd get bored by all the stories ending in, and then we went to the pub.. :D I'd recommend Chicago to anyone!
    Thanks lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Innervision

Hi folks,
    Myself and a few friends will be in Chicago for 5 days on our way to San Diego this summer, just wondering what's worth cramming in in this time? We really like the idea of six flags, is it worth dedicating a day to? Anyone have any idea how much it'd cost roughly for a day?
    Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭oblivious

Not sure if you would be interested in any of these but what the hell, enjoy

Chicago -Breweries/Brewpubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,903 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I went to Six Flags and it was great. Bit of a trek to get there and back though as it's in Wisconsin. Good and all as it is though, at the end of the day it's only a theme park so might not be worth wasting a day on if you've only got five.

Try get yourself out to Wrigley Field for a Chicago Cubs day baseball game. The atmosphere is brilliant, especially after the game when everyone goes on the tear. I could recommend a few good bars/clubs if you want to save you the hassle of going looking for them.

Also take a walk down the magnificent mile and go see Navy Pier, which is pretty cool. Oak Street beach is in between the two and swimming in Lake Michigan is a must just to say you've done it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Innervision

Oblivious, they wouldn't really be my thing but i'm going with 6 lads and I think they'd definitely be interested thanks! Thanks for that Xavi, I reckon we'll use a day for it so cos we're all theme park freaks :D and the beach and Lake Michigan definitely sound worth a visit! Would love to hear of any decent pubs or clubs you know of, how strict are they ID wise? Not too comfortable bringing our passports out, would a full Irish driving licence do with maybe a photcopy of passport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,311 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

They're very strict with ID. The strictest I've come across in the US. The biggest pub/club area is around the Rush & Division streets. Not going to recommend any individual places as you'll find one that suits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

sears tower is a pretty good place to visit, amazing views from the top. and as someone else said, try get to a cubs game, great craic. we went for dinner one night on the top floor of the hancock building and it was great, amazing views over the city and good food and cocktails too. its a bit fancy but worth it. we hadnt booked, just turned up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭s_carnage

Not too comfortable bringing our passports out, would a full Irish driving licence do with maybe a photcopy of passport?

A driving licence is adequate. I was there for a summer and that's all I ever used. The museums up near soldier field are great for a few hours and you get a fantastic view of the whole of Chicago from there. I totally agree with Xavi about the Cubs baseball game. We went to quite a few while we were there and it always turned into a great day/night out!!!

We also hired out kayak's and went up through Chicago on the river. The place we hired them out is along the river on your way down to navy pier from the magnificent mile. You could also just go down to navy pier and get one of the tour boats which bring you up through the city and then brings you out on the lake for a bit aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

We've booked to go over this month to see the gf's friends who now won't be there so we'll be without tourguides.
    She definitely wants to go to an outlet mall and I've found one in Aurora (maybe I can get my photo taken outside the cafe from Waynes World with the giant hockey player on top of it if it exists after checking the web it was shot in california:(), but is that the best place for outlet shopping or is there anywhere nearer ?

Also any funs things to do around the city apart from sight seeing. I did a mafia tour in NY before, are there any tours like this in Chicago (not mafia) ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,546 ✭✭✭Enii

Have a cocktail in the bar in the John Hancock Building! Fab view on a clear day.

• Registered Users Posts: 45 heinze

hi all,
    just wondering if anyone has advice on things to do in Chicago. Heading over on tuesday for a week with a few mates and was wondering if anyone has any tips or advice.
    one thing i do know, is that its cold.. -16 tnite!! :eek:

cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 nochalito

What are the ages of the group and what kinds of activities are you looking for?

For museums I would suggest the Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, or the Art Institute. All of them are relatively close together and they do have some free days so look that up.

For drinking it really depends on the age group and your style. There are plenty of places to go out in Chicago. Clark and Division is one decent area, and another great strip is in Wrigleyville at Clark and Addison. Both of these areas are easily accesible off the red line.

For a fancy drink go to the Signature Lounge at the top of the Hancock observatory. It is on the 94th floor and it is free to go up as long as everyone buys a drink. Doesn't have to be alcoholic but it will be close to $10.

For a cheap drink try Duffy's in Lincoln Park on Friday night if you are around. $20 gets you all you can drink beer(anything on tap) or wells(mixed drinks) and finger foods from 6:00 to 11:00 I think. On Tuesday night if you are up for it Joe's on Weed Street has $0.25 Coors light draws and $2 pitchers along with half price pizzas. These places are both a little off the beaten path, but a short, cheap taxi drive from downtown.

If you are looking for something else or other reccomendations let me know.

Heh, forgot to mention food, one of the most important things about Chicago. Try any of the pizza places, Giordano's is my favorite. Get the stuffed pizza. It is pricey but huge, I challenge you to eat more than two pieces. Get there early because it takes a long time to cook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

If you are a bunch of lads go to the area near Wrigley Field or around Wicker Park - great nightlife.

Should be good basketball, football and ice hockey on now.

• Registered Users Posts: 45 heinze

thanks folks , ive heard Giordano's is a must try alright. well theres 7 of us male & female, going over for a mates wedding, all in our late 20's so im sure we'll take in a lot of the night life and sights during the day. thanks again.
    cant wait!!

A couple fun bars for mixed groups are "Howl at the Moon," a sing along piano bar which is quite fun. It is on Hubbard Street in River North which is right downtown. Another good bar is Slugger's in Wrigleyville. Same idea with a regular bar downstairs and piano bar upstairs after a certain time and they also have batting cages, so you can put your drunken baseball skills to the test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,924 ✭✭✭deisedude

Hi Guys, I'm heading to Chicago around New Years for a few days. Has anyone got any suggestions of things to do bar the obvious attractions or the best way to ring in New Years? Thanks:cool: