Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

(Java) Sound Analysis?

Options
  • 11-12-2009 10:34pm
    Registered Users Posts: 428 ✭✭

Hi, I'm a third year student doing computer science in UCD and have been thinking about what I would like to do for my final year project. I got the idea of a sound analyser that would take a MIDI file and convert it to sheet music, or even ABC notation.

I'm just wondering if its possible to make this program in a reasonable time frame or if im being overly optimistic, also, any tips on making this type of program would be greatly appreciated.

EDIT: The programming languages I am using at the moment are Java and C++, I would prefer to use java but if there is any reason why you think C++ should be used instead, please let me know

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Webmonkey

I don't think you need to do sound analysis. (Can be quite complicated getting into lots of electronic engineering maths with wave analysis/filtering etc...)

Instead... the midi file format is a standard that you can obtain if you search on internet. Then you can parse the header and get more information about the file as you go through it recording the instruments and notes and time lengths...

I don't know anything about music though so I could be wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 267 ✭✭Tears in Rain

Are you sure MIDI is what you mean? A MIDI file contains control data for a synthesiser, essentially a sequence of notes, including pitch and volume data. Constructing sheet music from that would not be especially hard, and probably not the standard required for a final year project.