Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Aston Villa vs Man Utd match thread

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

3 poxy minutes, feckin' outrageous.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

it's old trafford it'll still go on until 94 or 95.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

If Villa finish in the top 4 I'll kill myself. Such an backwards team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Fuhrer wrote: »
    A clear handball is a dodgy reason for a free?

collins arms were tucked in, rooney scooped it into his arm from a yard away.

a harsh free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭shamblertine

damnit martin o'neil might be mental but he is a genius

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Osu wrote: »

Don't you mean forwards???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

wtf is rooney doing back there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Maybe, but with our record against UTD away would you blame us trying to just hold what we have .. ?

No, but I would contend that:

- lumping high balls up towards a tightly marked Agbonglahor is not ideal;
    - when you turnover possession and have the ball with a bit of time in the middle of the pitch, your players need to be bombing forward in support;

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

3 poxy minutes, feckin' outrageous.

it's anything but outrageous, have some dignity lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

woohoo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

If Villa finish in the top 4 I'll kill myself..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Ridiculous. Should have been AT LEAST another minute added on there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Terrible performance. Hope Fergie gets his checkbook out in January.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Brilliant from Villa even though they go ahead of us delighted they won especially after Rooney in the first half,shameful, well done Villa :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

Not in a million years will they so you'll be okay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

MASSIVE VILLA TILL I DIE.

Thats Chelsea Liverpool and now UTD bring on Arsenal

YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Go on the mighty Villa!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

All over them, hope villa get relegated now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Hahaha, get in Villa!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Get in!!

You can't loose 4 games in the first half of the season and have any hope of winning of the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Me = DELIGHTED

damnit martin o'neil might be mental but he is a genius

If he is a genius, today's game isn't a convincing argument as to why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

mayordenis wrote: »

dignity lol.. at least we will finish in the top 4:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Nemanja91 wrote: »
    All over them, hope villa get relegated now

Good lad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Haven't seen a Villa final score like that at Old Trafford since Big Ron was the manager. :mad:

Lol.Brilliant! A really good day's football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭therokerroar

Delighted to see Villa win that like, hopefully that's your result of the season and we can beat you Tuesday night :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Great result for Villa, big chance of taking 4th.

---

Awful performance from United. Just awful. No urgency, no magic, no ability to breakdown a resolute defence. We dominated the game, had so so so so much possession and territoriy, but couldn't do much.
    Starting with Giggs was a bad mistake. Park offered little to nothing. Valencia had his worst game in quite some time, probably ever for United. Carrick was average, Anderson was awful. Gibson did okish when he came on but didn't offer anything much extra. Berbatov was actually ok, except he missed our one best chance. Owen I forgot that he came on.
    Rooney, some people will laud his performance, he never gave up, chased everything, etc. etc. It's not his job to win back possession in our half. It's not his job to drop in front of the back 4. He needs to learn some discipline. Him getting the ball back there means nothing, since theres nobody up front to do anything with it. Extremely ill-disciplined performance from him imo, combined with awful awful awful usage of the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

Thought Villa could have taken them out sooner, still a win is a win, might be the start of the inevitable slide for United.

Get in!!

You can't loose 4 games in the first half of the season and have any hope of winning of the league.
    Shocking is'nt it. Must be the rotation,:D

YESSSSSSSSSSSS !!!!!

Villain wrote: »
    MASSIVE VILLA TILL I DIE.

Thats Chelsea Liverpool and now UTD bring on Arsenal

YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
    shoutman wrote: »
    Me = DELIGHTED

Enjoy lads, super result for ye.
    Get in!!

Do you reckon you could lose 4 though? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

ESPN are a joke, completely biased and at the end when the commentator was talking about United's injuries he called the Da Silva twins " the two Rafaels":mad: Give me Setanta's coverage anyday with that pompus Pat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

Sweet Jesus. Please, please, please sign a decent central midfielder Fergie.

Terrible result but fair play to Villa. Probably should have been longer injury time but that was far from the problem today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Indeed. Now you can lose 3 and win the league. But if you lose 4, you've no hope of winning the league.

High level of logic there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

baz2009 wrote: »
    Ridiculous. Should have been AT LEAST another minute added on there.

I hope you're a satirist, because that's the funniest thing I have read on this website in months.

Up the Villa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

who's the lad that said he'd eat his hat if Villa win. Stick the video of the hat eating on youtube please thanks...

Although I generally disagree with sitting back and hoofing the ball away, I think Villa were so comfortable defending any crosses or long balls into or near the box that maybe it wasn't as bad a decision as people think.

Besides a win is a win and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭ghouldaddy07

mayordenis wrote: »

Thee times there was a villa player down for over a minute on the ground, three minutes is a ****ing joke.

Still congradulations villa deserved win.

What?

Villa come to Old Trafford get the lead and don't bottle it

Rooney gets a yellow for diving

No Mr Alex Ferguson time

What the hell is going on?:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

the luck finally ran out - no balls bouncing in off players asses any more

• Registered Users Posts: 5,348 ✭✭✭Quandary

LOL at all the pool fans cheering a nail in their coffin :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

baz2009 wrote: »
    ESPN are a joke, completely biased and at the end when the commentator was talking about United's injuries he called the Da Silva twins " the two Rafaels":mad: Give me Setanta's coverage anyday with that pompus Pat.

And very little made of the Rooney dive, will watch the premiership on rte tonight to see if they mention it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Bandit12 wrote: »
    Not in a million years will they so you'll be okay

Not in a million, no.

2009/2010?

Yeah, no problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I'm dissapointed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Great win for Villa
    However they will throw those 3 points away....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

Ref done well today for once, United were just never at the races and Rooney was totally out of it, yet was unlucky not to score. I think the three minutes injury time was a bit of a joke, I would like to see how many Villa players were treated in the second half but it seemed to be at least half a dozen. Coupled with the substitions mathemtically its impossible for only 3 minutes but there you go. But his decisions were in gerneral very good.

Rooney was for once punished for the type of dive he does too often for me, what is about Scousers and diving??? It seems to be bred into them :D

No doubt that there should have been more than 3 minutes of added time, but it is very difficult to sympathize with Utd on this particular point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

Thee times there was a villa player down for over a minute on the ground, three minutes is a ****ing joke.

Still congradulations villa deserved win.

In fairness Utd could have had another hour and would have struggled to score. Final ball was atrocious all night and there was no imagination anywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Get in!!

Yeah....and Chelsea have lost 3 :confused: So City should be favourites for the league so since they've only lost 1??