Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

5/3/1 for Middle aged Fat Guys!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Pavel66

Deadlift

60 x 5 x 2
    100 x 3
    120 x 1
    140 x 1
    160 x 1
    180 x 1

Speed Pulls

100 x 3 x 3

DB Shrugs

20kg bells x 10
    30kg bells by 15 x 3

Barbell Curls

Bar x 10
    30 x 10 x 2

The 180 felt heavy but not too bad, First time trying speed pulls - ripped a chunk out of my right shin on one of the reps :eek:

Can't remember the last time I did shrugs - I was trying to find an upper back movement that didn't hit my triceps at all.

My left elbow injury barely bothered me during the deads - it's a bit sore now though :(

I have decided to lift in the IPO Leinsters on 25/09 to see how my training is progressing. They don't have a raw section, but I will lift raw anyway :)

Bench Press

Bar x 10
    40 x 5
    60 x 5
    80 x 3
    90 x 3
    100 x 3
    110 x 2 both paused for 2 seconds

Incline DB press

20kg bells x 10
    25kg bells x 15 x 3

Chest Supported Row Machine

80 x 10
    100 x 15 x 3

Lat Pulldowns (underhand grip)

2 sets of 15 with a light weight

The bench felt solid enough - both paused reps were easy enough. It was good to get a bit of assistance work done, as I couldn't get any done on my last bench day.

Squats

Bar x 5 x 2
    60 x 5
    80 x 5
    100 x 3
    120 x 3
    140 x 3
    120 x 3 x 3

Pull-throughs

3 x 20

Ab Stuff

Squats were quite uncomfortable as my lower back has been very sore for the last few days - no idea why :confused:

I did some light pull-throughs to try and pump some blood into the area. I might have done more harm than good - find out tomorrow I suppose... :)

I was in agony yesterday with my back :eek:

Bending over was impossible and even sitting was very uncomfortable. I had to leave work early yesterday and stayed home today.

Last night I thought that there was no way I could lift in the IPO comp on 25/09, but today the back feels a bit better.

Hopefully it will improve more over the weekend to allow me to do a bit of gentle stretching.

If it feels ok by Monday I will probably do a light squat and bench session, and then rest up for the comp :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

An idea what hapened your back? Hopefully it heals up in time for you, plenty of R&R over the weekend!

podge57 wrote: »
    An idea what hapened your back? Hopefully it heals up in time for you, plenty of R&R over the weekend!

Thanks Paul

i actually don't know what happened. It started hurting me on Tuesday, then I made it worse by squatting on Wednesday :o

Better be ok by Sat as I want that 200kg deadlift...

Deload Session

Bench Press

Bar x 5
    40 x 5
    60 x 3
    70 x 3 x 2

Squat

Bar x 5 x 2
    60 x 5
    80 x 3
    90 x 3 x 2

Assistance stuff

Chest Supported Rows and BB Curls

My back felt a wee bit sore after training, but nothing serious. I am still planning to lift on Saturday, so hopefully a bit of rest will sort my back out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭_JOE_

All the best tomorrow Paul, hope you it everything you want, especially your deadlift!

I've a football match tomorrow, so won't be down, but Anthony will be...

Saturday 25/09/2010

IPO Leinster Powerlifting Championships

Weighed in at 98.8 kgs

Squat

170 PR :D

Bench Press

125 No Lift

Deadlift

200 fcuking kgs!!!! PR :D:D
    205 No Lift

Total - 490 PR :D

A brilliant day!! Really enjoyed it. I think there were only about 10 or 12 lifters in total so the whole thing went pretty smoothly.

The first 2 squats didn't feel great, but they never do. The 170 was a real fight and a 10kg PR so I was over the moon :D

The first 2 bench presses felt handy enough, so I was fully confident of getting 125. I don't know what went wrong, but I only got the bar about 2 inches off my chest and that was that :(

The deadlift was what I came for. Just before it started Anthony "The Deadlift King" O'Rourke walked in - This was all the inspiration I needed to pull my first 200 kg deadlift :D

After this I was totally drained and my 205 only made it a couple of inches of the floor...

Thanks to the organisers for running a great event, and the spotters and loaders for doing a great job! Thanks to Aidan and liam for the videos and thanks to all the lads there for the great support

Here are my best squat and deadlift

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭_JOE_

Absolutely delighted for you Paul...Super Lifting!

Vids were great too, the way you walk up to the bar on the 200kg, pure determination!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

I still don't believe you're doing 5/3/1.

_JOE_ wrote: »
    Absolutely delighted for you Paul...Super Lifting!

Vids were great too, the way you walk up to the bar on the 200kg, pure determination!

Thanks Joe!

I really wanted the 200 deadlift. This was my third attempt at it, so there was a big psychological aspect too...:)

Hanley wrote: »
    I still don't believe you're doing 5/3/1.

Maybe I'm the exception that proves the rule...

I always wondered wtf that meant :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

Congrats!! Very impressive lifting, and I'm glad your back held up for it!!

podge57 wrote: »
    Congrats!! Very impressive lifting, and I'm glad your back held up for it!!

Thanks Paul

The back didn't bother me at all :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 681 ✭✭✭VIS VIRES

Well done paul, some great lifting on saturday..I knew you'd nail the 200 deadlift:)

Bench Press

Bar x 10
    50 x 5
    70 x 5
    90 x 5 x 3

Chest Supported Rows

80 x 10
    90 x 10 x 3

Standing DB Press

10kg bells x 10 x 2
    15kg bells x 10 x 2

Curls

Bar x 10 x 3

First day back after the IPO Leinsters. The bench felt a bit heavy, everything else was just taking it easy :)

Squats

Bar x 10
    60 x 5
    80 x 5
    100 x 5
    125 x 5 x 3
    80 x 10 x 2

Abs

2 x 20 side bends with 20kg DB

I felt strong and solid on all the squats, so that's good :D

Nothing else to report really...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

Pavel66 wrote: »
    Squats

Bar x 10
    60 x 5
    80 x 5
    100 x 5
    125 x 5 x 3
    80 x 10 x 2

Abs

2 x 20 side bends with 20kg DB

I felt strong and solid on all the squats, so that's good :D

Nothing else to report really...

Have you ditched 531?

Very observant :D

If anyone is interested I will post my thoughts on a year of 531 and my reasons for changing to a new progam?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

If anyone is interested I will post my thoughts on a year of 531 and my reasons for changing to a new progam?

Stick it up, I couldnt continue wit it either it bored me to tears, i don't do much else outside the gym and there just wasn't enough volume in it for me to feel like I training optimally (is tat a word :confused:)

Bench Press

Bar x 10
    40 x 5
    60 x 5
    80 x 3
    92.5 x 5 x 3

Lat Pulldowns

4 sets of 10

Standing DB Press

10kg bells x 10
    15kg bells x 10 x 3

Barbell Curls

Bar x 10
    25 x 10 x 2

Everything was grand, but my legs have been in agony since Wednesday :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The_Bullman

Any chance of this please.

I will get it up soon. I just want to write a decent review...

Deadlifts

70 x 5
    100 x 5
    120 x 5
    135 x 3
    150 x 5

Abs

3 x 20 side bends with 20kg DB

Everything felt solid today.

My left elbow injury that hurts most when I deadlift, felt ok today - the reason being that I reversed my grip. It felt a bit weird, but I will stick with it for a while :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Is it because I slagged you so much about it and convinced ya you weren't going it anyway?! :D:D:D

Hanley wrote: »
    Is it because I slagged you so much about it and convinced ya you weren't going it anyway?! :D:D:D

Doing what anyway?? :D

Bench Press

Bar x 10
    50 x 5
    70 x 5
    90 x 3
    102.5 x 3 x 3

Chest Supported Rows

80 x 10
    90 x 12 x 3

Standing DB Press

10kg bells x 10
    17.5kg bells x 10 x 3

Barbell Curls

Bar x 10 x 2
    25 x 10
    30 x 10

The bench press work sets felt harder than I expected. I increased all the assistance stuff a little bit too.

In other news - I started writing down my thoughts on 5/3/1 today. I started with some background info on my training history and then got to march of this year and found I had written 2 pages :eek:

Not sure if you can post something that long on this forum?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Not sure if you can post something that long on this forum?

attach the doc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Do definitely, I'd be interested to hear your thoughts on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭DamienH

I'd love to read it aswell.

Squats

Bar x 10
    60 x 5
    80 x 5
    100 x 3
    120 x 1
    130 x 1
    145 x 3 x 3
    80 x 12 x 2

Abs

side bends

1 x 20 with 20kg db
    2 x 20 with 25kg db

Bench Press

Bar x 10
    50 x 5
    70 x 5
    90 x 3
    105 x 3 x 3

Lat Pulldowns

4 x 12

Standing DB Press

10kg bells x 10
    17.5kg bells x 10 x 3

Barbell Curls

Bar x 10
    25 x 10
    30 x 10 x 2

Deadlifts

60 x 5
    100 x 5
    120 x 3
    150 x 1
    170 x 3 PR

Abs

1 x 20 side bends with 20kg DB
    2 x 20 side bends with 25kg DB

Life has become mega busy at the moment, so apologies to anyone waiting on my 5/3/1 review :o

Should be back to normal in about 2 weeks...

Friday 22/10/2010

Bench Press

Bar x 10
    50 x 5
    70 x 5
    90 x 3
    105 x 1
    115 x 1 x 3 all paused

Chest Supported Rows

80 x 10
    100 x 10 x 3

Standing DB Press

10kg bells x 10
    15kg bells x 10
    20kg bells x 10 x 3

Curls

Bar x 10
    25 x 10
    30 x 10
    35 x 10

Happy with the 3 paused singles - I felt strong on them all. The last set of shoulder presses was tough

Squats

Bar x 10
    60 x 5
    80 x 5
    100 x 3
    120 x 2
    140 x 1
    150 x 1
    160 x 1 x 3
    100 x 10 x 2

Abs

side bends

1 x 20 with 20kg db
    1 x 20 with 25kg db
    1 x 20 with 30kg db

Don't think the depth was fully there on the 160s, but still good to feel a bit of weight on my back :)

Thursday 28/10/2010

Bench Press

Bar x 10
    50 x 5
    70 x 5
    90 x 3
    105 x 1
    117.5 x 1 x 3 (all paused)
    60 x 12

Lat Pulldowns

4 x 12

Standing DB Press

10kg bells x 10
    15kg bells x 10
    20kg bells x 10 x 2
    20kg bells x 8 :o

Barbell Curls

Bar x 10
    25 x 10
    30 x 10
    35 x 10

The benching seems to be going well :)

Friday 29/10/2010

Deadlifts

60 x 5
    100 x 5
    130 x 3
    150 x 1
    170 x 1
    190 x 1

Abs

1 x 20 side bends with 25kg DB
    1 x 20 side bends with 30kg DB

Shrugs

3 sets of 15 with 30kg dumbells

Bench Press

Bar x 10
    40 x 5
    60 x 5
    70 x 5 x 3

Chest Supported Rows

60 x 10
    80 x 10 x 3

Barbell Curls

Bar x 10 x 3

Recovery week after my heavy singles last week. Next Monday starts my last cycle leading into the club champs...

Wednesday 03/11/2010

Squats

Bar x 10
    60 x 5
    80 x 5
    100 x 5 x 3

DB Side Bends

20kg x 20 x 3

Assistance Stuff

Pull throughs

3 sets of 15

DB Standing press

10kg bells x 10
    15kg bells x 10 x 3

DB Shrugs

30kg bells x 15 x 3

Monday 8/11/2010

Bench Press

Bar x 10
    40 x 5
    60 x 5
    80 x 5
    92.5 x 5 x 3

Chest Supported Rows

80 x 10
    100 x 12 x 3

Standing DB Press

10kg bells x 10
    15kg bells x 10
    20kg bells x 12 x 3

DB Curls

10kg bells x 10
    12.5kg bells x 10 x 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Pavel where's your fecking 5/3/1 appraisal!!

Sorry :o

I will try and get to it asap...

Squats

Bar x 10
    60 x 5
    80 x 5
    100 x 5
    115 x 2
    130 x 5 x 3
    90 x 12 x 2

Abs

2 x 20 side bends with 30kg DB

Pull throughs

3 x 15

The sets of 12 on the squats were my cardio :)

Friday 12/11/2010

Bench Press

Bar x 10
    40 x 5
    60 x 5
    80 x 5
    95 x 5 x 3

Lat Pulldowns

4 x 15

Standing DB Press

10kg bells x 10
    20kg bells x 12 x 2
    20kg bells x 7 i.e. to failure

Barbell Curls

Bar x 10
    30 x 10 x 2

I took less time between stuff today, so that might explain the last set of DB Press. Apart from that, a solid enough session.

Deadlifts

70 x 5
    100 x 5
    120 x 3
    140 x 2
    155 x 5

Abs

1 x 20 side bends with 35kg DB

DB Shrugs

1 x 15 with 25kg dumbells
    3 x 10 with 35kg dumbells

The deadlifts nearly killed me :eek:

Bench Press

Bar x 10
    50 x 5
    70 x 5
    90 x 3
    105 x 3 x 3
    60 x 10 x 2

Dips

2 sets of 10

Chest Supported Rows

90 x 10
    100 x 10
    110 x 10 x 2

Band pull-aparts

2 sets of 15 with red band

Barbell Curls

Bar x 10
    25 x 10
    35 x 5
    40 x 5

My right shoulder is still a bit sore so I decided to skip the DB pressing. For some reason I decided that replacing them with dips and band pull aparts would be a good idea...

Squats

Bar x 10
    60 x 5
    80 x 5
    100 x 3
    120 x 2
    135 x 1
    150 x 3 x 3
    100 x 10 x 2

Abs

1 x 20 side bends with 35kg DB

Leg raises - 2 sets of 8 :eek:

Pull Throughs

3 x 15

I was quite pleased with this session. The 150 x 3 is actually a PR. It was the most solid I have felt with that kind of weight on my back, so maybe I am getting a little bit stronger :)

I have been doing side bends for a few weeks now, so decided to bring in some leg raises for variety and hit my abs from another angle. Man do I suck at leg raises - I could barely lift my legs to waist height. At least I have something to work on for a while.....

Monday 22/11/2010

Bench Press

Bar x 10
    40 x 5
    60 x 5
    80 x 5
    95 x 3
    107.5 x 3 x 3

Chest Supported Rows

80 x 10
    90 x 10