Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moderators of boards.ie

• 15-12-2009 1:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 910 ✭✭✭

As general feedback - this is a note to every moderator on boards.ie

I hereby fully acknowledge the tireless efforts you all go to in order to keep this site running as a focal point for multiple types of discussions between multiple types of people. Mature, Immature, funny, sad, personal, impersonal - its all there and I think you are doing a great job of keeping it as a valuable place for peoples' exchanges.

I salute your efforts. I indeed salute the 500+ mods, spending countless hours keeping the discussions as worthwhile reading.

It is a somewhat thankless job, however, I pass on my thanks as I have benefited from information within these boards, no doubt I am not the only one.

I have been involved in a number of forums, and by far, this is conducted with the most mature attitude. I say conducted, not controlled or policed, however these actions are sometimes needed.

So, as its the festive season, I thought I would pass on my gratitude and respect. Fair play to you all, and have a great Christmas.

bw
    Post edited by Shield on

• Registered Users Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

*makes ass kissy noises*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Your welcome and many happy returns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Jagera

Jumpy wrote: »
    *makes ass kissy noises*

I was expecting that from someone!! :D

And no, it's not an effort to become a mod!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

bw wrote: »
    And no, it's not an effort to become a mod!

How about sleep with one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Jagera

Beruthiel wrote: »

Now we're talkin'

• Registered Users Posts: 22,775 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

bw:

Thanks for your kind words & especially for taking the time to post them.

Merci viel mal,

HB

• Registered Users Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Mature, Immature, funny, sad, personal, impersonal
    And that's just describing the mods ;)

With the talk of mod conspiracies and the like you'd be amazed to see how much the mods, well, "don't see eye-to-eye" with each other about modding/direction of the site/the weather/X-factor/posting styles etc., but...
    I salute your efforts. I indeed salute the 500+ mods, spending countless hours keeping the discussions as worthwhile reading.
    I think we can all get behind that and say thank you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Excellent post, bw. You all do a great (thank-less) job.

Keep up the good work guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Nice post, and well deserved thanks to all the mods of Boards,

http://users.elite.net/runner/jennifers/thankyou.htm

could only find 465 ways to say thank you:rolleyes: maybe a few of ye could share one

• Registered Users Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

you'd be amazed to see how much the mods, well, "don't see eye-to-eye"
    Worms - Can - Open :)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Now we're talkin'
    I'm not riding you

• Registered Users Posts: 46,104 ✭✭✭✭muffler

Beruthiel wrote: »
    Out of the question. Im taken.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,417 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

I thought I would pass on my gratitude and respect. Fair play to you all, and have a great Christmas.
    Manhugs.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

OldGoat wrote: »
    Worms - Can - Open :)

Screw you. Never liked you anyway, big nose.

• Moderators Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭D4RK ONION

Don't think I've had the pleasure of your company, but you're most certainly welcome :)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,497 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

thanks for the nice words

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

It makes a change from the abusive private messages some of us receive on a daily basis from people who are meant to be grown up. Should we have to put up with it? No, but we do it because we love this site.
    Thanks to the OP and have a smashing Christmas to you and yours.

I really need to find my replacements...:p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,633 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Thanks OP!

Oh wait, is this reverse psychology? I mean I know Im good, but I didnt know I was that good. Am I that good? I am, amn't I?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

Kiera wrote: »

Excellent post, bw. You all do a great (thank-less) job.

Keep up the good work guys.

she said thanks too

i call dibs if we're gettin to sleep with people saying thanks.

oh btw thanks OP, kind words

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Ruu wrote: »
    It makes a change from the abusive private messages some of us receive on a daily basis from people who are meant to be grown up.

I really thought you'd forgiven me for that..

ruu.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Well said OP. Someone put that man on 'the other list'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

last time i saw a post like this the OP was made an mod within a week. can we expect the same results here?

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Jazzy wrote: »
    last time i saw a post like this the OP was made an mod within a week. can we expect the same results here?

thanks OP, you are welcome.

DeV.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

I have been involved in a number of forums

your post count is 240, have you other accounts here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Zombie Wolf

your post count is 240, have you other accounts here?
    Well 1 is a number :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

And Bah Humbug to you too :D

Seriously though, there is enough negativity in the world. for once could we not just take this for what it is, someone having something nice to say, without people assuming there is an ulterior motive or that something will happen or just using it as a chance to grind and old axe

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

You'll get coal in your stocking Jazzy :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Shhh. The whole stinking edifice will topple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Silverfish wrote: »
    You'll get coal in your stocking Jazzy :(

Coal, wow Santa used to put reindeer shíte in bold kids stockings out our way,
    usually fresh enough from the phoenix park.