Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hip-Hop 2010

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭horsebox09

New Fat Joe album is out, and its actually well worth checking out, I'd say its easily his best album in over a decade

"Im Gone" is the best Primo beat I've heard in a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,175 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Just out of curiosity has anybody heard the Jammer, Klashnekoff or Giggs album?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭ghostface ste

Just saw Rhymefest - El Che dropped last month, anyone have a listen yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Yes, pretty weak.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

It's not a great album from Rhymefest, although One Hand Pushup is pretty good

You can hear most of the album on youtube, he's releasing a video for every track, he's about 5 or 6 in so far.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Havent pt release dates up in a while....
    August 10
    Ahmad – The Death Of Me
    Ayatollah – Live From The MPC 60 (Box Set)
    Bizz – In A Minute
    Buck 65 – 20 Odd Years Volume 3: Albuquerque
    The Budos Band – The Budos Band III
    Bun B & DJ Michael “5000” Watts – Trill O.G. (Screwed & Chopped)
    Dirt Nasty – Nasty As I Wanna Be
    Grits – Quarantine
    LMNO – Tripping On This Journey
    Lord Infamous – Futuristic Rowdy Bounty Hunter
    Messy Marv – Thizz City
    Mike Posner – 31 Minutes To Takeoff
    Ras Kass & DJ Rhettmatic – A.D.I.D.A.S. (All Day I Dream About Spittin) (Physical Version)
    Street Sweeper Social Club – The Ghetto Blaster EP
    Trek Life – Everything Changed Nothing (Physical Version)

August 17
    Bizzy Bone – The Best Of Bizzy Bone Vol. 2
    Camu Tao – King Of Hearts
    D-Loc – Made For Kings
    Dondria – Dondria Vs. Phatfffat
    Husalah – Tha Furly Ghost Volume 3
    Kem – Intimacy: Album III
    Kemo The Blaxican – Upside Of Struggle
    Messy Marv & Berner – Blow: Blocks And Boat Docks
    Nikki Lynette – The Strong Survive EP
    Raekwon – Only Built 4 Cuban Linx… Pt. II (Gold Deluxe Edition)
    Teairra Mari – Sincerely Yours
    Tha Dogg Pound – 100 Wayz

August 24
    Bizzy Bone – Crossroads 2010
    Blu – Her Favorite Colo(u)r (Physical Version)
    Fantasia – Back To Me
    Katy Perry – Teenage Dream
    Main Flow – Return Of The Castle
    Nickelus F – Season Premiere (Re-Release)
    The Pack – Wolfpack Party
    Ta Smallz – Who Killed My Mama?!
    Tek – 24KT Smoke
    Usher – Raymond V. Raymond (Deluxe Edition)
    Usher – Versus
    Wine-O – Wine-O

August 31
    Big L – 139 & Lenox
    Common (as Common Sense) – Resurrection (Deluxe Edition)
    Cymarshall Law & The Beatnikz – Freedom Express Line
    DJ Muggs Vs. Ill Bill – Kill Devil Hills
    Exile – Radio: AM/FM
    Fabolous – There Is No Competition 2: The Grieving Music Mixtape
    Gerald Levert – The Best Of Gerald Levert
    Godfather Don – Properties Of Steel: The Hydra Records Singles
    KRS-One & True Master – Meta-Historical
    Lone Ninja – Fatal Peril
    Lyfe Jennings – I Still Believe
    Madlib – Madlib Medicine Show No. 8: Advanced Jazz
    M-Dot & DJ Jean Maron – RUN MPC
    Slaughterhouse – Slaughterhouse: The EP

September 7

Andreya Triana – Lost Where I Belong
    Blue Sky Black Death – Third Party
    Chingy – Success & Failure
    Dorrough – Get Big
    Lady Saw – My Way
    Nate Dogg – G-Funk Mix
    Spice 1 – The Best Of Spice 1 Vol. 2
    Young Buck – The Rehab

September 14
    Bilal – Airtight’s Revenge
    Black Milk – Album Of The Year
    Cap-1 – Amerikas Nightmare
    Chiddy Bang – The Swelly Life
    Chromeo – Business Casual
    E.S.Q. & Chikaramanga – The Succession
    Huey – Redemption
    J Dawg – Boss Hogg Outlawz Persent J Dawg
    Krizz Kaliko – Shock Treatment
    Linkin Park2b.gifA Thousand Suns
    Marques Houston2b.gifMattress Music
    Maylay Sparks – Flaskworthy
    MF DOOM & Big Benn Klingon – Expektoration Live
    Of Montreal2b.gifFalse Priest
    Rah Digga – Classic
    Shontelle – No Gravity
    Ski Beatz – 24 Hour Karate School
    Soulive – Rubber Soulive
    Trey Songz – Passion, Pain & Pleasure
    Watchmen – Wu-Tang Management Presents Watchmen

September 21
    8Ball & MJG – From The Bottom 2 The Top
    Iyaz – Replay (U.S. Version)
    John Legend & The Roots – Wake Up!
    Maroon 5 – Hands All Over
    MC Eiht – The Best Of MC Eiht
    Michael Franti & Spearhead – The Sound Of Sunshine
    Mr. Kee – The Great Paper Chase
    Pastor Troy – The Best Of Pastor Troy Vol. 1
    Prospect – First Blood
    Roots Manuva Meets Wrong Tom – Duppy Writer
    RydazNrtisT – Soulful Warfare
    Stevie Joe – 80’s Baby
    Tank – Now Or Never
    Twiztid – Heartbroken And Homicidal

September 28
    Aloe Blacc – Good Things
    Big Punisher (as Big Pun) – Big Pun: The Legacy (Special Collector’s Edition)
    Big Remo – Entrapment
    B-Real – The Harvest Vol. 1: The Mixtape
    Brown Study (Boog Brown & Apollo Brown) – Brown Study
    Cam’ron & The U.N. – Gunz N’ Butta
    Donell Jones – Lyrics
    El Debarge – Second Chance
    Greg Nice – Popcycle
    Group Home – Gifted Unlimited Rhymes Universal
    Gucci Mane – The Appeal: Georgia’s Most Wanted
    Hell Razah – Heaven Razah
    Ice Cube – I Am The West
    Jim Jones – Capo
    Joe Budden – The Great Escape
    Kane & Abel – Back On Money
    Lil Wayne – I’m Not A Human Being (Digital Version)
    New Boyz – Too Cool To Care
    Ron Isley – TBD
    Skillz – Hip Hop Confessions
    Snoop Dogg – Greatest Hits
    Thug Lordz – Thug Money
    T.I. – King Uncaged
    Timbo King – From Babylon To Timbuktu
    Young Jeezy – TM103

Other Recent Announcements:
    Jazmine Sullivan2b.gifLove Me Back [October 5]
    Shad – T.S.O.L. (U.S. Version) [October 5]
    Tricky – Mixed Race [October 5]
    Cali Swag District – The Kickback [October 12]
    !llmind – Behind The Curtain [October 12]
    Lil Boosie – Incarcerated [October 12]
    Devin The Dude – Gotta Be Me [October 19]
    Pastor Troy – The Best Of Pastor Troy Vol. 2 [October 19]
    Syl Johnson – Complete Mythology (Box Set) [October 19]
    J. Stalin – The Real World Part 3 [October 26]
    The Left (Apollo Brown, Journalist 103 & DJ Soko) – Gas Mask [October 26]
    Masta Killa – Loyalty Is Royalty [October 26]
    Trill Fam – All Or Nothing [October 26]
    David Banner & 9th Wonder – Death Of A Popstar [November 9]
    Eligh – The Grey Crow [November 9]
    Natalie Stewart (as The Floacist) – Floetic Soul [November 9]
    Pete Rock & Smif-N-Wessun – Monumental [November 9]
    Nelly – Nelly 5.0 [November 16]
    Nicki Minaj – Pink Friday [November 23]
    Jay-Z – The Hits Collection Vol. 1 [December 21]
    Roy Hamilton III – Fresh & Futuristic [May 3, 2011]
    Some interesting stuff coming out, i even see a new Big L record in there. Also looking forward to the Camu Tao album.

New Ras Kass double album called A.D.I.D.A.S. has been released. I was expecting a lot of trash mixed with a few decent songs. But it's the opposite, some really good songs and a few ropey ones. As mentioned on another thread, trim the fat and take it down to a standard album and you would have something special. The stuff with Rhettmatic really stands out.
    Ras drops some serious lines on this album. Guest spots are really good as well, standouts are Skillz, Evidence and Jean Grae.

EDIT: Chino is on fire on Scenario 2012, actually everyone on it excels, great posse cut although it pales in comaprison to the original

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    It's not a great album from Rhymefest, although One Hand Pushup is pretty good

You can hear most of the album on youtube, he's releasing a video for every track, he's about 5 or 6 in so far.

Yeah dl'd the album, pretty average i have to say. Gonna check out the Rass Kass one there.

Will be lookin forward to the Black Milk album and think Evidence may have new album out this year but cant see any release date yet

Erm did anyone know Metaform has dropped a new album?:eek:

I only found out when looking up Blue Sky Black Death who incidentally has released a track from his new album...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Listened to the new Metaform ages ago. Pretty dull.

Orizio wrote: »
    Listened to the new Metaform ages ago. Pretty dull.

Yeah, I looked up some reviews earlier, their wasn't much buzz about it really. I'l give it a shot some of the days, but I am prepared for the worst, shame as I liked his last album lots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Crooklyn

Since we're half a year in already, I'll heads up the drops some of you might have missed out on.

Freddie Gibbs - Str8 Killa, No Filla
    Dope all around, if you ain't heard 'bout the man from Gary, Indiana - make sure you check out either his pre-album EP or the actual album. Soulsoothing beats usually laces his flow correct, but he can go hard in most directions. Usually gangsta to the core, rapping about drugdealing, the ghettolife, bitches, poverty - ah, the basic principles which makes the genre what it is.

Rick Ross - Teflon Don
    By now, this should already have gotten all the mentions it deserves right here in this post - but it's a worthy mention nonetheless. Great production as always when you mention this guy, he correctly admitted to this summer being his around May already. The fact that his features has more flowtime on the mic than he has could be seen as something negative if you'd want to get specific about representation and it actually being his own album, but since it's all high-grade stuff from top-echelon rappers, for hip-hop in general that's a positive.

Big Boi - Sir Luscious Left-Foot; The Son Of Chico Dusty
    The long-awaited solo-debut by Andre's partner in crime. Not a day overdue if you ask me. The production goes hard, venturing into most lanes but still staying true to his homegrown ways. Everything from partyanthems, smoke-a-thon odes and some of that introvertive stuff. Definitely a mainstay in my iPod for the remainder of the year.

French Montana - None Specifically
    Now, this cat I hope ya'll heard of. Started off his career from a different angle, releasing street DVD's to promote himself while incorporating interviews and freestyles straight from the hood with other, already famous rappers. Having sold around a million DVD's (unverified, self-proclaimed) under his Cocaine City-imprint, he had made certain to have his name ring bells all around the underground scene, as well as a creative way of furthering his already extensive list of contacts in the industry. Signed a solo-deal with Akon's Konvict-label not long after his partner in crime (for real doe) Max B got jailed for 75-years for an attempted robbery which left a guy dead at a motel a few years ago. Claiming to have appeals in place, we'll see how that goes for him. They made a perfect rap-marriage with their equally interesting styles, albeit different. French would in my eyes be considered Max' hypeman, but now that Max' out the picture, we'll see if French can carry his own weight. Usually sampling old soulmaterial, his songs are always a smooth listen. As far as his lyrical talent goes, it's not that great, but with the proper feats and production, this guy's all fire. Set to release a debut-album, and another co-venture with Three 6 Mafia. Until then, make sure you look up any of his numerous mixtapes which would easily outshine a lot of albums.

Snippets of Black Milk - Album Of The Year:

http://blackmilk.biz/

"Black & Brown", Holy sh!t!

New Kanye: http://usershare.net/9vggxi51ytlr (He leaked this himself)

Sounds like something off Late Registration - loving the beat

anyone know scheduled release date for xzibits new album? 1st coupleof tracks have been pretty good, he might be getting back to his earlier career stuff

I've given the new Blue Sky Black Death album a few spins, its not as immediate as Late Night Cinema which is a stunning piece of work, but given time it is a grower.

Here is the video for the first single Carl Sagan...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Glottal Mots

Just checked wiki bout Pharoahe Monch W.A.R and apparently its been pushed back to a february release, whats the ****in craic?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

iCon the Mic King and Chum released "Cool-Aide" for free last month on Mike's birthday., damned good album.

cool-aide-cover_market-large.jpg
    Download it here.

There is an album by Trek Life called 'Everything Changed Nothing' which is gunning for album of the year. It's so dope. I even picked up a physical copy last week it's that good.

The 1st release in Joe Budden's Mood Muzic Mondays series (he leaks these tracks himself)

Black Cloud: http://usershare.net/0yhwdod8l4eh

the 2nd verse that starts around the 2 minute mark is really, really good

horsebox09 wrote: »
    The 1st release in Joe Budden's Mood Muzic Mondays series (he leaks these tracks himself)

Black Cloud: http://usershare.net/0yhwdod8l4eh

the 2nd verse that starts around the 2 minute mark is really, really good

He's releasing a song a week until the album release on 9th November

Anyone listen to Rakaa - Crown of Thorns yet? Just bout to give it a spin but from what i've heard so far should be good

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭surball

Anyone listen to Rakaa - Crown of Thorns yet? Just bout to give it a spin but from what i've heard so far should be good

I got it myself there last week its fairly decent, really enjoying the tune, that features chali 2na, called mean streak. Its an EL-P beat from his most recent megamix.

Just checked wiki bout Pharoahe Monch W.A.R and apparently its been pushed back to a february release, whats the ****in craic?

Just read a piece on this, PM and his manager basically made a decision to delay the release. They where waiting on vocals from guests to be delivered and they arrived late, and then they wanted to add some extra bits and pieces. With the original release dates, they felt the project would have been rushed.

Some more release dates:

Freddie Foxxx (as Bumpy Knuckles) – Music From The Man… Volume One [Digital Release] [June 24]
    Witchdoctor – Dracula “Transylvania” [Digital Release] [September 20]

October 19

Blame One – Endurance [Digital Release]
    Bruce Haack – Farad: The Electric Voice [Vinyl Release]
    The Jacka & Ampichino – Devilz Rejectz 2: House Of The Dead
    Kokayi – Robots & Dinosaurs [Physical Release]
    Lil Keke – Seven 13 Vol. 4 [Digital Release]
    Lil Scrappy – Prince Of The South 2 [Physical Release]
    LMNO, KeyKool & 2Mex – Blessing In Disguise [Digital Release]
    The Lost Children Of Babylon – Zeitgeist: The Spirit Of The Age [Digital Release]
    Pastor Troy – The Best Of Pastor Troy Vol. 1
    Pastor Troy – The Best Of Pastor Troy Vol. 2
    Pimp C & DJ Michael “5000” Watts – The Naked Soul Of Sweet Jones [Screwed & Chopped] [Digital Release]
    Spectac & Amiri – Almost Famous [Special Edition] [Physical Release]
    Von Pea – Pea’s Gotta Have It

October 20

Dagha & Psych Major – Noise Is The Trigger [Digital Release]
    Ski Beatz – 24 Hour Karate School Japan [Digital Release]

October 22

The Planets – Planet Roc [Digital Release]

October 25

Cap D – PolyMath
    Hed PE – Truth Rising
    Lyrics Born – As U Were
    Skillz – The World Needs More Skillz
    Tech N9ne – Seepage EP [Digital Release]
    Various Artists – Stomp The Yard: Homecoming OST

October 26

1982 (Termanology & Statik Selektah) – 1982
    2Mex – My Fanbase Will Destroy
    9th Wonder – 9th's Opus: It's A Wonderful World Music Group Volume 1
    Celph Titled & Buckwild – Nineteen Ninety Now
    Chaundon – No Excuses
    Chico Mann – Analog Drift
    Dam-Funk - Adolescent Funk
    Doc Ish – The First Treatment [Digital Release]
    Greg Nice – The Popcycle [Digital Release]
    J. Ivy – Here I Am [Physical Release]
    Joe Budden – Mood Muzik 4: A Turn 4 The Worst [Digital Release]
    Lone Ninja – Fatal Peril
    Lord Infamous & Black Rain Ent. – Helloween Part 2: The Rise Of Satan
    Madlib – Madlib Medicine Show No. 10: Black Soul
    Mr. Brady – Labor Of Love [Digital Release]
    Nottz – You Need This Music
    Pugs Atomz – The Decade [Digital Release]
    Raz B – Follow My Lead EP [Digital Release]
    Slakah The Beatchild (as Beatchild) – Something Forever [Digital Release]
    Wisemen – Children Of A Lesser God
    Vinnie Paz – Prayer For The Assassin [Digital Release]

November 1

The Left (Apollo Brown, Journalist 103 & DJ Soko) – Gas Mask
    Relik – Seed Of Reason [Digital Release]
    S.A.S. – Galaxy Fly

November 2

Devin The Dude – Gotta Be Me
    Diplo – Blow Your Head: Dubstep
    J-Live – Undivided Attention
    Joe – Home Is The Essence Of Christmas
    John Regan – Sorry I’m Late
    N.E.R.D. – Nothing
    Pitbull – Armando
    Psycho Les – Psycho Therapy: The Remixes [Digital Release]
    The Ranger$ – The Takeover [Digital Release]
    Roscoe Dash – Ready Set Go!
    Sean Strange – Street Urchin

November 9

Bronze Nazareth – School For The Blindman
    Cee-Lo Green – The Lady Killer
    Custom Made – Hi-Def [Digital Release]
    DJ Felli Fel – Thump Ridaz Mix
    Dru Down – Chronicles Of A Pimp
    Eligh – GreyCrow
    Erk Tha Jerk – Nerds Eye View
    Ghostface Killah – Supreme Clientele [Special Edition] [Vinyl Release]
    Joe Budden – Mood Muzik 4: A Turn 4 The Worst [Physical Release]
    JR & PH7 – The Update [Digital Release]
    Kid Cudi – Man On The Moon II: The Legend Of Mr. Rager
    Knoc-turn’al – Knoc’s Ville [Digital Release]
    Lil Boosie, Webbie, Lil Trill & Trill Fam – All Or Nothing
    Natalie Stewart (as The Floacist) – Floetic Soul
    Pimp C & DJ Michael “5000” Watts – The Naked Soul Of Sweet Jones [Screwed & Chopped] [Physical Release]
    Quincy Jones – Q: Soul Bossa Nostra
    Sleepy D & DJ Fresh – The Tonite Show: Sleep Walking [Digital Release]
    Smoke DZA – George Kush Da Button [The Deluxe Edition]
    Syl Johnson – Complete Mythology [Box Set] [Vinyl Release]
    Twista – The Perfect Storm
    Watchmen – Power
    Zion I – Atomic Clock

Other Recent Announcements:

Bizzy Bone – Greatest Rapper Alive [November 16]
    Cassidy – C.A.S.H. (Cass A Straight Hustla) [November 16]
    Akon – Stadium [November 22]
    Big L – Return Of The Devil's Son [November 22]
    Duke Da God – The D.I.P. Agenda [November 22]
    Gangrene (The Alchemist & Oh No) – Gutter Water [November 22]
    Jay-Z – The Hits Collection Volume One [November 22]
    Joe – Live From Japan [November 22]
    Ke$ha – Cannibal [November 22]
    Michael Jackson – Michael Jackson’s Vision [DVD Release] [November 22]
    Phanatik – Party Over Here [November 22]
    Yelawolf – Trunk Muzik: 0-60 [November 22]
    Gary Weiss – 80 Blocks From Tiffany’s [DVD Release] [November 23]
    Mr. Capone-E – Gang Stories [November 23]
    Kelly Rowland – TBD [International Release] [November 29]
    Beyonce – I Am… World Tour [November 30]
    El DeBarge – Second Chance [November 30]
    Hezekiah – Conscious Porn [Physical Release] [November 30]
    Joell Ortiz – Free Agent [November 30]
    Charlie Wilson – Just Charlie [December 7]
    Kanye West & Jay-Z – Watch The Throne [December 7]
    Keak Da Sneak, P.S.D. Tha Drivah & Messy Marv – Da Bidness Pt. 2 [December 7]
    Large The Professor & Neek The Exotic – Exotic Species [December 7]
    Polyester – Peace, Love, Unity, Respect [December 7]
    Snowgoons – Kraftwerk [December 7]
    Year Round Records – Get Used To Us [December 7]
    Ghostface Killah – The Apollo Kids [December 14]
    Jamie Foxx – Body [December 14]
    Keyshia Cole – Keyshia [December 14]
    Brand Nubian – Enter The Dubstep Volume 2 [December 21]
    Nas – The Lost Tapes Vol. 2 [December 21]
    G.O.O.D. Music – TBD [December 21]

I've bolded the ones that jump out for me....that's right, i did bold Dru Down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Dam Funk leaked today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭fulhamfanincork

Quality song ^^

A new group called "The Left" dropped an album not too long ago called "Gask Mask" - its well checking out, imo, reminds of the late 90's Wu affiliate stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,916 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Can't believe Tech N9ne wasn't in bold :eek: Can't get him out of my cd player. Seepage EP is just class!!

This tune is straight BEAST! He's flow and lyrics are unreal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Jigga

T.I. featuring Eminem - All She Wrote

A lot better than their previous collaboration Touchdown, thats for sure!

There's also a new Eminem and Royce track doing the rounds, rumours of a collabo album before the year is out.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    There's also a new Eminem and Royce track doing the rounds, rumours of a collabo album before the year is out.
    That would be great if true, really like their new track. Good to see the two of them working together again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Hugh Cream

liking this tune,t.i. and em sound great on the same track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

kind of slept on this thread dont know how:confused:

new raekwon song and video its an emotional tribute to odb and i like it big time

watch out for the new micheal jackson album its supposed to be huge, here's a track ft jay z that was leaked not sure if its on the album, but he has a song he recored with 50 cent (what a odd combo) before he past away and its meant to be quailty and its defeintly on the album along with a feature from akon.

intersting jay z interview claims take over was 100 times better than either, i dont agree at all.

worthy of a thread takeover vs either with a poll? i think jay is just plain ignorant here about it, he also imithes eminem killed him on renegade and talks prodigy of mobb deep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Ether, and while it may not be 100 times better I did prefer Takeover.

Jigga wrote: »
    Certainly does seem that Bad Meets Evil is back!

It seems Royce had already hinted about a collab album

There was one of the producers from Recovery saying that he is working with Em saying that there will be new stuff from him by the end of the year. Can yfind the link now......but after reading that, the track with Royce pops up fueling rumours.

flex has landed himself in a bit of trouble, he's getting slated for this and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭MoyVilla9

Came accross this remix Budo has done of Hard Times, short but excellent. It's supposed to be on some Red Bull compilation later this year

http://soundcloud.com/budo/hard-times

The Devlin album much use lads?