Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ring of Kerry cycle, Saturday July 3rd 2010

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Re: Clubs

I was behind a group of earl of desmond riders for a while. We decided to latch on for a bit as they would be easy to spot should we get temporarily split up. There were about 10-12 of them in bright red jerseys. And their cycling was exemplary. The only problem was that about 30 other people had the same idea as us and it lead to people taking risks to not lose touch. Some crazy risks. So I had enough and stayed on my own.

Somewhere along the way I briefly joined a very fast trio and there was no problem getting around, but they stopped for water and I carried on. I don't think the speed matters its the size of the groups.

Edit: Just want to make it clear I'm not having a go at the organisers. The food stops were very good but it was the smaller water and banana stops which were really great.

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭trek climber

Only getting to post my thoughts on this now. I had a brilliant day out and it remains my favourite sportive on the calendar. Organisation, cakes and sambos contribute to making it a great day. Also, (as mentioned by many others) seeing the amount of people with ruck-sacks, trousers tucked into socks, bandy bikes with rusty chains etc. killing themselves for the charity/achievement does the spirit good. Sunshine all day helps too :) Yes, there was some inconsiderate cycling, but if you've got 5000 people doing anything, you're bound to have some headbangers. Not an excuse, just a fact.

+1 on this,thoroughly enjoyed the day, went round in 6.5 hours and seemed to get better the further it went on. I did hear that there were nearer to 6000 cyclists taking part which is amazing. Did anybody notice the amount of punctures on route ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭irishmotorist

I did hear that there were nearer to 6000 cyclists taking part which is amazing. Did anybody notice the amount of punctures on route ?
    I saw a good few punctures around the place but didn't see any patches of broken glass or the like on the road myself.

At breakfast the next morning, the people in the B&B had heard that there were 7000 at it. Sounds like Kerry storytelling at it's best :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

NickDrake wrote: »
    Showed this thread to a few lads who did the cycle and a few of the locals involved and they are having a good laugh at the people who are being so negative on here.

Nearly everyone said " typical dubs " . It was a great day and there were 5000 people in it. So get over it if you had to do a bit of overtaking. I had to do plenty but enouraged people as I passed and waved to the locals. Great banter.

Its a shame to see the negative comments from the club riders. I am not in a club but myself and my mate passed loads of club riders during the day and lets say they werent staying in left etc. We didnt care just overtook and said hello.

It was a brilliant day stop giving out.

Several posters who have made points are neither Dubs, nor live in Dublin. Furthermore some of them are locals and know these roads pretty well.
    In fact I find very little complaining apart from your good self. Vast majority of posters have heaped praise on the event but suggest a few small tweaks to make it even better.

• Registered Users Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Signal_ rabbit

I can't see what the problem is. Start time is anytime after 5.30am, if you want to avoid the crowds leave early, if not then don't! Simple.

At the end of the day we are all cyclists, no matter how fast, slow, amateurish, experienced we are, we all have one thing in common the love of cycling!!!

For the record i thought it was a great event and I for one will be back next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭shamwari

This was my first ROK and serious event at that. Training started around Easter and I was really worried that I wouldn't have the wherewithall to get around. In the end I did (thankfully) with a sluggish ride time of 8:15.

Considering the number of participants and the logistics that goes around that, I think the efforts of the organisers was nothing short of fantastic. Fair play to every one of them, and some I know who waded in to help with the food-stops had came from far-afield to do that.

I knew I was going to be in trouble on the climbs and this where I lost considerable time to let my knees and quads unknot themselves. :o The descents made up for it though, especially coming down Coomakiste and looking out over the Atlantic. It was a terrific sight and worth the pain of climbing up it.

There were huge numbers of cyclists out on the roads, and I think the locals helped no end by staying off the roads in their cars. The support, cheering and encouragement they gave at the roadside was teriffic too! Generally the roads were ok, although the resurfaced sections between Sneem and Kenmare were horrible to cycle on. Cycling on the flat felt like cycling up a hill, such was the rolling resistance from it :confused:

I did see one hairy moment when I stopped for a breather across from the church near Coomaciste summit. A gent was felled when another cut across him. He was thrown through the air and landed hard. Thankfully unhurt, he was quite annoyed with the guy who carved him up, who looked back wistfully over his shoulder and kept going after what had happened. :(

On the whole though, it's very hard to complain about anything really because it was such a brilliant day. Roll on next year, perhaps with a better performance too....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

I can't see what the problem is. Start time is anytime after 5.30am, if you want to avoid the crowds leave early, if not then don't! Simple.

At the end of the day we are all cyclists, no matter how fast, slow, amateurish, experienced we are, we all have one thing in common the love of cycling!!!

For the record i thought it was a great event and I for one will be back next year.

Spot on. Finally some one with a good post. It was a great event. It is just hard to please some people I guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭cantalach

NickDrake wrote: »
    Spot on. Finally some one with a good post. It was a great event. It is just hard to please some people I guess

Yes it is a great event but "some people" can actually be very pleased with something while also holding the view that it could be better. For some reason, you seem to think these two positions are mutually exclusive.

By the way, I'm a Limerick man living in Cork so I don't know where that leaves your "typical Dubs" theory. But sure why don't you show this to your buddies anyway and I'm sure they'll come up with another very witty label for me in no time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 LikePlace

I made a 5 minute video during the cycle.

It is online on my blog at http://blog.likeplace.ie/2010/07/180km-pedalling-on-ring-of-kerry.html

It shows views from the saddle at Killorglin, Cahersiveen, Sneem, Molls Gap, the finish line and places in between.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,678 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

shamwari wrote: »
    Generally the roads were ok, although the resurfaced sections between Sneem and Kenmare were horrible to cycle on. Cycling on the flat felt like cycling up a hill, such was the rolling resistance from it :confused:
    There is a section of road coming up to Sneem that seems to be flat but is actually a slight continuous incline. It caught me out too the first year I did it and I kept wondering what was wrong and why I'd slowed down so much.
    Perhaps there's rolling resistance from the road too but I'd say the main problem there is that it's actually uphill.

DeepBlue wrote: »
    There is a section of road coming up to Sneem that seems to be flat but is actually a slight continuous incline. It caught me out too the first year I did it and I kept wondering what was wrong and why I'd slowed down so much.
    Perhaps there's rolling resistance from the road too but I'd say the main problem there is that it's actually uphill.
    Yeah I copped the road coming up to Sneem having a bit of a drag on it.

However the section I'm referring to was the recently resurfaced bits after Sneem that looked grey and had chippings all over the place. IIRC it was around Parknasilla. It was very hard to cycle on and others around me at the time made the same observations. The bike simply would not roll on the flat - it required constant effort. And the few small climbs were quite tough.

All in all though, a small observation on what was otherwise a brilliant day! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 john.kerin

Anyone know where the finish line photos are going to be published on line?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭irishmotorist

john.kerin wrote: »
    Anyone know where the finish line photos are going to be published on line?
    According to their news section...
    Where is the official finish?
    At the Gleneagle Hotel. When you sign off there, you will receive your special certificate. Your photograph will be taken and you will be able to purchase it on line at http://kerrycyclephotos.ie. Light refreshments will be provided as you arrive.

Edit...I think I saw somewhere yesterday that they'll be posted up on Thursday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 oilcanharry

It never ceases to amaze me that posters can go off the original topic and get offensive so quickly says me already gone off the topic. :)

What I really want to say is that we should not lose sight of the fact that this is a "Charity Cycle" open to all. Who cares if I have not got the latest carbon fibre specialised frame with €1000 wheels and full Ultegra, who cares if I do not have the latest Jersey & Shorts from Radioshak (to name just one). Fair play to the lady who we met on her everyday bike with the basket on the front, fair play to the guy with the butter box on his bike carrier, fair play to the guy on the red high nelly. The main reason for this event is to raise much needed funds for local charities etc.

Ok so, I have to use a little bit more of my experience and roadcraft to allow for the less experienced cyclists that I met and passed or was passed by. But then again, it is their big day too so I just dealt with each one as they happened. If I look back over my day, was I 100% in the correct road position for the time that I was on my bike. Did I overtake in any dodgy places? Who is perfect?

This event also brings quite a lot in the way of revenue to the town for the weekend which I am sure is welcomed by the many hotel, B&B and restuarant owners around the county. The welcome that we received from the people in Killarney and the encouragement received all along the route says a lot for the people of the kingdom, it was fantastic.

People, get over it, enjoy it for exactly what is is, a charity cycle event with a purpose, to help those perhaps less fortunate!

I will certainly be back next year and hopefully bring some friends. I would like to thanks everyone involved in making this cycle a success.

Well done Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

This is getting quite annoying. Since when constructive criticism is a bad thing? Noone said that it was a bad event or anything. It's a fantastic event which with a little bit of tweaking can be even better. Where's the downside on that?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭kerryscoob

AstraMonti wrote: »
    This is getting quite annoying. Since when constructive criticism is a bad thing? Noone said that it was a bad event or anything. It's a fantastic event which with a little bit of tweaking can be even better. Where's the downside on that?!

Have to agree, if there is learnings from this years event I'm sure the organisers will take these on board,in no way would I be critical of a fantastic SOCIAL event from the cyclists to the supporters to the volunteers, credit to all.

My son did tell me of a group he was with heading into Caherciveen and some TOOL let out a roar if fellas weren't going to put in an effort up front to *uck off. Here was I earlier telling the 14 yr old not to kill himself at the start and you have this fella roaring abuse at fellow cyclists. The sad part of the story!!!!!!!!! :p was with all my sons waiting for me at food stops he passed the Tool on Molls.

No organisation or planning will cater for the likes of this *sshole.

Great event,great craic, very proud to be a Kerryman on Saturday with the encouragement we got all round the route and to cap it all a great result for the Kingdom on Sunday against Limerick.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭gerardduff

It never ceases to amaze me that posters can go off the original topic and get offensive so quickly says me already gone off the topic. :)

What I really want to say is that we should not lose sight of the fact that this is a "Charity Cycle" open to all. Who cares if I have not got the latest carbon fibre specialised frame with €1000 wheels and full Ultegra, who cares if I do not have the latest Jersey & Shorts from Radioshak (to name just one). Fair play to the lady who we met on her everyday bike with the basket on the front, fair play to the guy with the butter box on his bike carrier, fair play to the guy on the red high nelly. The main reason for this event is to raise much needed funds for local charities etc.

Ok so, I have to use a little bit more of my experience and roadcraft to allow for the less experienced cyclists that I met and passed or was passed by. But then again, it is their big day too so I just dealt with each one as they happened. If I look back over my day, was I 100% in the correct road position for the time that I was on my bike. Did I overtake in any dodgy places? Who is perfect?

This event also brings quite a lot in the way of revenue to the town for the weekend which I am sure is welcomed by the many hotel, B&B and restuarant owners around the county. The welcome that we received from the people in Killarney and the encouragement received all along the route says a lot for the people of the kingdom, it was fantastic.

People, get over it, enjoy it for exactly what is is, a charity cycle event with a purpose, to help those perhaps less fortunate!

I will certainly be back next year and hopefully bring some friends. I would like to thanks everyone involved in making this cycle a success.

Well done Kerry.
    My sentiments exactly. But who does that guy on the red high nelly think he is? High Nellies should be black like a tin lizzy...everyone knows that!

Seriously though, I did my third ROK on Saturday. My first was the year it rained, about 4-5 years ago. This year was the hardest as we started in Valentia and had 60km into a head wind to get home from Killarney, which most people would have done as a first leg. The ROK is a great day out of craic and honest kerry hospitality which gets better year on year. Valencia Island was in glorious sunshine the next day and a few of us took a spin around the island and even managed a (~7km) run up to a viewing point towards the skelligs. The harbour in valentia is a great spot for a swim and we made the most of that too.
    Don't know if I do it again from there as the prevailing wind leaves you with a lot to do at the end, but then again I could always prepare better. 6hrs 20mins for me. 2 of our group broke 5hrs but they are really serious cyclist...they might even give those kerrymen on their high nellies a run for their money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

Well done Kerry.

Exactly, good to see someone back me up. Some negative stuff on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

over and over and over and over, like a monkey with a miniature cymbal

that lyric is all that's coming to mind right now...

Well boys, where are we cycling next? :D

I think next year we all arrange to meet up before the off to put names to the faces?

Next on the CGCC menu is the Trip to Tipp and then the An Post Tour of Meath anyhow.

Done the Trip to Tipp twice before and looking forward to my 3rd one but the ToM will be a first

Great idea signal rabbit, a big session after the cycle to do an autopsy would be the job, we could all listen to each other stories of the day before consuming more beer and then head for the disco followed by the obligatory chips on the way home. :D

Well boys, where are we cycling next? :D

Well if you liked cycling in Kerry, Killorglin CC are running the inaugural IVERAGH 200 sportif in two weeks time.
    Billed as the toughest sportif in Ireland it starts in Waterville and takes in Ballaghisheen Pass (tough bitch), Gap of Dunloe (stunning), Molls Gap from Black Valley. (smalll bitch), Coomakiste (handy), Coomanaspig (pig of a climb).

Hopefully there will be some good grub at the end - we will need it.
    This is a stunning and tough route. I am hoping to do it and would recommend anyone to give it a go.
    There is a 70/130/200km options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭zulutango

this was my second Ring of Kerry cycle. I managed to take 1hr 13mins off my time from last year, and finished in 6hr 36min. Was delighted with that, considering that I'm not a cyclist and hadn't done any training for this.

I was amazed with the number of cyclists in club gear. I wouldn't have realised it's such a big sport in Ireland. Was delighted to pass a load of them out on Coomakista and Molls Gap! :D

They seemed to have the measure of me elsewhere though.

Thought it was a great day out and very well organised and those involved deserve to be commended.

A few points. I think there is a serious accident waiting to happen on the stretch between Kells Bay and Cahirciveen. This thought struck me last year too, and was only re-inforced this year. There is a lot of bunching of cyclists there and the speed is high and the heads tend to be down. Cars and buses coming in the opposite direction tend to go quite fast here too. I hope it never happens, but i would not be surprised if a car/bus ploughs through a few cyclists along this stretch some day. The approach to Glenbeigh (from around the Red Fox pub) was similarly lethal.

Another thing. Maybe the organisers have some influence with Kerry County Council? They should have considering the amount of business and promotion this event is doing for the county. Pressure should be brought on the Council to make good the road surfaces along the Ring. The loose chipping stuff is not really acceptable in this day and age. It's deplorable in places, particularly between Sneem and Kenmare.

Kerry County Council should follow the lead of local authorities in France/Italy/Switzerland and make the road surfaces suitable for cycling. There's no reason why Kerry shouldn't put itself up there as the place where cyclists from all over the world want to go to for some serious cycling. But it can't happen unless they get the road surfaces in order.

Next year I'm actually going to train for this and hopefully take another hour or more off it, and get down to the sub 5hr 30mins. I'll wipe the smirks off those club cyclists faces yet!! Them and their fancy gear!

ROK ON wrote: »
    Well if you liked cycling in Kerry, Killorglin CC are running the inaugural IVERAGH 200 sportif in two weeks time.
    Billed as the toughest sportif in Ireland it starts in Waterville and takes in Ballaghisheen Pass (tough bitch), Gap of Dunloe (stunning), Molls Gap from Black Valley. (smalll bitch), Coomakiste (handy), Coomanaspig (pig of a climb).

Hopefully there will be some good grub at the end - we will need it.
    This is a stunning and tough route. I am hoping to do it and would recommend anyone to give it a go.
    There is a 70/130/200km options.

This looks really class!! I think i've been bitten by the cycling bug. How come Killorglin aren't organising a cycle closer to their own neck of the woods? I'm very tempted to do the 130km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Murph100

Based on the feedback from the Humpy Hundred, the biggest decision to be made for this one is Hardtail or Full Sus !

zulutango wrote: »
    This looks really class!! I think i've been bitten by the cycling bug. How come Killorglin aren't organising a cycle closer to their own neck of the woods? I'm very tempted to do the 130km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,256 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Murph100 wrote: »
    I'd love to say it was me but I was only with the club from Caherciveen to the top of Coomakista ( where I did do very well on the impromtu hill sprint :D ), I had to tend to my 2 guests who weren't moving at the club pace :(

Of course Paul Griffin ( Current National Hill Climb Champ ) and Cian Hogan were miles ahead of everybody on the climbs, fair play to ya if you were hanging on to their wheels going up Molls Gap.

This video will give you some idea of what it was like for us mere mortals to be passed by the National Hill Climb Champ. :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hswTZFgwOe4

Based on the feedback from the Humpy Hundred, the biggest decision to be made for this one is Hardtail or Full Sus !

And one of these and these...

Heh, first Earl fella passing you on that clip was Paul Griffin alright.

BTW National Hill Championship is on this Sat 10th in Tralee, get to see him and some more nutters sluggin; it out.

07Lapierre wrote: »
    This video will give you some idea of what it was like for us mere mortals to be passed by the National Hill Climb Champ. :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hswTZFgwOe4

Road from start to Ballaghisheen thru Glemcar onto Dunloe is excellent. From Dunloe over the gap and down to Black Valley is well, agricultural.

You Tralee lads are too soft :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭SubLuminal

Well then. I'm going to stick an L for Learner sign (like on the cars) on the back of my bike for my first sportives later in the year. I'm defo going to make some mistakes. Beware!

OI ! I'm from Bantry, just happen to be here undercover !!!

Road from start to Ballaghisheen thru Glemcar onto Dunloe is excellent. From Dunloe over the gap and down to Black Valley is well, agricultural.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭madrabui

Did the fella on the red high nelly make it in the end?

Did any of ye end up in Scotts on Saturday night?

At 110psi our tyres might be alright :D

Too much good tarmac in North Kerry, not like the 'Strada Bianca' you'd be hardened against :p

Actually very true for most of Kerry, I just cant be arsed negotiating crap boreens when you could be blasting up The Connor Pass, Molls Gap, Caha Pass or the Healy Pass, all with good surfaces, great descents and epic scenery.

CheGuedara wrote: »
    At 110psi our tyres might be alright :D

Too much good tarmac in North Kerry, not like the 'Strada Bianca' you'd be hardened against :p

• Registered Users Posts: 46 kemase

This was my first Ring Of Kerry Cycle and first time >100km on a ride but managed to get around in 6hrs 40mins. I hooked up with another rider with similar pace after Glenbeigh and we kept each other company all the way round.

I probably went a little slow in the early stages as the distance was scaring me, but I had plenty left for Molls gap as a result.

Really enjoyed the scenery and cheerful atmosphere - hope to be back next year for more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 la calera

Really super footage here...I even spotted myself!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cSqgV8-LpD8&feature=related

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Paddyboy58

It was my 18th successive Ring of Kerry Cycle.We started off as a group about 7.50am,but after about 4 miles one of our lads got a bad fall.Hit a water bottle,down he went,so his Ring of Kerry finished there and then.Luckily nothing broken,but I would say,pretty sore for a few days.One thing I observed was the amount of full bottles of water thrown on the road.People not having the proper bottle cages on there bikes and the bottles jumping out after hitting bumps.Also people havent a clue as how to cycle in a group,there weaving in and out,see a gap and go for it without realising they could touch a wheel and bring down cyclists.Also cycling 4/5 abreast and overtaking where they shouldnt.I think a lot of them should be thought a few basics on safe cycling.A few of the coach drivers seem to be in a mad hurry too on Saturday and had no patience.After all its just 1 day in the year and the 1st Sat in July as they should no by now.I enjoyed my day as usual,thats what its all about.Met many people along the way,showed our real Kerry Hospitality,spent about 7hrs on the saddle and enjoyed every minute of it.Got into Killarney about 6pm with 3 of my mates,where we got a great welcome.My only regret is that we will have to wait another year for the next one.Roll on Ring of Kerry Cycle 2011.

Any word of the photo's being posted online from the ROK finishline ?

shamwari wrote: »
    Any word of the photo's being posted online from the ROK finishline ?

I emailed them and asked this question, this is their reply:

Hi Chris

Give them about 3 weeks, all pics have to be numbered before uploading on the web site. Everyone will get an email when the pics are available with details etc.

Regards
    Catherine
    Ring of Kerry Cycle Office

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 john.kerin

According to their news section...
    Where is the official finish?
    At the Gleneagle Hotel. When you sign off there, you will receive your special certificate. Your photograph will be taken and you will be able to purchase it on line at http://kerrycyclephotos.ie. Light refreshments will be provided as you arrive.

Edit...I think I saw somewhere yesterday that they'll be posted up on Thursday.

look forward to seeing them

cool ... i cycled up to the finish line like a maniac just so that the pic would be good :D

Photos are up here: http://www.killarneycameraclub.ie/

Enjoy :)

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭Ky Abu

Hey, Just have heard that Coomacista and going up to Molls Gap are the hardest parts of the Ring of Kerry cycle, which is tougher? Im after facing up Coomacista this evening myself, and for someone with 120miles of road cycling under my bum, didnt find it too tough...

None of the them are actually tough, they are more long drags than actual climbs; although Molls Gap with a bit of headwind can be a little bitch.

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭Ky Abu

AstraMonti wrote: »
    None of the them are actually tough, they are more long drags than actual climbs; although Molls Gap with a bit of headwind can be a little bitch.

Ok cool. Thanks. Im a beginner so their tough enough for me at the moment... Average of 18km/h is not exactly fast going up coomacista