Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What clothes/shoes on a man are a total turn off?

• 17-12-2009 12:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭

I was having a laugh with the girls in college about this earlier...what do guys wear that you cannot stand?

We came up with a list:

Those shiny reflective sunglasses
    "Kickers" shoes
    Dubes
    Beanie Hats
    Stripey Scarves
    Yellow full stop
    Puffy jackets with fur on the hood
    Dog tags
    More than one necklace or bracelet at a time
    Soverign rings
    diamond earings

Any more to add to the list??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

T-shirts that say: "if lost please return to a pub"

Skinny jeans

Oh, and skinny jeans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Hmmm not sure I agree. Dog tags and beanie hats can look hot on some men.

Agree about skinny jeans though, it's hideous looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Beanie Hats

Meh, they can be alright.
    More than one necklace or bracelet at a time
    Grand unless they are gold or silver. I think.
    mud wrote: »

Ugh I HATE them! And all the other hilarious t-shirts like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Stupid "funny" tshirts, clothes that are WAY too big for them, jeans that hang down past their arse, bottoms tucked into socks, trainers with jeans (sorry, I just don't like it.. I mean running shoes, not like converse/flat-soled shoes), GAA/sport jerseys, jewelery, shirts tucked in, shirts in general (dress shirts, I mean).

I just like a guy in casual clothes that fit. Jeans (with a belt!), t-shirt, pair of converse. Maybe a zip-up hoodie or nice jacket. Hat depending on whether or not it suits the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Oh, tracksuits. Unless you are lounging around your house or exercising, tracksuits are not ok, imo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Tracksuits...reeks of laziness
    Aforementioned sovereigns
    Baseball hats
    Baggy trousers
    Aforementioned "funny" t shirts - Female Body Inspector and the like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Stella777

shirts with visible logos or brandnames
    black turtlenecks (I have no idea why I feel this way)
    shoes made out of snakeskin or other exotic leathers

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭-Leelo-

I hate converse on guys, they just look tatty or something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

And the kinda jewellery I like on guys is this type:

Picture1-13.png
    Picture2-3.png

On the right guy..

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭meanpeoplesuck

For all the beanie haters out there, what kind of hat would you like a guy to wear?

If you say this then I'm going to mash my head off the keyboard! :p :
    http://photo.maxim.co.uk/images/library_UK_233/knitted_trapper_hat_116859_12.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

For all the beanie haters out there, what kind of hat would you like a guy to wear?
    Might I direct you to the Facial hair & Hats forum where there are an abundance of hats available to men. Though I do agree that there is a place in the world for a beanie - when fishing or playing golf or when the wind is so strong that you are in fear of losing a real hat.
    As for baseball cap...[Shudder]...I'll wear one next time I play baseball. :rolleyes:

If you want to get ahead, get a hat. :)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Leah-G1

Trousers that are too short,
    Dark Shorts,white legs,white socks and Dark runners....uughhh

My pet pet pet hate is running shoes (the ones that are only meant to be worn in the gym) with jeans..oh god.

Polo necks with leather jackets...so very early 90's..:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭beauty101

I forgot to add socks + sandals

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,516 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

Jeans and a blue checked shirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Kooli

I hate that look of the white/pink shirt with blue baggy flared jeans and brown shoes.
    It's a real south dublin rugby school look (which seems to last forever, even if you left said school 20 years ago). It makes me get sick in my mouth a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭cee_jay

mud wrote: »

Oh, and skinny jeans.

I HATE those t-shirts with a passion - I really don't understand why men find them funny. "Remember my name, you'll be screaming it later", "orgasm donar" and the likes of them I find more offensive than ones about drinking though.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

cAr0l wrote: »
    I HATE those t-shirts with a passion - I really don't understand why men find them funny. "Remember my name, you'll be screaming it later", "orgasm donar" and the likes of them I find more offensive than ones about drinking though.

+1 or that stupid one that says

whileyourreadingthisimcheckingoutyourtits

or something along those sad lines.. Lehooo-zey-urs :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 rhys2

flared and bootcut jeans so really terrible looking!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭bret69

Why was stripy scarves on the list OP?

It HAS to be plain for you??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

Hahahaha.
    This thread is hilarious.
    I think those t-shirts are funny cause fellas find them so entertaining. Ive seen one "It aint going to suck itself". You gotta laugh.

Personally I hate polo necks/turtle necks on fellas - even more so, as one poster said, with a leather jacket.

I think polo/turtle necks can make even the butchest looking fella look gay for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

dellas1979 wrote: »
    I think polo/turtle necks can make even the butchest looking fella look gay for some reason.
    From the charter, things frowned upon : " > calling an item of clothing or style or grooming choice 'gay', etc. The way one dresses does not define sexual preferences"

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Stella777

beauty101 wrote: »

Those shiny reflective sunglasses Unless he is a fighter pilot or something

"Kickers" shoes What are they?
    Dubes I kind of like those actually.Better than trainers with jeans!
    Beanie Hats Fine if it's really cold outside
    Stripey Scarves I don't mind these as long as they are for outerwear only

Yellow full stop Depends. A pale yellow shirt is nice on some men, depending on their coloring. Bright yellow or yellow pants would be bad though.

Puffy jackets with fur on the hood Agree
    Dog tags Terrible unless the guy is an actual soldier
    More than one necklace or bracelet at a time Even one can be bad
    Soverign rings Yuck!
    diamond earings Tacky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Dubes. Stonewashed jeans. Ben Sherman shirts. The "culchies night out" special as mentioned previously (bootcut jeans, checked shirt and brown shoes). Skinny jeans (can only look ok on a very, very small minority of men).

Dirty shoes! Converse wearing men you feature highly on the dirty shoes list!

Leather jackets.

T-shirts with "Funny" slogans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭zoey

Novella wrote: »
    Oh, tracksuits. Unless you are lounging around your house or exercising, tracksuits are not ok, imo!

Oh I have to disagree! I think tracksuits on someone with an athletic build can be really attractive.

Turn offs would be diamond earings and cardigans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

Skinny jeans look cool on my man..... this is not a compliment to him

Agree with most of above,
    Have to admit after shopping on the high street with my little brother it's a miracle all men don't look like Dunne's mannequins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

zoey wrote: »
    Oh I have to disagree! I think tracksuits on someone with an athletic build can be really attractive.

Turn offs would be diamond earings and cardigans

That's funny 'cause I am quite attracted to men in cardigans!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭beauty101

bret69 wrote: »
    Why was stripy scarves on the list OP?

It HAS to be plain for you??

I think they make most (Irish) guys looked really washed out, usually they're in bright colours.

Also they can look pretty gay on a straight man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

MizzLolly wrote: »
    Hmmm not sure I agree. Dog tags and beanie hats can look hot on some men.

Agree about skinny jeans though, it's hideous looking.

What about slim jeans? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

rugby/soccer teams training gear. it's awful.
    beaded necklaces.
    anything ben sherman/fred perry/kickers.
    shoes that have velcro, you're supposedly an adult my 5 year old nephew can tie his shoes, so should you.
    sports jerseys unless you're actually on the way / at the match.
    band t-shirts on people you know aren't fans of the band.

*EDIT* just realised the thread title, oops. anyways my points still stand, don't find them a turn off as i'm not that way inclined, just really crappy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

Polo necks kill me.
    Anything mildly GAA-looking.
    Clothes that are overly Ronaldo-style metrosexual

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭Arathorn

Hmm I think if the guys started a thread about what clothes they dislike on girls, you girls would tell them to fack right off..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭KeelanM90

Surprised it hasn't been mentioned but girlfriends makin me say it BLACK AND NAVY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭fatal

KeelanM90 wrote: »
    Surprised it hasn't been mentioned but girlfriends makin me say it BLACK AND NAVY

Thought it would have been rather obvious!!!
    No but your totally right,it looks horrendous.The only time I ever do it is in the gym..............sometimes :o

Novella wrote: »
    That's funny 'cause I am quite attracted to men in cardigans!! :)

Different strokes...eh1
    Guess we'll never fight over the same guy:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Lollymcd

Socks and sandals

Lollymcd wrote: »
    Socks and sandals

I thought that would be a given:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Arathorn wrote: »
    Hmm I think if the guys started a thread about what clothes they dislike on girls, you girls would tell them to fack right off..

I wouldn't care!

Christmas la la la

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Guys wearing these kind of low cut tops, especially if they have a half decent chest, it just screams of showing off!

Jamie-afro-x-factor-new-290.jpg

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Pythia wrote: »
    Guys wearing these kind of low cut tops, especially if they have a half decent chest, it just screams of showing off!

Jamie-afro-x-factor-new-290.jpg

Anyone else here want to punch that guy???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭KeelanM90

fatal wrote: »
    Thought it would have been rather obvious!!!
    No but your totally right,it looks horrendous.The only time I ever do it is in the gym..............sometimes :o

Yup my girlfriend hates it so much that i'm thinkin of makin a t-shirt of half black half navy:D
    Anyone else here want to punch that guy???

Repeatedly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭fullback4glin

Kooli wrote: »
    I hate that look of the white/pink shirt with blue baggy flared jeans and brown shoes.
    It's a real south dublin rugby school look (which seems to last forever, even if you left said school 20 years ago). It makes me get sick in my mouth a little.

This comes to mind...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DJsQcnB6GC0