Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are these Kerrymen for real?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 12,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭iguana

oceanclub wrote: »
    It never fails to amaze me why someone would come on to a forum, anonymously, having never posted before, defend a sexual predator, slander his victim, based all on slurs they won't themselves repeat....

....and expect people to take them seriously.

It's not that amazing. They are just judging everybody else by their own level of intelligence.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Amande

Chinafoot wrote: »
    Ah so my unsubstantiated rumour isn't acceptable but all of yours are?

Look lads, whether you like it or not, he's been found guilty. The evidence was there and he's now in prison. And rightly so.

If you had any decency you would stop this terrible treatment of that girl and let her get on with her, already damaged, life, instead of posting lies about her on the internet.

what will you and everybody else say if he is cleared on appeal and the rumours are found to be true???? mmmm i wonder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Amande wrote: »
    what will you and everybody else say if he is cleared on appeal and the rumours are found to be true???? mmmm i wonder

As has already been pointed out to you there needs to be new material evidence in order for there to be an appeal. He can appeal the length on his sentence. Being successful in that doesn't in anyway equate to innocence.

The small town mentality of the rumour mill being gospel is what I find most sickening here.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭cyning

As has already been pointed out to you there needs to be new material evidence in order for there to be an appeal. He can appeal the length on his sentence. Being successful in that doesn't in anyway equate to innocence.

The small town mentality of the rumour mill being gospel is what I find most sickening here.

Yup so true. And I live here. Basically what Amande and Seaniemammy and so many others are doing is soooo wrong. People need to accept he i sguilty of sexual assault and leave the girl alone. Even if his sentance is reduced that does not mean he is not guilty. Unless it is found that his conviction is unsafe and he is then found innocent here is nothing anyoone can do to convince me otherwise

• Registered Users Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

As to the bringing her to a secluded place, where do young people normally go if they can't bring someone home?

He was celebrating his 34th birthday.
    Amande wrote: »
    where he is seen carrying her in his arms before he put her down on her feet . it also shows him leaving her on 3 occasions to go to the toilet before the gardai arrive.

The way you say "carrying her in his arms"....sounds soooo romantic :rolleyes:

Left her 3 times to go to the toilet?:eek: God. He must have bladder problems. Might need to get that checked out in the prison hospital.

I know what you and the other "new" posters are doing. I get it.
    I also don't care. Ramble on and on and on all you want.

Won't change a thing to the case. Thank God.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 seaniemammy

Look I don't know these people from Adam. The whole thing just doesn't add up. It just occurred to me today that is every woman who has sexual activity without giving the same ehoughtful consent or otherwise she would when sober is assaulted. If everyone who woke up and realised she'd had sex with a stranger without even remembering it has been raped, then I and most of the people have been raped or assaulted. Funny it hasn't devastated me though!
    As to my level of intelligence, will eligibility for Mensa be considered high enough dear?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭oceanclub

Look I don't know these people from Adam.

Of course - you just felt the need to register on boards.ie for this issue alone because you're a concerned citizen.
    As to my level of intelligence, will eligibility for Mensa be considered high enough dear?

Oh lord, waving a Mensa card to show how bright you are. Most people got over that when they were 10.

P.

If everyone who woke up and realised she'd had sex with a stranger without even remembering it has been raped, then I and most of the people have been raped or assaulted. Funny it hasn't devastated me though!

That right there is so utterly offensive to anyone who has ever been sexually assaulted. There is a MASSIVE difference between having drunken sex, and saying no but having someone try to go ahead anyway.

You clearly know sweet fúck all about rape/sexual assault, what it entails and how it affects those it happens to.

oceanclub wrote: »
    Of course - you just felt the need to register on boards.ie for this issue alone because you're a concerned citizen.
    Doesn't really bother me if you believe me or not. i live there, that's why I'm interested. I like the people and don't take kindly to them being called all sorts.

Oh lord, waving a Mensa card to show how bright you are. Most people got over that when they were 10.

P.
    Only said that in response to someone insulting my level of intelligence

That right there is so utterly offensive to anyone who has ever been sexually assaulted. There is a MASSIVE difference between having drunken sex, and saying no but having someone try to go ahead anyway.

You clearly know sweet fúck all about rape/sexual assault, what it entails and how it affects those it happens to.
    Incorrect. The point most people are making is that it is irrelevant whether or not she said no as she was too drunk to consent properly. The point I am maknig is that most people have had sexual activity without giving full informed consent.

And if anyone has sex with or attempts to have sex with someone who is barely conscious as this woman was, then yes it was assualt/rape. (In this case, she said no.) That is not, however, what you were saying.

You are attempting to trivialise this to a drunken fumble that she later regretted. You have alluded to the same in a number of your posts. Its actually disgusting. The woman has spoken about how this has affected her, but all you lot can think is that shes a slag who is out for money.

As I've already said, you should all be very ashamed of yourselves.

Only said that in response to someone insulting my level of intelligence

Well you are certainly acting in quite a stupid manner on this thread and your comments show a complete lack of cop on.

(Btw, I tested for Mensa as a kid and I scored the highest result possible after completing the hour long test in under 20 minutes. My IQ is significantly higher than the 148 necessary for Mensa membership.:P I don't tend to go on about it though, as IQ and cop on are two different things.)

• Registered Users Posts: 559 ✭✭✭TargetWidow

If everyone who woke up and realised she'd had sex with a stranger without even remembering it has been raped, then I and most of the people have been raped or assaulted. Funny it hasn't devastated me though!

Whatever about Mensa, definitely elegible for AA though by the sounds of it. Seriously. Have a good look at your relationship with alcohol. That is disturbing.

That's for sure. I had a wide and varied sex life when I was single but I never, ever, ever woke up in someone's bed without knowing how I got there.

Ditto.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,052 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I'm a brain surgeon. It must be true because I said it on the internet.

baubl wrote: »
    I question this whole story, for one she does not remember alot,
    two, 50 people would not back someone up unless they know him well enough , I cannot understand this

Its very simple really. If she has a reputation as a "tramp" or whatever he can easily deny it. People often don't want to believe the truth and if your relative/friend/local good guy is denying the charges vehemently its easier to believe him than to face the awful truth. You might think you know your family/friends inside and out but that is rarely the case. Him being seen as a nice guy doesn't mean he's incapable of terrible things.

As for her not remembering, she remembers saying no. Thats all that matters.

I would say the local people know their own, both he and she were reared there, went to school there socialised there, which means they were both very well known in the locality, why 50 local people feeling sorry for him, and no one there to back her up, I have to question that, all that many people, something not right then

A group of relatives/locals rounded up by his mother to put on a show of support is hardly an indication of innocence. And if thats what you base innocence on then I really, really hope you're never called for jury duty in this country.

As for knowing their own...please. What a ridiculous argument. Plenty of rapists and even murderers have had normal marriages/relationships and were well liked in their area, or seen as nice, harmless people. Doesn't mean they didn't do it.

So lets get this out of the way once and for all.
    What does a sexual predator look/act like to friends and family.

Is there a 666 mark on their forehead we should all be looking out for?
    Are there twitches or facial ticks they display on seeing vulnerable individuals?
    Do they act differently in the normal course of events?

Please do enlighten us as this is vital information we lack, obviously.

Personally the semi-naked guy with the hard-on bending over my semi-conscious semi-naked body whom I have already repeatedly said no to would seem like a dead giveaway.

Do you know them that well that you know his mother rounded up 49 others to join her, or have they got no mind of their own, I would not back my own brother if i thought he committed such an act, i definately would not go near a court hearing for someone that i would think is guilty

It has been widely reported that his mother asked people to go and support him.

Edit: Also, if your brother told you it was lies and there was no way in hell he did it, chances are you'd believe him. Afterall he's your brother and not in his nature, right?

Believing someone to be innocent doesn't make it a fact.

Thanks for the friendly advice. You're probably right. That was a long time ago and I'm sorted now. Point is, I don't blame anyone else

You're seriously missing the point here. This isn't the same as your drunken antics. This is a girl who had drag marks on her body and marks on her wrists consistant with being pinned. She said no. He persisted. God knows what would have happened had the guard not been around. The fact that she had kissed him earlier is irrelevant. Once she says no, thats it. Game over.

I really, really hope you're trolling otherwise you have a very messed up idea of what assault is and isn't.

Believing someone to be innocent doesn't make it a fact.
    I think this is the thing people are forgetting: nicest person in the world untill its YOU behind that skip. Would you be saying he was innocent if it was your sister or partner?

Good for you Seaniemammie. Point taken. However I stand by my point that that isn't normal and that both partners bear responsibility. This idea you have that it's ok for the fella to do that is morally wrong. Just plain wrong. It's not good to be spreading the idea that everyone has sex without really consenting because they are that drunk and do not remember parts or all of it. In reality memory loss like that is indicative of alcholism. Especially if the behaviour is repeated. A very small percentage of people drink/behave like that. And their doing so does not make it right. And their doing so still does not justify animalistic behaviour by predatory types. I knew one guy years ago who used to joke that he used to wait for woman to fall off their bar stools before making his move. He only went for drunken women because they were such sure things. He made my stomach sick. A member of my own family subsequently fell off a bar-stool into his arms ignoring all of my warnings. She is in AA now. And there are plenty of sexual predators there too just like everywhere else.

From living with with him, I should be able to judge whether he has respect for females or not, as they say anyone who is good to their mother is bound to have respect for others, also how they interact with sisters and sisters friends when they are round at the house, should be a good indicator, I have to say I do not know these people, also if these people wanted and did not want to support, they did not have to

This does not sit with his graphic evidence in court (which the judge lambasted as lies) in which he relished the retelling of how he had received oral sex from the victim and how much she had really enjoyed it. It doesn't sit with him repeatedly referring to the victim as "yer wan" in court, in front of the judge. His lack of respect for women is not in question really.

And with regard to his being good to his mother. In my line of work I regularly come across elderly mothers of alcholic sons who, through fear and for their own other reasons, get doctors to certify them as permanently disabled (not at all difficult in Kerry), so that said son does not have to bother his ass getting a job and equally does not have to deal with the hassle of the DSFA looking to see if he is applying for jobs. Then he applies for domiliciliary carers allowance and beats her around the house to sell off sites from the family farm to keep him in drink. Any of these mothers could catch their sons standing over a body with a bloody dripping knife in their hand and they would jump to their defense. They are as much trapped and victims as any other. Mothers opinions about their Kerry sons are not to be trusted. We call them "The Golden Beads" They are special.

He is in his thirties
    What age is she,
    what has that to do with anything?????

From living with with him, I should be able to judge whether he has respect for females or not, as they say anyone who is good to their mother is bound to have respect for others, also how they interact with sisters and sisters friends when they are round at the house, should be a good indicator

I have a relation who is a currently serving time for a violent rape which he most certainly committed. He was always very nice to his mother and sisters whenever I saw them together though. My grandmother had great time for him and completely refused to believe he had done anything wrong because he was always so lovely to her. He was always perfectly polite and friendly to me.

Rapists don't usually treat the people they know and love in the same way which they treat their victims. The nicest guy in the world at home can be a total evil bastard to someone else.

He is 35. Old enough to know not to refer to women as yer wan.
    And THE VICTIM is now 24.

The presence of his girlfriend waiting at home for him should have been warning enough that he should not have been doing anything AT ALL with this girl.

This is very common with bouncers. They ride all around them. They consider it to be one of the perks of the job. It attracts a certain type of guy. Other security guards think they are scum.

alot
    as the older a person is, the wiser they are, and should be able to judge whether they were walking into a dangerous situation

Sexual predators are predators regardless of their age.